Couch Potato Athlete Quiz

Are you a Couch Potato Athlete?

Take the quiz and find out!

1. The first thing I do when I wake up is:

a) exercise b) watch tv/relax/lounge c) eat breakfast

2. How many hours of television do you watch per day?

a) zero b) one c) two or more

3. How many hours per week do you spend exercising?

a) zero b) 1-4 hours per week c) 5-7 or more hours per week

4. Which would you rather do?

a) exercise b) watch tv c) both at the same time!

Check your answers here:

  1. a 2, b 2, c 1
  2. a 1, b 1, c 2
  3. a 1, b 2, c 2
  4. a 1, b 1, c 2

If you scored a 4: You are either a couch potato or an athlete, but I am sorry to say, you are probably not a Couch Potato Athlete. You know what to do: exercise consistently and sit your butt in front of that TV!

If you scored a 5 or 6: You are well on your way to becoming a true Couch Potato Athlete. Keep reading this blog and you too can achieve that status!

If you scored a 7 or 8: You are a true Couch Potato Athlete. You love to exercise and take care of yourself, and yet you make time to rot your brain in front of the television. Congratulations!

In all seriousness, no matter where you land in the Couch Potato Athlete spectrum, make sure you are where YOU want to be. For a long time, I wanted to be an athlete. I wanted to *like* working out. But it took me a long time to get here. At first, I had to fake it and almost force myself to work out. But with time I realized how good I felt afterward and later on, I felt good WHILE I worked out! What a concept, right?

I also had to find something that I liked to do. I started with running. My dad had suggested that I run a Half Marathon with him – this was 5 years ago by the way. I started running and I hated it. My legs always hurt, my core was sore (because it wasn’t strong at all) and I was miserable. But I kept at it and ran a few Halfs over the past couple of years. When I met J, he seemed so impressed that I liked to run, and soon we were running together.

But each time I went outside to run, or went to the gym to run, or got ready for a race, I secretly dreaded it. I put on a happy face and did my best. But it was hard. And I didn’t have that great feeling of I just accomplished something amazing and I feel like I could run around the world if I wanted to and I want to race in 100 IronMans and win a marathon.

Until this year. This year J and I decided to train for a marathon. Our first marathon. The training was tough and my weekends pretty much didn’t exist for a few months. I was too busy running or resting. After a 15 mile run, I’d be out of commission for the rest of the weekend. But I started to have that “feeling” after my runs. I felt accomplished, healthy, fit and alive.

I no longer had that dread that I used to feel. Sure it was hard to get up at 4:30am on Saturday morning to go out and run for a few hours, but once my feet hit the trail, I felt alive. I could smell the trees, the flowers, the rain. I saw bunnies, turtles, frogs, foxes, ducks, deer, dogs, cats, chipmunks, runners, bikers, walkers, kids and adults. It was amazing. Even when it started to downpour, I felt amazing.

Lately I haven’t been running as much, now that I have the TurboFire program to work through. But that’s ok – running will always be there, the trail will be there, ready and waiting for me. Now I’m fired up about TurboFire – it keeps my body moving and I sweat like crazy. I feel amazing afterward and I look forward to the next workout.

So if running (or fitness, or healthy eating, or anything) is your goal, work on it. It might not be easy at first, it might be really hard. But if you really want to do something, you’ll do it. And I think the more familiar we are with things, the easier they become and the more enjoyable they can become.

Well that turned into a much longer story about running than I thought it would be. This post was supposed to be a funny post with a quiz and my food pics. Who knew?

Lunch:

Minestrone soup, chicken/veggies on an Ezekial tortilla, strawberries. Delicious.

Breakfast:

What else? A green monster.

In the mix: whey protein, chia meal, peanut butter, almond milk, spinach, ½ banana, ice

His & Hers

Such a pretty green today!

Question of the Day: Did you take the quiz? What was your score?

13 Responses to “Couch Potato Athlete Quiz”

  1. carly Says:

    LOL, this was too funny. I scored a 7 … a true Couch Potato Athlete!

  2. Holly Says:

    I wander my way over to your blog from Oh She Glows and I just wanted to say that I loved this post in particular. I just decided to train for a 10K and reading about your running journey made me feel hopeful that one day I could possible take on a half-marathon.

    (Also, I totally scored as a true Couch Potato Athlete. LOL)

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      I loved reading your blog — I too hated running in high school. I would always fake a sprained ankle in phy ed when we did running drills. Now I feel like such a wimp for doing that! You can totally run a Half Marathon — a good training plan (I like Hal Higdon) and the right attitude will get you there!

      • Holly Says:

        I’m glad you liked it! I remember in HS we had to run/walk a mile for gym class and we were supposed to finish in under 15 min. That seemed so hard then!

        I’m actually following Hal Higdon’s novice training plan for the 10K.

  3. fitandfortysomething Says:

    oh i love your blog! i liked reading about the turbo fire and reading the about me section. thank you for finding my blog and commenting! keep up the great work 🙂

  4. kaztronomic Says:

    I got a six! However, if you switched out “TV” with “computer” I’m sure I’d have scored much higher. 😀

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, by the way. I’m so glad to have found yours! I love your writing style, and your blog is so fun and unique! 😀 I went ahead and added you to my blogroll and I look forward to your future posts. =)

  5. bridetobefit Says:

    I’m a Couch Potato Athlete!! Yay!!! 🙂

  6. Julia Says:

    Love this!! I scored a four…and let’s hope I’m more of an athlete *fingers crossed*

    Love the blog! Keep it up

  7. Tina Miller Says:

    I scored an 8, I must be a couch tater too!


Leave a Reply

