Top Chef and Salsa Chicken

I love checking my email first thing in the morning to see that readers have commented on my blog. That really means so much to me! And I know that with time, this blog will get better and better. I am always open to suggestions as well, so feel free to leave me a comment!

First things first: TOP CHEF. Who watched it, are you a fan?


Who do you like so far?

I’m having a hard time with this season, usually by now I have a few favorites (last season I really liked Kevin (with the beard) and Jennifer right away) – but this season it has taken me a while. I liked Angelo at first, but he was so cocky that I started to not like him anymore. I do like Kelly and Kevin, and I am starting to like Andrea more and more.

What did you think of the duck testicles?

Ew. I loved how they showed Padma and Michelle Bernstein taking a bite and everyone stood around and watched them eat that dish. Haha.

I missed Work of Art – too sleepy. I’ll catch it this weekend. I love their “Tim Gunn” guy on that show – his voice and appearance reminds me of a cartoon – he just can’t be real!

His double breasted suits are the best!

Breakfast this morning was the usual: Green Monster

In the mix: 1 cup almond milk, ½ banana, 1 handful spinach, 1 TBSP chia meal (ground up chia seeds), 1 scoop whey protein, ½ TBSP peanut butter

All mixed up in the magic bullet:

J has a GM with me each morning too, but he gets a little extra food:


I’m such a nice wife for making his breakfast every day, no?

I had to get gas this morning so I grabbed a coffee and wow do I feel the caffeine in me today! I have been weaning myself off of diet pop, so pretty much any caffeine really shakes up my body.

For a snack I brought some mixed nuts and green grapes, and here’s my lunch:

salad with chicken

a small piece of my leftover Salsa Chicken

That is one of my favorite recipes, and it is so easy:

Salsa Chicken (as I get more recipes, I’ll add a recipes tab up top)
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 jar salsa
½ can black beans, rinsed and drained
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Coat baking dish with non stick spray.
Arrange chicken breasts in dish, try to leave some space between them.
Cover chicken thickly with salsa.
Sprinkle on black beans.
Cover dish tightly with foil.
Bake 35-40 minutes.
This tastes great by itself, or served over brown rice.

I think I will continue to post a recipe on Thursday morning, since I will be inspired by Top Chef the night before. 🙂

I’ll be posting my workout DVD reviews later today, be sure to check back!

I updated my “running tab” last night, with details of my first marathon, check it out!

Question of the Day: What is your favorite TV right now? Do you like reality shows more than sitcoms/dramas?

11 Responses to “Top Chef and Salsa Chicken”

  1. Holly Says:

    That chicken sounds yummy!

    I added your blog to my blogroll. 🙂

  2. kaztronomic Says:

    I’ve watched past seasons of Top Chef, but haven’t really had time to sit down and watch it this season. I pretty much could plop down in front of Food Network and zone out, though; it’s one of the few channels that I love. I have a semi-crush -ahem- on Alton Brown. x)

    I love Dexter! My fella and I actually bought the first few seasons, and we’ve been watching them and now it feels like September can’t come soon enough!

    “I have been weaning myself off of diet pop, so pretty much any caffeine really shakes up my body.” Don’t you mean “soda”? 😉 My fella’s from Minnesota — what part of the North are you from? 😀

  3. couchpotatoathlete Says:

    Ya you betcha I am from MN — we live near St. Paul!

  4. rc1001 Says:

    I much prefer dramas to reality tv.

    My favorite right now would have to be Friday Night Lights! It doesn’t get a lot of buzz but it is a FANTASTIC show. Well acted, good story lines, just well done overall.

  5. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl Says:

    I haven’t watched Top Chef in a while…I need to start again! I really like it!

    That chicken looks awesome!

  6. fitandfortysomething Says:

    i don’t watch top chef but i am lovin losing it with Jillian right now. she is so good! your blog is great-keep up the good work 🙂

  7. tanyasdaily Says:

    Haven’t watched it yet!

  8. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    hey Michelle! i just found your blog and it looks great!

    i LOVE Top Chef!! Tom was here in Australia just last week, checking out produce for his restaurant. (i’m in Sydney, he was in a completely different state. but still.) that chicken looks great, i’m a salsa fanatic!


Leave a Reply

