Movie Review & Mimosas

Hi Readers!

Last night J and I saw Inception. I loved it! I love Christopher Nolan movies (Batman Begins, Memento). He just seems to bring something new and fresh to the movie world. I won’t spoil the movie for anyone, but I do highly recommend it. I did have to pay close attention (but that goes for any movie that I watch) and there are times when I was confused, but it all made sense as the movie progressed.

And I forgot how much I like JGL. I remember watching Angels in the Outfield 100 times over when I was a kid. From your comments yesterday, I guess I’m not the only one!

The theater we went to is outside of Minneapolis and it is called the Showplace Icon Theatre. It is a huge, beautiful theatre. The upstairs balcony is VIP seating.

Check out these seats/love seats:

Yes there are little side tables for drinks and food (sorry for the blurry blackberry pic). There is a restaurant/bar in the balcony as well, so you can order food/alcoholic drinks to watch during the movie. (Even if you order your food 2 minutes before the movie starts, they will bring it to you during the previews) How sweet is that? The upstairs/balcony area is 21+ so you know there won’t be any little kids running around up there.

If you go to a movie showing after 7pm, the entire movie theatre is 18+. It may cost a bit more (our tickets were $15 each) but it is worth it to KNOW there won’t be any 13 year olds laughing or talking (sorry kids!).

You buy your tickets online and reserve your seats – you get to pick them out!

They have a location in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area and in Chicago too. I’m sure there are other theatres like this out there. Have you been to a movie theatre like this?

Breakfast this morning was eggs and toast.

One egg on a piece of Ezekial toast. I like to eat it stacked up like this, so I can break the egg and all of the delicious yolk can soak the bread. Yum.

I’m off to run some errands, and then I am meeting up with my sister-in-law and soon-to-be  aunt-in-law for brunch. I’m bringing Mimosas and that is all I needed to know! After that I have a date with TurboFire and I’ll be working on more features for the blog.

Question of the Day: How are you spending your Saturday?

Have a great day!

Holly

6 Responses to “Movie Review & Mimosas”

  1. Nicole Says:

    I’ve thought about going to the location here in Chicago, but when I checked it out the prices scared me away. I’ll probably wait for a movie that is worth the dough! Sounds like fun though!!

  2. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    That theater sounds amazing! I’ve been to an Alama Drafthouse theater, where no children under 18 are allowed and they serve meals to you at your seat. You have a menu and then you just write your order on a slip of paper and they bring it to you. A bit pricey, but totally worth it.

  3. kaztronomic Says:

    I would totally pay the extra money to ensure that there are no obnoxious children or teens in the theater. 😀 That one sounds really posh! Niiiice. 😀

    Now I really want to see Inception!

  4. carly Says:

    That theater sounds AWESOME. There was one kind of like that in my college town, but it was super old and barely renovated. But hey, maybe that’s why they serve alcohol?!?

  5. Muffins, Mocktails & Many Thanks | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] After seeing Inception I really wanted to rewatch Memento — they were both directed by Christopher Nolan (who also directed Batman Begins and Batman Forever). Plans for the weekend: -Wedding Saturday night -Work on my Sept goals: church on Sunday and lots of reading -Run 6 miles Saturday, TurboFire on Sunday, TurboFire/FBB Strength Monday -Relax, unwind and maybe (just maybe) do a bit of cleaning around the house – […]


Leave a Reply

