The Missing Banana Truck

Hi Readers!

I am so happy to see that I am not the only one who goes to so many grocery stores on a weekly basis. (and I’m also glad to see that I’m not the only one who has had odd results from VOO – I should just stick with the original recipe!) Here is where I go for grocery supplies:

Cub Foods (regular grocery store): basic cooking things (sugar, salt, almond milk, eggs, some produce, snacks for J)

Trader Joes: more produce (sweet potatoes, bagged lettuce, etc), granola bars, vitamins, almond butter, peanut butter, jam, frozen meals (orange chicken, egg rolls, frozen veggies, frozen brown rice, frozen berries), soups, bread, clif bars, larabars, trail mix

Healthy Ways (local health food store): protein powder, larabars, chia seeds, chia meal, flaxseed

Target: paper products (toilet paper, paper towels, etc), trail mix packs (only Target has the certain brand I like!), bottled water

Our Target did get produce, but not much. I was a little disappointed when I got there – they had 1 aisle of produce: grapes, blueberries, raspberries, bagged lettuce/spinach and baby carrots. Eek. I didn’t even see bananas! Now, this was their first day with fresh groceries, so maybe the Banana Truck didn’t make it up to MN yet. I’m hopeful!

I’m still working on my training schedule, does anyone have any tips? The running plan is only 3 days per week of running, FBB strength plan is only 2 days per week and then I wanted to sprinkle in a few TurboFire workouts throughout the week.

What is your workout schedule like? Or do you like to go with the flow and decide each day?

Lunch was really good today, I had a bowl of this soup:

And a sandwich made with turkey, veggie cheese and green peppers on whole wheat.

Look how gooey the veggie cheese got!

Dinner was equally amazing. I made Paula Deen’s Baked Tilapia. You know what that means: BUTTER.

 Here is the tilapia before it went in the oven.

I also made brown rice and some steamed veggies.

Here’s my plate:

So good.

I have brownies in the oven.right.now. I made them for J to take to work – pray for me that I don’t eat them all as soon as they are done!

Question of the day: What is your favorite treat? I love brownies, cookies and ice cream. And pie. And cake. Ok I love them all but I’d have to pick brownies as my favorite. Especially when they are really gooey on the inside.

Have a great night!

Holly

22 Responses to “The Missing Banana Truck”

  1. middlenamemaire Says:

    My workout schedule is pretty strict. I have to plan it or I won’t go. I run five days a week and do strength training 2-3 days.

    My favorite treat is definitely ice cream. I love Blizzards and Edy’s Slow-Churned! Can’t get enough!

  2. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i usually don’t have a workout schedule, but right now i’m training for a half marathon in september. (my first. yay!) as for tips….hmm…i can say my running improved HEAPS when i started doing core exercises. (stabilizes your hips and stuff.)

    my favourite treat is brownies (by far!) but i don’t eat them very often. i eat a lot of Lindt Chilli Chocolate though. it sounds weird but tastes awesome!

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      Same for me! My running got much better when I included some core exercises — actually everything got better when I started core work — I no longer have back and neck pain (which I used to have almost daily)

  3. Nicole Says:

    My local Target just put in a grocery section, but I haven’t been there yet to see how big it is. I surely hope they have bananas!! I’m doing Power 90 right now just to get my stamina back up and then I plan to do Turbo Fire. I really planned on following the schedule, but maybe putting 2 rest days in a week rather than 1 since my goal is to just make sure I’m staying active. Never seems like there is enough time in the week to get it all in, does it?

  4. Wendy Says:

    No bananas?! That’s just wrong on so many levels!
    Organic sweet potato soup? Never heard of such a thing. YUM.

  5. Wendy Says:

    Oh, and my favorite treat: CHOCOLATE. Anything chocolate. If it’s warm and baked, all the better.

  6. Michelle Says:

    Target’s produce has never impressed me.

    My workout schedule just goes with how my body is feeling. During school I will usually have two PE classes that I take, plus some extra classes for fun whenever I want to go (like Zumba, body pump or yoga). I’ll go rock climbing with friends or go for a run or on the elliptical to stretch my legs a bit. There are so many options, I truly have to go with what ever fits in and what I feel like doing.

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      I wasn’t too impressed with the produce — what a shame, it could have saved me some time (since the other grocery stores are 20+ minutes away and Target is 5 min away!). I love rock climbing — J and I did that for our first date, it was so much fun!

  7. kaztronomic Says:

    My favorite treat is anything fluffy. Marshmallows, frosting, whipped cream…if it’s fluffy, then it’s in peril. 😀

    I forgot bananas at the grocery store, so I’m in a similar situation, too. I can’t remember the last time I had gone more than a day without bananas. This could get interesting. o.O

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      I get so annoyed when I run out of bananas and go to the store to find they are all green. Then they sit on the counter at home ripening and its like staring at a pot of water waiting to boil: it takes forever!

  8. Stacey @ Tipping the (Kitchen!) Scales Says:

    I don’t really have a set workout schedule and as long as I run about 3 times a week I’m happy. Anything more is a bonus! I generally try not to be too strict with anything – food or exercise – so that I can live and love my life and not become obssesed!

    As for treats: if it’s sweet I will eat it!!

  9. michellestgermain Says:

    I love gooey brownies! The cakey ones – meh. Bring on the fudginess! 🙂

  10. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I’m glad to see I’m not the only one that shops at multiple groceries! I hit up 2 farmer’s markets, a wholesale club and a grocery store! 🙂

    My favorite treat is usually not a sweet.. it’s usually something like NACHOS! 🙂

  11. Sherris Says:

    My training schedule is pretty strict. I train 3 days on 1 day off per week of crossfit workouts so about 6 days a week I am training that on top of that I have started a strength bias program that I train 3 days a week. Then I also do crossfit endurance the other 3 days a week. Honestly though I love it i hate to have to miss days.

    Also I’m glad I’m not a freak as my friends once told me because i shop at multiple grocery stores haha. I go to the farmers market on Sundays in addition to going to trader joes, whole foods, and sunflower market. 🙂

  12. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I love almost any baked treat! Brownies and chocolate chip cookies are probably my favorites. I also love ice cream! Yum!

    Right now I am using Hal Higdon’s novice 10K training schedule as the base for my workout schedule. I plan what I am going to do for the week at the beginning of each week using my google calendar.

  13. fitandfortysomething Says:

    i have never tried vegan overnight oats but i have done the reg with yogurt. maybe not as much liquid? love a good cupcake-worth it everytime! have a great day girl…..


Leave a Reply

