Top Chef and Top Baker

Hi Readers!

Thank you so much for all the suggestions for what to do with my beautiful cucumbers! I will definitely try something new tomorrow night.

And for those that asked, I live near St. Paul, Minnesota and the weather is always crazy here – you never know what you’ll get. Lately it has just been HOT. I can’t wait for Autumn.

Dinner tonight was Chicken Fajitas.

On the stove:

Chicken breast, green pepper, red pepper, onion

Mashed avocado:

My plate — notice the nice globs of avocado on the side. Avocados were MADE for fajitas.

I love making a quick and easy dinner but I wasn’t done in the kitchen just yet.

The original recipe is taken from this book:

But I changed a few things which are noted below. Have you heard of this book? J and I followed our blood type diet for a few months when we first got married, and it wasn’t easy to eat dairy-free, wheat-free, soy-free and have restrictions on certain fruits/vegetables. I really do admire those of you who do follow such dietary restrictions. I know it cannot be easy.

Banana Blueberry Oat Muffins

Makes 12 muffins
Ingredients:
1 cup oat flour
½ tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup canola oil
½ cup brown sugar
1 mashed banana
1 egg + 1 egg white
½-1 cup blueberries or ½ cup walnuts or both!
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare pans with spray or muffin liners. Mix dry ingredients together in one bowl and all wet ingredients in another. Blend together. *Don’t overmix the batter like I did, the batter became very thin*Fill muffin cups half full and bake for 20-22 minutes.  

Check out the inside:

These are perfect treats for J because they are dairy-free and they taste delicious.

Tonight I felt like a Top Chef…and a Top Baker — dinner was great and the muffins were a success! I love how the whole house smells wonderful and warm. Yes, even when it is 90 degrees outside I like a warm house because of baking! (as long as the AC is working)

Are you going to watch Top Chef tonight?

Plans: Watch Top Chef (how many times can I mention this in one post?), say goodbye to M and T (moving to Texas tomorrow morning!) and get to bed early. J and I have a 5:30am running date!

Question of the day: Do you like to bake? What is your favorite cookie/bread/bar/pie/cake that you have made yourself?

Have a great night,

Holly

21 Responses to “Top Chef and Top Baker”

  1. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i watched Top Chef last night too! i’m a week behind though (we download them and haven’t had time to watch.) it was the “cold war” episode….funny to watch them criticize each other’s food….

    i’m not much of a baker but i LOVE muffins. i make a version with muesli (cereal with dried fruit and nuts.) throw in some chocolate chips and that’s my dessert. (i admit, i’m addicted.) have fun on your 5:30am run! man, you are one disciplined chick 🙂

  2. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl Says:

    I love fajitas! Yours look great!!

    I am not the best baker, but I try….I just made banana blueberry bread tonight!

  3. Marisa @ Loser for Life Says:

    I love Top Chef! I so admire their ability to create on demand like they do!

    I like baking, too. However, my hips do not appreciate that I eat everything I bake 😐

  4. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    I am catching up on Top Chef right now. I am also digging on those muffins. I may have to make some tomorrow!

  5. carly Says:

    I love to bake! My goal in life is to find the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe. I’m obsessed! But so far, I’ve found that the classic Nestle Tollhouse recipe is the best. (Remember that episode of Friends???)

    However, my oatmeal cookies are what everyone requests. It’s a Paula Deen recipe, so you know there’s a ton of butter and sugar – all the good stuff. And I only make them around Christmas, so friends start getting their orders in early, LOL.

  6. Myra Says:

    Hey Bro. Sorry if we spoiled your early running date. But if you do get up that early… That’s about the time we’re leaving… And we still aren’t in bed! Darn that Kim. Jk.
    Your blog is soopy koo bro. I love it.

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      You didn’t spoil it at all. It was raining when we got up, so we “had” to go back to bed. Oh well. We’ll go tonight if it isn’t too warm or we’ll go tomorrow morning. Have a safe trip and please don’t leave Dad on the side of the road.

  7. kaztronomic Says:

    When I was up there last month, I saw it go from almost 100 out to plunge to the low 70s and rain within a few hours. It was insane! The rain was definitely refreshing, though. 😀

    Those muffins look incredible! I wonder if I could use brown rice flour in it? Yum. I love muffins.

    I’m the same way! Darn the hot weather, I’m baking! I made a pretty killer gf vegan chocolate chip cookie that I’m proud of. 😀

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      Yes the weather does whatever it wants to — it is crazy some days! I don’t see why you couldn’t use brown rice flour — the originial recipe calls for spelt flour, but I only had oat. They are very moist and so delicious!

  8. Holly Says:

    I love fajitas!

    Does J have to eat dairy-free? My husband is allergic to milk, so he has to eat dairy-free as well.

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      J doesn’t HAVE to eat dairy-free — but when he does he gets really congested, so its easier to just avoid it than to deal with the effects.

      It was hard for me at first, but its not that bad– pizza without cheese, almond milk, soy/veggie cheese, etc. There are plenty of things we can enjoy.

      • Holly Says:

        I still have cheese and stuff in the house for me, just not as much, but we do get a lot of dairy-free stuff for my husband. I’ve gotten used to cooking and baking without milk and don’t have any issues with it but it can be tough if we’re going to some kind of special occasion, like a wedding, because we never know if there is going to be something he can eat.

  9. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Those muffins look to die for!!! I love to bake! My famous recipes are my Cinnamon Apple Cake and my Homemade Chocolate Chip Cookies 🙂

  10. Nicole Says:

    I LOVE to bake! I am much better (and much more comfortable!) with an oven than a stove top! I think my favorite things to make are berry bar cookies. Blueberry Crumb Bars, Cranberry Oat Bars, Lemon Bars…yum! I also enjoy making a big splash with something elaborate like a Cappuccino Chocolate Cheesecake!

  11. 40apples Says:

    I love to bake! It’s hard during summer because my kitchen becomes quite the sauna, but during winter it’s ALL I want to do. I love making oaty cookies and cranberry bread and blondies. But I’ve been wanting to make some muffins lately – and this looks like a great recipe! If only it would just cool down a little bit so I can actually use my oven… 🙂

  12. Sherris Says:

    I have a great recipe for “paleo” banana bread/ muffins the real test was I gave them to my trainers kids and they loved them. they are gluten free, dairy free, soy free, and legume free.

    Dry Ingredients:
    2 C almond flour/meal (Trader Joe’s Almond Meal is the cheapest)
    1/3 C Flax Meal
    1 tsp baking soda
    1 tsp salt
    1 tsp cinnamon
    1/2 tsp nutmeg (grated fresh) I used very little nutmeg Add spice to taste
    1 C baking walnuts

    Wet Ingredients:
    3 bananas, the riper the better
    1 T vanilla or 1 whole vanilla bean
    3 eggs at room temperature
    1/3 C honey
    3 T oil (olive oil is fine, coconut oil when liquid is excellent, and hazelnut oil hits it out of the park!)
    2 T almond butter (unsalted, but if salted, just add 3/4 tsp salt instead of 1 tsp)

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees and place walnuts in to roast. Keep an eye on the walnuts, they burn easily! Mash bananas into a liquid. Mix in the honey and almond butter. add eggs then add oil and vanilla. In a separate bowl mix all the dry ingredients including walnuts. Mix wet and dry ingredients. i used a tiny amt of oil on a paper towel to grease each individual muffin cup in the baking pan you can also place the batter in Place in muffin cups. Depending on if you are making small or large muffins the muffins i made were pretty small to mediumish because i based my blocks around the amount of batter used it gave me around 24ish muffins, cooking time will vary. It can take anywhere from 10-20min. My batch took around 12 minutes. The smaller the muffins you are making, the less cook time and vice versa. Enjoy!

  13. eatmovelove Says:

    These look so good! Totally making them.


Leave a Reply

