Big Mac & Cool Cucumber

Hi Readers!

What could be better than a Green Monster in a Big Mac glass?

Did you know that Big Mac is a police officer? I didn’t, until I got these glasses. J bought them for me for our first wedding anniversary. Yes, I said “them” – there is another glass that I may show you tomorrow…any guesses?

(source)

Who is that pirate guy and the guy in the lab coat? Hint: don’t guess either of those guys, I’ve never seen them before!

Well you all answered my pleas for cucumber recipes. I decided to go with something simple, and Alycia from Fit n Fresh gave me the perfect idea of using vinegar and sugar:

Cool Cucumber Salad

2 cucumbers, thinly sliced
1/3 cup white vinegar
1 tsp sugar
½ tsp salt
I whisked together all the wet ingredients and then tossed the cucumbers slices in the mixture.

It turned out great! You could definitely play with the vinegar/sugar amounts to suit your tastes. I like a slightly tangy, vinegary taste.

So did you watch Top Chef last night?

Do you think that Alex “stole” Ed’s pea puree? I was watching the show/folding laundry/reading blogs at the same time, so I may have missed some key information, and I know how Bravo likes to edit their shows. I don’t really like Alex, so maybe he did do it!

Plans for later today:

-TurboFire HIIT
-Short run with J
-Dinner: salmon burgers and carrot fries
-Start reading The Lovely Bones (have you read this?)
-Watch Bethenny Getting Married (?)
-RELAX!

Question of the day: What book are you reading right now? Or, what book would you like to read next? I have been reading the Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) books, but I decided to take a break and read The Lovely Bones. With all this Eat, Pray, Love hoopla going on, I may have to pick that up too.

Have a great day!

Holly

12 Responses to “Big Mac & Cool Cucumber”

  1. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Oh that glass is just darling (did I just say darling?) Hehe.

    I’m reading the Secret Life of Bees and its pretty good. A little slow at times, but good. I finished The Help a few weeks ago and thought it was just incredible. If you haven’t read it yet, you must! I downloaded Eat, Pray, Love for my Kindle and its next on the list. I just finished school, so as you can see, I’m really into reading for pleasure nowadays.

  2. littlemisspotato Says:

    The lab coat guy clearly mixes all the chemicals into the burgers. The other guy is the “Hamburgler!” Hahah

    The Lovely Bones was a great book but I wasn’t impressed with the movie all too much. Eat, Pray, Love is worth the hype! I read it on vacation a few years ago and couldn’t put it down. I’m so excited for the movie.

    Right now I’m reading Blink but I’ve read it before. I need to get inspired to start something new. 🙂

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      Not the Hamburglar, the pirate guy on the left, who is he???

      You are so right about the lab coat guy putting the chemicals in the food. hahaha!

      Thanks for the book recommendations. I’ve read Blink and loved it.

  3. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    Ok, so after some internet sleuthing, I found this website: http://www.goantiques.com/scripts/images,id,911590.html. Apparently his name is Captain Crook, and if you’re so inclined you could get that glass too and have the whole set for dinner parties and the like. 🙂

    Right now I’m reading Personal Finance for Dummies. Trust me, it’s as exciting as it looks.

  4. spabettie Says:

    wow, I’ve never seen Captain Crook or the weird labcoat dude either. pretty nefarious looking characters, if you ask me… 😉 I doubt the labcoat dude has a nutrition background…

  5. kaztronomic Says:

    I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that the Big Mac is a cop, with the Hamburlgar running amok. x)

    I’m currently reading Red Storm Rising. Amor picked it out for me. It’s different than what I choose to read, but it’s not bad. =)

  6. Tina Says:

    Bahaha! That is the best thing I’ve ever seen. Imagine if McDs ever marketed that. Love it!

    And I’m always so jealous of all the Turbo Fire workout-ers out there. I can’t wait to try it post baby. It seems like such a fun and great workout.

  7. lizlivingvegan Says:

    That recipe looks like a deliciously simple way to knock out a craving for salt and vinegar chips!!! I’ll have to give it a try 🙂 I love cucumbers!

  8. rc1001 Says:

    I’m ready Real Food by Nina Planck. Just finished In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan. Read Eat, Pray, Love earlier this year…and am dying to read the Sookie Stackhouse series! But I don’t want to ruin the show for myself which I LOVE

  9. michellestgermain Says:

    I read EPL a while back and I really liked it. It’s a fast read too.

    My garden is exploding with cucumbers- I have been thinking of making a vinegar salad just like that for the last week!


Leave a Reply

