Carrot Fries

Good Evening!

Look who helped me with dinner:

Perfect for a Coach Potato Athlete, huh? I love this little guy. He helped me make Carrot Fries.

They turned out great! I love sweet potato fries, but I have a hard time finding good sweet potatoes this time of year. I’ve heard of using carrots before, so I wanted to give it a try.

Carrot Fries

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Peel, wash and cut carrots (about 2 lbs worth) into 4 inch slices. Cut them down to the size of a regular fry.

Toss carrots with 1-2 tsp of canola oil in a large bowl.

Place foil or parchment paper on a baking sheet. Line up your carrot sticks and sprinkle with sea salt.

Place in oven and bake for 20-25 minutes.

Here’s my plate with my salmon burger:

So delicious! J thought they tasted BETTER than sweet potato fries.

Tonight the plan is to relax, read and get to bed early. I already got my TurboFire HIIT workout in, and now it is time to dig into The Lovely Bones.

Question of the day: What is your favorite vegetable and why? What is your favorite way to prepare vegetables?

22 Responses to “Carrot Fries”

  1. Kate Says:

    what a cute little peeler! and a great, easy recipe. love it!

  2. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl Says:

    I love carrot fries!!! Aren’t they delicious?!!? I love your peeler too! I love most vegetables, so I couldn’t possibly choose one!!

  3. Wendy Says:

    Fave veggie: broccoli. And I love it raw with ranch dressing OR steamed.
    Very cute potato peeler!

  4. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    I am boring since I love lettuce! It is perfect to dip in hummus too!

  5. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I don’t have a favorite veggie…it changes with the season…I love sweet potatoes, and all the greens…my fav lately is spiralizing…but nothing beats the flavors that come out when you roast!!

    I ADORE your couch potato peeler ;-0)

    I am DEF gonna pass this recipe onto my sister in law…carrots are the only veggie my nephew eats, and he is SURE to love these fries! What a great idea!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  6. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I have to try those! I love roasted carrots, so I’m sure they are on the same lines as that…

    My fave vegetable is cucumbers hands down. And I like them peeled and raw. I’m kind of boring like that 🙂

  7. kaztronomic Says:

    I am so charmed by your potato peeler. How cute!

    I love carrot fries, especially dipped in peanut butter. 😀 Do you eat yours plain, with ketchup, or how do you enjoy yours? (Sorry, random question! LOL)

    I love all vegetables, but my obsession this week is okra, roasted with ketchup.

  8. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) Says:

    I’ve never tried carrot fries, but I love the sound of it! 😀

    My favorite vegetable is always changing along with the seasons, but I think brussels sprouts are high up on the list, especially when roasted to perfection. 😀

  9. fitandfortysomething Says:

    love the peeler!!!! gosh tough question about fav veggie…..maybe eggplant! hope you have a great weekend love 🙂

  10. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    I love brussels sprouts. They are so delicious roasted!

  11. Nicole Says:

    I’m not a big carrot fan, but if they are better than sweet potato fries, I might have to give this a whirl! Sounds easy enough to make them…thanks!

  12. arsenalfamily Says:

    Super cute peeler. BUT, wouldn’t you get more nutrients if you just left the peelings on? Someone just posted about how you can leave the skin on when you make sweet potato fries! Say what? I had no idea because they look so yucky! I really want to try these! Woo hoo, I love learning new recipes to try! My family LOVES corn. I think it would be cheaper for us to won a farm! 😉

  13. Tina Says:

    I have never tried carrot fries. I’ve tried rutabaga, parsnip, and sweet potatoes and love all of them. Carrots need to be next on the list.

    I can’t wait to hear how you like Lovely Bones. I wasn’t a huge fan but I think it was bec I read it when it was uber popular and expected too much out of it based on everyone’s reviews.

  14. Matt Says:

    Haha those are basically roasted carrots! I make those like every night with baby carrots. I just toss them with some oil, salt, and pepper and roast them for about 40 minutes. SO FREAKING GOOD.

  15. Robyn Says:

    How have I never heard of or thought to make carrot fries. So smart!

  16. mostlyfitmom Says:

    May have to try the carrot fries out! In the winter, my fave is roasting cauliflower with olive oil, kosher salt, freshly ground pepper and then topping with a little parmesan at the end (broiling it makes it crispy). Yum! Lately I’ve been grilling lots of zucchini, and also mushrooms sprinkled in Montreal Steak Spice – delicious! Also love carrots with butter (REAL butter) and dill. Who knew I loves veggies so much? Not me!


Leave a Reply

