In Hog Heaven

Hello!

This morning J and I got up early to run 3 miles. After training and running our marathon a few months ago, I am LOVING these low mileage days. We are in week 1 of training for our 10 mile race in October.
Then I went to the St. Paul Farmers Market. I have been to smaller Farmer Markets before, but St. Paul is pretty large. I was in hog heaven. Check out what I got:
 Beautiful flowers
 Green and yellow zucchinis
 Green beans
 Potatoes
 Swiss Chard
 Kale
 Beets
 Sweet Onions
 Pickles!
All of this totaled $20. My wallet was as pleased as my belly will be!
I didn’t buy any, but I saw big bundles of Bok Choy for $1. I recall buying that same amount at Whole Foods for over $10. I know I’m late getting on this Farmers Market bandwagon, but I am hooked!
Now I need to figure out what to make with these wonderful veggies. Those potatoes look so good, they might get eaten first!
Plans:
TurboFire 20 min abs, 40 min stretch: one of my favorites, the stretch feels so good!
Lunch!
Twins game tonight with friends
Hopefully catch up on some Real Housewives of NJ!
QUESTION OF THE DAY: What are you having for lunch today?
Have  a great day,
Holly
9 Responses to “In Hog Heaven”

  1. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    What a steal! I am ashamed to admit that I’ve never been to a Farmer’s Market and have been making plans to go which always fall through…well, you’ve convinced me to check it out tomorrow!

  2. Nicole Says:

    I used to always be training for a long race and when I recently started running again it felt sooooo good to know that running 3-4 miles was good enough. No need to dread the upcoming long run or if you have an off day, you don’t have to worry about it derailing your training for the week.

    I am so jealous of the farmer’s market! We have one in downtown Chicago, but it’s really commercialized. You got some great stuff!

    I ran to TJ’s this morning and saw some pretzel rolls…as soon as I got home I ripped one of those suckers out of the bag and downed it in 3 minutes flat. Delicious! Unfortunately, I guess that was lunch and it wasn’t exactly well balanced 🙂

  3. kaztronomic Says:

    That’s awesome! So much wonderful produce for only 20$? Too bad these markets aren’t around all year. I have yet to go to the Farmer’s Market here (yikes!) but I’m sald to think about all I’m missing out on.

    Well, so far for lunch, I’ve picked at some fruit salad, ate the tops off two Mallomars, and have enjoyed several dark chocolate meltaways. Hm. Maybe I need some veggies in there somewhere? 😀

  4. Wendy Says:

    You made out like a bandit! Awesome!
    Lunch today was one chicken taco and a handful of bing cherries. 🙂

  5. Becky Says:

    I love the farmer’s market! I go all the time, but sometimes our markets are pricey…and sometimes I over buy! I’m trying to be better. Everything just looks sooo good 🙂


Leave a Reply

