A Zubaz Tutorial and Zucchini Chips

Good Morning!
There were a few comments about not knowing what Zubaz are? Maybe it is a regional thing (MN thing?), I’m not sure. Here is a Zubaz advertisement:

Zubaz are athletic pants with crazy zebra stripes in odd colors. They were really popular 15-20 years ago? Everyone in my school had them and recently they’ve been popping up again. Honestly, Google Zubaz for more information. You won’t be disappointed!
I was really dragging all day Monday, I think lack of sleep and not working out on Sunday kind of slowed me down. Do you get that way when you skip a workout? Exercise gives me so much energy and when I take unplanned days off it kind of throws my whole week off. But Monday night I got my TurboFire workout in and holy cow do I feel better now! I did Fire 45 – which has 3 fire drills (HIIT drills) that really get my heart pumping. I felt great afterward.
Dinner was the always popular tilapia and green beans. I pan fried the tilapia with a little bit of butter, salt and pepper. But the green beans were the star of the show.
Remember these babies from Saturday?

Yep, I got these precious treasures from the Farmers Market and I couldn’t wait to roast them up with some garlic sea salt, pepper and canola oil. They turned out great.
My plate: 
Afterward, while I was packing my lunch (boring Minestrone soup w/extra kidney and black beans added and a small salad) I decided I needed something more. So I went through my Farmers Market produce again and pulled one of these guys out:
I figured my kale chips turned out well, so why not try zucchini chips? I found some recipes online, and combined a bunch of them.
Zucchini Chips
Combine in a small bowl: ¼ cup crumbled bread crumbs ( I used a toasted piece of Ezekial bread), ¼ tsp seasoned salt, ¼ tsp salt, 1/8 tsp black pepper. Put 2 tbsp almond milk (or milk of your choice) in another small bowl. Chop up your zucchini into thin slices.
Dip the zucchini into the milk and then into the bread crumb mixture:
Place chips on an oven safe wire rack (a basic cookie sheet might work fine too). Bake for 30 minutes at 425 degrees.
I also made some chips seasoned with only salt, pepper and rubbed with canola oil. Before the bake:
After the bake:
Delicious. The perfect addition to my lunch! This morning they shriveled up even more and were much more crunchy.
Plans:
Run 3 miles before work (done!)
TurboFire HIIT workout after work
Dinner: pizza?
Look for Operation Beautiful at B&N!
Laundry (ugh)
Buy new work shoes – on Wed I’ll show you the sad shoes I’ve been wearing lately and (hopefully) some new ones.
Question of the day: What is your favorite, easy meal to make for dunner? I love making chicken breasts/veggies or fish/roasted veggies. They are both quick and easy, and we eat that 2-3 times per week!
31 Responses to “A Zubaz Tutorial and Zucchini Chips”

  1. Becky Says:

    Anything that ends in “chip” or “fry” works for me! I’ve made zucchini fries before and loved ’em. These look equally delish! I’ll be making them soon.

    My go-to for easy dinner is usually chicken with sweet potato and veg. If not, I’ll concoct some mess of pasta and veggies or rice and veggies.

  2. Michelle Says:

    I love doing an easy Stir Fry. I’m not such a fan of the pants though…

  3. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I usually go for a salad or sandwich for an easy dinner. I’ve been really wanting to get into cooking my own fish (I just recently started liking it) and I have no clue on how to start! Do you use frozen or fresh tilapia?

    I remember those pants! Yikes!

  4. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I have never seen those pants. Too funny! I kinda want some though 😉

    Roasted veggies are by fay my favorite, easy, go-to side item. So tasty!

  5. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    Omelets are my favorite quick meal! I love being able to throw all kinds of things in it to use up leftovers…YUM! I am a huge fan of zucchini chips too!

  6. Shanna, Like Banana Says:

    Oh those pants are horrible! I grew up in WI and they were actually popular in the late 80’s / early 90’s. YICK! haha

  7. Wendy Says:

    Ooooh, a new use for the massive zucchinis I still have sittin’ around! Awesome – thanks for sharing your recipe for the chips!
    I have never heard of those zebra pants before you mentioned them. ‘Cept did MC Hammer wear them sometimes?

  8. Nicole Says:

    My fave is to make my Gardein chicken nuggets and sweet potato fries. I know it’s not the freshest dinner, but I sure love it! 🙂

  9. 40apples Says:

    I have heard about these mythical Zubaz before but I swear they must’ve passed over my hometown’s trend-o-meter…. too bad, they look incredible! 😉

    Totally agree with you on the lack of energy that comes from not working out. It’s amazing how much of a difference it makes. It’s as if, on my rest days, my metabolism is all “oh you don’t need me today? k I’ll be by the pool.”

    My favorite go-to dinner is sauteed or steamed veggies, a grain like quinoa or brown rice, and hummus or a soy dressing.

  10. Lele Says:

    Totally stealing the chips idea! That sounds so yummy! And summer squash is so abundant and cheap right now 😀

  11. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    Hahahahahaha. I have never heard of Zubaz. So funny! My favorite easy meal is a kichen sink salad. Just throw in everything you have in the fridge and mix it up. Very delicious.

  12. rc1001 Says:

    Vegetarian chili and cornbread. I just throw all the chili ingredients into a pot and let it simmer away. Then I make the cornbread and toss it in the oven. When the cornbread is done, the chili is ready to go.

    Only need two dishes which I love!!

  13. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    LOL…..OMG…..My uncle TOTALLY had those pants! I never knew what they were called…haha…he was a body builder back in the day, and totally sported these suckers shirtless. TOO funny!

    I love your quick Zucchini recipe!! My favorite quick recipe, that’s filling are my Food for Life Brown Rice Wraps, I add whatever veggies are in season, tofy or tempeh, or sometimes beans with avocado and loaded up with veg. My hubby does his with grilled chicken and lime (I used to before I gave up chicken again), a little jack cheese, lettuce, tomato and we saute some Vidalia onions (sometimes 2 onions, LOL) and voila!!

  14. spabettie Says:

    we both LOVE sandwiches… one of our go to’s is just that… or a wrap… in the summer we have sandos + salad, in the winter sando + soup 🙂

    those zucchini chips sound great!

    those pants… no. 🙂

  15. glutenfreemuse Says:

    Holly, I’d have to say baked or pan seared tofu with steamed spinach and roasted asparagus. Takes about 15 minutes from start to finish!!

    Not getting my workout in really makes me drag…I totally feel ya! Good on you for getting one in today!

    ~Alyssa

  16. Holly at Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices Says:

    Hey HOLLY 😀 Great name!! haha!
    I gotta tell ya, minestone soup is NOT boring @ all! It’s my favorite 🙂
    And, I love your spin on zucchini- so creative.

  17. kaztronomic Says:

    Oh, so those are Zubaz! Hah. I feel so enlightened now. x)

    I never thought to roast zucchini. I guess I thought it would just get soggy or something. I’ll definitely try them, now. 😀

    My favorite go-to dinners usually involve a pan of roasted veggies and maybe an omelette or some beans to round it out. Quick and tasty. 😀

  18. tricia Says:

    yum, those chips look great!

  19. michellestgermain Says:

    I didn’t know what Zubaz were either! I love coming up with a recipe by taking a bunch and combining them. 🙂

  20. eatmovewrite Says:

    I have never heard of Zumbaz in my life! lol.

    Those “chips” look great. Also, I already made a trip to B&N to see Op Beautiful and it STILL wasn’t on the shelves. GRRRR!

  21. Hannah Says:

    Teehee, I *love* roasted green beans but I roasat mine so much that they get shrivelled up and brown/crispy at the ends! I’m betting your way retains more nutrients… 😉

  22. Tina Says:

    Roasted veggies are my heaven! I had some last night. Mmmm….

    I hope you found the book. It is really good! And those Zubaz pants sound crazy.

  23. Holly Says:

    Lemon pepper chicken and brown rice is always an easy dinner. We also love pierogies and roasted veggies. Yum!

  24. fitandfortysomething Says:

    hee hee never heard of zubaz before 🙂


Leave a Reply

