Triple Treat

Good Morning! Here are your three treats for the day:
Treat #1

I’m opening a shop with OpenSky!
 My shop will open on August 10th and I am so excited! OpenSky is a community of shopkeepers with tons of products that I am able to recommend to you.
 Like my foam roller! Hows this for an action shot? 🙂
I can’t wait to show you the rest of the products in my OpenSky store, but you’ll have to wait until next week! OpenSky has a very user-friendly website and the return policy is the best. I decided to partner with OpenSky to pass along product favorites, which you can get right here through the blog. Please let me know if there are any products on the blog that you’d like available in my shop.
I’ll announce next week when my shop will actually be open, then you can take a look and see what I’ve got!
Treat #2
 (source)
Please check out Cake Wrecks. This is a hilarious blog with pics of hideous cakes, cookies and treats. Some of them are pretty awful but they also have some pics of really beautiful cakes. I thought Batman here was hilarious though.  I mean, how pathetic is that frosting? I found this blog by looking at Wendy’s blog Seriously Sassy. Do you like to look at blogrolls? I do because I love to find new blogs!
Treat #3
I read Angela’s blog a few days ago which featured her Mexican Pie. Wow, did that look good or what??? I made it myself with a few changes, but it turned out great:
Mexican Tortilla Pie
1 (15 ounce) cans pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup salsa, divided
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 (15 ounce) can refried beans
5(8 inch) flour tortillas
½ cup shredded soy cheese
Enchilada sauce (I used for top layer)
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix the pinto beans, garlic and ½ cup salsa in one bowl. Mix refried beans with ½ cup salsa in another bowl.  Lay down 1 tortilla in a pie pan coated with nonstick spray. Top tortilla with a layer of the pinto bean mixture and a sprinkle of soy cheese. Top with another tortilla, followed by the refried bean mixture and a sprinkle of soy cheese. Continue this rotation until tortillas are used up. Pour ½ cup of enchilada sauce (or more!) on top of the last tortilla and finish with the rest of the soy cheese. Bake for 25 minutes.
I could not believe how delicious this was, and J gave it a big thumbs up – and I don’t think he even noticed it was all beans and no meat!
I’m sure the leftovers I’m having for lunch today will be spectacular as well. Thanks Angela for a great recipe!
So there you have it. Three treats.
Tonight: TurboFire HIIT and the season premiere of Real Housewives of DC!
Questions of the day:
Is there a blog you recently found that you love? Do you have a blog? I’d like to update my blogroll again, please leave me a comment if you’d like to be included!
Do you like Mexican food? What is your favorite dish?
Have a great day,
Holly
28 Responses to “Triple Treat”

  1. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    That Mexican Tortilla Pie looks BOMB. I’d love to be including in your blog roll!

    I need to update mine soon too.. thanks for the reminder 🙂

  2. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) Says:

    Mmm…the tortilla pie looks amazing! I love anything with a red sauce like that, and I love how it uses beans for the protein filling. Love it. 😀

  3. Becky Says:

    Congrats on becoming a shopkeeper! I love Mexican food. Good salsa and guacamole are a must, but I enjoy most anything with Mexi-twist.

    I’d like to give blog love to Kelly @ http://www.myhealthypassion.wordpress.com

    She’s been through the ringer lately! Send e-hugs her way!

  4. Tina Says:

    I always look at comments from blogs to find new blogs. I’m pretty sure that’s how I found yours even. 🙂

    I find people who comment tend to have blogs they keep up with. Sometimes blog rolls haven’t been updated in so long I find a neat looking blog but the person hasn’t posted in MONTHS.

    Honestly your blog is one of the newer ones I’ve started reading that I love.

  5. lizlivingvegan Says:

    I’d love to be added to your blogroll!! 🙂 and that tortilla pie looks so good. I might have to get some soy cheese and give it a try!

  6. mostlyfitmom Says:

    I like going through other people’s blogrolls, too. And, like Tina, I scroll through comments and click on those sometimes, too. I just started blogging, so I’ve been checking out lots of different blogs, figuring out whose I like and what I want mine to be like. Stop by sometime and check it out – http://mostlyfitmom.wordpress.com.

    My favourite blog is runlikeamotherbook.com. Every week they feature the blog of a running mom, so I always check those out, too. There are some really inspiring reads out there! I recently subscribed to yours – honestly can’t remember how I came across it; probably through comments you posted somewhere – and am definitely entertained and inspired!

  7. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Oh that Mexican pie looks to die for! Since I’m not eating much dairy, I’ll have to check out this soy cheese…because that’s the only thing I miss!

  8. Matt Says:

    You can add me to your blogroll and I will add you 😉

    I LOVE Mexican food! Give me a big plate of fajitas and I will go to town!

  9. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I love Mexican and that pie looks amazing! Going to have to try it!

    Also, Cake Wrecks is hilarious.

    I love Joy the Baker’s blog.

  10. 40apples Says:

    You have touched upon 2 things I LOVE in this post:
    -Foam roller: the best thing to happen to sore muscles since the massage.
    -Cake Wrecks: when I first discovered it I was crying and trying desperately not to completely fall apart from laughter in my cubicle. One of the funniest websites I’ve ever seen!

    I love blogrolling 🙂 If you feel so inclined you can add my little newbie: 40apples.wordpress.com
    A recent blog discovery: loveveggiesandyoga.com – I know it’s pretty well-known out there, but I find it so interesting reading about her body building; and her vegan desserts look amazing!

  11. Wendy Says:

    Thanks so much for the shout-out, Miss Holly!! ❤ You're the BESTEST and again, I'm so happy we've "met" in the blogosphere!
    Mexican. I'm a fan. Gonna try that recipe, fo sho.
    Glad you're enjoying Cake Wrecks! It cracks me up every single day!
    TTYS!

  12. Wendy Says:

    PS How does Open Sky work? bloggers get a portion of the profits or something? Looks neat!

  13. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I LOOOOVE my foam roller…so I am SURE your readers will love it as well 🙂

    Blogrolling is awesome, because we can all find fabulous blogs like yours to scope out!!!
    Mexican food, yummy!!!! I LOVE salsa and chips, guacamole…fajitas…YUM!

  14. Naomi(oneFF) Says:

    ahh that looks so delicoous! like a mexican lasagna!!

  15. rc1001 Says:

    I live in Texas so Mexican food is a huge staple of my diet. Yum yum yum! Congrats on your Open Sky shop! Not sure if I’m on your blogroll yet or not, but I’d love to be! I will add you as well 🙂

  16. kbwood Says:

    WHOA that pie looks DANG good girl!! I like chicken soft tacos at mexican places 🙂

  17. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I totally look at Blog Rolls and love when someone new finds mine because most often, I end up loving their blog as well. (Need to update my own blog roll, stat!).

    I LOVE Mexi food. I may be IN-LOVE with it. I think a good quesadilla can go a long way as long as the cheese is gooey, veggies plentiful, and salsa in abundance. I’ve been having fun making Mexi pastas as of late. They are a win-win situation!

  18. Stacey @ Tipping the (Kitchen!) Scales Says:

    Ha, that Batman is pathetic!!

    Love your tortilla pie thingie, it looks amazing! I haven’t really had much Mexican food as it’s not as big over here in the UK as it is in the US. I do like fajitas and chili though!

  19. glutenfreemuse Says:

    Congrats on your store! Mine is opening the same day, but I will be on vacay 😦

    ~Alyssa

  20. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    Hmmm….when it comes to Mexican food, I am a fajitas and guac girl all the way. Love it.

    I would love to get a shout out on your blog roll since you’re asking. 🙂 Your blog is one of my faves and I also really like http://www.skinnyrunner.wordpress.com. She is really funny and a crazy good runner.

  21. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    I was drooling over that Mexican pie, too! I think I’m going to have to surprise my husband with it sometime soon! I’ve always preferred vegetarian options at Mexican restaurants anyway!

    So excited about Real Housewives of DC tonight, too! And that Batman cookie made me laugh out loud– is that packaged for SALE?! Hahaha

    I feel like I’ve discovered a lot of new blogs lately (including yours!) 😉 I’d love to be included on your blogroll!

  22. Jessica @ Fit & Clean Says:

    I don’t have a foam roller, I have “The Stick”. It’s the same kind of concept. I would love to be included on your blog roll…I’m glad to find new bloggie friends lately!! 🙂

  23. kaztronomic Says:

    I love Cake Wrecks — is it sad that it makes me hungry, though? LOL

    Omg, congrats on the OpenSky store! I can’t wait until it opens! You better pack it full of goodies that I can buy. 😉

    I love all Mexican foods, mostly because they’re almost all naturally tummy-friendly (for me), but I have a soft spot for fajitas. Yum. 😀

    I don’t see Spabettie on your blogroll, and it’s one of my faves. Also recommended are Clean Eats in the Dirty South, The Hungry Scholar, and pretty much anyone else on my blogroll. 😀

  24. Myra Says:

    You want some good Mexican food… come here. It’s ridiculous.
    Also, avocados are 4 for a dollar down here. Jeyyus?!??
    We’re going to try to make your recipe tomorrow… sha!

  25. SheFit Says:

    I use to love mexican food till I became lactose intolerant. . . cheese just doesn’t cut it with my stomach as much these days.

    I would love to be added to your blogroll 🙂

  26. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i love the idea of opensky, can’t wait to see your store! as for mexican food, i’m obsessed with sala. seriously, i can almost eat it straight out of the jar.

    and thank you SO much for adding me to your blogroll! 🙂 i need to work on mine, this weekend for sure, and you will most definitely be on there (er, if that’s okay…..:) )


Leave a Reply

