Pies, Pickles and TurboFire Results

Good Morning Readers!

First, let me give you a little TurboFire update. I have finished a month of following the program, and here are my results:

Left Bicep – 1/ 8 inch lost
Bust – 1 inch lost
Waist – 1 ¾ inches lost
Hips – 1 inch lost
Left Thigh – 1 ¼ lost
Total – 5 1/8 inches lost
Total weight loss: 4 lbs

I wish I had gotten my body fat tested, but I used what I had: a scale and a measuring tape. I’m not trying to lose any more weight here, but I’m ok with losing more inches! I can definitely feel everything firming up – I can see it in my legs the most.

Conclusion: TurboFire is an awesome program! 🙂 It has definitely been worth the cost – I love having a good mix of dvds that really challenge me! Plus, the workouts are fun and as corny as it sounds, they don’t seem like actual exercise some of the time. It is just dancing around and having fun.

Last night J and I went to dinner here:

 Betty’s Pies is such a cute little place. The original location is in northern Minnesota and is a total tourist stop. Anyone who vacations on the North Shore has been to Betty’s Pies (and if they haven’t, they are totally missing out!) They opened a location near St. Paul a few years ago. I think when they opened my Dad went there at least once per week, if not more than that! Here is their pie menu:

I ordered the Cobb Salad. I was so happy to see that the lettuce was romaine and not iceberg! Plus there was a lot of avocado and a lovely wheaty roll.

J got the spicy chicken wrap and sweet potato fries. I may have had a few. They were crinkle cut sweet potato fries – the best kind!

We also got pie afterward and I forgot to take pics until we were both half done. But, here they are anyway. I got the Great Lakes Fruit (pear, blueberry, raspberry with a crumble top) and J got the Butterfinger Cream. We also ordered a full Great Lakes Fruit to give to J’s mom. It is her birthday today!

So, remember these pickling cucumbers I got at the Farmers Market last weekend?

Well, I decided to try making pickles today. I found a few recipes online that didn’t require jarring the pickles so I took a little bit of info from each recipe and threw together my own.

First, I washed and cut my pickles into spears. Then, I sprinkled them with sea salt and let them sit in a colander for 20 minutes or so. This is supposed to dry the pickles out. Then, place pickles in a large bowl:

Bring the following ingredients to a boil:

2 cups water
2 cups vinegar (I used 1 cup seasoned rice wine vinegar, which is what most websites recommended, plus 1 cup apple cider vinegar, which was also recommended)
2-3 cloves of garlic roughly chopped
1 tbsp coriander seeds
1 tsbp dill weed
1 tbsp fennel
¼ cup sugar (you could add more if you want sweeter pickles)

After the mixture is boiling, pour on top of the pickles:

Let the pickles mixture cool to room temperature. Here, you are supposedly able to eat and enjoy the pickles, but I wanted to wait overnight before trying them.

The verdict? Not bad for my first time making pickles. Next time I will use more water and less vinegar. I also would have thrown some fresh dill on top of the pickles — but my grocery store was out of fresh dill!

There were so many recipes, and most of them said to throw spices into a vinegar/water mixture, bring to a boil, cover the pickles and wait. Easy peasy!

Saturday plans:
Farmers Market
J’s Mom’s bday – stop by after lunch with the pie!
TurboFire 20 min abs, 40 min stretch
Run 3 miles
Laundry
Clean the house like a madwoman – my sister, niece and nephew are coming up to MN (they live in OK) next week and they are staying with us! The guest room is in a shambles and the rest of the house could use some sprucing up too!

Questions:

What are you doing this weekend? Any fun plans?

Have you tried TurboFire? What workout have you enjoyed recently?

Have you ever made your own pickles? Do you like pickles?

23 Responses to “Pies, Pickles and TurboFire Results”

  1. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl Says:

    Turbo Fire sounds great…I may have to look into it! Way to go making your own pickles! I’ve always wanted to do that!

  2. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    Let’s start off with the fact that I LOVE pickles! I remember making them with my mom when I was a kid! My ability to eat the amount of pickles I can in one sitting is a talent I am really proud of!

    Those pies look amazing! YUM!

    I hope you have a great weekend…we are really not doing much other than just hanging out before the kids go back to school Monday.

  3. carly Says:

    I love pickles … usually. Must be crispy, cold and Kosher! I’m more of an olive person.

    Have a good weekend!

  4. Becky Says:

    I need to try making my own pickles. I hate the fluorescent green jarred variety, but I love ’em homemade. Seems simple enough – thanks for sharing the recipe!

  5. Kristy Says:

    Turbo Fires sound like a ton of fun. I’m so glad to see all your reviews on Jillian’s video’s, very helpful. I am loving 30 day shred even though I am only a week into it. I also rec’d the No More Trouble Zones but have yet to try it out. Turbo Fire looks like it will be great to try for me during the winter here since I HATE the cold winter!
    Enjoy your weekend!!!

  6. Matt Says:

    Blech! I hate pickles!

  7. Matt Says:

    I like pie though 😉

  8. michellestgermain Says:

    Wow, great results! How often did you do the workouts? I’ve never tried it so I’ll have to go read your reviews but losing inches is a great testament 🙂

  9. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Mmm pickles. If I don’t watch myself, I can easily consume half a can.

    I agree – crinkle cut makes a french fry just taste even better.

    Congrats on the Turbo Fire Results! I am not thisclose to trying it out myself 🙂

  10. Katie Says:

    Turbo Fire seems to be wonderful!! What great results you are having with it! Congrats girl!!!

    Ahhhhhhhhhh pies are so delish! I have to say my fave is apple pie with some vanilla icecream!!!

    Sounds like you have a great weekend planned, its always fun to have visitors!!!

    Have a great day! xoxo

  11. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) Says:

    Your homemade pickles look awesome! I love pickles, and I’ll bet they tasted amazing, homemade. 😀

  12. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I have not tried TurboFire, but with those results, I just may. Way to go!!!

  13. Wendy Says:

    Those pickles look great. Dill pickles are one of my favorite foods! Im so impressed that you made them yourself!
    I tried Turbo Fire but didn’t like it very much. Gonna stick with the variety of workouts that I love – Leslie Sansone’s walk-based aerobics, running and walking, and HIIT. Variety is awesome when it comes to keeping workouts interesting. 🙂 Your TF results are wonderful!!!
    And Betty can make me a pie anyyyyytime. Lol!

  14. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Congrats on the results!! That’s really awesome! Is TurboFire like P90X? I’m going to guess that it is but I’m not sure.

  15. Janna's Keeping it Real! Says:

    oh sweet heavens, that pie sounds AMAZING!

    I haven’t tried turbo fire, but i just adore turbo jam! I am going to do a little research this weekend on TF though, for sure!!!

  16. Meg Says:

    Congrats on those amazing results girl! I LOVE pickles, I am addicted, actually 😉 but I’ve never tried making my own – they sound fun 😀

  17. Nicole Says:

    Love to hear about your TF results! You are also really making me want some pickles right now… 🙂

  18. caronae Says:

    Hello there! 🙂 I love workout DVDs — it is so easy to do it in the morning before leaving the house instead of worrying about getting to the gym or getting out for a run1 I only have the 30 day shred though. I shall have to add to my vollection and I think Turbo Fire will be on my list.

    This post made me miss pie. We have the best pies in my home state of MI. I like cherry or blueberry. Mmmmm. You kind of just made me want to make a pie, actually. Hmmmmm…..

  19. Kaz Says:

    I love pickles, but for some reason, never thought to make my own. Those look so delicious! 😀

    No plans for this weekend — the fella and I have tons of movies to work our way through. Low key, unwinding, relaxing.

    Congrats on the fitness success! That must feel great! =)

  20. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    congratulations on your inches lost!! so jealous…i’ve barely worked out all month! (not my fault. quad’s fault.) i should look into this TurboFire thing, although i must admit, if it’s dance related it probably won’t be my forte….

    those cucumbers looked yummy. i like pickles, but only home made ones (less salty and more fresh tasting.) never tried making them though. i’d like to try pickling carrots – have you tried? sounds weird but they’re SO good!

    my weekend was pretty tame, except my husband had a 14km race. 80,000 people – can you imagine?? supposed to be one of the biggest in the world…

  21. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Yey!!! Congrats on the Turbo Fire results, thats amazing!!! You go girl!!! I need to get that program..I have ZERO room in my house for all the jumping around unfortunately 😦

    Your pickles look really good, and easy to do! I never tried them, byt my hubby loves pickles so maybe I should!

  22. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    Love that pie place!! There was a place in Houston called House of Pies that we used to go to all the time. So many delicious pies. It’s awesome.

    I have been wanting to make pickles also but was defeated by the lack of jars. Good for you for forging new jar-less frontiers!

  23. Michael Beyer Says:

    These are my favorite bread and butter pickles. They are what grandma would have made: http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/17/your-classic-bread-and-butter-pickles-2/


Leave a Reply

