Kale Friend

Hi Readers!

 Look what I got yesterday 🙂

 Thanks for all the nice words about my TurboFire results! I am super excited.

 Saturday morning I went to the St. Paul Farmers Market – it was raining lightly, but nothing could keep me away from those veggies. The difference between the Farmers Market produce and the regular grocery store produce is huge.

Here are the goods:

And look at the little friend who came home on the kale with me:

All together now:

 I’m a little nervous about the okra. The only time I’ve prepared it before it turned out slimy and really gross. I’m sure if it was deep-fried it would be delicious. Any ideas on preparing okra?

Last night I decided to use the green peppers. They were huge! I thought stuffed peppers sounded delicious!

Black Bean Stuffed Peppers
Ingredients:
2 large peppers
1 cup cooked brown rice
1 cup black beans
½ onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 zucchini, shredded
1 cup salsa
¼ tsp cayenne
Salt and pepper
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook brown rice. Saute onion and garlic until soft. Wash peppers, cut the tops off, and clean out any seeds. Place peppers in a baking dish coated with cooking spray. You might need to cut off a portion of the bottom of the pepper to help them stand up straight. Mix brown rice, beans, onion, garlic, zucchini, salsa, cayenne, salt and pepper in a bowl. Divide mixture evenly between the peppers.

 Cover dish with foil and bake for 45 minutes. I would have liked to add some shredded soy cheese, but we were out. They still turned out great:

 This was very easy to put together, and when I make this again, I will add more salsa, since the stuffing was a tad dry.

Sunday plans:
Laundry
Vacuum whole house
TurboFire
Grocery shopping
Update blog roll…
Relax
Read The Lovely Bones (I’m almost done!)

 Questions:

 What are your plans for today? Anything fun?

 Do you read any non food related blogs? What is your favorite one?

25 Responses to “Kale Friend”

  1. Tanya Says:

    Yum – those black bean stuffed peppers look delish! I read a ton of “daily style” blogs, like What I Wore and Style of a Fashionista. Plans for today include swimming at the gym, then going on a hike – I’ve committed myself to going on weekly hikes to discover new places around where I live.

    • Anne Says:

      Love your pictures! (tho I was glad you found your kale friend before eating him). Your recipes look soooo healthy and good.

      I am interested in seeing what other blogs are out there and will put it on my to do list. Meeting today, some school shopping and Liquid Planet (smoothies) with teenage son, outdoor fun with family, and am making Ricotta -Basil Stuffed Tomatoes from Vegetarian Times recipe! can’t wait

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      Thanks for the recommendations! I love finding new-to-me blogs.

  2. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Today is my off day from exercise, so I’m actually at my parents visiting and hanging with my kids. Just going to relax today and enjoy summer!

    Fave non-food blogs: laineygossip.com, runlikeamotherbook.com, http://www.hostessblog.com, thepioneerwoman.com.

    That’s quite the to do list you have! Good luck getting everything crossed off. I’ve heard The Lovely Bones is a really good book…

  3. Becky Says:

    I always get a worm on my kale, too! Then, I worry that I’m going to eat said worm. Eww…

    The stuffed peppers look great. I love using black beans as a sub for meat in recipes like that. So tasty!

  4. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl Says:

    Looks like the farmer’s market was a success! Aren’t they so much fun!

    I love stuffed peppers….I’m going to have to try your recipe for them!

  5. Wendy Says:

    Non-food related blog? Do those even exist? Lol! The vast majority of blogs I follow are food related but I also love Cake Wrecks and Cute Overload.
    GREAT farmers market goodies! We didn’t get to one this weekend. Pooey! Oh well….tomorrow morning I’m headed to TJ’s. 😀
    Did you get those gorgeous fl’ers at the market, too?

  6. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    I am getting my kids ready for school to start tomorrow. I read art blogs too since I work with my husband who is an artist. I am NOT a fan of okra for the reasons you mentioned. I will spare you my childhood drama with them. The stuffed peppers look delicious though! Have a great afternoon!

  7. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    LOVE farmers market finds!!! Zucchini is SO good right now, isn’t it!!!

    Those peppers look amazing! I was planning to go be lazy today and catch up on Weeds, maybe catch up on reading, but I am finding I have endless work to do on the computer…ugh…I feel my legs tightening up just thinking about it 😦

    Have a nice Sunday!!

    Most of my fav blogs are fitness blogs, and most of them have food on them..haha….so I will def have to get back to you on that question!!

  8. fitandfortysomething Says:

    first off love your stuffed pepppers! secondly i would recommend checking out graduate meghanns blog she makes okra fries which i would make if i were you!

    have a great day…..we are relaxing today 🙂

  9. kaztronomic Says:

    The little inch worm was trying to inch his way into your life. 😀 How cute!

    I love stuffed peppers! Those look so delicious. =)

    The best way to make okra is roasting it. Oil ’em up good and proper, roast for ten minutes on 400 F (convection is best), flip, and roast for five more minutes. I like to dip ’em in ketchup. =)

    I mostly read food blogs. Heh. And, today is gonna be a lazy Sunday, just because I said so. 😀

  10. carly Says:

    I read a lot of news or pop culture blogs, like Jezebel. But mostly my online reading material is either CNN, NPR, or health/food-related blogs.

    Blech, I’m not a big fan of okra, though I have been intrigued by the okra “fries” Meghann features on Inner Workings.

  11. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I bought kale for the first time today!! I cant wait to try it- specifically in chip form. 😛 And as far as okra..it’s slimy in nature so I’m not sure if there’s any helping that. I love the stuff but it grosses out my mom every time I eat it. I’ve seen a recipe for “okra fries” though which I think you just take whole okra and bake them at 375*-400* (?) for 20 minutes or so until they’re crispy. I heard they’re really good 🙂

  12. Kate Says:

    i was the st paul market today! yup, i live in minneapolis and will be moving to st paul at the end of the month. we must do a meet up after i hop the river!

  13. Kristy Says:

    Those stuffed peppers look great! I have to admit I’ve never had kale, I should because there aren’t many green things that I like!
    Thanks for sharing!!!

  14. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com Says:

    now that i think of it, i only really read food blogs nowadays! hmmm

    i love seeing all ur fresh produced lined up 🙂
    your stuffed peppers are looking scrumptious and lovely!

    xoxo

  15. michellestgermain Says:

    I second the thought on okra fries – never had them myself – but can you go wrong with roasting a vegetable? 🙂

    For non-food blogs, I read thesimpledollar, zenhabits, younghouselove, and now and then, thechloeconspiracy. Oh and catalogliving! That one is hilarious.

  16. Baking Serendipity Says:

    Those stuffed peppers look delicious! And all the market finds as well 🙂 I’ve actually never made anything with okra before, so I’m probably not much help in that department. Looking forward to what you will make though!

  17. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i’m seriously making those stuffed peppers. i’ve been looking for ideas to get more protein in my diet (a la beans) and this looks perfect. thanks for sharing!

    hmmm….i guess most of the blogs i read food and fitness related, but i also read a lot of newspapers and writing-related stuff. and Oprah. who can forget Oprah? 🙂

  18. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    I love pioneer woman, cake wrecks, and perez hilton. I also have to try those stuffed peppers. I Haven’t had stuffed peppers in forever! My mom used to make them when I was a kid.

  19. Nicole @ Getting Back to the Basics Says:

    Okay, I am now determined to get to the farmer’s market that is downtown on Thursdays! I’m putting it in my outlook calendar right now! 🙂


Leave a Reply

