Pancake Fail

Good Morning!

I spent all day yesterday cleaning up the house and getting ready for my sister, niece and nephew to come and stay with us. I did squeeze in some time for TurboFire 45, cooking and a little reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

Plus we went to Best Buy and Home Depot to look at washers and dryers. We also looked at cameras โ€“ we are thinking of getting one for Jโ€™s mom for her birthday. She is taking a trip to Italy in October and we think she could use a better camera!ย J reallyย liked this one: ๐Ÿ™‚

I finished The Lovely Bones!ย To be honest it was a very depressing book. What I didn’t like was the description of Heaven – it sounded like a sad place. If you’ve read the book, do you agree? I wanted to finish it because I want to move onto a new book:

Iโ€™ve had it since Tuesday but I havenโ€™t had a chance to open it up. The Lovely Bones was pretty depressing, so I am looking forward to reading a much more positive book.

Here are some of my favorite OB posts from last week:

Michelle

Angela

Tina

There were more, but these three stood out to me, in the best way possible. Thanks ladies for the great posts!

Today I used up some Farmers Market goodies while making lunch. I wanted to celebrate Pancake Sunday in honor of HEAB.ย 

I made Potato Pancakes.

I used a recipe that you can find *here*.ย But I didn’t fry them in oil, and I used oat flour instead of regular flour.

Here is the โ€œbatterโ€:

In the skillet:

ย 

And the final product, topped with eggs:

The verdict? They were ok. Once J and I dumped salt on top of these babies, they were ok, but they really lacked flavor. Next time I will add more seasoning, and I will make them thinner โ€“ the outside was nice and crunchy (like hashbrowns) but the inside was pretty soggy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

So I threw them out and we had some cinnamon toast instead. ๐Ÿ™‚

So Iโ€™ve been totally putting my 10 mile training plan to the sideย and only using TurboFire. Why? Because TurboFire is fun and running just hasnโ€™t been as much fun. This week I need to start focusing on running more, or that 10 mile is going to feel like a marathon.

You know what might help? Compression socks. ๐Ÿ™‚

Good thing I won a pair from Shelby’s giveaway on Eat, Drink, Run! I hope to get a pink pair just like Shelby:

Thanks again Shelby!

Donโ€™t forget that my OpenSky shop opens tomorrow โ€“ woohoo!

Questions:

Did you write an OB post? Tell me and Iโ€™ll go check it out!

What do you do when you lose motivation to workout?

Do you wear compression socks?

37 Responses to “Pancake Fail”

  1. Becky Says:

    I don’t wear compression socks, but I have thought about getting a pair. I am curious if they’ll make a difference. Congrats on winning!

    If you haven’t read it yet, I’d definitely recommend Born to Run. It’s much more positive than The Lovely Bones, which was depressing. I agree with you on that.

  2. lizlivingvegan Says:

    Haha those are some awesome socks!!! Do they help with running? I’m having trouble increasing my mileage!! Regardless of the compression, I think I’d run better if I had hot pink knee socks ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. tanyasdaily Says:

    I get new music, I do something different,I write down a goal

  4. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com Says:

    i still havent wrote a sticky note for operation beautiful but i know i will, its the best random act of kindness ive ever seen and it was so amazing to see her on the today show talking to meredith viera!!

    xo

  5. Michelle Whitley Says:

    I am happy to see another Turbo Fire lover like myself!!! I did Fire 45 EZ this morning but the Fire 45 is one of my FAVES!!! The music in that one is awesome….BOOM I got your boyfriend! LOL

  6. 40apples Says:

    Too bad about the potato pancakes! Boo. At least cinnamon toast is always reliable ๐Ÿ™‚

    Lack of motivation is tough. I go through cycles – I’ll hit a point where exercise becomes more of a “necessary chore” (though I hate to say chore – it’s not quite that bad!) than exciting and motivating. Then I have try to mix it up, add in something new. Lately it’s been strength training that has really reinvigorated me.

  7. Tanya Says:

    Motivation is so hard sometimes. For me, I just do workouts that are fun – like I’m really enjoying swimming these days, and I look forward to doing it. I also like taking classes at the gym, so I’ll do more classes for a while. And I have never worn compression socks.

  8. Kristy Says:

    That’s too bad about the pancakes, good back up though! Never worn compression socks, probably because I’m not yet into running, more fear than anything! That is definitely one of my goals, though. When I get bored with my power walking or videos I just switch it up whether it be my route, music or video!

  9. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    I totes want a pair of compression socks and those hot pink ones look adorable! I hear you on the running. I have been much more into walking/hiking lately, but this week is the first week of my half-marathon training plan, so it is time to get on it.

  10. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Boo to the pancakes, but mmm…cinnamon toast. Have you seen this post from The Pioneer Woman re: cinnamon toast? http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/04/the-right-way-and-the-wrong-way-to-make-cinnamon-toast/ Pretty funny. Had no idea I was making mine the wrong way.

    Motivation can be tough! Definitely signing up for races helps me. I also work with a trainer so that my workouts are always changing. Plus I feel a little more accountable to getting my workouts in. Maybe a new playlist or a change in running route would help?

  11. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I read The Lovely Bones years ago and forgot if I liked it, so Hubbs and I rented the movie on Friday… DON’T DO IT. The movie was pretty terrible.

    PS what camera did you like? I’m in the market for a new one before my trip in October!

  12. rc1001 Says:

    Whenever I lose motivation to work out, I just make sure to stay active in other ways (take the stairs instead of the elevator, vaccuum the house, walk my dog) and usually the urge to workout returns within a few days. I try not to sweat it since overall I am very active.

  13. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Those are some nice looking potato latkas….my hubby would be drooling at those pics. Sorry they didn’t trn out as planned..they are REALLY tough to make. My jewish mothin in law makes them, but my hubby doesn’t even like hers, and shes a GREAT cook. He prefers them from whole foods. I am yet to figure out how they do them, but I think it has something to do with how you cut them and how dense the batter it. When I get to the bottom of it I will let you know!

    I need some compression socks!! What a great idea!!! I have such ankle issues, they would be perfect! Also, I LOVE sporting the knee socks in the gym, haven’t in a while, but its super cute…PINK is a total plus ๐Ÿ™‚

    I plan on doing an OB post…but I have to take some tome b/c it really hits a nerve. I have to get myself mentally psyched for it. I flipped through the book, but didn’t get too deep into it. It’s going to bring up a lot of mixed emotions, some painful feelings from the past, along with inspiration and happiness. So I haven’t gotten to reading it yet. But I plan on maybe doing one on Wed this week.

    When I lose motivation, I try to get excited about something new, or buy myself new workout gear!

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      Well, that makes me feel better about the potato pancakes — I’m not the only one who “failed” them.

      I can’t wait to see your OB post. Yes, the whole concept is very emotional and I feel a little angry that for so long I have beaten myself up and treated myself so badly. I need to be good to myself!

  14. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    Sorry about the potatoes. That stinks. Cinnamon toast always makes things better though! As for working out. I schedule my workouts for first thing in the morning. I try to think of what I was to do the night before and when I need a change or something fun, I do something a little different. I use Exercise TV online sometimes to change it up.

  15. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I bought the OB book yesterday and have spent most of the morning reading through it. It’s so awesome! I’m wating to post-it the entire city now ๐Ÿ˜›

  16. Tia Says:

    Those socks are adorable!

    Would you recommend TurboFire for someone who isnโ€™t super athletic? I’ve just recently started working out a fair bit and am getting bored with Runs, Yoga & My Wii and I’m not at the “go to the gym” point quite yet. A friend gave me P90X but it’s almost to daunting to even try lol. Congrats on your results!! My grandmother makes the BEST potato pancakes in the entire world (lol Least as far as I know) BUT definitely not healthy!

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      To be honest, the first TurboFire workout I did I was totally winded and thought about stopping midway through…that being said I think anyone could do it. Included with the set is a “beginners” calendar, where you can build up your stamina and endurance a bit before getting into the harder workouts.

      I’ve tried 1 P90x workout and it was tough – holy crap my shoulders hurt for a week.

  17. carly Says:

    Latkes! I may make these tonight – I’ve been trolling the web for some inspiration for dinner. I think maybe next time you should try baking them. That might get that crisp all the way throughout.

  18. Katie Says:

    omg the socks are so cute!!!!!!!! I love that they are pink!!!!

    My fiance loves potato pancakes! He makes them every once in a while! Yours seemed to be ok! Hey win some, lose some!

    SO cool you got the OB Book, I hope to get it too!

    Have a great night xoxo

  19. kaztronomic Says:

    Congrats on winning!

    I’ve never tried compression socks before, but I’m curious as to how they work. =)

    Those potato pancakes look pretty good, even if you deem them as a bust. I should attempt to make them sometime, though. I love potatoes. ๐Ÿ˜€ Let me know if you revamp them, and if so, how it turns out! =)

  20. Tina Says:

    Those socks are cute! You would have no clue they are compression. And thanks for the shout out. That means a lot. ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re awesome lady! I’ve missed reading your blog too much. I’m glad to be back and able to read and comment again.

  21. Matt Says:

    I love my compression socks! I need some pink ones ๐Ÿ˜‰

  22. Michelle Says:

    I am SO glad you liked my OB post! Tina and Angela had really great ones as well.

    Those socks are absolutely amazing. I would love running around Eugene in those.

  23. michellestgermain Says:

    The potato pancakes look good! You could have fooled us ๐Ÿ˜› And I hope you get the pink compression socks. They are darling ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. Nicole @ Making Good Choices Says:

    I don’t wear compression socks, but I’m thinking of getting some for my half marathon training.

  25. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i love compression gear! i think my pants work better than my socks, but i’d definitely recommend both.

    i usually don’t have a problem motivating myself to work out, although honestly, last week i was frusterated and thought about giving up running completely. too many injuries! (i know: wrong attitude to have, but i’m just being honest. i suffered a moment of weakness.) anyway, i decided i “didn’t care” and you know what, it took no time at all before i cared again. i don’t like feeling tired, lazy and bloated. i NEED a good sweat session to keep my sanity. that’s enough to motivate me back on the treadmill. maybe i just need to double up on the compression ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Those sockies are HIP!! Looking forward to hearing how you like them.
    Sorry about the potato pancake fail. Don’t you hate that? Kinda takes the wind outta your sails. Sure looked like you were on the right track. Ah well….the failures make the victories just THAT much sweeter, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. arsenalfamily Says:

    Wow, I was just looking at Turbo Fire but I think Insanity might win… I don’t plant on starting until November since I’m already in the middle of a program. CRAZY though.

  28. Jennifer Says:

    Your potato cakes look so good! Thanks for posting the recipe link. I really look forward to trying it. As far as running goes, I just got a shin brace that is like a compression sock. I used it tonight for the first time running 4 miles. Not sure what I think about it yet…..

  29. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I’ve read Lovely Bones too, it was a good book but very very sad. I won’t be checking out the movie, I’m sure it would make me cry!

  30. Swim, Run, Om Says:

    […] realize my memory card wasn’t in the camera. But I ended up making latkes, inspired by Holly from The Couch Potato Athlete. They were paired with a light spinach […]

  31. Get yo Bondi Band! « Swim, Run, Om Says:

    […] realize my memory card wasn’t in the camera. But I ended up making latkes, inspired by Holly from The Couch Potato Athlete. They were paired with a light spinach […]


Leave a Reply

