Guest Post: Healthy, Filling Foods

Good Morning!

Thank you so much for all the advice on vacations — I am so excited to look into these places to figure out the best place for us to visit! And I will certainly post a longer version of my random facts — hopefully including a video of my taser experience!

Since I’m a little busy with my family visiting, I thought I’d ask my friend Wendy from Seriously Sassy to write a guest post for me! Be sure to check out her blog and leave her a comment letting her know that you came from here!

********************

Dearest Couch Potato Athlete, thank you for allowing me to be a guest blogger for you, my new friend. I am tickled pink!

You KNOW the feeling. You’ve eaten a meal, you’ve eaten a snack….but you’re still SO hungry.
I’m assuming most of Holly’s blog readers already understand that the more processed, carb-loaded, empty calorie foods you eat, the hungrier you get. But what are we healthy eating devotees supposed to do on those days when all that nutritious fare we’ve enjoyed is simply leaving us….hungry for more?
I’ve been doing a bit of research on HEALTHY, FILLING FOODS and this is what I’ve found.
* POTATOES are delicious and filling!
Remember that all potatoes are not created equal.  Obviously fries are not nearly as filling (or nutritious) as a baked potato with a little Earth Balance and pepper.
* OATMEAL – the farmer’s best friend
True story: A lot of European farmers start their morning with a bowl of oatmeal because they need their bellies to be filled and satisfied for several hours at a time. An Egg McMuffin would have them running back to the farmhouse in half an hour for more food. And there are so many wonderful things you can add to your bowl of oatmeal – cinnamon, a little maple syrup, fresh fruit, dried cranberries.  Some bloggers I know even love adding a scoop of almond butter. Yum!
* ORANGES AND APPLES are packed with fiber
We know that fiber takes up a lot of room in your stomach. Get this: You can eat two apples or oranges for the same amount of calories as a banana. So if you’re trying to fill your belly, the round fruit is what you should reach for. (But ohhhhh, how I adore my bananers!)
* AIR-POPPED POPCORN – the hunger-filling trick that keeps on working
This trick has been well known for ever and ever, but it bears repeating. You don’t even need butter to make it yummy. I, personally, love the clean, simple taste of plain popcorn but why not try adding cinnamon, dry dressing mix, or garlic powder for a flavorful treat?
* WALNUTS – satisfy hunger AND protect your ticker!
These crunchy nuts are full of protein (without saturated fat) and healthy omega 3s.  Almonds and sunflower seeds are fabulous belly-satisfying snacks, too.  I just finished a little bowl of pomegranate Greek yogurt, a handful of dried cranberries and chopped walnuts. Perfect!
* RAW VEGGIES – the more organic, the better!
Raw veggies contain more vitamins and nutrients than cooked ones, and also seem to be more filling because of their water content. If plain raw veggies don’t float your boat, dip them into some light ranch or French dressing or in salsa. (Mmmmm, have you ever made your own fresh salsa? I’d dip just about ANYTHING in that stuff!)
KEEP IN MIND: Often when we feel hungry, we are really just thirsty.
If you know you’ve eaten enough but are still hungry, try drinking a glass of ice water with some fresh lemon or lime squeezed into it. Wait ten minutes or so and if you’re still hungry, grab a hunger-busting bite from this list!
Let me leave you with a recipe for a little snack I devised a few couple weeks in the lab that I call my kitchen. Do you ever have those moments when you just need a little bit of chocolate – and if it’s WARM chocolate then it’s even better?  Me too. My gift to you:
WENDY’S “I NEED CHOCOLATE” MINI CAKE

2 Tbs oats
2 Tbs natural applesauce
1 tsp water
About 12 chocolate chips
Blob of almond butter
1 tsp flour
In small bowl, stir together oats, applesauce, water, chocolate chips and almond butter.
Microwave for 25 seconds.  Stir in flour and nuke for 60 seconds.
Out comes a mini chocolate cake just for you! You could add a bit of ground flax or a blobette of Greek yogurt.  Enjoy!
***************************
Thanks Wendy! I’ll be back in the morning with a new post. Have a great day!  
Holly
Posted in Food, Recipe. Tags: . 21 Comments »

21 Responses to “Guest Post: Healthy, Filling Foods”

  1. Becky Says:

    Great healthy options! I love snacking and enjoy many of the foods listed. I can’t wait to try that cake! Yum, yum, yum!!

  2. Marina Says:

    Popcorn is one of my favorite snacks, salty, maybe with some curry powder, it’s really addictive 🙂
    And I love making those microwave cakes, so easy and versatile!

  3. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Hmm, cinnamon on popcorn. Why haven’t I tried this yet?!?

    As always, the pics are making me hungry – even though I just had some delicious overnight oats for breakfast. Guess I’ll grab a glass of water 🙂

  4. lisaou11 Says:

    great guest post! its so easy when you are feeling snacky to reach for the crappy, processsed stuff…and saly, that only makes you hungrier.

  5. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    Good info! And that cake looks delicious!!! I do notice that the processed stuff always makes me hungrier.

  6. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    What a great guest post! It was a great little reminder for me to grab an apple for my mid-morning snack, rather than those Clif bars I’m so addicted to. Thanks!

  7. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Thanks again for letting me write a guest post for ya! Looks great! 🙂

  8. Tia Says:

    Baked Potatos with Earth Balance = Heaven! So Yum!

  9. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Great ideas Wendy! Does the chocolate cake count as food filler ;-P

  10. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Looove filling foods! Eating a lot of filling foods is way better than getting the same amounts of calories in a single slice of pizza and then never feeling satisfied. 🙂

  11. Matt Says:

    Great post! I love all of those foods 🙂

  12. Alycia @ Fit n Fresh Says:

    Awesome guest post! I loved all the snack/food suggestions – especially potatoes. Give me a baked potato and I am a happy girl 🙂

  13. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com Says:

    I LOVE MY SPUDS ❤ theres a great list of satiety level foods, and potatoes are the number one for highest level of satiation! mmm and taters definitely keep me ful land happy 🙂

  14. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I like the story about the farmer!

    Holly, thanks for your encouraging words today…I hope you are enjoying tie with your fam!

  15. michellestgermain Says:

    I love walnuts. I have no idea why I never buy them! Putting them on the list…

  16. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) Says:

    Mmm…that is a great, healthy list of foods. I’m a huge fan of each of them. 😀

  17. Beer and Burrito Body Says:

    Popcorn is one of my favorite snacks. I still do stove top and use oil, but always olive oil and no butter. Mmmm . . .

  18. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    thanks for the recipe! is that your own? i love how easy it is. i don’t really cook so this is right up my alley. (and you’ve sparked my interest in making my own salsa 🙂 )

  19. SohdaLex Says:

    Hi ~ first time on your blog and I loved this post! It was nice to read about filling foods and I was pleased to see that I frequently enjoy about all of them 😉

    And words can not describe what I feel about the mini chocolate cake. I can’t wait to try it!


Leave a Reply

