Perfection & Protein Bars

Good Morning!

I am up early to go to the St. Paul Farmers Market. I know niece F and nephew H will have a lot of fun seeing all of the fruits and veggies. They are too cute.

I’m so glad so many of you are excited about Tina’s 30 Days of Reflection plan. I love any opportunity to build others up and to learn more about myself. Please check it out if you haven’t already.

Tina posted a question yesterday that really hit home with me:

“Have you ever felt that you have to reach a certain goal or become something in order to achieve happiness?”

I have felt that way for so many years. I thought that once I achieve certain goals, that I would become a happier, more accomplished, more worthwhile person. I remember wanting to lose 20-30 lbs, be incredibly fit and toned, have a great job, have a great boyfriend/husband, have x amount of dollars in the bank, have a certain kind of car, have a certain kind of house, have great friends, be super smart, have money to travel around, etc. I wanted all of those things right away and I felt like once those goals were accomplished that I could finally start LIVING.

Well guess what. Out of that list I for sure have a great husband 🙂 but the rest of my list is not complete. And you know what? I’m ok with that. It has taken me a long time to get rid of this all-or-nothing attitude, and it still shows itself at times. I feel like my attitude has taken a turn for the better and I couldn’t be more happy about that.

How did I change my thinking? Well, it is still a constant struggle, but what helps me is staying positive. When negative thoughts enter (such as “if only I’d lose more weight, then I would be pretty, happy and people would like me more”) I immediately replace them with a positive thought (such as “I am beautiful. I am worthwhile. I have a wonderful life. I am so blessed”). And you know what? I feel better. I look at myself in the mirror differently. Instead of noticing the imperfections in the mirror, I see the positives: my strong legs, my sculpted arms, my long hair, etc.

That is a very sensitive topic for me because for so long I filled my head with negative thoughts and thought that until I was “perfect” I was worthless. Instead of practicing moderation in eating and exercise, I was either eating everything in sight and not exercising, or I was eating very little with too much exercise. Where is the healthy balance? I am by no means there, but I am working each day towards that, and each day I feel more confident in myself.

OK, lets talk about some food here 🙂

I received a lovely package in the mail yesterday from the folks at PureFit. Purefit was voted the “Nutrition Bar of the Year” by Bike magazine.

Here are just some of the highlights of PureFit bars:
-High in protein
-Non-GMO soy
-All natural
-Kosher & vegan
-Nondairy
-Low glycemic
-No hidden carbs
-No artificial sweeteners
-No trans fatty acids
-No wheat or gluten
-No hydrogenated oils

Today I sampled the Berry Almond Crunch bar:

This tasted delicious. It was pretty smooth, and there were little chunks of granola crunch mixed in. It wasn’t chalky like some nutrition bars and it was very satisfying!  The bar was the actual size of the wrapper (you know how Larabars are about half the size of the wrapper). Check out the little chunks of berry and granola. (this is only half of the bar by the way):

Here are the other flavors:
-Granola Crunch
Almond Crunch
-Chocolate Brownie
-Peanut Butter Crunch
-Berry Almond Crunch

Please check out PureFit.com for more info. I was most impressed with the fact that PureFit tastes great and has no wheat, gluten or dairy! If you are interested in trying PureFit, I recommend ordering the Sample Kit – which includes 5 full size bars – one of each flavor. There are some stores that carry PureFit. Click *here* to find a location near you!  I’ll be sampling the rest of the flavors over the next few days – thanks PureFit!

Questions:

Do you have an all-or-nothing attitude? What do you do to overcome that?

Here’s Tina’s question again: “Have you ever felt that you have to reach a certain goal or become something in order to achieve happiness?”

What is your favorite granola bar/protein bar?

What are your weekend plans?

Have a great day!

Holly

23 Responses to “Perfection & Protein Bars”

  1. Rachel @ Fit Fun and Fabulous Says:

    This post really hit home for me. Somehow I slided into the mindset of “until I become X weight, I am worthless”.

    I’m working on letteing go of that idea but it has really taken hold!!

  2. mostlyfitmom Says:

    I used to have an all-or-nothing attitude about exercise and eating, too. But now, I just strive to meet my goals MOST of the time. If I have a chocolate bar or miss a workout here or there, well, I’ll get back to it tomorrow. As for weight, I still have target that I’m working toward, but I don’t really see my weight as a measure of my worth anymore. More important to me is how much stronger and faster I am now. I think my mindset shifted once I started training for races, and I really like it 🙂

    Luckily, my life is really good. Sometimes I forget that and have to remind myself when I’m having a bad day. I have a fantastic husband and two pretty cute and entertaining kids, I’m pursuing my dream of becoming a dentist (2 more years!), and we have a comfortable life (though let’s not talk about student loans – haha!).

    Keep up the positive self-talk 🙂 And enjoy the farmer’s market – can’t wait to see your haul this week.

  3. Tina Says:

    Those bars sound really delicious! I hate ones that have that chalky taste you mentioned.

    I loved reading more detail about what you started to share in your comment on my site. So glad you realized you can still work towards things but it doesn’t mean being less happy now.

  4. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Ooo, those look pretty darn good! Does it make sense if I say they *look* healthy? I’m a fan of Kashi pumpkin spice granola bars and Nugo Dark Protein bars…both are delish!

    And yeah, I tend to be an all or nothing kind of person. It’s a hard mindset to get away from!

  5. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    Those bars look good! We don’t do protein bars often but they are great form traveling! Thanks for the review! Have fun at the farmer’s market!

  6. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I can’t even tell you how much I can relate to you about striving to achieve something to think it will bring happiness!! It’s a hard getting out of that mind-set, but I think we are doing alright 🙂

    Have a great Saturday, i am sure you got some goodies at the FM!!

  7. theemptynutjar Says:

    It is true that we all have such negative thought patterns. Its really really difficult to stop the negativity when you always feel you are on the wrong path….but it is best to at least try to be positive and lighten up in life.

  8. Jessica @ Fit & Clean Says:

    I’m kind of OCD about my eating and exercise. Unfortunately, things don’t work out as I plan…EVER! 😉 Especially with having 3 kids, there’s always something that comes up, or eating that I didn’t plan, or I missed my class at the gym and have to go to a different one at a different time. I try to “roll with it” best as I can!

  9. Mimi Says:

    I have a TOTAL all or nothing attitude. What really has helped me are books like Bethenny Frankel’s “Naturally Thin”, Rabbi Shmuley’s “Renewal,” and Allan Lokos’s “Pocket Peace.” Basically, books that give me a wakeup call that there’s a whole world out there and it’s not about me always nitpicking my little self.

    These bars look good! I’ll have to try them out!

  10. 45before35 Says:

    Unfortunately, weight has been that for me. Why bother buying clothes, trying to look good, running – if I am overweight. This is slowly changing.

    As an aside – I am liking that everyone blogging is going to a Farmers Market tomorrow. I will look at everyone taking pictures tomorrow with new eyes…(where are they posting?)

  11. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    yeah, i’ve definitely struggled with that “all or nothin” attitude. i bet it’s pretty common among women. now adays, there’s so much pressure to “have it all” and of course, all before you’re 25! haha…if only life were like it were on Gossip Girl…

    i like how you mentioned to keep positive. you really can choose your attitude, and it’s important to be thankful. it’s the only way to happiness 🙂

    i saw Inception this weekend! disappointed though…not complicated enough for me 🙂

  12. Katie Says:

    Hey love! these bars look delish! I have seen them in the store! WIll have to buy one sometime!

    Hope your weekend is great! xoxo

  13. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    30 Days of Reflection is really a great idea!

    I’m a grey person, not an all or nothing type which has made my life (maybe) a bit easier. As long as I’m happy!

  14. Jen Trinque Says:

    I have definitely struggled with the idea that once I have x, y, or z, THEN I can be happy. I like setting goals, so I still do that, but I also meditate daily and journal and try to feel peaceful and happy in the moment, instead of always focusing on the future when I achieve something. Still a learning experience all the time, though.

  15. Celebrate the Farmer’s Market! « 45 before 35 Says:

    […] Vegetables have become my friend this year.  And their home is the Farmer’s Market.   Holly’s post yesterday reminded me that most (or at least, many) of us probably go to a local […]

  16. 40apples Says:

    I was very “all or nothing” with my goals for a long time (and, admittedly, still kind of am). Being a perfectionist throughout school taught me to not settle for anything less than the best in life – but then I made it to REAL life, and suddenly imperfections were everywhere!! It’s taken me several years to really cultivate a life that is rich enough in each of its aspects for me to not feel like I’m lacking so much just because for instance, I don’t have a dream job (yet!). I have to keep reminding myself, though, that my friends, family, little things like good yoga classes and delicious meals – these are what make life great. I don’t NEED that job, that relationship, that apartment, whatever, in order to be happy. 🙂

    Those PureFit bars look really good! I’m definitely gonna see if they’re available around here…

  17. Nicole Says:

    I definitely have an all or nothing attitude. I’m that girl who works her butt off for 2 months, has a bad week and then just throws in the towel! I’ve been working really had to stop that habit and learn to leave a bad day (or 5!) behind me and pick up where I left off. Each day is a new chance, not a continuation of the day before. I love that you have come to terms with these things and it inspires me to know that it is possible!

  18. kaztronomic Says:

    Gosh, I’m so guilty of the all-or-nothing mentality! It’s a struggle sometimes to allow myself to be “less than perfect,” if that makes sense! I feel sometimes if I miss my goal by even a wee bit, then I’m a complete failure.

    I have also put my happiness on hold because I wasn’t “good enough”. If only I could shed those last five pounds, right? I’m good enough *now*, and I ought not keep denying myself pleasure because I don’t “deserve” it.

    Favorite protein bar? Probably Nugo Free (gluten/soy/dairy free) or Organic Food Bars. Delish, and totally tummy safe. 😀 I’m also addicted to Boomi Bars Cashew Almond right now, too.

  19. lizzyj1305 Says:

    hey girlie!!
    I agree with you that the all-or-nothing attitude can be extremely overwhelming and tiring! I am all or nothing with most everything I do…luckily I have adopted an upbeat attitude and at the end of the day I can appreciate what accomplishments I have made. Thanks for sharing your words/advice/insight!
    and these bars do look YUMMY! I will keep my eye out for the gluten-free ones!
    I hope you’re having a great weekend!
    xoxo!

  20. Katie Says:

    Hey love! Yes it does hang on the wall! Mike got it from personalizationmall.com , its a great site for custom things, so many cute things for every occasion on there! xoxo

  21. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    I was the QUEEN of the “all-or-nothing” attitude for years!! I definitely always had a goal weight/size that I thought I needed to be at in order to be happy and self-confident. I think after years of suffering, I finally just had it with that mentality! I’ve found myself being more positive, and appreciating the “little steps” that I’ve been making in the right direction– such as celebrating the 5 lbs I’ve lost, rather than focusing on the “x amount” I have left to go! I think I’ve also just started to appreciate my body with age and experience! I’m so grateful that my body has held together as well as it has after EVERYTHING I’ve put it through! 😉

    My favorite bars are Larabars, since I prefer to eat packaged foods with as few ingredients as possible! Their Apple Pie flavor is my current favorite!

  22. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA Says:

    I def have an all-0r-nothing attitude. But I am trying *really* hard to change that. This may sound weird LOL but I follow Rev Run (from Run DMC) on Twitter because he gives fantastic quotes all day long. A recent one said something like “You might need a GRattitude adjustment”. I mean, how many times are we hung up on something (which puts us into a stinky mood/attitide) when if we just considered what we have GRATITUDE for, our perspective seems to change. Just a thought 🙂

    Oh and of all the things you used to wish for, having a loving husband is #1 in my book. So you’re doing pretty good in my opinion 😉

    Have a great night chica,

    Laur

  23. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I used to always have an all-or-nothing, perfectionist attitude but I have relaxed (with a lot of effort) and focus on enjoying the now. Life is happening RIGHT NOW and I am not going to put off enjoying just because things aren’t perfect. I’m not going to wait and waste my life away anymore.


Leave a Reply

