Garlic Taters

Good Morning,

I decided to take Sunday off of blogging. My sister L, niece F and nephew H left today. It is so sad not having them here! Just when I was getting used to their sleeping and eating schedules and living here all week – they have to go back to Oklahoma. The only upside to them leaving is the lack of cheerios all over kitchen floor…

Thanks for the comments on Sat and Sun about getting rid of an all-or-nothing attitude. I hope to one day have the “gray” attitude some of you talked about. I really like Tina’s attitude about a healthy balance – some days I see her having donuts for breakfast, but then balancing that with a nice big veggie filled lunch and dinner. For me, if I start the day with donuts for breakfast, I’ll end up with a bagel/cream cheese for lunch and McDonalds for dinner! That is not a balanced day!

With my sister here last week, she did some cooking for us. 🙂 It is always nice to have someone else cook, dontcha think? On Sunday morning she made these wonderful roasted fingerling potatoes that we picked up at the Farmers Market on Saturday.

She started by roasting a head of garlic Saturday night, and letting the garlic cool in the fridge overnight. Then, on Sunday morning she washed and sliced the potatoes, rubbed them with oil and sprinkled them with salt and pepper. While the potatoes roasted in the oven, she mashed the roasted garlic and mixed it with a stick of butter. (Paula Deen would be so proud!) After the potatoes were done roasting, she put dabs of the garlic butter all over the potatoes, then put them back in the oven. When the butter is melted, the potatoes are done.

Fabulous.

What made the potatoes so great (in addition to having someone else make them for me) was the oil. It wasn’t just any-plain-ole-oil – it was Garlic Gold Oil. The folks at Garlic Gold were kind enough to send me some Garlic Gold products to test out. I got some original Garlic Gold:

Garlic Gold Oil, Garlic Gold Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette:

And 4 different crispy, crunchy Garlic Gold Nuggets. Regular, Parmesan, Italian Herb and Sea Salt.

These products are all organic and the possibilities are endless! I can see myself using these products almost every day. They would work great with roasted veggies, salads (according to the packaging they are a great alternative to bacon bits!), pasta, pizza, fish filets, chicken breasts, making garlic bread, anything. I used the Garlic Gold Oil and Parmesan Nuggets on my Kale Chips:

These products will be added to my Opensky shop (which should be finally opening soon, I will keep you posted!)

 My workouts have been all over the place today. For some reason TurboFire didn’t sound good to me, so I did 2 new workouts from Women’s Health magazine: a kettlebell workout (that I did with a 10 lb. dumbbell instead) and a short yoga routine. It felt great to do something different. This week my focus turns to running – I need to prepare for my 10 mile run in October, but for some reason I bought this at Target today:

I am a sucker for Billy Blanks dvds! I find his dvds to be so motivating because he seems to know just what to say to make me push myself even harder. He really seems like he cares!

Questions:

Have you tried Garlic Gold? What did you think?

Do you do all the cooking in your house? Or do you have you roommate/spouse/sig other/parent who takes care of the cooking?

What was the highlight of your weekend?

25 Responses to “Garlic Taters”

  1. Kristy Says:

    First off I am right there with you, starting my day off eating a donut will only lead to bad choices throughout the day! lol I haven’t tried garlic gold but yours is the 3rd blog where I’ve seen it, must look for it this week during my trip to the store! Most exciting thing this weekend was getting my house in order and clean, pretty sad…I know! heee hee 😉 Have a great week!

  2. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Mmmm Garlic!

    I just tried garlic gold about a month ago and think it’s fantastic! I’ve only tried 1 product though, so I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on the seasonings

  3. michellestgermain Says:

    I have seen garlic gold in the stores here but it’s pricey! I heard it’s life-changing though. One of these days I’m going to lose my resolve 😛

  4. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    My first thought seeing all those Garlic Gold sprinkle toppings is to put them on popcorn..oh yum! I haven’t tried them yet, but if I see ’em in the grocery store, I certainly will buy!

    I do 90% of the cooking at home…hubby eeks in with the other 10% 😉

  5. 40apples Says:

    Mmm those Garlic Gold products look so great on people’s blogs!

    Unless one of us is making a special baked good, which we’ll definitely share, my roommate and I tend to make our own meals separately. Primarily because she loves meat, and I’m a veggie. 🙂

    I’ve never tried Billy Blanks but I am very intrigued. Curious to see what you think of that dvd!

  6. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Aww, it’s always sad when company leaves after you’ve had such a great time with them!
    Haven’t tried Garlic Gold but I keep hearing about it, too. How do you get these companies to send you all these products – is it cuz you opened an Open Sky shop? I applied for an Open Sky shop and hope to hear from them soon!

  7. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I hope you had a great weekend!! Sounds like you did!! I am all about taking off on Sundays, i did the same things..i think most people do, so it’s ok!! Garlic gold looks awesome! I have seen it around, but didn’t try it yet!! Congrats on the Open Sky Shop!!! Welcome to the club, I wish you much success!!!

  8. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Haven’t seen Garlic Gold up here in Canada, so haven’t tried it. Those potatoes look fantastic, though!

    I am the cook in our house. My husband will help out when I ask him to, but I have a hard time doing so because it just takes him so long to do everything and I have to explain what to do, so sometimes it just seems easier to do it myself, ya know?

    Highlight of my weekend was taking the kids to Toy Story 3 yesterday. It was so much fun to watch their faces!

  9. Beer and Burrito Body Says:

    I have not tried Garlic Gold, but I could see that being a delicious addition to veggies. Maybe it would help me eat more!

  10. Tia Says:

    My eating is so the same way, if I start out with a healthy breakfast I seem to be good all day but if I eat out for breakfast or overindulge on the cereal it like ruins my mentality for the whole flippin day! My weekend highlight was definetly my drenched walk in the rain with the pups lol. I do all the cooking in my place which is nice sometimes cause I can regulate what we eat, if I don’t feel like cooking we go out, the boyfriend isn’t much of a cook, he tried to make a frozen pizza once and screwed that up lol. I’m so jealous of all these products you guys find, those look awesome but I doubt I could find them where I live in Canada, Ugh! Have a great week : )

  11. Nicole @ Getting Back to the Basics Says:

    I haven’t tried Garlic Gold yet, but I’m seeing it everywhere and need to! If I had a roommate, I would love for them to cook. I’m an awful cook (although starting to see improvement) and usually end up eating quick fix-type meals.

    And for the record, Billy Blanks rocks! I don’t know anyone who didn’t Tae Bo at some point! Great stuff!

  12. Tina Says:

    I haven’t tried Garlic Gold, but would love to. I’m a sucker for garlic seasoning.

    And Billy Blanks is one of the 2 DVD instructors I’ve come accross that I can’t really take. I love his attitude and messages that he shares. He just doesn’t cue and balance things very well.

  13. Becky Says:

    The garlic gold products seem so versatile and tasty. I would definitely put them to good use. Glad you enjoyed your time with family!

  14. SohdaLex Says:

    Wow, those potatoes make my mouth water just looking at them, I bet they were delicious! I have never tried garlic gold, but it looks like it would work really well in so many different things, and I am a BIG garlic fan. 😉 My weekend was so busy and filled with an event called Southern Belle Swing Dance – Which is a huge dance weekend dedicated just to follows 😀

  15. 45before35 Says:

    Goodness I love Garlic, the smell, the taste… I need to try the gold.

    My husband cooks. I try to:) – He often doesn’t let me.

  16. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    I do most of the cooking now, but my husband used to do it before! He loves to cook. Honestly, it has taken some adjustments for me now not to be in charge in the kitchen. I have gotten so much better!!! I haven’t tried the garlic gold stuff, but it sounds right up my alley!

  17. Jess Says:

    I LOVE roasted potatoes. MMM!

  18. Jessica @ Fit & Clean Says:

    I cook, but my husband does it better, especially when it comes to BBQ! He can smoke meats on his Big Green Egg like anyone’s business, lol. Me, I’m lucky if I can get it lit 😉 I can cook Italian items, though, so I guess we balance each other out! The highlight of my weekend was getting to sleep in Sunday! I didn’t get up until 9:45! 🙂

  19. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    wait – is that a new dvd from Billy Blanks or one from the 90’s?? lol….which ever it is, i can’t wait for the review 🙂

    i haven’t tried Garlic Gold, although i cook almost everything with garlic. it adds so much flavor without adding fat, salt, or calories! and thanks for reminding me about the kale chips, i keep meaning to make those 🙂

  20. andionthego Says:

    I have seen Garlic Gold popping up everywhere … it sounds delicious. those potatoes look awesome!

    glad you had fun with your sister and neice and nephew. 🙂

  21. bad to the bone « Andi on the go Says:

    […] chips (although, I think I need to follow Holly’s lead and get some Garlic […]

  22. kaztronomic Says:

    Those potatoes look so good. I’ve been on such a potato bender as of late. Neeeeed taterrrrrs. x)

    I do most of the cooking around here. I asked the fella before to cook, and he got all anxious and told me he’d just mess it up. xD

  23. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    Those potatoes look so good.

    I totally want to try Garlic Gold.

  24. New Friends & New Veggies | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] little potatoes are so good. I might use this recipe that I’ve made before. […]


Leave a Reply

