Me Time

Good Morning!

Thank you so much for all of the great comments yesterday. Yes, I am still working on figuring out my blog voice and I know that with time it will get easier!

 If you’d like to enter my Raw Crunch giveaway, please do so! I will accept entries until midnight tonight (8/18/10), central time. I will announce the winner tomorrow morning (8/19/10).

Sad news. I was planning on working out with Billy Blanks today, but the dvd did not work. 😦

I was so upset – I have been looking forward to it all day. He’s going to have to get switched out for a new disk at Target. For those of you who asked, yes, this is a new workout from Billy Blanks — this is not his old school 1980s version! (even though I like those vhs tapes dvds too!)

Here is another recent Target purchase that I love:

This thing is awesome and I have been drinking so much water lately! I like that it has a straw — so I can safely drink (water only!) while driving, and not have to worry about tipping the bottle up and not being able to see the road. Anyone else know what I’m talking about here?

Last night I did get some Me Time, er, should I say Mii Time?

I did some hula hooping, step aerobics, balance games, etc. I love the hula hooping the most. No I don’t consider this “real” exercise – as in I don’t get much of a calorie burn, but it is movement and part of a “healthy active lifestyle”, no?

Here is J’s Mii:

And one night my sister M came over and made this:

Michael Jackson Mii. I think the resemblance is ridiculous!!!

I am going to now soak in my jacuzzi tub and read this:

Pure trash. I love it. I watched the first episode of True Blood and didn’t like it. But now that I’m almost through with the Sookie Stackhouse books, I might give the show another shot. I know the books/show are very different, but I’m more interested in the characters now.

I love taking the time each day to relax, whether it is with a book, sitting in the tub, watching some mindless television (um, did anyone else watch Dating in the Dark Monday night? I did!), calling a friend/family member, reading blogs, etc. I think I would go nuts without a little “me time” each day. What do you do for “me time”?

Questions:

Did you enter my giveaway for Raw Crunch bars?

What is your guilty pleasure?

How much water do you drink every day?

31 Responses to “Me Time”

  1. 40apples Says:

    The MJ Mii is uncannily spot-on. Haha

    My ME time is spent going for walks around the city and visiting the greenmarket (on weekends) or watching some new show obsession (recently Mad Men), or the Cooking Channel 🙂 , or reading on weeknights.

    Guilty pleasure would be watching stuff like the City, Real Housewives, Rachel Zoe… all that high quality stuff.

    I drink a TON of water. I have a huge Sigg bottle that I refill at least 5 times throughout the day at work, more at home. Yes, bathroom visits are frequent 🙂

  2. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Me time is the best. Mine is usually spent reading and eating 🙂

  3. Nic Says:

    I don’t like the True Blood Series either! We might be the only two people on the face of the earth who don’t care for the show! You will have to let us know if you like the series any better after reading the book, if so I might give the book a try.

  4. AllieNic (Friskly Lemon) Says:

    I read the first two Sookie Stackhouse books after I watched the first season of True Blood…I think I like them both for different reasons…like the show isn’t ANYTHING like the books after the second season (or so my sister tells me). But I really didn’t like Bill in the books…

    I drink a lot of water too! I keep a water bottle on my desk at work to remind me to keep drinkin’. I probably drink 3 liters before I leave work and then more after I work out, which is usually in the evening…that’s a lot…right?

  5. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    That MJ Mii is SICK!! OMG!!!
    I entered the giveaway 🙂

    My guilty pleasure…is lying in my bed, watching trashy Tv for hours, eating soft serve, or home made cookies!! It keeps me sane!!

    I haven’t done Billy B since High School!!! I used to rock that ish!! too bad it didn’t work 😦 A friend of mine gave me Yoga X and Core Synergist X, and neither worked, I wanted to do them so bad…so I understand your pain.

  6. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I have the same water bottle- love it! I drink so much more water with it!

    And the hula hooping wii is my favorite. We actually play it a lot when we have people over. I can’t begin to tell you how many side-aching-laugh sessions we’ve had watching people try to hula hoop while a few beers deep 😉

  7. SohdaLex Says:

    I should get one of those water bottles! It seems like it makes getting enough water in your day much easier. I know I need to be drinking more than I am at present. My guilty pleasure would probably be cookie sandwiches. Two cookies with any form of filling in the center [icing, nutella, ice cream, the possibilities are endless] Watch out world when those are around.

  8. Megan (The Runner's Kitchen) Says:

    Love that water bottle! I have one with a straw and it makes sipping water throughout the day much easier. I try to drink 8 cups of fluid incl. coffee, juice, milk, water, etc.

  9. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Love the Sookie Stackhouse series! Definitely trashy, but SO fun to read. And True Blood is hands down my favourite TV show right now (although, I maybe watch 3 hours of TV a week, so I’m not exactly a connoisseur these days).

    Hear on tipping the bottle back while driving – haha!

    Guilty pleasures: taking long, hot baths while reading; getting pedicures & facials; chocolate!

  10. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Love camelbaks! I recently switch to one after a few incidents involving spillage. And they are just so much cheaper than Sigg bottles, without the metal taste.

  11. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday Says:

    Oh man, Tae Bo!! That used to be so cool!

  12. glutenfreemuse Says:

    Hey Holly!

    Are the RAW bars GF?? If so, I wanna play!!!

    ~Alyssa

  13. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I try and drink at least 64 oz. of water a day. Sometimes I get in more and sometimes less. I definitely feel best if I am well hydrated!

    I love to read but I am very guilty of letting the internet suck away from free time. I also quilt and crochet and knit and make jewelry!

  14. Becky Says:

    I drink soo much water! I love it and need it, especially in the heat.

    A bath and a good book scream “relax” for me, but I don’t settle in often enough. I also enjoying walking with my mom and our pups at the end of the day. It’s always peaceful.

  15. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Guilty pleasure is plopping my booty down on the couch at night with wine in hand and watching my DVRed reality shows 😉

  16. Matt Says:

    I drink so much water! I try to always take a water bottle with me where ever I go.

    I think my guilty pleasure is getting massages 😉

  17. Nicole @ Getting Back to the Basics Says:

    That water bottle looks awesome! Sorry to hear that your date with Billy had to be canceled 😉

    I don’t like True Blood either! I keep trying to get into it since everyone else loves it, but the acting is just awful! And I’m an Anna Paquin fan, so it’s very sad 😦

  18. rc1001 Says:

    I don’t drink remotely enough water. I probably get maybe 4 cups a day. I know I need to shoot for more!

  19. Tina Says:

    Mindless TV is certainly my guilty pleasure. I love it. I love the Sookie Stackhouse books too. They are so fun!

    I have that same water bottle but in blue. I love it. I actually stole it from my husband. He got it from work for free and I had to have it.

  20. kaztronomic Says:

    The MJ Mii is eerily apt.

    My brother seriously loves True Blood as well the books, but I have yet to get into it. I found True Blood on sale at Target earlier this year and still haven’t peeled away the cellophane. o.O

    I’m a water addict. I used to hate it, but now I can’t function without my regular fix. =P I start off my day with a 12 oz glass of water and always have a glass by my side.

    Dude, Amor was so tense last night, after hearing Favre was back in Minnesota. I just read that he officially signed on for another season. I’m not a hardcore football fan, but I pick up on it through osmosis, since he is so intense about it. I’m sure Amor will be talking a mile a minute when he gets home for lunch. 😀 Is your family big on football?

  21. Tia Says:

    That Micheal Jackson Mii is hilarious, that’s so creepy!!

    My Mii looks notta like me lol, but I guess it gets the point across, I couldn’t really get my skin color right. I really enjoying going for a drive or a walk with the dogs alone for some Me “think” time but I mostly just lounge on the couch and zone into a book while the boyfriend watches tv or plays Xbox lol. I’m kind of funny with water, somedays I drink almost too much (possible?) and other days I think back and I’m like, did I have ANY today!? My guilty pleasure is popcorn AT movie theatres for sure, the idea that a large has 1000 calories MINIMUM is horrifying but I become totally oblivious and get it anyways, everything else I’m great with but that is one thing I just cannot seem to get past. Thank Heavens the theatre in our town has HORRIBLE popcorn, they don’t butter it right, its SO salty it cracks my lips! So I only get it when we travel to the big city to visit family, we usually catch a movie as well cause our theatre is pathetic lol food and video/sound quality wise. Kind of depressing considering I love going to the movies. If we go in town I bring my own popcorn and hide it in my purse lol!

  22. Emily Says:

    I have to have “me time” or I get super anxious and stressed about every little thing. Just a little time to recharge does the trick. I read blogs, catch up on TV shows I’ve missed (Mad Men and Weeds this week), or read. I wish I had a tub to soak in!

  23. Healthy Coconut Says:

    Your sister is good, creating the Michael Jackson Mii. It took me a long time to create my own Mii, let alone create someone else’s.

    My guilty pleasure is reading gossip magazines and watching reality tv shows.

  24. Myra Says:

    mut a koo bro wu must has

  25. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Great blog!!
    Those garlic Rosemary fries. Oh dear. Hold me baaaaack!

  26. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Omg that was supposed to go on Matt’s blog. Sorry about that!
    At any rate….love the water bottle! And the mii’s too….cuteness! My gf has a Wii Fit and it is super cool. Want. Want! Lol

  27. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    I drink a ton of water everyday! Around 10 to 12 cups! I always have it around.

  28. Jess Says:

    I need a water bottle. BADLY. I want the one you have, haha!

  29. lisaou11 Says:

    I have that same water bottle and I love it too! It’s perfect.

    and I love both the series and the books—give it another shot–you never know!

  30. andionthego Says:

    I drink a ton of water everyday. just a heads up with the Camelbaks (which I love), I have to buy new tops for both of mine because they got all moldy underneath the blue ‘cap.’ I was pretty grossed out when I realized that, because I thought I’d cleaned it well!

  31. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i’ve never seen True Blood, but then again, i haven’t seen a lot of shows. saw Glee for the first time last week (i know, i’m so out of touch 🙂 )

    my guilty pleasure would be TV shows where i’m about 10 years older than all the main characters. (i.e. Gossip Girl and The O.C.) but that’s between you and me 🙂


Leave a Reply

