Thursday Thoughts

 Hi Friends 🙂

Thank you for the advice on the garage sale stuff – I like the idea of just tackling a small bit each day and just getting it done!

 Alright, I may hold onto the Oxycise tapes for a future giveaway – because I know if I sell them I will never be able to find them again!

***

 I’m sure many of you read Heather’s blog (it is amazing) – but in case you missed it, I wanted to mention that she started a site called Faces of Beauty. Please check it out. Here is a brief description from the site:

What is beauty?  How are you beautiful?  What do you love about yourself?
Do you know that you are beautiful just the way you are? Faces of Beauty is on a mission to celebrate the incredible and unique beauty in all of us.  It throws off the societal pressures to look a certain way and gives an opportunity to share what we love about ourselves.
The hope is that Faces of Beauty will help start a revolution of men, women, and children learning to love themselves just as they are!
Just take a (happy!) picture of yourself from the shoulders up and email it to Heather at heathersdish @ gmail [dot] com.  Make sure you include a little note (500 words or less) about what you love about yourself, what makes you beautiful, and/or your journey to learning to love yourself.  The photos will be posted one photo and paragraph each day under your first name.  Please let me know if you would like to be linked back to your blog/website if applicable!

I am sending this to Heather, but I thought I would post on here as well:

My name is Holly and I am The Couch Potato Athlete. After years of not liking my body, myself, my anything, I am finally on the road to having a better attitude about myself. I have been constantly consumed with negative thoughts about myself, and lately I have been replacing those negative thoughts with positive ones. What has helped me the most: Other healthy living blogs. I love hearing about others on the same journey as me (or about those who have completed their journey!) I always had in my head that you had to act a certain way, eat a certain way and exercise a certain way to be the “ideal” — through blogs I can see more into the lives of real people, and I can simply see that there is no one-size-fits-all when it comes to healthy living. I need to find what works for me and not just copy what other people do.  My husband tells me every day that I am beautiful – now is the time for ME to believe this! I am strong, I am beautiful, I am worthy, I am a loyal friend, I am a hard worker, I am amazing.

**

Check out these giveaways:

Lisa at I’m an Okie is giving away a copy of The End of Overeating.

Samantha at Health, Happiness and Skinny Jeans is giving away a $40 Gift Card.

Let them know that Couch Potato sent you there! 🙂

Questions:

  1. Tell me what you find beautiful about yourself.
  2. What is the best new-to-you blog that you have discovered?

Have a great Thursday!

Holly

23 Responses to “Thursday Thoughts”

  1. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Beautiful blog! 🙂 I love Heather’s initiative and loved reading your story. I’ve found some much inspiration from other healthy living blogs, too- your’s included! So keep up the good work 🙂

  2. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    Faces of Beauty sounds like an awesome, feel-good site!

  3. Heather Says:

    beautiful 🙂 i said it on my faces of beauty post, but i love my eyes, my crooked nose, and my curly hair…but most importantly i now love it all!

  4. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Gorgeous girl Holly — what beautiful skin you have!!!

    I’m still working on what I love about myself. I rather like my hands and my smile (sorta).

  5. Katie Says:

    hey love!

    You got to do an oatmeal smash one day soon!

    One new blog Im loving is actually yours !

    I feel my confidence, and comfort with my body makes me feel beautiful!

    Love you and what a BEAUTIFUL tidbit about you and how you feel beautiful! xoxo

  6. Dorry Says:

    I love Heather’s blog! This is wonderful – and you are most definitely beautiful. I agree that reading other healthy living blogs is a great way to focus on positive thoughts. 🙂

  7. Michelle Says:

    Just a couple minutes ago I realized how beautiful of skin that I have. It’s super healthy and glowy 🙂

  8. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    You are so pretty!!

    I love Heathers project! I have her email, haven’t gotten a chance to take my makeup-less photo–but plan on doing it soon!

    I love what you wrote…so inspiring!!!

  9. eatmovelove Says:

    Great post. Agree with all of the above 😉

  10. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    What a great message! I have really gotten away from using so much make up and trying to always make myself look fixed. I feel so much better about myself now. I love your blog!

  11. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I think your confidence just shines through in this photo – gorgeous! I’m very excited about the amazing things that are happening over there at Faces of Beauty.

    About myself: I love my shoulders. They show off all the hard work I put into them.

  12. Becky Says:

    You are beautiful! I love that you are starting to see the beauty others see in you. I am really excited about Heather’s site. What a fabulous way to support one another and promote positive self-image!

  13. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) Says:

    Girl, I love this post! You are beautiful and your confidence is so inspiring. 😀

  14. Tina Says:

    Great post for the site! And you definitely are beautiful. I just sent her mine last night and planned on sharing it on my blog sometime soon too. I just love what its all about.

    And as for a new blog. Um, YOURS you crazy lady! It’s quickly become a MUST read of mine. 🙂

  15. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I love the little section about you under your photo! 🙂 Everything you said is so true. There’s no one-size-fits-all definition. We’re all beautiful for what we see in ourselves.

    I think my legs are beautiful. They’re definitely not thin but they’re freaking powerful. Love my thunder thighs 🙂

  16. Matt Says:

    I think you look great 😉

    I really like my eyes. Everyone says they are my best feature, along with my smile 🙂

  17. Alycia [Fit n Fresh] Says:

    Beautiful picture! I love it 🙂 You’re gorgeous!

    I think what I like most about myself is my eyes – which is kind of ironic considering they used to be what I liked the least!

  18. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    what a great post, Holly. i love that picture of you and the whole attitude of positive thinking! we really do live out what we believe about ourselves, that’s why self love is so important and to know we are worthy! thanks for the reminder 🙂

    i love my heart and lungs because they’re strong and allow me to run far!

    (p.s. i want those Oxycise videos!)

  19. christyn @ All Ways Nutritious Says:

    Faces of Beauty sounds great..thanks for sharing. i’m really enjoying exploring your blog and appreciate your comment on mine 🙂 One beautiful characteristic that i value about myself is having an open heart.

  20. mostlyfitmom Says:

    I love my teeth. I did have a good orthodontist who helped. 😉

    Love your pic! You have aMAzing skin.

  21. 40apples Says:

    Gorgeous Holly!! And beautiful words too. I agree – this community of blogs is hugely inspiring and positive.

    About myself: I like my shoulders. They make me look strong 🙂


Leave a Reply

