I Love My Potbelly

Hi Friends πŸ™‚

How was your Saturday? Ours was great. As I shared with you yesterday, 8.27.07 was the day that Jason proposed – yes we celebrate almost any anniversary we can think of!

Back in August of 2007, I kept having dreams about the number 827 or $8.27 or 8.27 and it seemed like whenever I glanced at the clock it would read 8:27. Or, my purchase amount for things happened to be $8.27. I wish I was making this up, but it is true!

It was the craziest thing! Finally I mentioned it to J because it was so odd. Later he told me that the day I mentioned my 827 phenomenon was the day he picked up my engagement ring. πŸ™‚Β He took that as a sign that August 27th was THE DAY to propose.

He took me on a picnic lunch that day – and we ate Potbelly sandwiches. If you have a Potbelly near you, I sure hope you have eaten there before. Their food is AWESOME. Now, every year around 8/27 we will eat at Potbelly’s in honor of our little anniversary.

For me: Roast Beef on multigrain bread, with mustard, lettuce, tomato and hot peppers

For Jason: Turkey onΒ white with mayo, mustard, hot peppers

And a few Root Beers πŸ™‚

Afterward we shared this:

I have no way to describe this cookie, except for this: It is the most amazing sugar cookie on the face of the earth. It tastes like cookie dough and just melts in your mouth.

And, one of the best things about Potbelly: their Hot Peppers. These babies are HOT HOT HOT. We bought a whole jar!

Thanks everyone for your nice comments yesterday. I am truly blessed to have such a wonderful, supportive husband who shows me every day how much he loves me.

We are off to the Minnesota State Fair!

What are you up to today?

Holly

28 Responses to “I Love My Potbelly”

  1. Kate Says:

    it has been too long since i have had potbellys. good stuff! and what a fun way to remember your anniversary.

    have fun at the fair! i really enjoy eating my way thru the fair but unfortunately don’t think i am going to make it this year 😦

  2. fitnstitchin Says:

    Wow, those sound so yummy! I had never heard of them before reading your post… I will have to try one of those very soon! I can’t believe it is fair season already! Have a great day! ~ Take Care

  3. Healthy Coconut Says:

    We don’t have Potbelly’s here in Cali, well I haven’t seen them around. I go to Subway for my sandwich fix, or a local mom & pop shop.

    Be careful at those fairs! The deep fried stuff knows your name and they call on you until you take a bite of each one, lol. j/k Enjoy, even fried foods are ok in moderation right?

  4. leashieloo Says:

    Aw, that 827 story was adorable πŸ™‚ On another note, I’ve eaten at Potbelly but have never seen those sugar cookies. Zomg, I need to be on the look out! Those look dangerously awesome!

  5. eatmovelove Says:

    I love Roast Beef Sandwiches.

  6. Emily Says:

    We celebrate every little anniversary we can think of too! I’ll take any excuse to eat out rather than cook, and to have dessert!

  7. glutenfreemuse Says:

    Deep fried candy bars πŸ™‚ Classic for the Midwest, right? It makes my heart hurt to think of that glorious little heart attack! Homework is the thing for me today! Wish me luck!

    ~Alyssa

  8. Dorry Says:

    Y’all are too cute – love the number reference. The number 4 or 44 shows up in our life so often that we can’t even believe it. Hotel room, receipts, flights, etc.

    I love Pot Belly! So good – and I agree about the hot peppers. πŸ™‚

  9. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Oh my goodness – deep fried candy bars? That’s like a heart attack waiting to happen. I betcha they’re good.

    It’s so sweet that you celebrate your various anniversaries. πŸ™‚

    Have fun at the fair! I’m doing more organizing of my life today.

  10. erika @ Dr.TriRunner Says:

    I’ve never been to Potbelly!! Which is crazy because a) their food looks DELICIOUS, and b) in high school there was a time when like 12 of my friends worked there. I think it’s because usually wherever there’s a Potbelly, there’s a Noodles & Co next door. Noodles was always my winner. πŸ™‚

    I hope you do a fair recap!!!

  11. lisaou11 Says:

    what a crazy story with the numbers! Sounds like it was meant to be!

  12. Nicole Says:

    I love Potbelly’s! I get the veggie! I always have to have an internal battle about whether or not to get the Dream Bar. So, buttery and delicious…and artery clogging πŸ™‚ I love your story about 827!

  13. Caitlin Says:

    What a sweet story–happy proposal anniversary! And what a cute way to celebrate.

  14. cookeatburn Says:

    There is a Potbelly’s about a mile from where I live… let’s just say I pretend it’s not there so I’m not there every week. Cute engagement tradition though! Chris and I celebrate all the “anniversaries” we can too – day we started dating, day we got engaged, and day we married. If we’re really desperate we’ll start throwing out the “monthiversaries” too ;).

  15. kaztronomic Says:

    That’s pretty intense that 8/27 kept popping up for you everywhere! The universe works in curious ways. πŸ˜€ Too cool.

    I’ve never had Potbelly’s, but their sandwiches sound good. I love sugar cookies; they’re probably one of my favorite kinds. That one looks delicious!

    Have fun at the fair! I’m probably just going to move furniture today, but tonight is going to be a mad rush — school starts tomorrow! Yikes!

  16. Becky Says:

    I’ve seen Potbelly in airports, but never eaten there. Foods with fond memories attached are always some of the tastiest! I’m glad you had a great day. The fair sounds fun, too!

  17. Wendy Says:

    Ooh, MN State Fair. Good times! Did you have one of those fried candy bars?? We went to the MN Fair a few years ago…shorly after Scotty and I got married. So much fun and SO much great people-watching (if you’re into that sort of thing, which I am)!
    Today we SHOULD HAVE gone to church but we didn’t……I did a 5-mile Leslie Sansone walk (AWESOME), then took the longest shower ever and now I’m fixin’ to make some loaded nachos!

  18. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    Aww, Happy Anniversary! That is so sweet that you two celebrate things like that. Memories are great, aren’t they! I love little traditions. We try to do things like that with our kids now too. The hot peppers sound so good! I love heat! I hope you had a great Sunday!

  19. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    Such a cute anniversary celebration. Hope you had a great time at the fair!

  20. 40apples Says:

    That is such a cool story!! And I love that Potbelly is part of your tradition. How sweet! πŸ™‚

    The sugar cookie sounds killer πŸ˜‰

  21. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Happy proposal day!!!! Michael proposed on August 18th!! We always forget to celebrate it though, haha….wedding day was May 10th, so we celebrate that!!

    Hope you had a great weekend!!!

  22. lizlivingvegan Says:

    Why is it that root beer in glass bottles tastes so much better??? πŸ™‚

  23. Tina Says:

    What a great story! I love celebrating things like that too. I remember we got engaged the night before my mom’s birthday….which turned out to be the day M was born a few years later. πŸ™‚ It’s super special to us now and we’ll never forget it.

    That sandwich looks good. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Potbelly.

  24. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    omgosh, did you try a deep-fried candy bar? that’s like the ultimate in junk food experience! (gross.) i honestly used to joke with my husband that i would invent a deep-fried Mars bar, unforuntaely, it looks like i’m too late πŸ™‚

    we used to try to celebrate our “anniveraries” too, but they started being all too close together. (and all in december to boot!) what a cool story about 827!

  25. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    deep fried candy bars?? Holla! I am so happy for you and the hubs. Here’s to many more years together!

  26. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    What a nice story πŸ™‚ and those sandiwiches look so good, what a great way to celebrate!

  27. Naomi(onefitfoodie) Says:

    UM i want that sugar cookie!!!

  28. pursuitofhealthfulness Says:

    Mmm, I love Potbelly! Unfortunately, there aren’t any shops near where I live! Boo… I also agree that the cookies are ah-mazing.


Leave a Reply

