Deep Fried Reese’s PB Cups

Good Morning Friends 🙂

I’m glad you liked my MN State Fair pics – I asked you to guess what this pic is:

And most people guessed Deep Fried Oreos – you were close, but these are Deep Fried Reese’s PB Cups. Here is a look at the inside:

It was glorious. And I loved that we got two, one for each of us. Some of you asked about the state of MN cardboard cutout thing: those were wine samplers!

Jason and I were at the fair for what seemed like days, but it was really only 4 hours. It was so hot and there were soooo many people there. The biggest bummer of the day? The barns were closed – CLOSED for cleaning. When we got to the fair, I wanted to eat first, then go to the barns – smelling the animal poo and then eating did not sound appetizing! Well, we got to the Cattle Barn at 2:58 and then it was announced that the barns close at 3pm for cleaning and will reopen on TUESDAY! Ugh, this happened last year (barns closed) and I checked online BEFORE leaving for the fair, and I couldn’t find any information on barns closing. It was a sad day. I did manage to snap a few pics of animals on our way out – but I never did get to see the big bunnies or chickens, or ducks, or geese, or sheep, etc. 😦 I understand they need to clean the barns, don’t get me wrong, I was just bummed that we didn’t get to go in.

We did get to see a Lumberjack contest, which was pretty cool. Axe throwing, chainsaw art, wood chopping, etc. We would have stayed longer but I felt like I was baking under the hot sun, so we got moving.

I finally went running on Saturday!!! Maybe I won’t have to walk my 10 mile race in October. It felt great to just get out there and do it – I don’t have a Garmin or any kind of gadget, but it took me about 40 minutes to run 4.5 miles.

On Monday night I did 20 min HIIT (TurboFire) and a FBB Strength workout – I love feeling so STRONG. After this 10 mile race I am definitely devoting more and more time to strength training. It makes me feel good and it makes me look good. What could be better?

For my post workout snack I had this:

Peanut Protein Ice Cream. I followed HEAB’s basic recipe and added some peanut flour (instead of cocoa flour) and some choc chips and…some red/green sprinkles. They were sitting in the cupboard just waiting for Christmas, so I cracked them open and threw some in. It was wonderful and was so cool and soothing on this (super hot!!!) MN day.

In other news:

Check out The Nutrionist Reviews Giveaway: Wheatgrass!

Check out Tina’s 30 Days of Reflection for Self-Love which starts on September 1st (tomorrow!) – I will be participating, and I hope you will be too!

What: 30 Days of Reflection for Self-Love
Who: Anyone!! Literally – pass this along to whoever. Share it on your blog or with people outside of the blogosphere. Everyone can participate. This is NOT a prayer or Christian only cause. It is for every person who wants to take time to love him or herself and gain a new perspective on their value. Call it prayer, meditation, self reflection, quiet time…whatever. It is for EVERYBODY! If you know you want to participate and feel like this can reach others the same way I believe, CLICK HERE to join!
Where: Here on Faith, Fitness, Fun with a very short post published every morning with the brief message to reflect on each day.
When: I will begin the daily reflection posts on September 1 and they will continue for the 30 days of the month of September. Take literally 5 minutes sometime throughout each day to reflect on the topic.
How: Click and comment on THIS POST to let me know of your interest. Then, simply jump in by taking a few minutes each day for self reflection on the given topic. Comment as much as possible on the daily reflection posts. I want there to be more focus on taking the few minutes for reflection over anything else. However, participating with comments helps you to declare the affirmations and something about having them in writing makes it feel more real. Also, I’m hoping for this to continue in future months and plan to include thoughts/quotes from other bloggers in future reflection posts.

Question:

What is your favorite post workout snack?

Do you like fair food? What is your favorite treat? I love pronto pups and mini donuts!

Have a good one,

Holly

39 Responses to “Deep Fried Reese’s PB Cups”

  1. Tina Says:

    I just got this linkback in my email right before signing off for the morning. I wanted to say a HUGE thanks for the support!!

    And fried Reeses? I’m not usually too keen on fried things but would probably be willing to try that! LOL

  2. Jen Says:

    Will check out the protein ice cream recipe for sure!!
    My fav post-workout snack? A protein shake I call a “Green Monkey”

    handfull of raw baby spinach
    1 scoop vanilla protein powder
    1 cup of almond milk (or soy, rice, coconut-whatever)
    1 frozen banana cut into chunks
    1 tbsp PB
    a couple ice cubes
    a dash of stevia, a drop of vanilla
    WHIZ in a blender or use an immersion/wand blender.
    YUMMMMMM

  3. leashieloo Says:

    Deep fried Reese’s = GENIUS! Disgustingly wondrous.

  4. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Fried PB cups….i think I am the only person that doesn’t like deep friend stuff, thank goodness 😉 otherwise, I’d probably be all over those!

    Your ice cream looks wonderful!

    Can’t wait for the 30 days of self-love…such a great project!

  5. Kelly Says:

    Those fried peanut butter cups look amazing! WOW!
    Great job getting your running feet under you! One day at a time and you’ll be ready!
    Post workout I usually have a chocolate shake: shakeology, light almond milk and sometimes a scoop of peanut butter.
    Love strenth training – I finally embraced it this year and have never felt better! Love TurboFire too – the HIITs are great quick workouts for when I’m short on time. 🙂

  6. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    congrats on your run!!! i’m finally back out there too and it feels AMAZING. my post-workout fuel is never anything exciting. just a mini protein shake since i usually have dinner an hour later. yours looks really good though! peanut flour is new to me, where do you pick up such a thing?

    that 30 days of reflection is such an awesome idea. lookin forward to reading all about it! 🙂

  7. Lauren @ 40Apples Says:

    Ahh OF COURSE pb cups!!! Man I should’ve recognized them :p YUM though!

    Favorite post workout snack: mm probably a good smoothie/green monster situation. Filling and cool and refreshing.

    You know, I haven’t been to a fair in about 100 years…. but I remember as a kid, at the zoo and at fairs in Oregon, they have these things called “Elephant Ears,” which are basically big elephant ears-sized pieces of deep fried dough that are then drenched in cinnamon and sugar. OH MY GOD they were so so good. Either that or sno-cones!

  8. Heather Eats Almond Butter Says:

    Holly,
    I think those deep fried PB cups would have tasted amazing WITH your protein ice-cream! Loved the Christmas theme too.

    Sorry you missed the barn animals, but maybe the chainsaw art made up for it? 😉

    Favorite fair food? Probably soft serve ice-cream…and I used to LOVE funnel cakes!

  9. glutenfreemuse Says:

    Ohh goodness! Fair food! I am a sucker for funnel cakes, but since those are out now, probably caramel apples 🙂

    I love a green monster after my workouts, but since I head straight to work, my protein oatmeal with berries is wonderful!

    ~Alyssa

  10. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Man, I was hoping it was deep fried butter… I’ve been waiting for someone to tell me what they tasted like…. but Reese’s Cups are pretty cool too 🙂

  11. Naomi(onefitfoodie) Says:

    BAHHH they really DO fry everything! haha I have to say i hate all fried food so I would not enjoy that but wow, I have never really seen one!

    My favorite post workout snack is a protein shake and oatmeal! mmmm

  12. Carly (Swim, Run, Om) Says:

    Hmm, that stumped me! Deep-fried PB cups … love it!

    My fave fair foods are funnel cakes, bloomin’ onions and corn dogs. Also, at the local festival there is a wonderful Greek family that sets up and sells gyros every year. I look forward to those things for 364 days each year.

  13. Heather Says:

    i don’t usually snack post-workout, but i chug a ton of water!

    and fair food? corn dogs, hands down. they are the stuff of life 🙂

  14. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Deep fried reeses pb cups? OH MY GOD! Yum!

    Mini donuts are my thing..maybe a funnel cake?

  15. Dorry Says:

    Great job on Saturday’s run! One of the most hilarious attractions at the Texas State Fair is a dog show with the cutest dogs showcasing their tricks. LOVE the Fair – not the food so much. Fried food does a number on my stomach but I usually find a big soft salty pretzel and mustard. 🙂

  16. Steph@stephsbitebybite Says:

    Our state fair starts in two weeks and I can’t wait! I’ve got a craving for deep fried snickers, but if the have PB cups, I think I might have to switch 🙂

  17. Matt Says:

    Breakfast is usually post workout for me, so I like pancakes 🙂

  18. Michelle Says:

    I love the sprinkles in your protein shake. 🙂 I love how strong I feel after weight training too! Looking forward to hearing more weight training related stuff!

  19. Beth Says:

    I love having frozen smoothies after a workout. I usually make it before I go and then throw it in the freezer so its ready when I’m done and thinking about it gets me through my run!

  20. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    The barns are the best part of the fair! So sad for you! Though I suppose a fried Reese cup makes up for some of it.

    My favorite fair food is definitely BBQ chicken, preferably with a side of corn on the cob.

  21. eatmovelove Says:

    You had me at Fried. And then I seen the peanut butter…oh my. I just picked up Kraft PB that I haven’t had in a while…not natural?…so what? 🙂

    Holy running! Great run.

  22. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) Says:

    I most *definitely* would have chosen the deep fried reese peanut butter cup as my fair treat of choice too. How yummy is that? 😀

    My favorite post workout snack would have to be either cheese and a fruit or a bowl of yogurt with pb. 😀

  23. Ellen@FirednFabulous Says:

    Hol-y COW. You had me at deep fried. And PB Cups? Amaaazing. I am seriously drooling…over your protein ice cream, too. Yumm! A good bowl of oats usually hits the spot after a workout!

  24. Ellen@FirednFabulous Says:

    Wow, I just realized I kind of copied Eatmeloveme’s comment. I’m so original! Ha. I try 🙂

  25. Wendy Says:

    Deep fried Reese’s – oh dear. I bet they were unbelievable!!!
    I wish they would hold state fairs in early fall instead of the hottest month of the summer. Heat just makes it such a drag (like you said it felt like you were there for days…I believe it)!
    Sorry the barns were closed and you didn’t get to see your favorite oonimals! Poop! 😦
    I continue to be jealous of the comments you get on your blog, Holly!! Send some of your readers over to me!! LOL!!
    Favorite post-workout snack? Hm. I don’t think I have a favorite. Something cold is always great. I usually just have a glass of ice water or water mixed with my Melaleuca sports drink (replaces electrolytes, etc). It’s berry flavored and very yummy!

  26. Emily (A Nutritionist Eats) Says:

    I was SO off on my guess! I really like deep fried pickles! I’m sure they have some of those at the fair!!

  27. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Alright, I’m not a fan of fried food at all but..I WANT THOSE!! hahaha I bet they were incredible. 😀 Melty chocolate and peanut butter- perfect.

    And that’s too bad about the barn being closed. That’s the best part about fairs! :/ Oh well, is it annual? So at least you might have a chance to see them next year. Most of the fairs I’ve been to are kind sporatic..which doesnt make sense since so much land is needed..but oh well.

    And glad you had an awesome run! 🙂 That had to feel good.

  28. Healthy Coconut Says:

    I didn’t have a good experience the OC Fair with the deep fried oreos that I got BUT your deep fried Reese’s look good. That’s how I had picture my oreos to be, less breading and more of the chocolate. Yummy!

    How did you feel the morning after? I didn’t feel too well after the fair. Lesson learned.

  29. Mary (A Merry Life) Says:

    I don’t snack post workout usually because I workout at a time that my next meal is usually dinner.

    Deep Fried Reese’s PB Cups. OMG. Yum. My favorite fair food is corn dogs. YUM.

  30. Katie Says:

    omg fried reeses?!! Gotta love fair food!

    My FAVE fair food treat is funnel cakes!! The fair we went to this past summer I had a funnel cake topped with warm apples!!!!!!!!

    That stinks the barn was closed, the animals are my fave part of the fair!

    Have a great day ! xoxoxo

  31. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Just when I though peanut butter cups couldn’t be any more delicious!

    Congrats on getting back to the running. And I agree with your comment on my blog: getting past the hurdle of your mind can be tough. Like today, when all I want to do is curl up in a little ball with some chocolate nearby. Once I have my mind made up that I’m going to work out, though, I seem to do it no matter what!

  32. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    Your “ice cream” totally looks like Christmas! I eat my oatmeal after working out. Perfect fuel. Favorite fair food is funnel cakes, but sadly no more for me. I think that is why I love waffles so much. They remind me of the texture with all the gooey sweetness on top!

  33. SohdaLex Says:

    I am a HUGE fan of sprinkles! 😉 I think you hit my post workout snack on the head. Their is nothing better then something that tasty and cold after exercising!

  34. Jenna Says:

    Holy gasim! Yummmmmm

  35. Natalie Says:

    hey! thanks for visiting my blog. wow, deep-fried reese’s peanut butter cups!! ive heard of the deep fried twinkies, the deep fried oreos, but never peanut butter cups! haha!

    your protein ice cream looks delicious! my favorite post workout snack is probably almond milk with granola + bananas or an egg scramble with leftovers!

    my favorite fair food… would be funnel cakes!!! other than that i dont really like much fair food… haha


Leave a Reply

