Cinnamon Raisin Dumbbells

Happy September 1st!

I was just thinking a few days ago that I cannot believe it is almost September – where has this summer gone?

Ugh. But you know what? I’ve been super excited for September to begin because today marks the first day of Tina’s 30 Days of Reflection for Self-Love. Please head over to her site if you haven’t already. Are you in?

Last night I ran AGAIN – woah, I don’t run for weeks and suddenly I’m getting back into it. I ran 4 miles along my favorite trail and it felt great. I mean, how could you not enjoy your time here:

Ok those clouds are looking kind of scary in that last pic – I was booking it to get home because I didn’t want to get caught in the rain. I don’t have a Garmin (am I the only one without one?) but I wanted the same effect, so I duct-taped a brick to my wrist – ok not really, but seriously how do you run with that big honking thing?

None of my eats were really special yesterday, except for breakfast. It was all thanks to Rudi’s Organic Bakery:

Rudi’s was kind enough to send me four loaves of bread to test out. These are some serious loaves of bread!

(top left: 14 Grain, top right: Colorado Cracked Wheat, bottom left: Cinnamon Raisin, bottom right: Honey Sweet Whole Wheat)

I could totally use the Cinnamon Raisin Loaf for weights — it was so dense 🙂

I toasted one of each slice:

Jason and I tried ½ piece of each, and let me tell you, they were awesome. Our favorite was the 14 Grain loaf. The slices were small, but thick and very filling. We had a smear of strawberry preserves on top and it was so delicious.

The Cinnamon Raisin loaf was so hearty and crunchy — and each slice had huge raisins mixed in. The Cracked Wheat definitely had that “wheaty”, grainy taste and the Honey Sweet Whole Wheat was a very satisfying piece of bread, with just a hint of sweet honey flavor.

Check out their website to find Rudi’s products in your area! They also offer Gluten Free Breads as well (I’m looking at you Alyssa!) Thanks Rudi’s!

And be sure to check out Laury’s giveaway: Amazing Grass and Blender Bottle!

What is your favorite way to eat bread? A sandwich? French toast? With butter? Nut butter? My favorite is toasted with a little bit of butter and cinnamon.

Where do you exercise? At a gym? Your house? Outside?

Have a good one,

Holly

39 Responses to “Cinnamon Raisin Dumbbells”

  1. leashieloo Says:

    Toasted with butter and jam or smeared with PB or Nutella. Geeesh, I want that raisin bed in the picture. *Runs off to the website*

  2. Holly Says:

    I don’t have a garmin either. 😦 I really, really want one though! Some day, some day…

    I absolutely love bread toasted with peanut butter and a drizzle of honey, that is my absolute favorite way to eat bread!

    Also, I prefer outdoor workouts completely and during the summer only ever workout inside when I do weights. However in the coming winter months that might change a little bit, although I’m hoping to invest in some nice warm running clothes so that I can continue to run outside all winter! I HATE treadmills, heh.

  3. Tina Says:

    I exercise all over. The gym is my main venue though.

    That bread sounds good. I love bread. It can make such a great, simple snack and excellent pre or post workout fuel.

    YAY for the 30 days!!!!!!

  4. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I love bread in every way! toasted, fresh, with cheese, marmalade (a new love!), lettuce… everything!

  5. Lauren @ 40Apples Says:

    I am also Garmin-less, so you’re not alone 🙂

    Favorite way to eat bread: well you brought up an excellent method, which I actually haven’t had in a while… cinnamon toast is excellent! Especially with breads like cinnamon raisin. Otherwise, I love a good grainy bread with a veggie and hummus sandwich.

    Most of my workouts occur in a gym, some at home, some at a yoga studio, and a few here and there outside running.

  6. Carly (Swim, Run, Om) Says:

    Mmm, I love bread. I could eat it with toasted with jelly or butter, as part of a sandwich, on its own, on a train, on a plane … you get the idea. 😉

    I exercise everywhere. Don’t belong to a gym. Runs are usually at my local track, swims are at the pool in my complex, and yoga is in my living room.

  7. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self Says:

    Haha, I love that photo of you using the bread as a dumbbell. Totally made me smile. 🙂

  8. Kate Says:

    i like my bread toasted or as french toast. i usually make sandwhiches with pita.

    i say yes to the 19th too! let me double check my schedule at work today and get back to you. yay!

  9. Kristy Says:

    Love bread toasted with nut butter! I workout at home and outside!

  10. Beth @ Beth's Journey to Thin Says:

    Toasted with melty peanut butter or almond butter and a banana. Mmmm!

  11. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin Says:

    You’re not the only one – I don’t have a Garmin either! I run on the treadmill 90% of the time, so I don’t really need one.

    My favourite way to eat bread is in a sandwich.

  12. SohdaLex Says:

    Bread with nutella is my favorite way to go! 😉
    And I try to keep my exercise pretty mixed up between pool, trail, and gym.

  13. Heather (Heather's Dish) Says:

    girl, NOTHING beats oven-fresh french bread with butter…OMG.

  14. theemptynutjar Says:

    I’ve heard a lot of bloggers talk about Rudi’s…I don’t see it in my parts, too bad. Bread is good at any meal or snack or all of them…any style!

  15. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    So I duct taped a brick to my wrist… BAhahaha!

    I don’t have one either… and I’m managing somehow 😉

  16. Stephanie@ avocado nation Says:

    I love my garmin, but once I know the mileage of a certain route, I stop using it. It makes me nervous and I constantly look at my pace and time which can really detract from a run. Unless it’s a tempo run (which I haven’t done in awhile!) I don’t wear it!

    I have always wanted to to try Rudi’s but have never had the chance! I think I will now!

  17. Dorry Says:

    LOL about the Garmin – I don’t have one either and have often wondered the same thing. And it must give you a big tan line, right? I love bread toasted with nut butter and jam. Mmmm.

  18. Gracie @ Girl Meets Health Says:

    Great review! I’ve seen Rudi’s bread before but never tried it for myself. I love dense, “dumbbell” worthy breads 😉

    I love eating bread toasted, but I must say I prefer when it’s fresh and fluffy. There’s nothing like a classic PB&J on fluffy bread!

  19. glutenfreemuse Says:

    Thanks, Holly! I’ll check them out!

    ~Alyssa

  20. glutenfreemuse Says:

    Loving the Nutzo by the way!

    ~Alyssa

  21. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Hey!!

    First off, thanks for the giveaway shout out!! You’re the very bestest 🙂

    Secondly, that trail looks absolutely beautiful!! I would want to run there all the time!!

    Third, I LOVE cinnamon raisin bread MUCHO!! I usually stock up on Ezekial Cinnamon Raisin in the winter time, it’s like one of my favorite comfort foods!!

    My fav way to eat bread is with almond butter and nanners…if I am really being naughty, I enjoy a freshly baked home made loaf at a good restaurant in some olive oil, YUM!!

    I workout at the gym a few times a week, and at home….I’m not much for outdoor workouts because weather is so extreme here, there’s SUCH a small window to have comfortable temsp..however, when it is comfy out I do enjoy going for a hike or doing some TRX outside!

    Happy hump day 🙂

  22. Nicole @ Getting Back to the Basics Says:

    I’m pretty sure I’d be happy eating bread in any form whatsoever!!! Love BREAD! 🙂

  23. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    hahaha love the cinnamon raisin dumbells! 🙂 I wouldn’t mind pumpin those instead of iron. 😛 Isn’t it cool how you can go for so long without doing something, do it once, then not get enough of it? That’s how I was with weight lifting. I got out of exercising during recovery and now I’m at it almost everyday 😀 Glad you had a great run!

  24. Matt Says:

    I love Rudi’s bread! Have you tried the bagels? So good 🙂

  25. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) Says:

    Haha…love the dumbbell picture! Some breads are so dense, they seriously could be used for weights. :mrgreen:

    I love mixing up my workout routine. I’ll always choose to workout outdoors if given the chance. 😀

  26. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I don’t have a Garmin! (I kind of wish I did though…)

  27. rc1001 Says:

    I exercise at the gym and outside. 🙂

  28. eatmovelove Says:

    I love Cinnamon-Raisin bread and english muffins. Definitely with nut butter and JAM all the way…but hummus and cream cheese is good too…or sometimes all of them 😉

  29. lisaou11 Says:

    I love french toast, toast, dipped in oils, peanut butter sandwich–bread is good any way you slice it!

    and what a beautiful trail. I wish we had more places like that around here.

  30. Emily Says:

    Ooh, good to know they have gluten-free bread. I thought I was going to miss my Rudi’s so much!

  31. Michelle Says:

    HAHAHA! Love your garmin comment. The new garmins are teeny! So cute but so expensive. I have the old version and I look like I’m trying to bring back the 80s with a calculator watch. But I got used to it 🙂

  32. spabettie Says:

    totally love that you are curling that loaf of bread! 🙂

    my favorite way to eat bread… Mmm, toast… buttered (earth balanced…) and cinnamon YES! I have not had cinnamon toast in years… Mmm.

    I just saw the deep fried pb cups. OH MY. sounds tasty!

  33. Becky Says:

    I love cinnamon raisin anything! I also love peanut butter anything. My favorite combo? You guessed it! Toast with peanut butter.

  34. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    I love it toasted! Toasted with nothing on it! I will have to check them out for the gluten free stuff for my husband. I work out at home. Never been to a gym.

  35. Ameena Says:

    I would love to try some gluten-free bread! All I need is some bread and butter. Simplicity is the best!

    It all looks delicious.

  36. Kelsey Says:

    awe haha poor little raisin toast.. it just cant size up to the big guys. i love how it looks in the toaster.. kind of makes you root for the ‘underdog’ huh! lol

    xoxo ❤

  37. Baking Serendipity Says:

    Butter and cinnamon toast is so comforting. I love that trail! I am excited for September because it means I’m a little closer to cooler weather and getting back to running outside. I’ve been stuck at the gym on the treadmill in the heat all summer.

  38. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    “Where do you exercise? At a gym? Your house? Outside?”–

    All of the above! Never do cardio anywhere EXCEPT outside, walking running, whatever. In the winter, I bundle up. I never ever ever do cardio machines or the t-mill. NEVER. Ick!

    Love the bread curl, LOL Too cute!
    And every time i come to your blog, i am reminded of my childhood and i get nostalgic. Til about Oct when it’s already like 40F out. Or halloween blizzards…no, cant hang w/ that anymore!

  39. Kelly Says:

    Love trail runs. Isn’t amazing what a difference that kind of scenery can make?! We live in the mountains, so I try to get outside as much as possible when it’s warm. In the winter, though, I have to get my workouts in while the kiddos are napping, so I become a garage workout mommy, with some skiing and snowshoeing when possible.


Leave a Reply

