Goals & Cookie Dough

Hi Friends 🙂

Thank you everyone for your kind words yesterday! That email I received was quite a shock. I would have been fine if she had written “We aren’t interesting in blogger reviews, thanks”. That would have been fine – or just ignore me! That would have been fine too. Yes I wish everyone on Earth was healthy and ate delicious, nutrient rich meals. But I’m not going to judge someone’s diet and tell them what to eat. Moving on!

We had a rain/hailstorm cut through MN yesterday:

Yes I threw a penny outside the door and took a picture! Check out that hail!

I’ve been seeing a lot of bloggers write about their September Goals – do you make goals each month? I have in the past but I have gotten away from the habit. Here are a few of mine:

1. Exercise consistently: Incorporate TurboFire, running and FBB workouts throughout the week, including at least one rest day and lots of foam rolling.

2. Continue to eat well: focus mostly on lean proteins/produce at each meal, with a sprinkle of healthy fats and carbs and a small indulgence here and there 🙂

3. Participate in Tina’s 30 Days of Reflection for Self-Love. I have been loving her series so far and I can’t wait to see the rest of the topics to unfold.  I have battled with low self esteem and self image as long as I can remember, and any guidance is appreciated!

4. Read at least 2 non fiction books. I read plenty. Unfortunately, I have only been reading the Sookie Stackhouse books (trash!). Here are my two books that I plan to read:

5. Attend church. I haven’t gone to church in months. I think I have a strong faith in God, but I am missing that weekly dose of worship. I plan on attending church every weekend in September.

6. Clean and organize. You’ve seen my garage. This month it goes away. I’m either donating or selling stuff. I need to get my car back in the garage! This needs to leave:

7. Stay within our budget! Jason and I are in the process of building our savings, and that means not spending a ton of money at Target and Trader Joes. We’ve made our budget and now we just have to stick to it.

I might add a few more goals in there, but that is a good start for me 🙂

Last night I finally tried a small bowl of Gina’s Breakfast Cookie Dough Cereal. It was glorious. I added a few golden raisins and walnuts in there as well:

If you haven’t tried it yet, do it!

What are your goals for September?

What are your plans for Labor Day Weekend?

Holly

33 Responses to “Goals & Cookie Dough”

  1. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    That hale is NUTS!!! I haven’t made my goals for September yet…I guess it is to try and get more organized!!!

    I am loving Tina’s series too….have been trying to pay a small tribute to it each day on my blog as well!

    no plans this weekend, I feel lame 😦 The hurricane is supposed to leave the Jersey shore (where we usually go) with lots of rain, clouds, etc. Booo. So, we will stay around here and figure something out!

  2. Carly (Swim, Run, Om) Says:

    Yay! I think it is so important to set goals, or at least revisit goals on a regular basis. Once a month sounds like a good “check-in” place.

    I’m not doing anything for Labor Day, except maybe working. Even if I don’t go to my day job, I’ll have some freelance work to do. Boo!

  3. kaztronomic Says:

    Whoa, that hail is intense! We only occasionally get storms like that out here.

    Sorry it took so long to catch up with you. I read your post from yesterday and I have to admit, Bragg’s seriously pissed me off with their snide, condescending letter to you. That has to be the most insulting, degrading thing I’ve ever read! I know it’s probably little or no consolation to you, but I *was* going to buy their apple cider vinegar (for my digestive issues) but I’ve decided to hold out and buy from another brand. I don’t want to have anything to do with such a rude company! I know that you eat a healthy, balanced diet and live a healthy, balanced life, and a snapshot of ONE DAY does not define you and definitely does not warrant a smug little company to talk down to you. I’m so sorry they did that to you!

    I have a pretty intense goal for September, at least to me. I’m breaking up with the scale. I’m admittedly nervous, and keep giving Amor’s scale the ole hairy eyeball and keep debating on if I want to jump on it or not. Yikes! Your goals sound so mature and wonderful and totally attainable — good luck! 😀

  4. Tina Says:

    Fabulous goals! I really stand behind the church one too. I truly believe the community we get from a positive church atmosphere can’t be beat. Those relationships are my best ones!

  5. Kate Says:

    great september goals! sometimes i make goals and sometimes i don’t. all depends on my mood for the month. are you loving the cooler temps! it is a bit chilly in my apt this morning which makes me happy!!!

  6. Alyssa Says:

    Goals…hmm…to be happy no matter what 🙂 labor day I’m traveling with hubby for family!

  7. 40apples Says:

    Crazy hail!! I’m looking forward to whatever this downgraded hurricane has in store for us here, today…. Brought my huge umbrella so hopefully it won’t be too disastrous!

    September really does feel like a goal-oriented month. The end of the ‘lazy days’ of summer, hunkering down to start taking things seriously – for me, my #1 is budget. I’m getting VERY serious about that!

    Labor Day weekend is going to be pretty laid back here… no real plans! We’ll see what happens 😉
    Have a great Friday!

  8. leashieloo Says:

    I am definitely going to also have to focus on #1 and #7…

  9. Leianna Says:

    Good goals for September! I really want to try that cookie dough cereal, looks delicious!

  10. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Hale always scared me as a child – I used to imagine large pieces cracking my head. I was dramatic like that.

    I too haven’t been to church in a while and I’d really like to get back into it. This was a great little reminder of how important that is (at least to you and me).

  11. Beth Says:

    I go back and forth between setting goals and not, but I find that I tend to stay more on track when I do. I have some big ones this month – I want to hit my goal weight, finish my half marathon, cut down on extraneous spending, and cook at home as much as possible!

  12. Dorry Says:

    Love your goals!! Great outlook on September. 🙂 I just posted the 1st 10 of my 30 before 30. September is super-packed for me with wedding + travel – my goal is to stay relaxed and enjoy every moment. 🙂

    We are in Austin this weekend for a friend’s wedding. Hope you have a happy holiday weekend!

  13. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I remember going out and catching hail in buckets as a kid (as long as it wasn’t *really* coming down of course!) I haven’t really thought about goals for this month..but hmm..make good grades on all the tests that are coming up for my classes! So, I guess that’d fall under “study” 😛

  14. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    That really was a strange email to get back from them. I have never seen that one before. Non of us are perfect every hour of every day. That is ridiculous! Your goals are great. My main goal is to get more organized and paint some rooms. I have the need to refresh the place a little.

  15. Kelsey Says:

    how fantastic is the idea of making a cookie dough breakfast!!! really awesome that u decided to try it out for yourself!
    geez hail storms are crazy. i cant believe the ones that have those golf ball sized hail storms. its crazy!!!

    xoxo

  16. tia Says:

    Awesome goals : ) ! My only september goal is to swim 4-5 x per week. I got the TurboFire series from a friend and I’m thinking of trying it out. Only issue it that my basement tv was hijacked lol and its awkward doing exersizes in the living room. Going to see what it’s like following it off the laptop but that might prove to be hard, plus you don’t get the same music effect I find. Anyways, I’ll let you know how it goes when I start 🙂 Have a great day : )

  17. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Hail?? Nuts!!

    I don’t really have any specific September goals… maybe stick with my 5k training and add more structure to my day?

    Well… looky there, seems like I just created goals 🙂 THX!

  18. theemptynutjar Says:

    Nothing wrong with some trashy reading 🙂

  19. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Awesome goal list! I love drawing a line through items on my “to do” list that I finish 🙂

    I typically make a weekly list in my planner on Monday mornings…I can’t lie though: sometimes items find themselves repeating themselves week after week (example: cleaning the garage!)

  20. Erika @ Dr.TriRunner Says:

    Great goals!! I need to work on the #7, and I would LOVE to do #4. Matter of fact… I would love to make time to read anything other than my sports psych or human physiology textbooks. When push comes to shove, they can still put you to sleep at night, but it’s just not the same. 😉

    p.s. If you want a church buddy, you’re more than welcome to come with me one of these Sundays!!

  21. Naomi(oneFF) Says:

    i love those goals!! i def want to read more! now going into fall/winter thats my time that I can really focus on a book! i always get so caught up in the nice waether in the summer but nows the time! on my list first is “The Help”

  22. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) Says:

    The email you received was *insane*!! I wouldn’t even want their products after that. 😉

    I love your September goals! I’m a huge “goal maker” when it comes to new months. I think I’ll join in on your ‘reading 2 books’ goal. I haven’t been reading much lately, and I really miss it.

  23. SohdaLex Says:

    the dough cereal looks delish 😉 I’m a big fan of most foods with dough in the title :O

  24. mostlyfitmom Says:

    I have lots of goals, but won’t post them all here. 🙂 Big ones, though, include working out 4 times per week, losing 5 lbs by September 25th, and planning my meals weekly. Also, I’m trying to study more this year, and so far, so good.

    Have a great weekend, Holly! I’m planning to get lots of studying in, but will be doing some family stuff with my kids and husband, too.

  25. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    ok my unsolicited advice is call the nearest charity that does pick ups at your house, salv army, goodwill, catholic charities, etc and have them CART THAT STUFF OFF! Girl. The small amt of money you’re gonna make is not worth the WORK! Or take the top 5 or top 10 things that you can net decent $$ from, sell 5 things, or 10, and the rest…ba-bye. Donate 🙂

    Have a super weekend and just wanna say, i am falling in love w/ your blog…thanks for writing and making me smile b/c there’s been hella lotta icky stuff in the ‘sphere so your blog makes me happy!
    xo

  26. andionthego Says:

    I think your goals are awesome – mine are pretty much along the same lines. also, since I’m terribly behind on blog reading, that e-mail you got is crap. please don’t take her words to heart – I think you eat incredibly balanced, healthy (for the most part ;)) meals, and just because you don’t live a high-raw diet (nothing wrong with that!) doesn’t make you less of a person!

  27. Kelly Says:

    I love reading your September goals. I have some of my own and I’m finding that writing them down has helped hold me accountable (at least for the first week)! 🙂
    Love TurboFire – been rotating it in my workouts for the past couple of months. The music rocks!!

  28. Beloved Treasures & Cinnamon Chickpeas | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] I appreciated the comments yesterday about living in the moment vs. dwelling on the past or future. It seemed like there was a good mix of responses. I definitely dwell on the past and wonder if I’ve been making good decisions, if I “should have done this” or “could have done that” and I also think about the future: how are my decisions affecting my life later on? That’s why I wanted to focus on reading more this month: […]

  29. September Update & Office Sabotage | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] thought this would be a good time to check out my September goals and see where I’m […]

  30. Purple Dinosaur | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] and I have a plan to get the rest of the garage clear within the next week (Goal #6!). It will be such a relief when we can both park in our […]

  31. New Friends & New Veggies | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] that I went to church and I’m so glad I went. As you know, it was one of my September goals to attend church every Sunday. Well, I missed the first 2 Sundays but I’m getting into it […]

  32. Almond Butter Chili | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] spent the weekend working on my September goals: cleaning the garage out, reading my books, exercising, eating well, going to church.  I’m […]


Leave a Reply

