Muffins, Mocktails & Many Thanks

Hi Friends 🙂
I was doing so good at commenting on your comments, and I’ve gotten away from that. I’m working on getting a system down because I’d rather email you my response than respond on my blog. Because I understand you don’t necessarily check back on old posts, or do you? I want to connect more and get some “dialogue” going, so I am here, I do want to talk so keep up the commenting! It is much appreciated 🙂
Lets get to the good stuff: make these banana nut muffins

Averie once again your recipe turned out wonderfully! These are so amazingly sweet, easy to make and delicious. I decreased the amount of brown sugar and used ground oats instead of ground flax (I didn’t have any), but other than that I followed Averie’s original recipe. They were pretty thin “muffins” — mine turned out more cookie like with a really gooey center 🙂
Next: I wanted to bring up “the letter” I received from a Bragg rep. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the supportive comments! I tell myself that “I don’t care what people think of me” – but that isn’t true. I do care. I want to show myself in the best possible light and I want to be a good example and role model. That letter from Bragg tore me down and I was feeling really low. But thanks to YOU and the tons of comments I received I feel so much better and more confident in my food choices and in my blog in general. So thank you, thank you, thank you! Onto something a bit more fun:
Alyssa wrote about getting mail yesterday, and I got a special package yesterday as well:

Ah glorious POM juice! Thanks Ryan for contacting me and for sending me this wonderful juice! I really really wanted a POM apron too, but I guess they couldn’t find one for me (believe me, I asked!) POM juice is 100% authentic pomegranate juice. I don’t drink much juice on its own, but I like to dilute it with seltzer for a lovely refreshing mocktail or with some other ingredients to make an actual cocktail 🙂

The perfect place to drink a cocktail  mocktail? In front of the TV of course 🙂 Jason and I are about to watch this:

After seeing Inception I really wanted to rewatch Memento — they were both directed by Christopher Nolan (who also directed Batman Begins and Batman Forever).
Plans for the weekend:
-Wedding Saturday night
Work on my Sept goals: church on Sunday and lots of reading
-Run 6 miles Saturday, TurboFire on Sunday, TurboFire/FBB Strength Monday
-Relax, unwind and maybe (just maybe) do a bit of cleaning around the house
What are your plans for Labor Day Weekend?
What is the best movie you have watched lately?
20 Responses to “Muffins, Mocktails & Many Thanks”

  1. glutenfreemuse Says:

    I got pom too! How fun!

    Alyssa

  2. Leianna Says:

    POM mocktails look fun! Haven’t seen Inception yet but heard really goo things about it!

  3. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I think we all care what people think to some extent no matter how much we claim we don’t. I mean, nobody likes to be judged and it’s infuriating when we’re judged by people who don’t even know us. But oh well, some people just need filters..like dog muzzles. 😛 Maybe that would help.

    My weekend plans involve spending time with my parents and getting a new refrigerator. haha, mine kinda rumbles and leaks a little…

    Sounds like you have a full weekend ahead- have fun! 😀

  4. mostlyfitmom Says:

    I really enjoyed Inception, too. On the other hand, last night was family movie night and we watched Furry Vengeance. May have actually been the worst movie EVER!!

    Enjoy your weekend!

  5. Steph@stephsbitebybite Says:

    BAKING! That’s what I’d like to do.

    I think yard work, cleaning and fishing will work there way in somewhere 🙂

  6. Becky Says:

    It’s almost pomegranate season again. Your juice makes me long for one of those big fruits!

  7. leashieloo Says:

    I had to watch “Memento” like three times before I felt that I actually got the movie. It was kind of sad, in my opinion :/ Christopher Nolan is a good director, though the ending of “Inception” drove me crazy!

  8. Matt Says:

    I NEED some of those muffins in my life!

  9. 1970kikiproject Says:

    love memento! really should watch it again. brilliant movie.
    my weekend plans: work! (i work retail so weekends = more like a weekday feeling for me). bake cookies tonight! 🙂 cleaned last night so that task is done!
    i love to plan and revise goals at the beginning of september, too. it really feels like a time of rejuvenation!
    enjoy the wedding!

  10. Wendy Says:

    Curious to know how you guys like “Memento”! I hadn’t heard of it but it looks great.
    Wait til you have kids and you all get to watch things like “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” instead of the movies you and Jason would much rather watch. LOL! 😛 Honestly, though, some of the kid movies are really fun to watch.
    Have wondered about that Pom Wonderful juice. The produce section of my regular grocery store always has a full stock. Your mocktail looks delightful, indeed!!

  11. spabettie Says:

    I got some POM recently also – YUM I totally mix it with club soda… and SOMETIMES there’s vodka in there too… 😉

    I love that apron.

    I’m glad you are feeling better about that letter. I have to say, it really upset ME also… like I said I use Bragg products quite often, but I have mixed feelings now. I’m sure they’d have the same response to MY blog… gaah, whatever.

    Those muffins look great – I thought maybe you used a “muffin top” pan because they were short… I have always wanted one of those – the top is the best part, and it’s just enough muffin! 🙂

    Hope your weekend is Fabulous!

  12. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Hey Holly so glad you liked the muffins!!!! Yes, b/c they are vegan and so no eggs AND no gluten, so nothing to truly “fluff” them up, they will remain more dense and flat but that’s ok for us 🙂 Glad they worked for you too and that you enjoyed them and thanks for the lovely linkbacks!

    As for comments…I never, rarely! check back to a blog’s old posts. If i visit 25 to 50 blogs a day, there is no way i can actually go back TWICE to the same blog unless I a. love the blogger or happened to ask/say something that I thought would b. necessitate a response. But i also try not to ask questions in comment fields b/c that obligates the blogger to do even more work…and i know what that’s like answering 50 questions that were in the form of comments.

    Ok rambling. haha!

    Have a super weekend hon and glad you liked the muffies! Make the blueberry streusel ones next 🙂

  13. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i’ve never seen Memento, but i heard it was really good! best movie i’ve seen recently would have to be Inception (haha…it’s the only movie i’ve seen recently.) i was pretty impressed with myself: i actually followed about 90% of it 🙂 usually my mind wanders (i have attention span issues) but this one kept me glued to the screen.

    have a great time at the wedding!

  14. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Hey, Holly, just wanted to let you know that I gave you an award on my blog. Here’s the link: http://mostlyfitmom.wordpress.com/2010/09/04/cherry-on-top/

    Happy weekend!

  15. 40apples Says:

    The muffins look amazing! And Memento is such an incredible movie… I really like Christopher Nolan but haven’t seen Inception yet! Got to!!

    Hope you guys had fun at the wedding! Have a great Sunday Holly! x

  16. missfitbliss Says:

    Those muffins look delicious! I have trouble resisting any baked good with a gooey center. As far as the Braggs letter is concerned – don’t worry about it. If anyone were as strict with their eating philosophies as the Braggs people, life would be a bore. I love reading your blog because you make healthy living and experimenting with eating fun! Keep up the great work;)

  17. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    We have no plans this weekend and I love it!

    We watched Super Troopers last night and The Rundown on Friday night. We’ve seen both before but they are great movies.

  18. Michelle (Delightfully Dietetic) Says:

    POM=Nom 🙂 And that apron is great haha Have a good long weekend!

  19. Pizza Party | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Oh yes, this is Angela’s Breakfast Pizza. I made a Fruit Pizza a few weeks ago, but I loved Angela’s use of peanut butter as the top drizzle! I changed up a few things: I used applesauce instead of earth balance (or butter) in the crust, and instead of jam I used a mashed banana plus a few tablespoons of POM juice. Remember all that POM juice I got last week? […]


Leave a Reply

