Hearts & Cherries

Hi Friends 🙂

Usually I post early in the morning, but not today! I slept in until 10 am and it felt great.

Last night Jason and I had an amazing time at my boss’ wedding. I was a Lazy Blogger though — I didn’t take any pictures. We were seated with people I work with work for — the President of the company/his wife, the Owner of the company/his wife and the Chief Financial Officer — Jason and I had a great time with them but I was feeling awkward with taking pics of the food, so I didn’t 😦

But, it was glorious. The ceremony was lovely — outside under a half-gazebo/trellis thing surrounded by flowers and plants. They released two doves at the end of the service — it was very magical. And the best part: the food! We had bacon wrapped scallops and chicken skewers as appetizers, a green salad with berries, walnuts and red onions, and the main course was surf n turf: walleye filet with steak, potatoes au gratin and green beans. Needless to say I didn’t/couldn’t eat all of that, but it was a wonderful meal. We stayed for dinner and danced until about 11pm. We were pooped when we got home!

Here is the one picture Jason took. Right before the ceremony a heart cloud passed over:

I’d like to thank Mostly Fit Mom for giving me my first Blog Award!

The Rules:

1. Answer this question: If you had the chance to go back and change one thing in your life, would you and what would it be?

2. The second thing you have to do is, pick 6 people and give them this award. You then have to inform the person that they have gotten this award.

3. The third and final thing is, thank the person who gave you the award.

My answers:

1. If I had a chance to go back and change one thing in my life, I don’t think I would change anything, because I can see how my choices led me to be the person I am today. I wish I had more confidence in high school/college and didn’t care so much about what people thought of me. I also would have changed my major in college — I wish I would have gone to school for something more creative than Criminology and German Studies (Yes that was my major and minor in college!) — graphic design or something like that. But I like where I am at today, and I can see how my choices in schooling led me to meeting Jason, so I see that it all worked out. (Thats a pretty boring answer, right?)

2. I hereby award this Cherry on Top Award to:

Michelle at Chasing Ambulances

Lauren at 40 Apples

Michelle at Give Me The Almond Butter

Megan at Healthy Hoggin

Maria at Oh Healthy Day

Kelsey at Snacking Squirrel

3. Thank you Mostly Fit Mom for giving me my first award! I am happy that you are a reader and you appreciate what I put on my blog. It means a lot ot be recognized!

Have a great day!

Holly

23 Responses to “Hearts & Cherries”

  1. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin Says:

    I feel really awkward taking pictures when I’m eating with others too. But I bet your meal was amazing, from the sounds of it!

    Aww I love that picture of the heart cloud! 😀

  2. 40apples Says:

    Thank you for the award, Holly!!! I am so honored to receive it 😀 Can’t wait to put it in my next post.

    The wedding sounds very lovely – and that heart cloud!! How sweet!

    Enjoy your Sunday my dear! x

  3. Alycia [Fit n Fresh] Says:

    Glad you had fun at the dinner 🙂

    Congrats on the award!

  4. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Congratulations on the award!

  5. Carly (Swim, Run, Om) Says:

    Awww, congratulations! How fun!

    That heart-shaped cloud is awesome. I call those “God moments.” 🙂

  6. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I’d feel awakward taking pictures around people who didn’t know I had a blog. Well, people I know that didn’t know I had a blog anyway. Cause I’m cool with snapping pics around a cafeteria filled with people I’ve never seen before 😛

    Nice answer, too. It’s true our paths are what made us who we are. If we went back and chaged a rough patch or something, we wouldn’t be as strong. 🙂

  7. kaztronomic Says:

    Congrats on your award! 😀

    I still haven’t mustered (almost typed “mustard”…hmm, am I hungry? o.O) up the bravery to snap pictures of my food in public, so I totally hear you on that. It sounds like it was a lovely ceremony, though, and that heart-cloud is really mind-blowing! How apt!

    I made some bad choices in life, but they’ve brought me to where I am now, too, so no regrets. Everything has been a lesson and taught me something, so I can’t chide myself too harshly for not doing everything perfectly. It sounds like your choices have led you to some wonderful things, so that’s great! =)

  8. eatmovelove Says:

    That’s awesome that you wouldn’t change anything. I know people usually say that but I always think, “yeah right” haha! But it sounds good in your case.

    I love the muffins in your previous post – I made something similar – but didn’t decrease a whole lot of suga’..;). Yours look awesome! Moist haha – I think Averie hates that word right?

  9. Jessica (Fit and Clean) Says:

    Awww. I love the heart cloud! That is sooo sweet 🙂

  10. Michelle Says:

    Thanks for the award! I wish I had more confidence in high school, but I’m getting it in college now 🙂

  11. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Aw, that heart cloud is so cute!!

  12. Tina Says:

    Yay for your first award! I always love reading about them but never remember to post ones I receive. 😦 I don’t know why I’m so bad about that.

    Glad you had fun at the wedding and got to sleep in!

  13. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    food is always the best part of any wedding. i remember the breakfast on my wedding day was THEE best meal of my life! probably because i’d also been up since 4am for the sun rise ceremony and was absolutely STARVING!!

  14. spabettie Says:

    no – not boring, this is a Great Answer!! 🙂 no regrets…

    I’m getting more brave with the photo taking… we went to a restaurant yesterday and I took photos!! with my BIG DSLR!! 🙂 …okay, we were sitting outside. 😉 and it was just Jason and I. it depends on the company whether I take photos or not…

  15. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Love the heart pic! And the wedding dinner menu sounds divine. It’s making me hungry just to think about it, actually!

    Criminology and German Studies – seems like sort of an unusual combo. Very diverse! I did a year and a half of engineering, then transferred to a different area and did a business degree with an accounting major. Now I’m studying dentistry! Strangely enough, one of my engineering classes actually helped with the dental aptitude test I had to write to get into dental school. Things do always seem to work out…

  16. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) Says:

    I love that cloud!!! My friend once got a heart shaped chicken breast at a restaurant 🙂

  17. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    congrats and by you giving it lauren/40apples, she gave it to me. on her site, i posted my thoughts about my major. Really, who cares. It’s just 4 yrs and a piece of paper. What one does with the entire rest of their life IMO has very little bearing on what one’s degree was received in, but yes, I totally understand. See, I tell myself these little stories b/c i always 2ndguess my own educational choices.

    Being more confident in h.s. and college…oh, i hear that. Big time. I hate that I let mean girls make me cry and that I wasnt strong enough to walk tall despite their meanness.

    Have a great Monday honey!!

    🙂

  18. Mimi Says:

    I would have gone back to when I was a kid and gotten more into sports. I think I could have been a totally rad martial artist.

  19. Becky Says:

    I love the heart cloud! I am still a little shy about taking pictures in certain situations. The new people that I work with have no idea about the blog, so I don’t take photos at work. Being a teacher, I’m in the public and don’t want to share too much.

    Have a great day!

  20. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I think there are appropriate times to photograph your food and inappropriate and you probably chose what was best for that setting 🙂

    Thanks so much for the award! I can’t wait to give out my own 🙂

  21. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    Thanks for the award, Holly! 😀

    I am totally the same way about food pics– I don’t do it if I’m around people who don’t know about the blog!! (or I’ll try to be REALLY sneaky and take some with my phone… but those usually don’t turn out too pretty…)

    Hope you’ve had a great weekend!

  22. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Yay for awards! 🙂 I really like going to weddings, but no one seems to get married these days here. They only have babies.. maybe next year they’ll all get married?!

  23. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    Thanks for the award Holly! You are so sweet. I have trouble answering the question about what I would go back and change. So many things, but I learned from them all! If I had to pick one it would be that I wish I had been nicer to my parents when I was an adolescent. I was a pain in the butt.


Leave a Reply

