POM Quinoa Parfait

Hi Friends 🙂
 
My new friend Craig is the best! We have gotten rid of a few items and I’ve gotten lots of interest on the rest of the junk treasures. Hopefully by the end of this week we’ll have a few more items listed and the garage will be almost empty…
 
It was pretty chilly and super windy here in MN today. So I was definitely thinking “fall” and “comfort food” when I made breakfast. I decided to use some of my POM juice in a new way:

Why can’t I cook quinoa in POM juice? I thought I’d give it a try. And it turned out wonderful! I think quinoa is such a cute grain — I love the shape and the fluffy texture. I layered my POM quinoa with sliced strawberries, unsweetened applesauce, golden raisins and pecans.

I think I want to tweek the amount of POM/water to quinoa ratio, but it definitely sweetened the quinoa and tasted nice with the applesauce. 
So I got to watch Thintervention and I liked it way more than the Biggest Loser. I like that it is not a competition between contestants and I like that Jackie talked about FOOD! On The Biggest Loser, the contestants exercise all day long. Then we have a brief moment where Bob or Jillian talks to the contestants about drinking milk, Brita water, whey protein, cheerios, etc. It is all commercials for their sponsors. Unless I always miss that episode, BL doesn’t talk much about diet or food. It is all about the exercise.
 
But I think that DIET is so much more important than exercise when it comes to losing weight. I can easily eat 1000 calories of junk food in a few minutes, but it will take me a long time to burn that all off. I don’t think you can erase bad eating habits with tons of exercise.
 –
Thintervention likes:
-Focus on diet changes with exercise
-Focus on decreasing sugar in daily diet
-Focus on changing bad habits
-The clients don’t live on a ranch
-The clients make their own food and live in their own homes
-There is an actual therapist to help the clients (instead of just having Jillian on the Biggest Loser)

 –
Thintervention dislikes:
-The blond female client who drinks and smokes all day long – she is ANNOYING

– 
I do watch The Biggest Loser but I get so tired of the competition aspect. Plus, I love Jillian Michaels, but I don’t like her trainer/therapist role. I wish she would just stick with training!
Oh and for my Real Housewives of OC watchers – did you notice that Jeana’s “chef” was that man Allan that she went on a few dates with? He was the father of one of Shane’s friends? Anyone else see that?
By the way, did you know Jillian is part owner of Jackie’s gym: Sky Sport and Spa?
In honor of Jackie’s new show I’m currently rereading portions of her book:

Although I do not like the “fat talk” (on the cover!!!), I do think Jackie makes great points about sugar addiction and the importance of eating a clean diet
And in case you didn’t look at a calendar today, it is a New Moon tonight!

Yes I have New Moon chocolates in my freezer. They actually taste horrible and they have lasted over a year. I keep them for the sentimental value only 🙂 They were a Christmas gift from my mother in law as a joke.
Questions:
1. Team Edward, Team Jacob, or Team Don’t Care? Team Edward!!!
2. What is your favorite grain? I love oatmeal and brown rice, but quinoa is slowly becoming one of the “favorites”
3. Do you tend to dwell on the past, dream about the future or live in the present? I honestly usually live in the future — I think about what could be or what will be, but I also often think about the past and I wonder if I have made good decisions. I am trying to live in the present and enjoy each day, but it is tough for me!
Have a great day,
Holly
41 Responses to “POM Quinoa Parfait”

  1. Di Says:

    Ooh definitely need to try the POM quinoa breakfast recipe – looks delicious. I Tivo’d Thintervention this week and am planning to watch it tonight. Looking forward to it.

  2. eatmovelove Says:

    Team Jacob. Sorry 😦 . Grain? I love spaghetti and pasta noodles. And oatmeal is a given.

    And, I won’t even go into #3…story of my LIFE.

    I’ve never seen that show – but it certainly sounds better than TBL!

  3. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    Team Edward of course. Love the idea of using quinoa in a sweet way! I’ve made granola with it but never thought about it as a breakfast or desert!

  4. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Ah, hard questions! I don’t know which team! 😀

  5. Leianna Says:

    I really liked this show better than biggest loser as well, goes more in depth of their issues with food!
    I like what you did with your quinoa, I need to try some recipes with that stuff. I have a box that’s been sitting in my cupboard for a while.

  6. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I just got POM juice in the mail, too! I gotta try in with quinoa- what a great idea 🙂

    And I kinda want to check out Thintervention! …buuuuut I don’t know if I can add another TV show into my line up… I’m trying to limit it…so we’ll see 🙂

  7. Tina Says:

    I’m with you. I watch TBL and will continue to do so as a tradition with my sister, but many things irk me that you mentioned. The product placement, the therapist Jillian, the lack of balance and real lessons given to participants, etc. It also really bothers me that the contestants on TBL are soooooo overweight now. I much prefer watching people who don’t have 100s of lbs to lose because then I don’t have to fear for their life the entire process. LOL

  8. thejoggingconcierge Says:

    Team Don’t Care

    I’m loving quinoa now. I like making mine with coconut milk too.

    I think I tend to think too much in the future. Growing up, I always said “I can’t wait…” and my dad would tell me that if I kept looking to what’s ahead, I might miss what’s right now. I definitely try and take those words to heart.

  9. Lauren @ 40Apples Says:

    Awesome review of Thintervention! I REALLY want to check out that show, especially after reading the good points you made about it. I never really got into the Biggest Loser for, really, the same reasons you mentioned.

    I’ve always been Team Edward, though Jacob has grown on me too (he used to totally get on my nerves). My cat is Team Jacob all the way, though. (longstanding joke with my roommate 🙂 )

    For savory dishes, my fave is quinoa. It’s so versatile!

    I’m definitely a future-thinker. Sometimes to a fault (hello, getting hopes up/not appreciating the present/getting anxious!).

  10. carly Says:

    LOL, I’m definitely Team Don’t Care. 😉

    I will have to watch Thintervention!

  11. Healthy Coconut Says:

    You are cute Holly with your themed chocolates. I do the samething too, people give me a lot of chocolates during the holidays but I end up freezing them because I can’t eat them all at once. Gotta make it last the whole year.

    I might be the only person in the world who has not read or watched any of the Twilight series. I have the books and I have the DVD for the movies….just haven’t had the time to enjoy it. I think next vacation will be Twilight themed and I will catch up.

    Thanks for sharing a new way to make quinoa. I love quinoa…I just have to remember to make it ahead of time. The texture really shows on your picture, especially because it has a different color.

  12. Michelle Says:

    I love Jillian Michaels too. When she had a radio show, I downloaded the podcasts. But I also don’t get why BL doesn’t talk more about diet. It’s so important!

  13. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Wow, what a cool idea with the POM and quinoa! You are brilliant!

    My (new) favorite grain actually is quinoa. Love that it’s got protein and is gluten free. Plus, as you know, it’s cute and very versatile! 🙂

  14. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I want to try quinoa but I don’t know where to find it!

    I know I should eat less sugar than I do but it’s definitely hard! I like me some sweet stuff.

  15. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I am SO torn between Team Edward and Team Jacob. I belive Edward and Bella ARE Soulmates…but I just LOVE Jacob….maybe I’ll keep him for myself, haha… I love how Breaking Dawn ended though…it made me happy.

    The POM trifle you have going on there looks pretty interesting…who’d a thunk that up!!?? I likey! I use the SAME TJ Quinoa btw!

  16. Dorry Says:

    I love quinoa! It’s a current favorite. I try to do whatever I can to live in the present and focus on the moment at hand. Sometimes I get ahead of myself with planning the future but I’m usually brought back to the present when circumstances change – as they always do. 🙂

  17. Matt Says:

    Oatmeal for me please 🙂

    Quinoa is good, but I never know what to do with it. That stuff confuses me!

  18. theemptynutjar Says:

    Team Jacob!
    I tend to miss living in the present moment. Working on it.

  19. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I’ve never heard of quinoa being referred to as a “cute grain” but it is! Especially when it’s pink like yours turned out after being cooked in POM. 😛

    And I agree with you on the fact diet can’t erase bad eating habits. It takes both to be fit. I get so annoyed with people who say “I ran today so it’s fine to eat this entire pizza.” C’mon..

  20. glutenfreemuse Says:

    I’m a team edward fan 🙂 love whole grains…all of them! So nutty tasting 🙂 and I am a realist and definitely live in the present. I need to work on my patience with dreamers though…they might be ridiculous at times, but the risky ones make stuff happen!!

    Alyssa:-)

  21. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Team Edward.

    Oats followed by quinoa.

    I dream about the past.

  22. Emily (A Nutritionist Eats) Says:

    Darn I missed the Thintervention….I’m going to have to go tape it so I don’t miss it! I like Jackie 🙂
    Very fall like here in MN, huh? I’m loving it!!

  23. Tia @ Inventanotherworld Says:

    Why haven’t I herd of this show!? Ugh. I’m so bad with watching TV shows, I’ll watch something one week and like set it in my mind to tune in the following week and I NEVER DO! The only show in the last few years I’ve been able to follow on a weekly basis’ is House, just love all the sarcasm.

    I find I switch sides with the Twilight series depending if I’m watching or Reading. Edward in the movies just drives me nuts, sure he’s hot but he’s so overprotective and clingy and just weird always lurking, but in the books I thought his character was insane romantic, and in the books Jacob is super annoying but in the movies .. well .. I can’t help but drool, literally .. aha!

  24. Paj Says:

    looks like dessert, which means it is a must-try for breakfast!

  25. Tricia Says:

    what an awesome use of POM

  26. Becky Says:

    What a fun way to make quinoa! It’s one of my favorite grains and it cooks quickly, which is even better. I can’t live without my oats though. They are the best.

    Thanks for the Thintervention review. I think I just might give a watch.

  27. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Holly– I couldn’t agree more with your review of the Biggest Loser! I love Jillian as a trainer on her workout DVDs, but I can’t stand it when she tries to play therapist with the contestants. And their shameless product placement and on-screen food advertisements are getting extreme. Despite my complaints, I still love watching the show though 🙂

    PS–My favorite grain is a toss-up between bulgur and quinoa. Bulgur cooks so quick though, I find I use it more often 🙂

  28. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    that chocolate is hilarious!! i’d have to say Team Edward but i don’t know too much about Twilight.

    Thinspiration sounds like such a good show! hopefully we’ll get it in Australia! i’ve never really watched The Biggest Loser, the fact they lose SO much weight in such a short period of time scares me 😛

  29. Holly at Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices Says:

    LOVE how you used POM juice- that’s so creative & sounds DELISH 😀
    And, I watched Thintervention last night & also really liked it! I love her workouts, so I figured I would give it a shot. Honestly, Jillian is still my go-to girl 😉 but, I Jackie is a REALLY REALLY REALLY close 2nd! I can’t wait to watch more 🙂

  30. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com Says:

    OH CRAZY!!! that reminds me of christmas in a parfait glass! the colors are so pretty and the quicnoa did a wonderful job at soaking up the pom juice!

    btw thank you SO MUCH for the blog award!! im sorry i missed it 🙂

    you are the sweetest ❤

  31. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    That is what I hate about the biggest loser! Dang, I will have to catch a repeat on that show. I actually liked Jackie’s other show before too. I am so with you on the food. You don’t have to be an athlete to lose weight, you just need to know how to balance everything. Great review of the show!

    Oh I am team I don’t care and I LOVE quinoa!

  32. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Once you tweak the Pom/water to quinoa ratio, please post! This sounds delish.

    Team Jacob – mostly because I like his character better than Edward’s in the last couple of books. But Team Edward after the first book, for sure.

    Favourite grains: oatmeal and barley.

    I’m a planner and probably spend too much time dreaming about the future. Or maybe it’s just that dental school is super-stessful and I just want to be done already (less than 2 years to go – woot woot!)

  33. leashieloo Says:

    Have you visited the actual “This Is Why You’re Fat” website? It’s a bit more tongue in cheek: http://www.thisiswhyyourefat.com/

  34. Baking Serendipity Says:

    POM for breakfast is the best. I’ve never seen this show before. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the awesome breakfast idea!

  35. Holly Says:

    1) Team Jacob all the way!! 😉
    2) Oatmeal by far. I just love it so so much!
    3) I live way too much in the future. Like, I’m CONSTANTLY dreaming about what life is going to be like when it “gets started”….sometimes I fail to realize that my life started 20 years ago. 😉 Heh.

  36. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    ive never watched New Moon OR TBLoser in my life.

    TBL have heard enough and seen clips, to know, that i would hate it! all the aspects that you mentioned you liked about Jackie/Thin, I know that those arent true in TBL so no thanks.

    Jackie and Jillian owning the gym together? not surprised. I would like to own a gym with those two, too! ha!

    Cant wait to see Gina’s “chef” and yes i totally remember that guy just based off your description! It’s all on my DVR.

    you can soak quinoa without ever even cooking it. For like 12 hours or so. Not perfect, but it works.

    I am emailing you…

  37. Brittany Says:

    Great idea to cook the quinoa in pom juice. I bet it added a nice flavor to the grain. And, I love quinoa parfaits as well. 🙂

  38. Katie Says:

    Too funny, I just posted a comment on another one of your posts about the stupid title of this book. I don’t have cable, so I can’t watch thintervention, but it sounds great!

    Oh, and Team Edward. No Jacob. No Edward. ARGH!!! I can’t choose. Maybe I’ll just string them both along for a book or two. Worked for Bella. 😉

  39. New Friends & New Veggies | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Will you be watching Thintervention tonight? What are your thoughts on the show so far? Like I’ve said before, I appreciate that Jackie talks about diet AND exercise, and I think that The Biggest Loser […]

  40. Last Chance Workout & Turducken | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Last Chance Workout! Now, I’ve explained some of my Biggest Loser thoughts before and you all have left me some great comments as well, but as a whole I do enjoy their […]


Leave a Reply

