Remember September 11

 

I will never forget where I was on September 11, 2001. It was my second week of college at the University of Minnesota. I had just arrived at my first class, Shakespeare Literature, which was in a huge lecture hall. There were at least 300 students in my class. Our professor walked in late and explained that there was some sort of plane crash in New York, but he didn’t have any details. We all stood silently for a minute and then continued with class.

Afterward, I had an hour break before my next class so I found a quiet place to study. As I made my way to my next class, Geology Lab, my sister Leah (who was in her 4th year at the Univ) ran to me and said that we need to go home. I didn’t know what she was talking about, but as we walked/argued to the building door, I saw that there was a sign posted that said all classes were canceled for the remainder of the day. Leah told me she didn’t know what had happened, but that her professor told her to go home. So we got on the next bus and headed home. We both lived at home with our parents and our bus ride was over an hour long.We learned about the attacks on the city bus. Everyone was on their cell phone or talking about the news they just saw. All we knew was that a plane had crashed into the World Trade Center. I remember not being able to comprehend what had happened or why. And we hadn’t even heard the news about the other two planes near the Pentagon and in Pennsylvania.

We finally got dropped off near our home and as we walked towards our house our mom came out and hugged us. She was in tears and just kept saying “I’m so glad you’re home” and “I’m so glad we’re home” — you see, we were in New York City just 2 weeks prior. We had taken a family vacation to NYC to watch some tennis at the US Open. It was a very odd feeling having just been in NYC. I can’t even imagine how residents of that area felt about the events. We spent the rest of the day watching the news and watching the footage over and over again.

Please take a moment to remember those lost.

Where were you on September 11, 2001?

Posted in Life. 18 Comments »

18 Responses to “Remember September 11”

  1. crispandverdant Says:

    When we found out, I was a senior in high school in orchestra class. We were in the middle of playing a slow song, when the principal came on the loudspeaker and made an ambiguous announcement that the NYC trip was canceled. Some people in my high school had been about to go to a college fair that I believe was on the grounds of the WTC area. We sat there listening to more announcements trying to figure out what was happening. It wasn’t until later that we knew what had happened. Parents started coming into the school to pick their kids up early.

  2. 40apples Says:

    It was my senior year in high school, and I had just woken up for school (3 hrs earlier on west coast) and was listening to NPR when the broadcast was interrupted with the announcement that there had been some sort of accident at one of the towers… then I listened as the newscaster suddenly stopped, and observed that another plane had just right then flown into the other tower. From then on, I was in a fog… profoundly frightened about what was happening – if attacks would keep on happening, how extensive this would be, if our lives were changing drastically every moment that passed….. It was so overwhelming.
    Now that I live in New York, I see Ground Zero on a regular basis, I’ve heard so many stories of what it was like to be in the city that day, and I know people who had friends and family affected… it has made this tragedy even more deeply personal. And the city is still scarred by it. It still astounds me that this place that I call home now was in the throws of such a nightmare, just 9 years ago.

  3. mostlyfitmom Says:

    I remember getting ready for work and we happened to catch something on the news about a plane hitting the first tower. We thought it was weird, but thought it was a small plane. We actually saw the footage of the second plane before I left for work, and I still remember thinking it was totally bizarre and just not being able to understand what was going on. As I was driving to work, I listened to the news, and at work, we actually sat in a conference room with our computers and watched the news. I’m Canadian and am pretty far away from New York, so I think the experience was different for me than for my American neighbours, but today, my thoughts are with those lost their lives that day and with those who remain.

  4. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I was sitting in my 6th grade class when one of the teachers came into the room and called us all into the cafeteria. There was a big TV in there and the entire school watched the news..for about two hours or so. After that, we went back to class and talked about it. I don’t remember doing any actual work that day. After school I went to this thing called “latestay” and we watched more news in that room. Being so young, we didn’t really get what was going on and thought it was much more innocent than it actually was. I actually remember talking to a friend about how the planes could fit inside the building and that it’d be weird to see it- as if it were just a minor distraction.

  5. Poppylark Says:

    I was getting ready for a conference downtown that day and my carpool partner showed up and said that a plane had flown into the towers. I couldn’t figure out what he was talking about .. I was imagining some kind of stunt plane maneuver gone wrong. That was an awful day as it seemed the attacks were moving across the country, NY then DC and then the crash in Pennsylvania. I begged my mom to leave work (she was in one of the highrises in Seattle), but she didn’t. The conference was cancelled and I went to the office, but didn’t do any work. I just kept watching the news footage over and over. Those poor people that leapt to their deaths rather than be burned alive .. it still makes me cry to think of it.

  6. Wendy Says:

    Definitely thinking of those whose lives were lost nine years ago today.
    We lived in our previous house and I was carrying a laundry basket down to the laundry room when I overheard Katie Couric saying something about “an incident” on the Today Show. I remember rolling my eyes and thinking ‘Now what crazy thing happened?’ Finally sat down to watch was going on and was completely shocked. Later that day, my best friend called to say she had had a miscarriage. That was a horrible day in a lot of ways.

  7. Becky Says:

    I remember it so clearly. I was a senior in high school. I was sitting next to my best friend in AP Statistics when the principal came over the intercom. He told everyone to stay seated and in their classrooms. The teacher brought in a TV and we watched the events of the day unfold.

    On September 12th, we went back to school and started Operation White Ribbon. My friends and I sold white ribbons in remembrance of that day and raised hundreds of dollars to send to victims’ families. It still gives me chills.

  8. spabettie Says:

    the memories of that day still give me chills, and my heart goes out to all that were lost, all that lost loved ones, and all that gave themselves to the rescue and recovery.

  9. Beth Says:

    I was sitting in french class in high school watching the coverage live on TV. I remember my friend Mike said “I wonder if they’ll rebuild it?” right as the tower disintegrated before our eyes. I had one sister in NYC and one in DC, both of who we could reach for hours. It was awful. I’ll never forget it.

  10. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    totally crying as i read this post, as a mom now, i can totally relate to what your mother said on a level i could never have before, when this was all happening 9 yrs ago, motherhood was very far from my radar screen

    i just posted about my own 9/11 reflections today

    and you went to the U??!! Omg I went there for a year and did summer school classes there, and was taking huge lecture classes on the West Bank in huge halls, psych, bio lecture, lab classes that were huge. I cannot even imagine being in one of those classes and hearing of the attacks…pandemonium no doubt!

  11. eatmovelove Says:

    I’m a Canadian, but it’s no different really. Terroism attacks are terrorism. Tragedy is tragedy. But I’ve read and heard that after that the City of New York changed even…NY Residents are/were often thought of as stand-offish, etc…but after that, people came together and were more helpful and open to eachother.

    I remember I was in University, but over to the hospital for a Dr’s. appointment for that morning. When they (finally) called me in to do standard BP, weighing, etc. there were TV stations up just showing a huge explosion…all I seen were pictures of a plane ramming into a building…I had no idea what the Towers were or its significance – but I remember being shell-shocked and chilled…I had no idea what really, really, had just happened.

    Great post.

  12. Michelle (Delightfully Dietetic) Says:

    I was in 5th grade… living in New York. I didn’t find out in school because so many of my peers had parents working in the trade buildings. My mom picked me up from school to tell me. I really will never forget what that day was like…

  13. Shelby Stidham Says:

    I’ve seen this question on tons of blogs today and reading everyone’s answers has been very interesting.

    I was a sophomore in high school. I was putting on make up in my bedroom getting ready for school, watching the Today Show. I’ll never forget running into my mom’s bathroom as she got ready for work and dragging her out to the television.

  14. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I’m from Finland and even though I live really far away from all that happened then in your country I’m also affected of it. I’m really sorry for all the losses ! I can remember very clearly where I was when it happened: I was at work and suddenly a customer ran into the shop where I was working and yelled that something terrible had happened in the US. We turned the shop TV on and watched the special news with the customers.

  15. carly Says:

    I’m catching up on my blog reading, and just now got to this post. You read my blog post about where I was – in Algebra II near the end of class. I think this post perfectly states exactly what I remember most from that day – the confusion. I know terrorism was bandied about, but I remember nearly every news station we had turned to for a while was literally at a loss for words. No one knew what was happening, or what would happen next. The fear and confusion will always be in my memory, and in my heart. I watched some of the History Channel’s specials on 9/11 yesterday, and started crying. Because scenes from that day just aren’t supposed to happen in America. It was a horrible, horrible day.

  16. leashieloo Says:

    I was at work when people started to buzz about the first plane. We all thought it was an accident. Once the second plane hit we knew something insane was going on. My employer suspended work and I went home and watched the news and cried for hours. Such a scary day.

  17. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I was in college on Sept. 11 too. I remember standing in the lower portion of the cafeteria with a bunch of other students staring at the television. I tried to call my brother, who is in the army, and wasn’t able to get a hold of him. The thing that scared me the most was not being able to speak with him because I didn’t have any idea of he was going to be sent someplace to help in the rescue efforts. I’m from upstate NY and went to college in Pennsylvania, so the attacks were not as removed from us as for many parts of the country.


Leave a Reply

