The Quick Fix

Hi Friends 🙂
I was cleaning up around the house yesterday after work and I noticed I have quite the collection going:
Um, anyone else have this many diet/fitness books? Angela I’m sure you do 🙂 But seriously, this seemed ridiculous! And check out my exercise dvds:
On the one hand, I like having different books with recipes, or different dvds with a variety of workouts. But at the same time I looked at all of these and thought “I’ve been looking for a quick fix for YEARS”. I mean, the fact that I have these 2 books shows how desperate I felt to lose weight:
And the book even claims that I’ll have more energy and be happier! By the way, the 1.5 days I spent on the Master Cleanse diet were probably the worst days of my life. I was miserable and I honestly cannot believe I still have those books! I’d hate to donate them anywhere – no one should follow that program! Maybe burn them?
To be honest I don’t know why I have all these books since they all basically say the same things:
  1. Whole foods are best
  2. Eat a variety of vegetables and fruits every day
  3. Eat regular meals (and most of the books say snacking is good too)
  4. If you aren’t sure of what to eat, pair a lean protein source with a vegetable
  5. Exercise regularly
  6. Drink plenty of water
  7. If certain foods don’t agree with your body, don’t eat them! (dairy, soy, wheat, etc)
I’m sure there are more similarities, but these are all I could think of for now 🙂 And I’m not trying to say that EVERYONE should follow those “rules” – they just seem to be the similarities in all my books.
So even with my need for a quick fix over the years, I had the information all along – I think I was looking for a book that said “Holly eat what you want when you want and you’ll still lose weight” – because I kept buying books and dvds that would maybe finally “work” for me – but what I needed to do was actually WORK. I joined Weight Watchers and learned a way to track my food intake. Now that I’ve been at goal for a few months now, I’ve loosened up a bit and I haven’t been so strict. I enjoy treats but I don’t overindulge (well, as long as you don’t count my State Fair trip…) heehee
I’m interested to hear what diet/fitness books you have and what you have tried. I don’t have a book about it, but I have tried the Cabbage Soup Diet before and again, those were two horrible days that I will never get back!
 Blech!
1. So tell me about your diet books and if you follow any of them or how you choose what/when/how to eat. Any great exercise dvds/classes you’ve been using that you just love?  
2. Did you do anything fun this weekend? I cleaned my parent’s laundry room yesterday — I give them “cleaning coupons” and “yardwork coupons” for their birthdays and then they can cash them in whenever they want to — I like to give gifts like that, instead of just giving friends/family more stuff — we all have enough stuff!
3. Do you follow the same sleep/waking schedule on the weekends as you do during the week? I usually go to bed around 10:30pm and get up at 6am for work each weekday, and then on the weekends I stay up until 11 or 12 and I get up around 7 or 8.  Do you use an alarm clock? 
Please check out Jen’s giveaway at EatMoveLove!
Have a great weekend,
Holly
Posted in Books, Life. Tags: . 19 Comments »

19 Responses to “The Quick Fix”

  1. Lauren @ 40Apples Says:

    I don’t have any diet books, but I have followed a modified version of the Spark Wellness cleanse espoused by Gena at Choosing Raw. It’s what helped me kick some nasty habits: chewing gum (I used to chew waaaay too much), coffee dependency, and it greatly reduced my refined sugar intake, at least for a little while (lord knows I need help on that ALWAYS 😉 )

    My week/weekend sleep schedule is pretty much exactly like yours!

    Have a great Sunday, Holly x

  2. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    I’ve never bought a diet book. I have some basic nutrition books (from school) and am definitely interested in diet modification for disease treatment. But I just feel like all of those diet books are a scam. If one actually worked, there wouldn’t be 1000 other options on the market. I also dont have any workout DVDs because I dont have a DVD player… I do use the on demand workouts.

  3. glutenfreemuse Says:

    I used to buy diet books and then I realized they all say the same things. If I do buy books, it is about nutrition and nutrient timing, which I find much more useful and interesting.

    This weekend my family was in town and we all went to a football game and tailgate…lots of fun!

    I usually get about the same amount of sleep but shift my hours. Last night was an exception…ten hours! I guess I needed it.

  4. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I only use an alarm on weekdays and sleep loooooong on weekends if possible 🙂 I love my sleep!

  5. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I have a few diet books..but they’re more like food books. Like “Eat this, Not that!” or Hungry Girl and what not. As far as diet books go, I have a “Nutrition for Idiots” that I actually enjoy reading through cause I’m a nerd for nutrition 😛 I always go through Barnes and Noble and flip through diet books, though. I’m just too cheap to actually buy them. Or it’s the fact none of them said “eat what you want” like you said. I’d totally buy that one. 😉

    I basically follow the same sleep schedule every day of the week. I have an alarm but I usually end up waking up before it, anyway.

  6. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    I have a lot of recipe books that I never use and a handful of diet books, but only a few exercise dvds. We have the P90x series and I have Power Yoga (Rodney Yee) and 30 Day shred. I love those last two dvds. I’ve more than used my money’s worth of them!!

  7. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Years ago I bought the South Beach Diet and followed it for about a week, I think? And I also bought the Glycemic Index Diet, which I don’t think I ever followed strictly, but it did provide some useful information. Now, I have some guidelines that my dietitian set out for me, and that’s what I follow day-to-day.

    I have maybe 10 DVDs, but don’t currently use any of them, since I’ve been focusing on triathlon training and do the workouts by trainer gives me. However, I really do like the Jari Love DVDs I have.

    I went and played in a golf tournament our college held yesterday. It was really windy for most of it, but by the end of the day, it was quite nice – but definitely fall around here. Today I’m studying information for a couple of oral surgeries I’m observing tomorrow, going for a swim, doing some shopping for clothes (I’ve got zero dress and casual pants right now!), meeting a friend for coffee, and generally planning for the week. I think that’s enough. 🙂

  8. Michelle (Delightfully Dietetic) Says:

    My diet books are all pretty much text books from my nutrition classes.

    And that looks like the Texas state fair haha. What state do you live in?

  9. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I have exactly one diet book (The Kind Diet, even though I’m not vegan) and one excercise DVD (30 Day Shred). That being said, I’ve tried all kinds of diets in the past that never worked for me: The Paleo Diet, Low Carb Diet, High Protein, etc. I never used diet books for these diet though – I always learned about this through word of mouth.

  10. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    What a collection! I actually don’t have any diet books, but I have a colossal workout DVD collection that I love 🙂 Jillian Michaels, Jackie Warner, Billy Blanks, and Women’s Health DVDs–they’re definitely my favorite way to work out!

    Happy Sunday to you 🙂

  11. carly Says:

    That’s too funny … I used to own “Skinny Bitch.” I think that’s the only diet book I’ve ever truly owned, but I have checked out things like “Body For Life” and “The South Beach Diet” from the library. You’re right … they all pretty much say the same thing after a while. :-/

    And at least you ate cabbage soup … I did the lemonade/hot sauce cleanse once. Well, I tried. I ended up puking my guts up four hours into day one. Thanks, Beyonce!

  12. Faith Says:

    I think most of the diets are all very “faddish”, hence why I will never purchase a diet book. I find that as long as I focus on whole foods and few processed ones, no official diet is really necessary. I’d been on every diet possible and even made up a few bogus ones myself when I was struggling with an eating disorder and really the only thing that I care to focus on now is putting the best foods possible into my body.

  13. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    lol…. i think you said it, girl! all those diet books all say the same thing; just add a fancy tag line and you’ve got yourself a new product! to be honest with you though, i’ve read a lot more than i’ve actually tried 🙂

    i love the idea of coupons for birthdays! i know what you mean…..everyone already has enough stuff – what’s the point in buying more?

  14. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    Ha, I have SOOOOOO many diet books! It’s kinda embarrassing. Like you, I think I was looking for a quick fix. I tried the Master Cleanse (and lasted about as long as you did– I was MISERABLE!), the Atkins Diet (gross!), Skinny Bitch, the Clean Program, and just about everything else out there. The book that really clicked for me was “The Raw Food Detox Diet,” by Natalia Rose. Her philosophy is explained SO well, and just makes sense to me! While I’ve been distracted by other “get thin quick” schemes, I always am drawn back to Natalia’s principles because I think it’s truly the way to go (for me, at least).

    (I also have accumulated quite the workout DVD collection, but I like having the variety to choose from! I think I suffer from exercise ADD) 😉

    I usually wake up at 6am for work, too, but I like to sleep in on the weekends! This weekend we’ve been staying up well into the wee hours of the morning, so I’ve been sleeping in until 10am!

  15. evilcyber Says:

    I don’t own any diet books; what helped me losing weight was “The Hacker’s Diet”. Try a search for it – it’s free, online and explains the principle of “eat less than you burn to lose weight” very well.

  16. Erika @ Dr.TriRunner Says:

    the only diet books that i’ve personally bought are for sports nutrition in school. but i have WON some or been sent some interesting books – among those paleo, raw, vegan, and “healthy” desserts. haha quite the mix!! I have 3 “workout” dvds, but exercise on demand on TV. 😉

    i’m transitioning to a new schedule now that schools up n’ running again, but ideally yes – same schedule on weekends as throughout the week. my wrench in the works right now is waitressing, and dinner shifts interfering with my early bedtime/5am wake up!

    My Saturday was a BLAST! Spent all day with mommabear at the Interlachen country club yard sale festival. Hahha!! And then today evened it out with complete sucking/workALLday, but I’ll take what I can get!

  17. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    “I’d hate to donate them anywhere – no one should follow that program! “–YES it’s reported to be quite awful and horrible and unhealthy on sooo many levels. Good for you for ditching it after 1.5 days!

    Diet books? Never bought one or read one in my life. I just eat whole foods, mostly raw, all plants, workout, and that’s that. Moderation and common sense. Nothing too magical but yes, dedication and effort are required 🙂

    I go to bed anywhere between 2a and 4am depending on the day and get up about 9am. Not really ideal, but it’s life 🙂

  18. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    Right now I don’t follow any diet book. I just try to eat well, not over eat and get in a lot of fruits and veggies. I do have the Beck’s Diet Solution book, which I do like because it mostly focuses on how we think about what we eat and our bodies and less on don’t eat these things ever.

  19. Katie Says:

    I just found your blog and I love it!! You’ve got a new reader here….and a fellow midwesterner, foodie, and exercise junkie.

    What do you think of the New Rules for Lifting book? I was thinking about getting it.

    I loved This is Why Your Fat, even though I think it was a stupid title and makes the book seem like something it isn’t. I haven’t tried her dvd, but I did a few of the workouts from the book, and they were pretty good.

    And your post about running – more power to you! Exercise should be fun, not a chore. If running isn’t fun anymore, there are way too many other options to keep at it. I used to run a lot in college, and ruined my knees and hips. It is really hard on your body.


Leave a Reply

