Hello Fall! Goodbye Running?

Happy Monday!
Saturday was a beautiful day! Breezy  and cool, but warm in the sunshine. 🙂 It totally got me ready for Fall. I know everyone has been talking about Fall, but it is finally starting to hit me. What really pushed me over the edge was stepping into this place:
And then I stepped out with a few purchases. First, a few candles:
Aren’t these little pumpkins and corn cobs the most adorable things?
And if you want to see cute pumpkins things, check out Holly’s post (woohoo for another Holly) 🙂
I also picked out this lovely mug, and a little guy I just couldn’t say “no” to:
I was thinking I should make regular ole’ oatmeal in my orange bowl-mug (bug? mowl?) but I decided to make Gina’s Breakfast Cookie Dough Cereal instead:
I added sliced banana and a few pecan pieces on top. It was perfect.
So you know that 10 Mile race I signed up for in October? I talked to Jason and decided that I’m not going to run in it. I haven’t been running…or doing much exercise at all. I schedule my running days (Tues, Thurs and Sat each week) but I don’t do it. And I tell myself I shouldn’t do any exercise because “I’ll run tomorrow” and each day I keep putting it off. So instead of doing exercise I enjoy (TurboFire, power walking, TaeBo, Female Body Breakthrough strength workouts, Jackie Warner strength circuits, etc) I have been doing little to nothing for the past 2 weeks.
I have been putting too much pressure on myself to do well at this 10 Mile – I want to do well but I haven’t been putting in the training or effort – so I figure why beat myself up for not training when I could just call it quits and do something I enjoy?
So I have said goodbye to running until I feel like picking it up again. When I finally told Jason, I felt like a huge weight had been lifted off – just thinking about the race was stressing me out, and not in a good way!
Questions:
  1. How is the weather near you? Is it finally Fall? Here in MN the leaves are starting to change, the air is cooler and it is getting darker earlier each day. What is your favorite season? My favorite season is Fall – the perfect weather, the need for afghans/sweaters/sweatshirts/boots (not all together though!)
  2. Do you consider yourself a good driver? Do you ride on the tails of other cars for them to get out of your way? Do you honk your horn a lot? Do you flick people off? What is your biggest pet peeve when it comes to driving? I think I’m a pretty good driver, although Jason might disagree…I get irritated when drivers don’t use blinkers to signal their turn or to signal them coming into my lane!  I don’t flick people off, but I think plenty of awful things about them (I’m such a badass, right?) 🙂
  3. What was the highlight of your weekend? For me it was definitely sleeping in on Saturday morning. I got up to post to the blog and then went back to bed. It was lovely.

***Anyone else have a sudden surge of Spam messages on their blog? I usually get a few each day, but Sunday was ridiculous!***

Enjoy your day!
Holly
42 Responses to “Hello Fall! Goodbye Running?”

  1. thejoggingconcierge Says:

    The weather out here is great! It’s in the 60s and I love it. I’m totally with you on the sweaters and boots.

    I think of myself as a relatively good driver. I’m from MA so I’m aggressive when driving through Boston. 🙂 And I’m with you on the pet peeve; it irks me when people don’t use their blinker when changing lanes.

    Two highlights this weekend: Apple picking with the hubby on Saturday and my last day at work on Sunday. Starting the new job on Wednesday!

  2. Tina Says:

    I think that was a good decision. Exercise should never be something you hate or can’t look forward to most of the time. Do what you enjoy!

  3. Alyssa Says:

    I like fall but i relish my summers! I don’t mind the cold but love the heat 🙂

    I think im a good driver! My hubby thinks i tailgate 🙂

    Seeing family this weekend was wonderful 🙂

  4. Lauren @ 40Apples Says:

    It’s definitely getting to be fall-ish here. One of the great things about being in NY is the changing leaves – so beautiful! I love fall, up until the point I realize winter is right around the corner :p

    I here ya on the running. For me, at least, I just have to let it happen naturally, when it feels right… if I don’t have the right kind of energy, I just won’t like it. Exercise should be enjoyable and not stressful, so your plan sounds like a good one!

  5. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    It’s definitely fall here in WV–the leaves are just starting to change colors, the air is a bit cooler, and I’m starting to see pumpkins appear on front porches 🙂

    Good for you for dropping running for now–excercise is supposed to be something you enjoy! I’m not a huge fan of running, but I love my workout DVDs. If you do what you enjoy (three cheers for TaeBo!), you’ll feel better all-around.

    Have a great day!

  6. Kate Says:

    i love fall too! it is such a glorious season! i never been a huge halloween fan tho but everything else about it is lovely 🙂

  7. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Good decision… working out should be FUN, not a chore 🙂

    And it definitely feels like fall now, here in NC. & I couldn’t be happier! This morning I sipped hot coffee on the porch… AMAZING!!

  8. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    It’s not quite feeling like fall yet in DC. I went to Target and took a peak at all of their Halloween stuff, but I am just not ready. Spring is my favorite season. Warm weather and sunshine after the nasty winter, I love it.

  9. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    Thanks for the little shout out! 🙂

    I absolutely love that the weather is cooler now. It has been cooler here but still nice and bright and sunshiny. I love it! Autumn is definitely my favorite season. I’ve already gotten some of my Autumn decorations out.

    Good for you for making the decision to put running on the back burner since you just weren’t feeling it. I haven’t run for the last week due to being sick and it’s totally disappointing to me!

  10. Tanya Says:

    I totally feel you – some months I feel like running all the time, and others, the elliptical trainer is my best friend – sometimes it’s swimming, sometimes it’s classes … but I do get bored easily.

  11. carly Says:

    It’s still hot here. I’m living vicariously through other bloggers. 😉

    And I’m a GREAT driver. It’s everyone else that has a problem.

  12. lisaou11 Says:

    Glad you realized the race isn’t for you at this time. Gotta do what you love!

    And those are such cool fall decorations! I love it.

    Im not gonna be buying any fall decs this year because im short on money, but someday i plan on making it gorgeous!

  13. leashieloo Says:

    Eee! I love the fall decor you posted, now I suddenly want to run out and get a bunch of stuff. The orange mug makes me happy 🙂

  14. Beth Says:

    It does feel like fall though I won’t lie I got slightly freaked out with the abundant amount of Halloween decorations everywhere when I was out and about this weekend!

  15. Cathy K Says:

    congrats on your decision to skip the race – there are ALWAYS other races. and i truly believe that when you push yourself with running when you’re just not feeling the positive vibe, THAT’S when injury and/or burnout occur. So a very wise move, and i can totally relate to feeling like a weight is lifted!
    gorgeous here today in southern ontario – i notice it being fall-ish because of how the evening darkness arrives so much sooner now…boo hoo!

  16. Heather Says:

    i can totally be a good driver IF i want to be…key word is ‘if’… 🙂

  17. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Good for you! There is never a good reason to make yourself do something that you honestly don’t enjoy. As you know, I’ve been through my ups and downs with running and sometimes you just have to dig deep and figure out what makes you happy – I’m so glad you did this! We all know that if you have your force yourself to do a certain workout and it doesn’t become fun – it’s not the right workout for you anymore.

    Yes, spamming is high – darn them 🙂

  18. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    all is getting here, theres a little breze in the air, but it’s still pretty warm.

    I am an EXCELLENT driver. Other drivers make me CRAZY! You don’t even want to get me started!! I spend most of my time on the road, sicne I am an in-home personal trainer, I go from place to place….and my BIGGEST pet peeves are lack of turn signal use, and drifting into my lane, because you are on your cell phone….it drives me NUTS!

  19. TheHEalthyApron Says:

    You are right! don’t beat yourself up! YOu have to do what’s best for you and obviously since you aren’t taking much interest in the race, then why stress about it?
    Best part of my weekend: attending my friends’ wedding!

  20. Jennifer Demartini Says:

    1.It’s HOT in Florida, but I’m packing for Chicago temps this week!
    2. I’m a good driver, but I get irritated… too often!
    3.Getting invited to a job interview:)!

  21. Emily Says:

    I’m loving the cooler weather here in NY! Temps have been in the seventies and perfect for walking/running. I feel like it’s such a small window though!

  22. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Still 70’s here like it always is in Cali 😉

    Love Fall-smelling candles..they are so cozy!

  23. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    The weather’s FINALLY cooling down. Granted, it’s still in the 80s..but it’s much better than in the high 90s like it was a few days ago 🙂

    I love when stores load up on holiday goodies! Walmart has all their Halloween stuff out already. I smile whenever I see it 🙂

  24. Kelsey Says:

    I NEED TO HEAD TO PIER ONE to get that bowl cup! i have the light yellowish orange ones that are fall-like but i like how this works for halloween too, and the little bat is adorable 🙂 i cant wait to have my own place on day and decorate for the seasons..possibly host a few themed dinner parties too ❤

    xoxo

  25. Matt Says:

    The weather here has been PERFECT. It was 67* this morning when I stepped out to run 🙂

    Don’t put too much pressure on yourself to run. Have you thought about doing some exercise you enjoy? What are your favorites?

  26. Michelle (Delightfully Dietetic) Says:

    Bleh the weather still sucks here. It’s like 95 today in Texas.

    I love fall though. Those decorations are sooo cute! I love peir 1 🙂

  27. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    I know how you feel about the race. I’m not really excited about my half coming up, although I was when I signed up for it! I have considered bowing out a few times. My mother in law told me she kept that weekend free so that she could watch me, and I felt bad but I told her not to get her hopes up :S

  28. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    When you’re ready to pick up running again, you’ll know. Until then, you should always do what you enjoy. There’s really no other way.

  29. spabettie Says:

    good for you – do what you love, and don’t let any of that stress you out – that’s when it’s not worth it 🙂

    the weather here is PERFECT… sunny and warm but not HOT. I can run outside 🙂

    YES I am a good driver! 🙂 I feel I am a defensive driver – I plan ahead and am courteous. I would NEVER flip someone off because I would be afraid I knew them somehow. I use my horn A LOT though, because unfortunately there are too many BAD and selfish drivers out there… the worst are the ones that think the rules do not apply to them. I also get really uppity with slow drivers or people that continue to use their phones here – in Oregon it is now against the law.

    (wow, I guess I have an opinion on driving!) 🙂

    *LOVE* your new decor! I looked for a new fall themed wreath this weekend, couldn’t find anything I like 🙂

  30. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    The weather here is getting beautiful! We can finally breathe outside. On the exercise front, you made the right decision. You should do what you like. Have fun with it! I hope you had a great day!

  31. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    good for you girl, it’s important to do an exercise that you love. life is too short to waste it on boring exercise 🙂

    it’s moving into spring here and it feels SOOO nice! no more hats and scarves. and to answer your question, i’m a great driver, i knew my hometown roads like the back of my hand. (speeding though was sometimes my challenge. 🙂 ) but when we moved out here, we never got a car and i LOVE it even more!! i love not being stuck in traffic, or fighting for a parking spot, or worrying about engine troubles. public transport is pretty good and i live 5 minutes from the train station so i can’t complain. 🙂 (i do miss pier 1 imports though….sigh….)

  32. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Ooooooh, LOVE the candles and little pumpkins and corns! And the big orange mug – awesome!
    I understand your feelings about the 10K and kudos to you for taking the pressure off of yourself. You know what’s right (and not right) for you. Now you cam get back to the fun workouts that you love!

  33. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) Says:

    That actually happened to me yesterday/today. I took it easy and didn’t do leg weights so that I could run today. Then I didn’t run today and took it easy again in preparation for tomorrow’s run. I hope I run tomorrow 🙂

    The anticipation of running alters my exercise and my diet too. I keep ‘fueling’ for something that doesn’t end up happening. Guff.

    Love the new fall accents, Holly!

  34. Becky Says:

    I am loving the fall weather – jeans, t-shirts, hoodies, apples, pumpkins – I love it all!

    I’m glad you were able to make the decision not to run a race you didn’t want to do. Exercise shouldn’t be a chore. Life is too full of those! Do the things you love. 🙂

  35. Jessica (Fit and Clean) Says:

    I did that with running last year. I just couldn’t seem to get past 7 miles when I was training for a 1/2 marathon. So I called it a day and decided if I wanted to do it at a later date, then that is fine! It was way to much pressure for me, and I stopped enjoying it. I think the whole issue was that my running schedule wasn’t for me and I needed more time, I felt really rushed. You really need to enjoy your exercise or it will start to feel like a chore 😉

  36. mostlyfitmom Says:

    It’s definitely fall here (I’m a little north of you). My favourite season is summer – although not so much this year, as it was mostly rainy and cold where I am. I’m thinking my favourite season will be Arizona-in-December-after-finals. LOL

    Way to follow your instincts and call off your run. I’m having trouble staying motivated right now, too, and am trying to work through it. I guess sometimes we just all need a little break.

    Saturday I golfed in a tournament, and got to spend the whole afternoon with my husband while my parents babysat. 🙂

  37. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    congrats to you for NOT running!!! If your heart/mind/body/soul isnt feeling it, you are a wise woman to say, ya know what, this aint workin and i aint forcing it. And being done with the pressure of a race and getting back to that which you DO love. Way to be true to your inner voice!

    Good driver, yes, I am. In CA where the speed limit is 75 and most ppl go 85-90ish on the roads, you better get your sh*t together in a hurry. At least we dont have snow to contend with 🙂 But in rain all people other than midwesterners truly suck. Good thing I know how to drive in snow, ice and god knows what blizzards ive made it thru!

    Spam, I thought that WP blogs were immune. As a blogger blog, my old commenting system, i.e. blogger’s has gotten tONS of spam the past few days, but my new 3rd party commenting system, intense debate, no it doesnt get hardly any spam. But has glitches so dont go switching to it! LOL

  38. Revenge of the Introverts | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Blogroll ← Hello Fall! Goodbye Running? […]

  39. Purple Dinosaur | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] And I have even more good news. I ran to the store after work to pick up some dinner supplies when I happened to walk down the baking aisle and saw Libby’s Pumpkin. I have been checking for a while now, and they are always out! There were only a few cans left (I considered buying all of them but remembered that I need to keep to my budget this month). I bought 2 cans and had to take a pic of one can with the sparkly pumpkins and an ear  of corn: […]

  40. Successful September | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] I kind of broke up with running , but I have been exercising at least 4 times per week using Jackie, Jillian, Chalene or […]

  41. Baseball & Beer | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] a good weekend? This morning Jason and I are running the Twin Cities 10 Mile race — yes I broke up with running a few weeks ago, but I had already paid for the race and thought I’d give it a go. It should […]

  42. Falling in Love Again | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] excited and pumped up. I just wanted to finish and I wanted to be proud of myself. Even though I quit running a while ago, I still have a good aerobic base (I think) which helped me with this race. My […]


Leave a Reply

