Purple Dinosaur

Hello!

Thanks for all the nice words about my September goals. I’m happy with how things are going so far, but I still have a lot that I want to do! More good news today, I have more interest in some of my Craigslist items, and once again the buyer is driving 2 hours to pick up the goods! A worthy buyer indeed! She’s picking up my chairs and my colored shelves.

Jason and I have a plan to get the rest of the garage clear within the next week (Goal #6!). It will be such a relief when we can both park in our garage 🙂

And speaking of good news, I got something super special in the mail today: Barney

Ok not that Barney. This Barney:

BARNEY BUTTER!!! Crunchy almond butter and creamy almond butter. I won them from a giveaway at Gingerbread Bagels. Thank you Lindsey!

And I have even more good news. I ran to the store after work to pick up some dinner supplies when I happened to walk down the baking aisle and saw Libby’s Pumpkin. I have been checking for a while now, and they are always out! There were only a few cans left (I considered buying all of them but remembered that I need to keep to my budget this month). I bought 2 cans and had to take a pic of one can with the sparkly pumpkins and an ear  of corn:

Since Wednesday is Top Chef night (and no I won’t discuss who won last night in case you haven’t watched it yet), I decided to make something a little extra special for dinner:

Pizza. Yep, I saw Matt’s pizza today and knew I had to make one for us tonight. I followed his Spelt Pizza Dough recipe (subbed agave for honey since I didn’t have any) and it tasted unbelievable. We topped the pizza with fire roasted tomatoes, turkey slices, green pepper, black olives and soy cheese.

I was so happy with how it turned out! Look at all that lovely melted soy cheese!

Going back to yesterday’s post, I was happy to read that most of you do not mind office treats. For a time I thought others were trying to sabotage my diet, when in reality they were just trying to be nice. I think there are people who try to sabotage our progress, but we need to be strong in our goals and beliefs and do what WE want to do, not what someone else wants us to do. I know, easier said than done sometimes!

Questions:

1. What are your favorite pizza toppings? Do you prefer to make your own or do you like to go out? Tell me about the time you had the BEST PIZZA you ever ate? My favorite pizza toppings are sausage, peppers and black olives. I also like “supreme” pizzas with everything imaginable. I like to make my own but every once in a while it is fun to go out and get pizza. The best pizza I ever had was on my 21st birthday. I was living in Duluth, MN going to college and my parents and sisters came up to visit me on my birthday. We went to Old Chicago and had Taco Pizza — it was phenomenal. We have eaten at other Old Chicagos and their Taco Pizza could never compare to that first time!

2. Did you watch Barney when you were a child? What were your favorite shows? I was a little too old for Barney by the time he showed up, I remember watching Sesame Street, Reading Rainbow, Disney movies, Looney Tunes and Little House on the Prairie. Also, has anyone else seen Donald in Mathmagic Land? My sisters and I used to watch it when we were younger, but I have yet to meet anyone else who has seen it.

3. Have you heard about the High Fructose Corn Syrup name change? I read about it on Laury’s blog, check it out if you haven’t heard about it!

Enjoy your day everyone!

Holly

Posted in Dinner, Life. Tags: . 38 Comments »

38 Responses to “Purple Dinosaur”

  1. Di Says:

    Crunchy Barney Butter on a banana is one of my favorite treats. Delicious.

  2. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    Love homemade pizzas. My favorite is sauceless with goat cheese, asparagus, fresh tomatoes and tons of basil. Dont even get me started on “corn sugar.” HFCS has such a bad rap like now its a great ploy. People need to learn to avoid ALL added sugars, even the real stuff.

  3. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    That pizza looks delightful!! 🙂 Good job!

    My favorite pizza toppings are spinach & goat cheese… but I don’t do it very often!

  4. Tina Says:

    I didn’t watch Barney growing up because I think he came around after I was already in middle school, but my mom did in home daycare and those kids loved it! So I knew of him even from the early times. I was shocked he is still on though! M loves him but I can’t stand it. She sees the first few mins that get recorded after the 1 show we DVR for her. That’s about all I can stand. Probably more than you cared for about Barney, huh? LOL

  5. thejoggingconcierge Says:

    I love homemade pizza but I definitely don’t make it enough. I know have yeast though so that will change! My favorite toppings have always been pineapple and ham. I’m also a fan of sausage, peppers and onions. 🙂

    I never watched Barney; mostly watched the shows that you mentioned. As well as the Gummy Bears and Smurfs.

  6. Healthy Coconut Says:

    Ahhh Barney, my younger sister loved that show. It was VHS back then so she watched it until the tape was ruined, then she watched the re-runs on TV.

    As for the other Barney, I have not tasted that brand yet.

    I have a lot of favorite pizzas, it depends on my mood, either when I want thin crust or deep dish. I had a half pesto/half marinara pizza that we ate at this restaurant in San Pedro here in CA, it was really good.

    Your pizza looks good. I’m going to check out the recipe.

  7. carly Says:

    I love pizza! I like making my own, but I also enjoy going out … Pizza Hut is actually my favorite, haha. I like onion, chicken and tons of olives.

    I was too old for Barney … I watched Mr. Roger’s, Sesame Street, Lambchop, Wishbone and Looney Tunes/the Animaniacs.

  8. Paj Says:

    Drooling over that pizza. And I’m so happy to hear someone has had luck finding canned pumpkin. Hopefully it will be here soon too!

  9. Kate Says:

    your pizza looks awesome. it has been too long since i have had any. i really like olives on pizza. haven’t heard about the HFC name change. what a crock! it is still the same stuff! grrrrrrrr.

  10. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    If I make homemade pizza, it usually gets turned into stromboli. Haha. I love filling mine with cheese, chicken, garlic and broccoli! Yum!

    I love pepperoni on a normal pizza.

  11. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Whoo Hoo, Libby’s Pumpkin!! I can not WAIT to make pumpkin treats!!!

    I LOVE spinach. caramelized onions and goat cheese and garlic on my pizza!! I make multi-grain crust, and loaded it with those toppings….OMG…heaven!!!

  12. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    PS–Thanks for the shout out….you are awesome 🙂

  13. eatmovelove Says:

    Okay…I have to make that dough! I LOVE pizza and eat it around 3x/week at least…;) – anything with (heaps) of sauce, cheese and veggies get my vote. Oh, and I like chicken or sometimes soy crumbles or a veggie burger on it too (broken up).

    I mentioned you in my post too!

  14. leashieloo Says:

    I mostly get cheese pizza but I really love those white pizzas with spinach and chicken. And I was never a fan of Barney! That theme song drove me insane!! I did love Disney though and My Little Ponies, Pound Puppies, and Jem. Those were the days!

  15. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Congrats on the Barney Butter win! How fun 🙂

    Homemade pizza is my absolute favorite. I like to top it with fresh pesto, sliced tomatoes, onions, green peppers, mozzarella and gouda cheese, with marinara sauce on the side for dipping. Yum!

  16. christyn @ All Ways Nutritious Says:

    Your pizza looks DELICIOUS!!! i have never made my own dough, but think i will give this spelt dough recipe a shot. I didn’t know about the name change. chemicals/additives/artificial sweeteners tend to go by different names when the public finds out how bad it is for them. question everything. i liked the smurfs and a ton of others.

  17. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Ah Reading Rainbow!!! Now that theme song is in my head. Oh good, good memories 🙂

    I was a huge Little House on the Prairie fan too, but didn’t start watching the show until I was older. I was obsessed with those books.

    Best pizza is Amici’s East Coast Margharita pizza. I find that the older I get, the more simple I like my pizzas, where I used to adore tons of meat on them.

  18. Matt Says:

    Glad you liked the dough!

    Thanks for not sharing about Top Chef. I am watching it tonight!

  19. Matt Says:

    And my favorite pizza is BBQ Chicken 🙂

  20. 40apples Says:

    Donald Duck in Mathmagic Land was a HUGE part of my childhood!!! Ok maybe not huge but I absolutely loved it!! Awww what a nice memory you’ve brought back for me 🙂

    Dude Holly that pizza looks increeeeedible. Seriously I could eat my screen right now! Maybe I’ll make some when I get home tonight…..
    Favorite toppings: peppers, fresh arugula, goat cheese, butternut squash (only done right at this one specific place in Brooklyn), basil….. And not all together 🙂
    I totally remember taco pizza – my dance team used to get that in high school before we’d perform (why we’d be eating a ton of pizza before a performance is a mystery to me now, ugh…. haha).

  21. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I want Barney butter too! Wahhhhh!

    I love onions on pizza..love love love.

  22. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self Says:

    Pizza looks delicious, so jealous of your Barney Butter, and woo hoo for pumpkin! 🙂

    Oh, and thanks for not spoiling Top Chef – I’m watching it tonight!!!

  23. Wendy Says:

    That Barney Butter is to die for, I can’t get enough of it!!!! Enjoy!

  24. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    I HAVE BARNEY ON IN THE BACKGROUND RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Seriously, there’s a reason this show has been on 20 years…kids love him. And I know this sounds crazy, but he’s VERY educational. The skits and stories they do, honestly, it’s light years ahead of most other kid shows, even Pbs kids shows. I DVR him and it’s my 28 mins per day of peace. Skylar is GLUED to the tv like no other show. As a kid i watched Sesame St and Mr. Rogers, but Barney is the new man in town 🙂

    Congrats on all the CL sales…SEE, way better than a garage sale. You cherry pick things that you know will fetch $$ and the rest, donate. ba-bye 🙂

    Old Chicago, Duluth, omg you are such a MN girl, I love it!!!!!!

  25. Katie Says:

    That pizza has me drooling. I ate pizza at least 3-4 times a week growing up. I even loved those cardboad tasting frozen pizzas. I couldn’t get enough. I think I ate pizza for lunch at school daily too. Ahhh, healthy school lunches.

    I have to say, I’m not sure why everyone is so upset about the HFCS name change. I mean, everyone who avoids it already will still avoid it, with the new name. Other people who don’t read labels or health blogs 🙂 won’t notice a difference.

  26. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    My family used to make pizza at home all the time when I was younger! My mom used a roll mix that made a really soft, thick crust– and now they don’t make it anymore! (maybe that’s for the best, though… it’s addicting!) My favorite toppings are green peppers, roasted garlic and feta. So good!

    I heard about the High Fructose Corn Syrup “name change” on NPR the other day!! I guess we shouldn’t be THAT surprised, since companies change names to save their reputations, too… but I certainly won’t be eating it, not matter WHAT they decide to call it!!

  27. BIOCHEMISTA Says:

    I am droooooling over that pizza! That name change is CRAZY! Thanks for posting!!!

  28. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Once I find Libby’s, I’m going to buy 10 cans at once. Not even kidding. So I gotta say I’m jealous of your pumpkin and peanut butters!!

    I never really watched Barney as a kid..he kind of always freaked me out. Same with Big Bird 😛 I actually never likes mascots/people in suits period so I think that had something to do with it. I hardly ever wanted to sit on Santa’s lap at the mall just cause I couldn’t really tell who it was lol

  29. caronae Says:

    Ooooo homemade pizza, me likes! I really want to do mine, but I am such a crust/bread-making failure so I’m afraid, lol. But I think with something like a homemade pizza, you really can taste the love.

    There is a chain in MI (my home state) called Cottage Inn that has the best pizza ever. I like pepperoni, sausage, banana peppers, and mushrooms. I know, not the healthiest. But it’s amazeballs! OMG I want some right now. NYC has kind of sucky pizza, sadly…

  30. Becky Says:

    Your pizza looks sooo good! I love classic margherita pizza best. Although, I’m not picky. Almost any pizza makes me happy!

  31. Michelle (Delightfully Dietetic) Says:

    As I scrolled through the pictures on here I could think was “yum yum yum”! Reading food blogs makes me hungry haha.

    I’m so sad I can’t have Barney Butter! I’m allergic to tree nuts. Everyone loves it! And I LOVEDD Barney. I lived in NY as a child so having access to FAO Schwartz got me a life size Barney in my room. Looking back, it was kinda creepy. But I loved it so much at the time.

  32. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Mmmm, the Barney Butter AND the pizza look so good!!

  33. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    haha…..’fraid i was a little too old to appreciate Barney 🙂 (is he still around?) when i was a kid i LOVED Scooby Doo and of course The Muppets (still do!)

    funny how food can conjure such vivid memories, hey? i’m not sure if i have an ultimate, but i remember trying pumpkin pizza for the first time in Australia and falling IN LOVE. the combination of sweet and salty is soooo good!

    (haha…thanks for not mentioning the winner of Top Chef, i’ll be sure to watch it this weekend! have you seen Just Desserts yet?)

  34. Mimi Says:

    I love the saltiness of Barney Butter! Hated the show as a kid though. Especially Baby-Bop. She needed to have her lunch money stolen.

    I’m so lame…if it’s not a gourmet pizza restaurant, CPK is my go-to. That, or this Korean place called Mr. Pizza, where they have a pizza with a sweet potato crust. It’s EPIC.

  35. andionthego Says:

    my favorite pizza combo is spinach, roasted red pepper, roasted garlic, and goat cheese. I created it on a whim at a local pizza place once. I could eat it almost daily and not get sick of it!
    and I used to watch Barney all the time with my younger siblings. is that show still on TV??

  36. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Pepperoni and blue cheese are my favourite pizza toppings.. but my taste varies a lot. Sometimes I want mozzarella and tomatoes.. sometimes mushrooms and all sorts of veggies.

  37. kbwood Says:

    oh my goshhhh def getting some pizza ASAP!!
    you make me want some!
    ive missed you girl- getting caught up on your blog and your amazing SELF! love you!


Leave a Reply

