Water Cravings & Blog Love

Happy Friday!

I am so ready for the weekend. Thursday night after dinner (6pm?) I crawled into bed for a little cat nap. That nap turned into almost 2 hours! And I definitely could have kept on sleeping. The weird part was when I woke up, I was super hungry. I ran downstairs, grabbed a bowl of grapes/strawberries  out of the fridge and had a handful of grapes and a few strawberries. Then I realized what I was really craving: water. My throat felt so dry and I just needed water. Do you ever get that way? I usually drink a ton of water throughout the day, so rarely do I ever feel “thirsty” – I didn’t even recognize it, I thought it was hunger at first!

That old “drink a glass of water if you are hungry” thing actually has some truth to it – I thought I was hungry but I was just thirsty. The fruit sure was refreshing though!

On Wednesday I got my Barney Butter from Lindsey and on Thursday I got my Kroeger Herb supplements from Averie!

And its just what I need: Healthy Gut :) I love the heart shaped vitamin holder too – usually I just use an old empty vitamin bottle. This will work way better. In Averie’s honor I decided to make a dessert from her blog:

Raw Vegan Sugar Cookie Dough Balls. I mean, who doesn’t love cookie dough? These will be perfect to bring to work, I know my coworkers will love them! I blended them up in my Magic Bullet which actually really struggles with blending up dates – but I figured out the secret: put the mixture (still in the bullet cup) and microwave for 10-15 seconds. It warms the mixture enough that the Bullet can cut right through and not get so stuck. After, I put the cup in the fridge for 30 minutes and then rolled out the balls.

And my winning streak continued! I won 3 blog awards this week. I received 2 “Happy 101” Awards :)Thank you Julia and Rachel!

10 things I like (copy and paste this into your post and list 10 things YOU like!):
2.My Family
3.My Sleep Number Bed
4. Bagging groceries — yes, I truly enjoy this!
5.Baking cookies, bars, cakes, brownies, etc
7.Watching Real Housewives of NY, NJ, OC, ATL…
8.Working out
9. Reading books on psychology, personalities, relationships and Sookie :)

10 Other Bloggers who deserve this award!

  1. Love, Veggies, Yoga
  2. 40 Apples
  3. Healthy Hoggin
  4. Snacking Squirrel
  5. All Kinds of Hungry
  6. Oh Healthy Day
  7. Eat Move Write
  8. Living With Healthy Hunger
  9. Spabettie
  10. The Fitness Dish

Thanks again Julia and Rachel! :)

AND my other award was from the lovely Leashie Loo:

1. Answer this question: If you had the chance to go back and change one thing in your life, what would it be? If I could somehow make myself more confident I would. That is something that I struggle with to this day and if I could go back and somehow HAVE it, that would be awesome!   

2. Nominate another 6 people for this award and let them know they’ve got the award.

A Healthy Slice of Life

Chronicles of a Diet Book Junkie

Faith, Fitness, Fun

Gluten Free Muse

Running to Slow Things Down

The Kitchen of a Runner

 3. Thank the person who gave you the award. Thanks Leashie Loo for this lovely award. I will treasure it always :)

I’ve got homemade chili in the crockpot for Friday night. My Mom is coming over to watch a movie with me – anyone have any suggestions? I have a Netflix account and we were going to pick something from their Instant Play library.


1.What is your favorite new-to-you blog? What do you like about it?

 I named a bunch of blogs above that I enjoy reading, for different reasons. Some take lots of pics of food, show recipes, etc. Others focus on exercise, and some do a bit of both a bunch of other topics too. Those are the ones I enjoy the most!

2. Any fun plans for the weekend? Tonight my Mom is coming over for chili/movie night, and then Saturday Jason and I are shopping for a storm door. How exciting, right? And I am supposed to have a blogger meetup on Sunday, I hope that is still going on! Anyone else in the St. Paul/Minneapolis area who would like to join in? Email me!

3.Money Question: How do you handle your money? Checking account? Savings account? Do you use credit cards? Why? For the convenience or for the rewards? If you are married/have joint finances with someone do you combine your money or do you keep it separate? I have seen a few blog posts where married couples have 6 accounts total: they each have their own savings/checking and then they have join accounts as well. How did you decide how to do it?

 Jason and I have 1 checking account and 1 savings account. Everything we have goes into those accounts. I cannot imagine figuring out who pays for what, etc. We just put our money together and pay for stuff together. It is what works for us. Oh and NO credit cards. Cash or debit card only.

 Enjoy your Friday!


26 Responses to “Water Cravings & Blog Love”

  1. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    You are one lucky lady with all these wins!!! those cookie balls look so yummy!

    I have like 3 accounts for my money—my business account, my personal and a joint account. I hate handling money. This weekend we have a surprise party, and that’s about all!!

    Thanks so much for the award, you are the bestest :-)

  2. Myra Says:

    “Frantic” with Harrison Ford (mom’s boyfriend) is on netflix instant queue if nothing else. I like the “10 things I like” it’s so simple but it helps to make the list so if you’re ever feeling like crap just look at the list. Bam! Especially if you put simple things like “bagging groceries” (which I hate doing but anyway) – it’ll help you think of that simple pleasure and maybe help calm down your bad mood. For my weird thing it’s either cutting vegetables or cutting little pieces of paper (cutting a shape out or something like that). Weird but it always relaxes me????

  3. crispandverdant Says:

    Congrats on 2 wins!! Awesome.

    Netflix Instant Suggestion:

    “No Impact Man” – a great environmental documentary about a NYer trying to really reduce his and his family’s consumption. It’s thought-provoking!

  4. Tina Says:

    Yay for all the wins! And thanks for sharing the love. :) I really appreciate it!

    I definitely guzzle water. During pregnancy and nursing I have to drink SOOO much because your body needs so many fluids. I’ve definitely had times where I thought I was hungry but just needed the H2O.

    As for money, we have one joint checking + savings account. We keep most things in savings. We use our credit card for EVERYTHING but stick to a strict budget to pay it off in full each month. We do that to build up our credit, get bonus and rewards points more often to get more cashback, and its easier to track spending all in one place.

  5. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Congrats on the awards! My newest favorite blog finds are Simply Life and All Kinds of Hungry. I love the great recipes (Simply Life) and the hilarious commentary/tasty eats (All Kinds of Hungry).

    Finances go the same in our house–joint accounts and a budget we follow closely that works well for both us. We keep track of it all on an Excel spreadsheet we update at the end of each month (I know, very dorky, but we enjoy it!)

    Happy Friday!

  6. Republic Monetary Says:

    We have one checking account and one savings account. We don’t have a credit card at all. I keep track of the spending and we keep to a strict budget – gotta pinch those pennies! We love will watch Arrested Development and 30 Rock on Netflix Instant – love those shows!

  7. eatmovelove Says:

    LOL – you tagged “Eat Move Write” for the award…but I think you used my address because I got a “pingback”!! …but yeah, you can do it if you want ;) – our Names are too similar! …hmm – maybe I’ll do the 10 things I like anyway…Lord knows I need something positive.

    NetFlix? I recently watched Enchanted (with Patrick Dempsey and Amy Adams) – it’s a Disney movie, but I actually thought it was so cute (and I thought I would hate it).

  8. Lauren @ 40Apples Says:

    Thank you so much Holly!! That means a lot :)

    I recently discovered Snacking Squirrel – the simplicity of her blog is so refreshing. And her muffins always look amazing!

    I thankfully have only my own finances to deal with (cannot imagine the confusion involved with two peoples’ combined… I know it’s a road I’ll [probably?!?!] have to eventually go down, but for now the thought of it makes my head hurt. ha), and I try to keep it pretty simple. I actually JUST got a credit card that comes with airline points (finally!- considering I need to buy flights to see my family!!), but I haven’t been a big credit card user in the past. It scares me, using money that’s not actually there… I know, I’m functioning at rudimentary levels here ;)

    Happy FRIDAY!!! Enjoy the chili! (yum!)

  9. Kate Says:

    i am soooo excited for sunday!!! yay for fresh veggies!

    i really need to think about finances. i have always just had my own checking and savings now that art and buying food and things together, we have a super complicated system of reciepts and highlighting items and blah blah blah. it is such a headache. i would love any tips you have!

  10. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Yay! Thanks for the award!

    About craving water: Yes! But I usually crave it at night, if I’ve had too much salt that day. And forget about drinking something else, only water will cure my thirst!

    Chili in the crockpot and movie night? I want to come over :) I’ll bring the cornbread!

  11. Heather Says:

    i love love love water and totally crave it! i don’t drink as much on the weekends and always feel so dehydrated!

  12. glutenfreemuse Says:

    Thanks for the award! I just got the Cherry on Top from Lauren at 40 Apples as well :-)

    I love crockpot meals, especially on Fridays! I think Hubby and I are doing sushi before our game night tonight :-)

    I do crave water at times, usually first thing in the AM…think I might be sleeping with my mouth open!

    Wish I could join for the blogger meet-up! Hoping to meet Heather (above) in October when Hubby and I head up north for our race!

  13. leashieloo Says:

    Hurrah! And kudos on racking up all the awards, you deserve it!

  14. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com Says:

    YAYYY thank you for thinking of me for the award!!! <3 love you!!!
    i should be getting my kroger supplements from averie too! just gotta get them past the border first..which can take awhile hehe

    xoxo <3

  15. spabettie Says:

    thank you thank you!! :)

    my 10 things…

    1) Jason! (my Jason!) :)
    2. Basil (my pup AND the fresh from my garden!)
    3. My tempurpedic bed + pillow! :) (I’m totally not copying you…) :D
    4. grocery shopping! (okay, maybe I am…)
    5. Running
    6. friends – irl AND blog!
    7. New York City
    8. the color pink
    9. reading a great book
    10. gummi bears

    Have a fabulous weekend, friend! XXO

  16. thejennybean Says:

    I keep seeing cookie dough balls everywhere. mmm mmm :)


    Congrats on your award hun!! You deserve it :) I love reading your blog!!! Have a great blogger meet-up!!!

    In response to your question, I’m still doing TurboFire but not as much since it’s fall running season. I still do it about 2X per week cause it’s a great cardio workout and TONS of fun!

    Have a great weekend!!!!


  18. Beth Says:

    I’m running my first half marathon on Sunday!! I am excited but also nervous because I woke up today feeling a bit sick…

  19. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I actually just had hunger thirst!! If that ever happens, I always pour a big glass of green tea, drink it, and see if the hunger stays around..then I know it’s real.

    I manage money through a saving’s account- two, actually. One for school expenses and then I have a CD of my “life’s savings” back home that I’m just letting grow. I hardly ever carry cash..it’s too annoying.

  20. Matt Says:

    Thanks for tagging me :)

  21. Katie Says:

    I always drink water first thing when I wake up. While the coffee is brewing, that is. :D

    The cookie dough balls look fantastic. I love Averie’s recipes.

  22. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    wow, this was your week, girl! awards, prizes, you definitely deserve them all! (and thanks for passing it to me :) )

    i think my favourite blogs are the ones who teach me something new. that, and a positive attitude. (as opposed to my sarcasm :)) have fun with your blogger meet up!

  23. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Ok sooo much to say!

    First, glad you got your Kroeger herb and CUTE pill holder, i didnt even get that, they hooked you up with the heart action, love it!

    Next, thank you for the award!!! Some of the ladies I know, but some are new to me, which is always fun.

    Fave new to me blog would be YOURS!! After a couple pop-in’s a month or two ago, I can say that honestly yours is a must-read daily, even if my comments are 24 hrs after you actually post :) love your blog..and you!

    Thanks for making the sugar cookie dough balls…wow, honored! Great tip on the dates for the non-Vita people. Warming them a smidge. Also, soaking dates for 15-20 mins in water is good too. You may need to add more nuts if they get tooo wet and mushy but not a biggie usually.

    Money. We have our own accounts. Why would I want to co-mingle funds with a man who would lose his you know what if it wasnt attached? Seriously! I hate how he manages his money. He gives me all his money anyway. I manage his, hers, mine, ours, basically I am crypt keeper :) He has his acct tho to manage as he sees fit. I will take my 820 Fico score and manage mine/ours the way i see fit :)

  24. Tina Says:

    I definitely agree with you on the confusing water for hunger! Drinking enough water is sooo important!! Great Post! Enjoy your weekend :)

  25. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Congrats on the awards, you’ve had a great week :)

  26. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    Aw, thanks for the Blog award! :D

    You ARE on a winning streak, huh? I had one of those a few months ago myself… isn’t it funny how that works? Speaking of winning streaks– I have some macaroons with your name on them all ready to ship tomorrow morning! Hope you enjoy ’em!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

