New Friends & New Veggies

Hi Friends 🙂

Did you have a lovely weekend? I did! Lots of relaxing and unwinding, but I also made a new friend 🙂 and got a lot done around the house.

On Sunday morning I went to meet Kate!

We had a lovely time together. We grabbed a cup of tea and then hit up the St. Paul Farmers Market. Check out the goods I brought home:

Those little potatoes are so good. I might use this recipe that I’ve made before. Yum!

Kate I had a wonderful time getting to know you better! Any other MN bloggers want to get together, let me know!

After that I went to church and I’m so glad I went. As you know, it was one of my September goals to attend church every Sunday. Well, I missed the first 2 Sundays but I’m getting into it now!

I also read another chapter in The Dance of Fear.

I am working on a post for Tuesday that discusses my thoughts on the subject. Just by reading the title, do you have any thoughts to share?

Questions:

1. Do you have any family heirlooms/treasures? My mom recently showed me her charm bracelet from her high school years, as well as a few of her mother’s rings and her father’s cufflinks. Jason and I have a set of dishes from his Great-Grandmother:

Aren’t they beautiful?

2. What was the highlight of your weekend? I definitely enjoyed meeting Kate, but I also enjoyed getting so much done: cleaning, organizing, reading, relaxing, and getting to church.

3. Will you be watching Thintervention tonight? What are your thoughts on the show so far? Like I’ve said before, I appreciate that Jackie talks about diet AND exercise, and I think that The Biggest Loser emphasizes exercise, which I do not think is a good message to send to viewers.

Have a good day!

Holly

29 Responses to “New Friends & New Veggies”

  1. Alyssa Says:

    Hubby and i went camping with friends and we are so glad we did!

  2. Tina Says:

    Glad you had such a good weekend. I think the highlight of mine would be the hike we went on Saturday afternoon. 🙂

  3. Di Says:

    Can’t wait to see what happens on Thintervention tonight. I agree that Jackie’s approach seems well-rounded and I feel those of us watching can pick up a tip or two.

  4. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    I met two DC bloggers this weekend. It’s so great being new to the city but having an out pouring of support. I also think it’s cool to meet people who know exactly who you are and how you think.

  5. carly Says:

    Two pretty ladies! I love blogger meet-ups.

    I have to remember that Thintervention is on tonight! I’m going to try to watch it. I haven’t seen an episode yet.

  6. 40apples Says:

    Sounds like a great meet-up! I have yet to experience the magic of blog-world and real-world colliding… wish we all lived closer together!!

    I finally caught Thintervention over the weekend! I really like it. The diet talk was good – it actually helped to bring (back) to my attention the serious sugar issue I have, and I’m now re-inspired to cut it way back. 🙂

  7. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    It’s always so cool to hear about blogger meetings, I wish I knew bloggers from Finland 🙂 or that I could meet bloggers from other countries.

  8. Bobbi Says:

    Best part of my weekend is hard! It was so busy. I think honestly curling up on the couch with my family watching Shashank Redemption last night was up there!!

  9. caronae Says:

    I’m so jealous that you got to meet up with Kate! Ahhhh!

  10. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I may try and check out Thintervention tonight! I’ve not seen it before!

  11. Beth Says:

    The highlight of my weekend was that I ran my first half marathon yesterday and it went great even though I’m sick!!

  12. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I haven’t been to the farmer’s market in forever… looks like fun & you got some goodies!

    My highlight was getting to celebrate my birthday with lots of friends & fam 🙂

  13. Katie Says:

    I watched just the beginning of Thintervention last week after you posted about it. It seems a lot better than TBL, mostly because I can’t stand Jillian.

    I’ve heard such great things about that farmers market. My sister and best friend both live in Minneapolis and you guys are so lucky with all the markets!

  14. TheHealthyApron Says:

    DEfnitely had a great weekend, as it seems you did as well…just wasn’t long enough lol!

    I do enjoy Thin-tervention and I will definitely be watching tonight! I like Jacki Warner a lot…even though she is a bit extreme (it IS her job!)

  15. Laury @TheFitnessDish Says:

    Glad you had a great weekend and made a great new friend 🙂

    The plates are beautiful! Michaels grandmother gave us her China, I have no use for it now, and no space, so it’s all in boxes at my mother in laws house…but they are very pretty as well!!

    Have a great day!

  16. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    So glad you enjoyed your blogger meet-up!

    I watched the first episode of Thintervention on Hulu last week…while I made that batch of Snickerdoodles! I can only imagine what Jackie would have said if she’d stormed into my kitchen 🙂 Does it help that I mailed them to someone else? I did enjoy the show though, and will continue to watch if it stays on Hulu. However, I have to admit: I’m still looking forward to tomorrow’s Biggest Loser premiere!

  17. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Glaqd you had a great weekend and made a new friend 🙂 Mine was pretty uneventuful..I think the highlight was the conversation I had with Michael last night. We were laughing the whole time! 🙂

  18. Heather Says:

    what a fun weekend! i love the market pictures 🙂

  19. rc1001 Says:

    My highlight was a Sunday full of doing absolutely nothing. I can’t remember the last time I did that. It was glorious!

  20. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    glad to hear you had a great meet-up! my weekend was pretty relaxed. had dinner with some friends one night, went to church, grocery shopping, cleaning, all that boring adult stuff. i think i need to start downloading Thinspiration! (especially now since Top Chef is over :O)

  21. GetHealthyWithHeather Says:

    Nice stash from the farmers market! Fresh veggies are the best.

    A relaxing weekend with my husband was my highlight. Its nice to be home for a change after being away the past few weekends.

  22. Matt Says:

    Are those fingerling potatoes? I LOVE THOSE! So buttery 🙂

  23. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Awesome! Looks like you and Kate had a nice time! Blogger meet ups look like so much fun.
    I love those beautiful plates!!!

  24. Jessica (Fit and Clean) Says:

    I am seriously so jealous of your yummy looking veggies! I have yet to make it to the farmers market here in marietta, GA. 😦 It’s supposed to be really wonderful, too!

  25. crispandverdant Says:

    So fun to meet fellow bloggers!

    Highlight of my weekend was spending extra time with my husband.

  26. Kate Says:

    yay! i had a lovely time too! and sorry about the truffle. i owe you one next time as it was super fresh and yummy. your kale is so pretty! hope you had a lovely monday.

  27. Amykinz Says:

    I would love to meet up sometime! Also, what church are you attending? The fear of the mirror? Um, yes. Who doesn’t? operationbeautiful.com is a great website to counter this! Lastly, those dishes are GORGEOUS!

  28. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Omg I am crying and I have no idea why…well, I do.

    Ok so I used to live mere blocks from the St Paul farmers market. I went to UST and rather than living on campus, I lived downtown St Paul. Seeing the pic of you, just brings back a former life; the good, bad and otherwise.

    And the dishes, well, my grandma’s both died and I was supposed to get my grandma’s dishes but long story, I didnt. I have virtuallynothing of hers. And zilch of the other grandma’s. I am so sad. Cherish your heirlooms as once you have a baby of your own, it all becomes even that much more precious.

    You read my mind re a blogger meetup. I am sending you an email, feel free to fwd to Kate.

  29. Taco Pizza | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Sliced green pepper (from the Farmers Market) […]


Leave a Reply

