Taco Pizza

Hi Everyone πŸ™‚
Thanks for your nice comments yesterday – little Holly is pretty cute if I may say so myself. It seems as though most of you agree that thinking of yourself as a child is a good reminder to treat yourself well, and that we need to not talk negatively about ourselves. Check out Katie’s post from Monday if you didn’t get a chance yet. When I was searching for the perfect photo to post, I also found this treasure:
Yes I still have my first pair of glasses from 2nd grade! The pink hearts in the corners with the little fake diamond are too precious!
For the past few days I have been waiting until I had the time to make a pizza. I know they aren’t super time consuming, but just waiting 30 minutes for the dough to rise is too much for me! But I had time on Tuesday πŸ™‚
It was so good! I used Matt’s Spelt Pizza Dough, again subbing agave for honey since I didn’t have any honey. I decided to make it a Taco Pizza. The toppings included:
Refried beans (the pizza sauce)
Salsa
Black beans
Soy cheese
Sliced green pepper (from the Farmers Market)
Sliced black olives
I used this salsa as recommended by The Fitnessista, and let me tell you, this is awesome salsa! And I crunched a few tortilla chips on top:

Last night was The Biggest Loser premiere – what did you think?
I didn’t sit down and watch the whole show. I wish it was only an hour long. Two is too much. I keep the tv on but I do other things, so I missed most of it. I really like a few of the contestants and hearing their stories is always heartwrenching. But I do not like when the camera zooms in on certain parts of their body: like their stomach or their butt. We know they are overweight, THEY know they are overweight, so is this necessary? Do you think that more viewers take a look at their own bodies and make changes as a result of seeing that footage?
Questions:
1. Do you like where you live? Would you ever want to move to a different city, region of the country or even a different country? I like where we live for now, but I do think it would fun to move somewhere else. I love MN for the seasons change, I can’t imagine not having feet of snow in the wintertime or the blazing hot summers (as much as I dislike them). I don’t think I could live in the south for fear of bugs L If anything I hope Jason and I get a chance to travel more in the coming years – there is so much of the country (and world!) that I have not seen!
2. Did you watch BL? What are your thoughts? Who is your favorite trainer on the show? I posted my thoughts above, I didn’t want to get too specific about contestants in case you haven’t watched it yet. My favorite trainer is Jillian. I dont’ like when she becomes a therapist to the contestants, I really wish they had a staff member to take care of that. But I love her training style and I would want someone tough like her instead of Bob (who, I think, comes off as too easy going).
3. Have you kept anything from your childhood? (like my old glasses) Is it something that you hope to give to someone else one day? (a child, a niece/nephew, a friend) What do you like about it?

Enjoy your day!

Holly

39 Responses to “Taco Pizza”

  1. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    Haven’t made Taco Pizza in years. Yours looks really yummy and I’m itching to make one myself now. Maybe this weekend.

  2. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    I missed BL last night because of the return of Glee! I just can’t get into BL. I’ve heard controversial things about their training and what occurs before weigh-ins. But I will say that it has some merit since a lot of offices now hold “Biggest Loser” like competitions.
    I never imagined myself staying in PA forever. I’ve always had the attitude that I will go wherever my career takes me. I guess its a little different once you get married.

  3. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    My viewing of the Biggest Loser last night was quite similar to yours–we watched the first 45 minutes pretty intently, but after that we just kept it on in the living room while we went about other tasks around the house. Too long! Plus, I felt bad for the third person in each city who didn’t get picked–everyone had such a compelling story, I wish they’d just picked all of the contestants before the show began. It’s heart-wrenching for the ones who don’t get picked!

    I’m partial to Bob as a trainer on the show, but when it comes to work-out DVDs, I go with Jillian πŸ™‚

  4. Tina Says:

    I’ll be sharing my TBL thoughts in a post later today. πŸ™‚

    And I think I had an almost identical pair of glasses in 2nd grade! LOL

  5. carly Says:

    Lawdie, that pizza looks GOOD! I am drooling all over my keyboard.

    I do not watch TBL. I tried to watch Thintervention the other night, and I’ve tried to watch TBL before. But those shows really aren’t for me … I’m not big into the weeping background stories, or the subtle message that you only deserve happiness by being thin. (Which is what I get when I see those shows … I don’t mean to say that other people get that, or that the shows/trainers are trying to get that message across.)

  6. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self Says:

    Holly, I am absolutely drooling over that taco pizza! Looks delicious!

  7. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Combining my two loves… mexican & pizza… brilliant!! πŸ™‚

    I’m more of a GLEEk than a Biggest Loser fan…

  8. Matt Says:

    OMG that pizza looks good! Can I come over for dinner?

  9. Naomi(onefitfoodie) Says:

    i liked BL but now its just a bit boring to me…I dont know why I just have lost interest after about 8 seasons lol!

    I watched GLEE!!! im such a gleek!

    how funny are those eyeglasses?!?! love em!

  10. Lauren @ 40Apples Says:

    Such a delicious looking pizza!

    In terms of living locations: I have long dreamed of living in NYC (I started plotting in high school), so I’m happy I’m doing it now. While I can see myself for a while longer here – as I want to take as much advantage of living in this incredible place as possible – I KNOW I will move back to the west coast sooner or later. The outdoors, the weather, the environmentalism, the produce πŸ˜‰ , and most importantly my FAMILY – all these things I can’t stay away from for too too long. It’s in my blood! Plus I would definitely want to raise a family there. When the time comes πŸ™‚

  11. AllieNic Says:

    I watch Biggest Loser…although not as religiously as I used to. I feel now, much like other people feel, that the people on the show are not positive weight loss role models for the general public. I think that all of the focus on the weigh in is unrealistic– in real life, it’s the journey to a healthier body that counts– NOT the weight on the scale.

    The people on the show also lose a TON of weight really quickly…more quickly than people in the real world lose it…it’s frustrating to think that someone out there thinks that this way of losing weight is the norm.

  12. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Awww cute that you still have your old glasses!

    I live in Northern Cali (near SF) and love it for so many reasons, but hate it for the high cost of living (a 1000 sqft home is $1M!). So we’re considering moving to the DC area, where things are slightly cheaper…

  13. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I like where I live well enough but I wish we were closer to “home,” i.e. where I grew up and where my family lives. We’re about 3.5 hours from there and so don’t get home as often as we’d like. It’s hard because I miss my family and friends that are there. We have developed some friends where we live now but it doesn’t make up for family. This area is nice because there is lots to do. That is a plus. Odd are that we’ll be moving again next year and that we’ll be moving even farther from my family. We’ll be moving after the husband graduates from law school and we’re going to end up where ever he gets a job. Unfortunately with the state of the economy we can’t necessarily choose where we want to go. We have to go where the jobs are. I am very sad about the prospect of moving even farther from my family and to a new area where I’m not going to have any friends.

  14. Anne Says:

    yum pizza, of any type or topping – I liked the idea of the taco twist.

    I would love to live near large mountains and lots of wilderness. We don’t right now, but have talked about moving to New Hampshire when kids are in college.

    I fell asleep during BL after watching Glee. I, too, felt bad for the third person who was eliminated, not sure why they did that. All the talk of obesity in America was disturbing to me, tho we can hide from the facts.

    I have my silver charm bracelets from childhood which will go to my daughter. The charms are each a reminder of times/activities from my growing up years.

  15. Anne Says:

    tho we CAN’T hide from the facts

  16. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I actually don’t like where we live right now. It’s pretty much a place we are living as a means to an end. He moved here for his job and I did for school (and now I have my job), but we are basically here to save save save and then move someplace else to buy a house and settle down. I prefer someplace less populated and with more rural areas.

  17. Beth Says:

    I love DC. I don’t think I’ll move for a long time. And I didn’t get to watch the BL but I DVRed it so I can watch it tonight. πŸ™‚

  18. Heather Says:

    i love where i live, but i don’t think i would mind living in a different country (ahem, Italy, ahem) some day πŸ™‚

  19. eatmovelove Says:

    Ahhhh! Yours is way healthier than mine though…;)

    I watched DWTS…I used to watch TBL – but I don’t know, I feel like it’s glorified in some way…I find Bob is a lot better than he used to be though!

    Move?! HELL YES! πŸ™‚

  20. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    How cute that you have kept your old glasses!

    I don’t have anything like that, I don’t think…my mom has my old ballerina outfits still I think though!

    I like where I live…if I didn’t have separation anxiety, OR my entire family would come too, i would move to Hawaii, live holistically on the beach, picking coconuts, surfing (even though I never surfed in my life), open a fitness studio or a vegan sandwich shop…but I would never do it, my husband and I are BOTH creatures of habit and don’t do well with change (I am better than him though)

  21. Kate Says:

    oh taco pizza! we used to go to the godfather’s pizza buffet every sunday after church. my dad and i would always request a taco pizza. never thought about making one πŸ™‚

  22. Dev Says:

    I actually prefer agave over honey. Maybe it’s because I’ve just gotten used to it over the years – but it just doesn’t seem as potent.

  23. Mellissa Says:

    I watched BL last night and am always sadden by it, I love the concept of the show but their lives make me cry. This may sound mean but I often feel like they use whatever bad thing happened to them as an excuse and I wish they would be loosing weight so they can get healthy and not as a way to “cure” themselves.

  24. Emily (A Nutritionist Eats) Says:

    Love taco pizzas! Yours sounds fabulous!

  25. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com Says:

    im gonna watch the biggest loser online since i missed it last night, pretty excited to see it altho i havent read the reviews yet (purposely) just incase something big happens that i want to be surprised about πŸ™‚

    thats so cute that u have ur old school glasses! thank god theyre pretty cool and not the big ol bottle glass ones haha

    SALSA!!! MMMMM veggies, salsa, chips and cheese πŸ˜›

    xoxo

  26. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Black olives and peppers are two of my favorite things to put on a pizza. πŸ˜›

    I kind of like where I live but it’s really not fantastic. Being that it’s a college town, there are a ton of bars and what not which I’m really not all that into. I miss living in Tennessee! I lived and grew up there for 15 years before my family moved two years before I graduated. I never really quite got settled in at the new place before moving here..so I still sort of consider TN my home. πŸ™‚

  27. lisaou11 Says:

    There is ALWAYS someone from Oklahoma on the show! Guess it shows that we really are a state that has high obesity!

    I love Oklahoma, but I want to move. I want to experience what else is out there and I want to live close to mountains. That kind of landscape makes me feel alive!

  28. Jolene (www.everydayfoodie.ca) Says:

    Taco pizza sounds INSANELY GOOD!!!!!

    I love where I live, mostly because my friends and family are here. There are other cities I would like to try living in, but not unless the people I love will come with me πŸ™‚

    I watch Biggest Loser, but I think it gets a little boring sometimes. They drag some parts out for too long. I wish they talked more about what the contestants eat. I like Jillian’s training style best too.

  29. rc1001 Says:

    1. I keep stumbling upon more and more reasons I like where I live. However, there are no mountains/hills/oceans nearby and I’d like to live somewhere that has some more nature! Plus, I grew up here and would like to live somewhere else at some point in my life, just to experience something new.

    2. I don’t watch BL because I don’t like the premise and think it gives people unrealistic expectations about resonable weight loss.

    3. I still have my childhood teddy bear that was a gift to my mom when she was pregnant with me. It was from my great, great aunt who has passed away now. The bear is a little worse for the wear, but I still love it! It lives in my garage now, though.

  30. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    Taco pizza sounds like a great idea. Yum.

    I moved around a lot because I was a Navy brat, but I’ve always wanted to live in Colorado – the skiing, the outdoor activities, and it seems like a cool place to live! I would love to live somewhere different for a while – Texas, Arizona, or California come to mind.

  31. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Yummy pizzaaaa! Oh those pics made me HUNGRY!

    1. Do you like where you live? Would you ever want to move to a different city, region of the country or even a different country?
    I do like where I live. I feel close to a lot of people around here – even people in our own neighborhood – and would be sad to leave at this point if we moved!

    2. Did you watch BL? What are your thoughts? Who is your favorite trainer on the show?
    But of course I watched it! I try not to miss it – ever! It was okay…I agree with you that they don’t need to show people’s big bellies and butts, etc. Really unnecessary. Favorite trainer? I can’t choose between Bob and Jillian. Well, I guess I can. I adore Jillian. But Bob’s a sweetheart! I really love them both.

    3. Have you kept anything from your childhood? (like my old glasses) Is it something that you hope to give to someone else one day? (a child, a niece/nephew, a friend) What do you like about it?
    A few toys and dolls….and I, too, have a box of old glasses. I started wearing glasses when I was in second grade.

  32. Katie Says:

    I think I had those same glasses!!!

    I like where I live, but I don’t love it. I have no plans to stay here after grad school. But I also have no idea where I’ll go.

  33. leashieloo Says:

    1. I don’t mind where I live, plenty to do, low cost of living, and I’m surrounded by family and friends. I would however, love to move around as I have itchy feet.

    2. I don’t watch BL but I exercise to Jillian’s DVDs, she is intense!

    3. I am very sentimental so I keep everything. I have boxes of rubbish from childhood but I can’t bear to part with them. It reminds me of other times.

  34. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i’ve tried watching TBL, but some of it makes me uneasy, (like the weigh-ins.) in the real world, losing 2lbs a weeks is great! but on the show it’s perceived as failure. i just wonder what that says to viewers. i don’t know….maybe i take things too seriously sometimes πŸ˜›

    i love Sydney, but if i could do it over again, i think i would’ve chosen Europe. i love learning about different cultures, and Oz is a little too similar to North America. it’s just warmer and we have kangas! (at least Oprah is coming in December!!!!)

  35. Healthy Coconut Says:

    I’m liking that pizza you made. I love mexican food and always look for ways to make them healthier. I agree about the waiting for 30 mins on the dough, I know it’s not a lot of time but usually when I walk in the door, I want to eat right away. Sometimes I snack to hold me over while I cook dinner and sometimes my appetite is ruined after munching on snacks. I’ll try this recipe on a weekend πŸ™‚

    I live in California and I love living here, I grow up there and people always tell me that I’m lucky to be living in this beautiful state. I agree but if I can live somewhere else, I would say that I can see myself moving to Hawaii.

  36. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    ” I love MN for the seasons change, I can’t imagine not having feet of snow in the wintertime or the blazing hot summers”–
    LMAO b/c that’s EXACTLY WHY i DONT live there! haha! I could never ever ever again deal w/ snow and -40F. I would rather slit my wrists that have my skin freeze in seconds or hear a windchill report. Dear god help me. hell no!!!! And the humidity and bugs in the summer. And road construction πŸ™‚ no, I will gladly deal with the possibility of earthquakes and fires and live out here in my own definition of paradise πŸ™‚

    As for saving stuff from childhood, gosh, my mom saved some trinkets here and there but nothing super amazing comes to mind.

    Got your lovely comments re judgment and criticism and just wanted to thank you for sharing all your great thoughts on things!

    xo

  37. Lisa Says:

    That pizza looks so good! I’ve never thought of crushing tortilla chips. Great idea =)

  38. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Those glasses are SO cute. I love them, I must admit I might even wear them πŸ˜€ people are used to seeing me with unusual items. Haha.

    Awesome pizza!


Leave a Reply

