Almond Butter Chicken Cookies

Hello!
 
It is almost the weekend, how exciting is that?
I’m looking forward to more Craigslist sales this weekend (hopefully) – last night we had a buyer pick up our roaster (a gift we never used and has been sitting in the box for almost a year!) and he was so excited about it! And the night before a buyer picked up our juicer (again, a gift that I used once) and she ended up emailing me later that night that they used it and loved it! It felt so good to get rid of stuff AND to give someone a good deal on good stuff 🙂

On Tuesday one of my coworkers casually mentioned how his birthday was earlier in September – and I told myself that I need to make him some cookies or something. I didn’t have time to go to the store so I tried to think of a recipe that I could make with what I had on hand. I remember seeing SOMEONE (who? I don’t remember) making Peanut Butter Finger’s flourless PB cookies and I figured that was a great choice!
 
I used some of the Barney Butter I won from Lindsey:

I mixed up the almond butter with an egg and 1 cup of sugar (I could have tried to make them with less sugar, but I had no time!). I baked them up and they turned out wonderful:
 


The best part was giving them to him. He was so happy and kind of embarrassed. Oh well. Later that morning he came to my office and here is our conversation:
 
Coworker: What kind of cookies were those?
Me: Um, almond butter cookies. Did you like them?
Coworker: Yes, they were great but I was wondering what you put in them.
Me: The recipe is easy: almond butter, an egg and sugar
Coworker: Oh, I thought you put chicken boullion in there because they kind of tasted like chicken.
 
?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!
 
What a hilarious thing to ask!!! I asked Jason if he could taste chicken and he said no, so I’m not sure what was up with my coworker! Ha! My coworker did tell me that they tasted good, but he just thought he had figured out the “great cookie secret”. 
 
As you may have noticed, my blog has something new on the sidebar. I am a Wellsphere “Top Health Blogger”. TRY TO CONTROL YOUR JEALOUSY 🙂
 
Questions:
 
1. Have you ever had a recipe turn out terrible?
I think my Chicken Cookies actually taste fine…But other than that I have made cookies without flour of any kind which resulted in a pan of burnt liquidy cookie dough. What I scraped off actually tasted kind of good! And basically anytime I cook fish it is either raw on the inside or completely overdone.

2. What is your favorite nut butter? I have quite the collection now:

But I have to say that my favorite (taste wise) is Jif creamy. I know, its full of hydrogenated oils, but it tastes the best. Other than that I love Maranatha no stir natural PB. Barney is pretty good too 🙂
 
3. Did you watch the Top Chef reunion last night? What did you think?

Holly

39 Responses to “Almond Butter Chicken Cookies”

  1. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Almond butter cookies simply can’t be beat 🙂

    My favorite nut butter is probably a toss-up between Smucker’s Natural Chunky Peanut Butter and Marantha Chunky Almond Butter. Yum!

  2. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    Come on. You can really tell us – did you put chicken in your cookies?? LOL

    And, I LOVE Crunchy Barney Almond Butter. Soooo good.

  3. Matt Says:

    My favorite nut butter is Justins Chocolate Hazelnut Butter. OMG.

  4. leashieloo Says:

    Hahaha, I needed a good laugh today 🙂 The funniest part to me is that your co-worker didn’t seem weirded out at the notion of you putting chicken flavoring in there. Poor dear.

  5. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    One of the things I love about you is your allegiance to Jif. If I was honest with myself, I would say my favorite PB is Skippy’s Natural No Stir Creamy. It’s really good. Full of sugar and probably other weird stuff but it’s delicious. I never buy it though! It’s dangerous!!

  6. Tina Says:

    That dude is crazy! How could he get chicken taste from that? LOL

  7. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Like chicken?!?

    Crazy!

    I like PB&Co!

  8. Lauren @ 40Apples Says:

    Your nut butter collection is impressive! At any given time I usually have a couple jars going… but that always leave me in a tight spot when I run out (which is frequently). I should just stock up 🙂 My favorite is TJ’s roasted almond butter with flax. By FAR the best tasting nut butter I’ve ever had.

    Pretty funny about your cookies!! I’m all about the savory element making cookies that much better… (see: my garbage disposal cookies, which included bits of “everything” pretzels! haha)

  9. Dev Says:

    I haven’t even watched the Top Chef finale yet! I started it last night, but ended up going to bed early. Hopefully I’ll get to that and the reunion tonight.

  10. Kate Says:

    ha! i read your title was super curious as to what i was going to find for a recipe. very glad you did not try to put chicken in the cookies 🙂

    my fav nut butter? homemade roasted peanut with honey!

  11. Carolyn Says:

    I have three nut butters on my shelf (all Justin’s):

    Maple Almond Butter
    Honey Peanut Butter
    Chocolate Hazelnut Butter

    all soooo good. Reminds me I need to go to the store to restoke on my maple almond, almost out!

  12. TheHealthyapron Says:

    I made cinnamon rolls over the weekend. I took one bite and threw the rest out. They were awful. I was upset.

  13. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I just read your title about five times wondering what in the world this was going to be about…what a crazy guy!

    My fav nut butter is Nutella 😉

  14. AllieNic (Frisky Lemon) Says:

    HA! This post reminded me of the time you thought I put bacon in my peanut butter and nectarine sandwich!

    I adore those flourless PB cookies…I attempted to make them with almond butter once, but they just weren’t the same! Barney Butter might be better…although I try not to buy it because I usually end up eating the entire jar in 3 days…yeah…zero self control around the almond butter.

  15. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    LOL Chicken? What?

    I’ve actually only ever had plain ol’ peanut butter!

  16. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Chicken? HUh? Too funny

    I’m a big fan of TJ’s flax-seed all natural PB..so yum!

  17. Beth Says:

    That is hysterical! That was probably the last thing on earth you were expecting to hear from him!

  18. Katie Says:

    I saw the title of this post and was really hoping you didn’t put chicken in cookies. I mean, I like cookies and I like chicken, but….

    Oh man, I have had a ton of recipes turn out terribly. Comes with the territory.

  19. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday Says:

    Kraft makes the best peanut butter, hands down.

  20. Emily (A Nutritionist Eats) Says:

    I’ve been meaning to make those cookies too!

  21. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    LOL…chicken flavored cookies, that’s too funny that he asked you that! They look delish, and don’t look like you had a chicken cube to it…he probably just had soup for lunch and his palate wasn’t cleansed…Happy Thursday!!!

    I’m a crazy richards gal….and trader joes almond butter hands down over all

  22. Nic Says:

    I made an angel food cake. The box instructed me to turn it upside down with a bottle placed in the hole of the baking dish immediately after baking. I do… left the room for about 20 minutes and came back to find my cake had fallen out of the pan and laid on the counter like a pancake. It was still yummy but I was way to embarrassed to take it to work to share as I planned!

  23. spabettie Says:

    chicken? that’s hilarious. and weird? you should make some chicken bouillon cookies for him… 😉

    my favorite is Barney. 🙂

  24. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    I tried putting almond butter in my husband’s FAVORITE “Peanut Butter Temptaions” cookies (the kind with a mini Reese’s in the middle)–> big mistake! I thought the processed, sugary Reese’s would hide the fact that I had used almond butter in the cookie batter, but NO. He said they tasted funny, too.

    Not like chicken, though… that’s a first! 😉

    I’m going to have to try those flour-less cookies! I’ve put myself on a bit of a baking hiatus though, until the holidays when I turn into a cookie-baking machine!! I love baking for friends and neighbors around the holidays, so I usually bake HUNDREDS of cookies then!! I think flour-less peanut butter cookies just made my list this year!

  25. glutenfreemuse Says:

    Gotta love that 🙂 I’ve had recipes turn out weird lately, but I will say that Barney Butter has a strange taste at first…that could have been it??

    Glad you have a good stock of nut butters!

  26. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Okay, I think you might be inspiring me to list some stuff on craiglist! That’s how I sold my TurboFire set. 🙂

    Have you ever had a recipe turn out terrible?
    Ohhhh yes. The gluten-free pancakes I made from scratch last month tasted like Playdoh….and shortly after we got married I tried to make a lemon-chicken dish that called for a couple cubes of chicken bouillion. I accidently used the ENTIRE JAR of cubes. It was soooooooooooooooooo salty we couldn’t eat it! Live and learn!

    2. What is your favorite nut butter? I have quite the collection now:
    Diamond AB is my fave. I love peanut butter SO much that I can’t have it in the house. I eat it with a spoon and gain weight really fast.

    3. Did you watch the Top Chef reunion last night? What did you think?
    Nope!

  27. Wendy Says:

    Definitely Barney Butter!!

  28. rc1001 Says:

    1. Have you ever had a recipe turn out terrible?

    Oh man, too many to name! Keep on swimming, keep on swimming!

    2. What is your favorite nut butter? I have quite the collection now:

    I’ve only tried peanut and almond. Almond is a great change of pace from peanut butter. I’d like to try cashew butter but I think I’d inhale the whole bottle in a day.

    3. Did you watch the Top Chef reunion last night? What did you think?

    There wasn’t much peaking me or my boyfriend’s interest last night on TV so we turned it off and read. WEIRD?!

  29. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    hahaha chicken!? What?? They look delicious! 😛 I love peanut butter cookies, especially when they’re so simple as yours.

    My favorite peanut butter is Justin’s Chocolate. It’s insanely good. 🙂

  30. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Here’s my advice…
    Dont “waste” really expensive nut butter in recipes. Eat it straight up.

    Don’t “waste” really expensive nut butters in recipes that you are giving away to people. Especially those who somehow confuse chicken bullion w/ pricey AB!

    omg I would have slapped him! You go to the work to bake for this fool, and that’s what he says?! omg. I would have gone.off.

    Congrats on all your CL sales! You are making way more than you would have at a garage sale and it’s a controlled environment, even if it’s taking longer, it’s better!

    Juicers. I ALWAYS tell people to look on CL b/c the exact scenario of yours, happens all the time. Juicing is a total PITA, i never do it anymore!

  31. Jessica (Fit and Clean) Says:

    My favorite butters are Better ‘n Butter, and Smuckers all natural with honey. YUM!! And you can buy big tubs of Smuckers at Walmart and it doesn’t break the bank 😉

    Maybe your coworker has a sinus infection or ruined taste buds or something? LOL that is the strangest question EVER!!

  32. crispandverdant Says:

    Haha, people’s minds can invent all sorts of wacky imaginings.

    You should make some cookies that actually DO have chicken in them, and see if he notices. 😀

  33. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    I made a gluten free muffin (like a roll) that we now refer to as the bug muffins because they tasted like I put bugs in them…GROSS! My favorite nut butter is almond butter, but I am kinda cheap, so mostly I stick with peanut butter (cause it is so tasty too). I didn’t catch the reunion…I wonder if it recorded…I will check it out though.

  34. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) Says:

    Bahahaha…ew. That would be so weird. Was your co-worker totally serious? Like straight face and all??

  35. Pumpkin Banana Bread | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Blogroll ← Almond Butter Chicken Cookies […]

  36. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Were a bit behind you… in episode 5 of Top Chef 😀 but looking forward to the season.

    Chicken cookies? 😀 I could imagine someone saying that about my cookies, I’m really not the best baker..

  37. Lori Says:

    Chicken Almond Butter Cookies? Really? lol that’s too funny. Yeah, my tastes buds are WAY different than most people’s… hence the green smoothies… so some “interesting” tasting items to most taste great to me. Not saying that’s what’s going on with your cookies… or your… er… coworker, but just saying. 😉

    Happy Friday! The cookies look awesome by the way!

  38. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i did not see the reunion show, but i saw the finale a few days ago. (can’t BELIEVE who won!!) now it’s on to Just Desserts. have you been watching?

    my worst recipe experiment was making falafel from scratch. it was black on the outside and raw on in the inside. (whoops.) my husband is so lovely though, he ate them anyway. that’s true love, man. 🙂

  39. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com Says:

    u made chicken cookies? that actually sounds pretty YUM!
    i love the things you come up with. these peanut butter cookies look awesome!!! ❤

    have a great weekend love!!!


Leave a Reply

