Almond Butter Chili

Happy Monday 🙂

So, I’ve decided to not blog every day. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy it, but sometimes I stay up way too late working on a post and that takes the fun out of it. I do have other commitments: a full time job, a husband, a house, family, friends, hobbies, etc. So unless someone wants to pay me to blog… I won’t be doing it every day. For sure I will be taking off most weekends. I know Laury does this and I respect her for taking the time off for herself.

I spent the weekend working on my September goals: cleaning the garage out, reading my books, exercising, eating well, going to church. 🙂 I’m doing good but I need to get in lots of reading over the next few days.

On Sunday I finally had a Pumpkin Spice Latte from Caribou Coffee – I see other bloggers write about going to Starbucks, but near my house there are PLENTY of Caribou Coffees and not so many Starbucks. *Plus* I had a buy one, get one free coupon — so how could I pass that up?

I actually prefer Caribou because of the “woodsy outdoorsy” décor. Hey, I’m from MN, what did you expect? Plus Starbucks (well, and Caribou too…) coffee tastes like burnt motor oilAverie has blogged about the terrible coffee at Starbucks and I agree!

After getting a lot of things done around the house on Sunday, I thought I’d make a delicious dinner: CD’s Almond Butter Chili from Heather Eats Almond Butter.

It was so delicious. I didn’t have all of the ingredients, but I managed and it turned out wonderful. Jason loved it! The addition of almond butter was pure genius. Heather I will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I didn’t have any waning nut butter jars to use, and I’m sure that would have taken the meal over the edge!

Questions:

  1. What was the best part of your weekend? I have to say that I loved relaxing on Saturday and being productive on Sunday. It feels so good to cross things off of my to-do list.
  2. Do you have a blog? If so, do you blog every day? Do you feel pressure to blog about amazing things? That is what happened to me on Friday night – I didn’t have anything to write about and I spent too much time thinking about a topic or a recipe, etc. Instead, I could have just done something else with my time instead of staring at the computer screen thinking of a topic. I’ve decided that I won’t force myself to post just for the sake of blogging every day.
  3. How do you keep yourself organized? Do you keep a planner? A calendar? I honestly just keep lists with me wherever I go – my purse usually has 5-6 small pieces of scrap paper with notes, grocery lists and to-do lists on them. I also like to send emails to myself – that way when I check my email I am reminded of those to-do items. I’ve tried keeping a calendar but I get tired of it after only a few days.
  4. What is your favorite place to get coffee/tea? I actually like gas station coffee most of the time — it is cheap and READY! Or I just make mine at home. If I feel like spending extra money (doesn’t happen often) I go to Caribou.

🙂 Holly

25 Responses to “Almond Butter Chili”

  1. muddy Says:

    i’m happy to know that you didn’t blog ON PURPOSE — being the mom, any change of routine or habit can send up a little red flag. is holly sick? did something bad happen and she just can’t bring herself to talk about it? did she somehow mark her blog “no nosy mothers invited?” (actually, that one only occurred to me just now, and i’m kidding.) (i think.) (no, i am.) in my mind, it’s a GOOD thing to mix it up a little — write when you have something to write, don’t write when you don’t. so now mama doesn’t need to wonder any longer…

  2. Matt Says:

    Taking the weekend off is a great idea! I blog everyday, but sometimes I run out of things to blog about. Coming up with a meal for the sake of the blog is starting to get old 😦

  3. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    I always wondered how you were able to blog so consistently! It’s hard. There are days when I feel like I “should” blog but don’t have anything to say. Usually on days like that, I don’t blog, and I feel guilty, but I shouldn’t because that’s not the point of blogging right?

  4. carly Says:

    I’ve definitely been struggling with a blogging schedule lately. Sometimes I am just burnt out after my day job and freelance jobs. On the other hand, I love my blog and the process of blogging, and I love the fact that it something for me.

    I agree about Starbucks coffee, but I love pumpkin spice lattes. I’ve never liked Caribou. I guess when I go out for coffee, I’m a Starbucks girl!

  5. Tina Says:

    I do blog every day but I’ve gotten into such a groove its easier for me that way. I won’t ever post for the sake of posting and force myself to write even when I have nothing to share. Luckily, my mind rambles so much I always have something to get out. Plus, as a stay at home mom blogging is my adult interaction outlet. LOL

    No matter what, we each have to do blogging how it works for us. It should always be fun since in reality for many of us it is a hobby. Not a job. Only a handful have it as a job.

  6. leashieloo Says:

    I like to take a break as the situation deems. Weekends are light on posting and sometimes during the week if I’m super busy or not in the mood, I’ll just skip it. I notice that if one forces themselves to blog when they have nothing to say, it ends up fairly obvious.

  7. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I started off blogging 3 times a day… that was just silly! Now I blog once a day, but take the weekends off. This set up works perfectly for me! I think the most important thing for people is to find what is fun for them… I find that writing styles suffer when they’re forced.

    & the chili looks great!

  8. Myra Says:

    This is why I stopped blogging completely the first time we lived here and we kept a blog. After a while I was like… meh. This is such a chore. It should be fun! I rarely blog every day now, because I only do it when I have something to write about and time to do it. Sha!

  9. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I can’t blog every day either…takes too much time. I’d love too, but real life tends to get in the way 😉

    I’ve been to a few Caribou’s! The decor is pretty cute 🙂

  10. Katie Says:

    Luckily, I have way too much to say, so I’ve never had a stare at the blank screen moment. But, if I did, I dont think I’d feel pressured to write anything. I limit my posts to 30-45 min. If they take longer than that to write, I figure they will take too long to read too!

    I love Caribou, and 100% agree about Starbucks. blech.

  11. Shayna Says:

    I’d like to blog every day, and I usually do, in between commercial breaks 🙂 But it’s hard with a full-time job and a hungry husband (plus the rest of life 🙂 ), not too mention that sometimes, I do boring things all day! Blog when you want, your content is what matters and it’s awesome!
    Here in Hawaii, we have Honolulu Coffee Company. Their coffee and house chocolate brand are delicious!

  12. lizlivingvegan Says:

    I love almond butter, and I love (vegan) chili… so… the combination makes sense! 🙂

  13. itisallaboutbalance Says:

    My Mom always says how good it is to keep yourself busy, but a busy body isn’t any good without a rested mind. Good for you for listening to your body and what it needs! I’ll be keeping up with you when you can get to blogging! 🙂

  14. eatmovelove Says:

    Great post.

    First – I really want to make that chili. I’ve never been a big chili person, but throw AB in something and I’m there. Kryptonite right?

    Second, totally agree on the blogging thing! I just do it as I feel. REAL life and responsibilities. Not getting paid for it – and having Stalkers continuously show up and harass you make you second-guess it…that’s for sure :(. I think you should post as/when you want and just be YOU.

    3rd- God, I thought it was just me who thought StarBucks coffee sucks LOL! For real. I just prefer the cheap Gas station coffee too. Or I get it a Metro here around the corner – they have flavored coffees – so Vanilla/Hazelnut is my vice 😉 Is an explanation even needed?

    Do you see a movie after all this weekend?

  15. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    The almond butter chili recipe sounds so unique! As I mentioned last week when I made the Peanut Butter Pineapple stew…I’ll try anything with nut butter in it 🙂

    Good for you for taking time off from your blog when you need it–blogs are supposed to be a fun hobby and outlet for creative expression. It defeats the purpose if it turns into something stressful.

    Best part of my weekend was definitely our weekly family lunch on Sunday–we always go to my parents house for lunch after church…lots of good company and LOTS of good food!

  16. Seglare Says:

    When I started my blog (about a month later than you), I thought I’d blog every day. I soon realized that, at the moment, it’s better to do it when I really have the time – even if it’s every three days or so – and something to write about. I wonder how many people would keep on reading about my “normal” days, which mostly consist of sitting by a laptop or thick study books for 8-10 hours, then going home, eating cereal for dinner, and collapsing on the bed! ;-D For this reason, most of the interesting things, travels, or more special cooking/baking experiments currently take place during the weekends (which leads me to your first question: my favorite part this weekend was getting lots of fresh air and enjoying the beautiful nature).

    As for organizing, you wouldn’t believe this coming from a law student, but I’m a terrible organizer. I have a planner/calendar, but like you, I always give up using it after a few days. I keep all the exams, assignments, meetings, and other important things organized in my head, and it has worked perfectly so far (of course I have them on paper as well, just in case). 😉 I’m terribly absent-minded when it comes to minor details (such as taking the trash out in the morning… ewww), but I seem to be able to keep the more important things well. If there is something I’m afraid of forgetting, I usually set an alarm on my phone or my laptop – but most of the time, it’s not needed.

  17. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    Chili made with AB. Very cool!

    1.What was the best part of your weekend?
    Lissy’s birthday party on Saturday was wonderful. So many special people over at once – warmed my heart!

    2.Do you have a blog? If so, do you blog every day? Do you feel pressure to blog about amazing things?
    Yes I have a blog and I *usually* blog six days a week. Typically I blog every weekday and only once on weekends. I don’t really feel pressure to blog about amazing things. I blog about whatever I feel like. That’s what blogs are all about. I almost feel like I *need* to blog almost every day because I have soooo much to say!

    3.How do you keep yourself organized? Do you keep a planner? A calendar?
    Mostly the calendar on the kitchen wall. I’ve also been known to write things on the palm of my hand if there’s something I REALLY need to remember!

    4.What is your favorite place to get coffee/tea?
    STARBUCKS!!!!!

  18. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I blog everyday that I’m home/have time but I don’t feel the pressure to make it amazing everytime. Most days I have something to say other than just talking about what I ate, but some days that’s all I have to offer..and I’m okay with that. I’m sure later on I might get to the point where I don’t blog everyday..but for right now it works 😛

  19. Jen Trinque Says:

    The best part of my weekend was probably Friday night, when I went to dinner and ran errands with my sweetie pie. The rest of the weekend was kinda rainy and boring 🙂

    I have a blog. I try to blog every day, but don’t always. I do feel the pressure to blog more and be more interesting and blah blah blah, but I try to just do it when I feel inspired.

    I make tons of lists to stay organized. Lists, lists, lists!

    My favorite place for coffee or tea is my house!

  20. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    oh yeah, i know what you mean about staying up way too late (i’m suffering the consquences today.) i think it’s great you’ve decided to take off days, we all need time to decompress and simply NOT DO ANYTHING 🙂

    do i feel pressure to blog about amazing things? lol – only all the time 🙂 especially if i *think* i wrote or found something really good, then i wonder – how am i ever gonna top that??? it’s like my own personal competition, i drive myself nuts sometimes. :p

    as for coffee, i rarely ever go out. i drink enough with breakfast that i don’t need to buy any during the day. but 2 for 1 – sweet deal – i would’ve been all over that!

  21. Laury @TheFitnessDish Says:

    Taking weekends off have made me feel SO much less pressured about my blog…I mean, I blog bc it’s fun and I love it, and when I didn’t take any time off it started to feel like a chore, which I did not want! I totally respect your choice, time to yourself….computer-free is so great sometimes 🙂
    thanks for the shout!

    Highlight of my weekend was running into my old best friend from high school, we had a falling out and I haven’t seen her in over 4 years…her and like 25 other people I went to school with….overwhelming at first, didn’t know what it was going to be like, but after I saw them it was like same old friends, it was nice!

  22. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    “I do have other commitments: a full time job, a husband, a house, family, friends, hobbies, etc.”–hell yeah girl, we all do! Wait til you throw a kid(s) into the mix. That just even fragments you more and it’s sooo good you are taking the weekends off. I used to do these massive highlights of the week posts on the weekends and in the beginning they saved me time but in the end, took wayyyy too long.

    Blogging and time mgmt is something I struggle with every.single.day. I just posted yesterday about what Ive learned as a blogger. I have also learned it’s almost volunteer work 🙂 As i pointed out, it’s far more efficient to just “get a job” compared to blogging for money!

    Thanks for the linkage..yes, Starbucks is not my fave. I mean i drink it, but as a MN girl, I used to ALWAYS go to Caribou over SBux any ole day! The Caribou on Grand Ave was my college stomping grounds. As were Breugger’s bagels, how’s that for some MN trivia 🙂

    That chili, I need to veganize it…looks and sounds so good, i have always wanted to make that recipe of Heab’s!

  23. Count Choco-cado-ula | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Blogroll ← Almond Butter Chili […]

  24. lisaou11 Says:

    I take the weekends off most of the time as well. Its nice to be away from technology for a while and just be.

    Glad you decided to do it! Blogging will become so much more fun.

  25. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    How weird. I didn’t get an email about this post!

    I blog when I have the time and when I have something to say. Sometimes I’ll blog a few days in a row but I often take the weekend off. Usually because we’re busy on the weekend and I don’t spend much time on the computer!


Leave a Reply

