Count Choco-cado-ula

Thank you everyone for your support on taking weekends off of blogging. I want to enjoy this and I don’t want to stay up late working on a post. I’m not saying that my job and home life are suffering NOW, but late nights do take their toll on me, so I’m doing what is best for me. But who knows, maybe a weekend post will slip in now and then 🙂

Let’s just get right to the goods:

As I was picking out avocados at the store over the weekend I remembered seeing a recipe for Choco-cado pudding on Gina’s site. I knew I had to try it, so I did! I followed her recipe, but made only a ½ serving and lessened the amount of almond butter and agave.

Believe me, it still had plenty of chocolatey goodness. It made me think of this guy:

I *almost* bought of box of this cereal over the weekend but I knew I would eat all of it in one sitting so I resisted the urge. If only it came in single serving boxes! Then I could maybe trust myself. Someone PLEASE make a healthy version of Count Chocula!

I finally finished one of my Sept goal books: The Dance of Fear and I have to say I really enjoyed the last chapter:

Ha! It’s true, we all have our fears and what is important is to know that it’s ok! I am still normal! The book concluded by talking about courage: that if you are afraid of something – you need (and HAVE) courage to deal with that issue. The author writes “Everything in this world that is truly worth doing takes practice. Courage is no exception”. To me, she once again is saying “fake it til you make it”. You may not feel/be courageous right away, but with time and practice, you will be!

For me, I get anxious and nervous (and fearful many times) when I am invited to a social event: birthday party, holiday party, bonfire, out to dinner, etc. I struggle because I am introverted and yet feel the need and desire to be a part of the party – I want to be seen as friendly and fun to be with. But I don’t feel that way since I can be so shy sometimes. I seclude myself in order to keep myself from being uncomfortable and nervous. But The Dance of Fear has helped me to see that I will not wake up one day and exclaim “I love parties and I can’t wait to go to the next one!” Instead, I need to go to these situations and practice. I need to take the courage I have and use it to face my fears. And with time, I will get more comfortable and less nervous. It won’t be easy, but like the author wrote: Anything worth doing takes practice!

Sorry, just had to throw him in there 🙂

Questions:

  1. Do you like those Halloween cereals? What was your favorite? Count Chocula, BooBerry or Frankenberry? My favorite has always been and always will be COUNT CHOCULA!
  2. What are you afraid of? I am afraid of many many things: spiders, snakes, rats, SHARKS, plus many other creepy crawly things!
  3. Do you dress up for Halloween? What was your favorite costume? Do you have a costume picked out for this year? My favorite costume EVER was when I dressed up as a hillbilly – I had a mullet wig, “Billy Bob teeth”, I wore a torn flannel shirt with long john bottoms and big boots. I carried a 12 pack of beer with me and it was hilarious. I was comfortable (hello long johns!) and it cost maybe $20 (mostly for the wig and beer!). I’ve been trying to come up with a good idea for Jason and me. Any ideas?

Did anyone watch Hoarders last night? The woman with all of those cats in her house made me so sad. Those poor animals! I’m glad they were able to save so many.

Holly

28 Responses to “Count Choco-cado-ula”

  1. Becky Says:

    I am afraid of birds. I know it’s weird, but it’s true. I hate being anywhere near them. I’ve been bitten by geese (2x!) and always seem to get pecked or poked. Walking through cities with hoards of pigeons is just stressful!

    The Dance of Fear sounds interesting and very enlightening. Glad it helped you 🙂

  2. Alyssa Says:

    I was going to ask where you went! Good to hear you were just relaxing 🙂

    I’ve never been a sweet cereal girl 🙂 as a kid, i begged for kix and shredded wheat!

    Im scared of heights! Funny the i have over 560 high altitude skydives to my credit!

    I was a fanta girl with my friends one year and i loved it! Hubby and i want to be a pair this year…not sure who yet!

    Don’t forget to check out my chip giveaway! Today is the last day!

  3. Tina Says:

    I don’t normally dress up, but I’m going to be a pumpkin this year. I have an orange maternity shirt I’m going to wear with cut out black construction paper taped to it like a Jack O Lantern face. LOL

  4. Matt Says:

    I never really ate the halloween cereals, but I used to devour cinnamon toast crunch. OMG that stuff is good…

  5. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I feel like there is an organic, healthier version of Count Chocula??? I forget what they look like, but there HAS to be! I never got into those cereals as kid..i love Rice Crispies with a banana and a teaspoon of sugar, lol….probably the reason my grandmother ended up with type II (not funny)…her generation started adding sugar to EVERYTHING! She would add it to my cereal in the AM all the time. Not the sugary stuff though. I also liked Lucky Charms…and I feel like there was a Halloween cereal that had little marshmallow ghosts in them that I may of eaten a few times as a kid, but not in my regular rotation…Rice Crispies were def my fav!

    I am afraid of heights! My husband is deathly afraid of spiders, they don’t bother me as much! LOL

    I usually dress up for Halloween, but prob not this year. I LOVE halloween, but my husband isn’t into it, which takes the fun out of it for me 😦 Last year I was Queen Sophie Ann from True Blood, that costume rocked. When I was a kid we ALWAYS had the BEST homemade costumes, my parents got SOOOO into it! Like the whole nine with the makeup–they seriously missed their calling working on horror films, lol. One year they glued a ton of fake mustache stuff on my little brother, and he was dead silent the entire night, turns out it was super uncomfortable and itchy, and he was miserable, but never said anything, haha…it was s sin.

  6. carly Says:

    The only sugary cereal I ever really liked was Apple Jacks … if I had cereal growing up, it was mostly corn flakes or Cheerios!

    This year I’m going as Ghetto Dorothy … I bought one of those skanky Dorothy costumes last year on sale, and I’m going to wear it with really high red heels, ripped fishnet stockings … I’m going to get one of my smoking friends to burn holes in the skirt, and I’m just generally going to bling it out. Bowser has got a “leather” jacket, and I’m going to try to find him a spiked collar so he can go as Ghetto Toto!

  7. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I love dressing up, but don’t have any ideas yet for this year… I’d better get to brainstorming! 🙂

  8. Kate Says:

    i am the same thing for halloween every year. i have a great 80s rock star costume with big heels, leg warmers, and a great wig. so far no one has commented that i wear the same costume. i guess that is the beauty of drunk friends on halloween! they just dont notice 🙂

  9. leashieloo Says:

    I was always partial to the Count 😉 I don’t dress up every Halloween but if there’s a party, I will be there.

  10. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I still cant go through a Halloween with dressing up a little bit. My favorite was an Egyptian empress wayyyy back when I was still trick-or-treating. Oh how I miss those days!

    I think Count Chocula would be my favorite, too. It’s hard to turn down anything chocolatey 😛

  11. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday Says:

    Booberry must be good for you. It’s made with whole grains!

  12. 40apples Says:

    I’ve never tried the Halloween cereals!! ALWAYS wanted to though… I’m sure Count Chocula is the best thing ever.

    I’m afraid of cockroaches and spiders…. unfortunately, cockroaches are everywhere in this city, and I’m definitely not getting used to them 😛

    Your costume sounds hilarious!! I love dressing up for Halloween. Last year I went as David Bowie from The Labyrinth. It was amaaaazing. I’m working on a good follow-up for this year 🙂

    Glad you were able to relax over the weekend! I’ve realized I do not like spending lots of precious weekend time in front of my computer. As with exercise, I think breaks are necessary and healthy!

  13. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I was Juno last year for Halloween, preggo belly and all. Everyone says I played her perfectly. Not sure how I’m going to top that one…

  14. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I can barely ever watch Hoarders because I always feel so bad for the poor animals. It’s cruelty really!

    And I HATE spiders. They totally creep me out!

  15. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Hi Holly! I saw Choco-cado pudding on Kat’s “Keep n’ the Faith” blog a few weeks ago and it looked so good! I keep forgetting to pick up an avocado for it.

    I wish I could say I had a favorite Halloween or sugary cereal as a kid, but my mom was strict about food and Raisin Bran was at the outer limits of what we were allowed! Needless to say when I got to college I discovered Cinnamon Toast Crunch and thought I’d died and gone to heaven. I haven’t had any since I graduated (almost 5 years ago!), but I surely miss it 🙂

    Hope you’re having a great week!

  16. Nic Says:

    Like you, I have to stay away from cereal or the box would be gone!

    I’m not sure what I’m afraid of. There are a lot of things that I don’t like- scary movies, snakes, spiders, ground beef… but I can’t really think of anything that I’m afraid of. Hum… guess I’ll have to give that a little more thought 🙂

  17. Rachel @ FitFunandFabulous Says:

    1. I didn’t realize there were specific Halloween cereals!

    2. I’m afraid of meteors and other apocolyptic-type events.

    3. I love dressing up for Halloween! We are going as Pebbles and Bam Bam from the Flinstones and our dog is going as Dino.

  18. eatmovelove Says:

    I can’t watch Hoarders…it freaks me out!

    LOVE Halloween in general – cereal, candy, pumpkins and all :). I once dressed up as fruit…yeah…interesting…

  19. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    I think Boo Berry is more up my alley – I also really liked Berry Kix, Berry Captain Crunch, and Cinnamon Toast Crunch! I haven’t had any of those in a long time. Hoarders is so sad! But it’s so hard to pull away from it.

  20. Katie Says:

    I was never a chocolate cereal fan. I know, its sacrilege. I loved Boo Berry though. And Lucky Charms. And Trix. Yeah, I don’t buy cereal. I’d eat it in a day. 🙂

  21. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    I dont consider Count Chocula all that bad. It’s full of sugar, but it’s really not any worse than lots of other things in my opinion. I just consider cereals that are sugar-based to be pretty empty calories, sort of like a glass of wine, but not truly “awful” for you. If you want it and can handle the gluten in it, indulge and enjoy 🙂 Trix, Cocoa Krispies, honey nut cheerios, good old General Mills MN girl here! Loved cereal as a kid but the gluten never liked me. Took me 20 yrs later to figure that out!

    Dressing up…omg girl. I have dressed up. Not really blog comment field appropriate but suffice to say, yes, I have dressed up. Katie above me on this comment, she asked about this the other day and I wrote about my antics in San Francisco dressed up like a cop full on in the Castro. The gay-est part of SF! like 10,000 people. Sex, drugs, & rock and roll…everywhere. It was the wildest massive party I have ever experienced. Good thing I had my handcuffs and whip with me 🙂

  22. Jen Trinque Says:

    I loved Count Chocula! I was only allowed to eat it at my grandparent’s house, though.

    I am afraid of sooo many things, I was just talking to my boyfriend about that tonight! I worry/am afraid about lots of silly things and then bigger things, like if I’m where I should be in my life, if I’ll be successful, if I’m making the right decisions, blah blah blah. He was telling me to say, out loud, I am not afraid, and even that feels scary! Do I sound crazy yet? 🙂

    One time in high school I dressed up, along with my best friend, as underwear. It wasn’t racy or anything, we wore long underwear and then over it boxer shorts and bras or something, and we thought we were quite funny. Ah, to be 16 again.

  23. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    can you believe i’ve never had count chocula or any of those awesome cereals before? my parents wouldn’t let me….sigh…i just remember the commercials were awesome. 🙂

    i’m afraid of bats, which isn’t good considering where i live. you guys should be Bella and Edward for halloween!! j.k…..i’m sure that wouldn’t be very original. :p

  24. itisallaboutbalance Says:

    I actually did a Halloween post as well! 🙂 You can take Peg and AL Bundy on this year??? lol My sister and her hubby did Chucky and the Bride of Chucky and looked great!

    Btw – I used to be so shy growing up. I think just having a job talking to people face to face on a regular basis really gave me the confidence to be so social once I’m out. This does not mean I am comfortable but I some how try to stay calm and collected .. it has worked for the past 6 years so maybe just try to laugh and giggle while purchasing something to start.

    My Mom used to ALWAYS say, “Well, in Pretty Woman Julia Roberts didn’t know what she was doing at the fancy dinner so she just watched everyone and mimicked them.” Lol Swear I still use this example myself!

  25. Shayna Says:

    This year the other half and I are going to be Mario and Luigi. I’m stoked and he isn’t allowed to express his opinion 😀

    I’m afraid of needles. And illnesses. And illnesses involving needles.

    I’m also seeing Count Chocula referred to as a Halloween cereal, but isn’t he hanging out at the store all year round? If it isn’t, it should be.

  26. Pumpkin Pie in Coca-Cola | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Blogroll ← Count Choco-cado-ula […]

  27. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I don’t think I have ever eaten any of those cereals!

    I’m afraid of jelly fish!

  28. Successful September | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] definitely had some indulgences (like the Choco-cado pudding) but I’d say I stuck with my plan pretty well. I also tried out some new recipes like Spelt […]


Leave a Reply

