Respectful Blueberry Muffins

Hi Friends šŸ™‚

I hope you’re having a wonderful day because I am!

It is the last day of September today. It went fast, huh? Tomorrow I plan on giving you all the final update on my September goals, but I do have to confess that I didn’t quite make one of them.

“#4. Read at least 2 non fiction books.”

Well, I finished one book (The Dance of Fear) but I will not be able to finish Love & Respect by the end of the day. Well, I could, but I don’t want to rush myself because I can already tell that I need to take my time and really absorb this book.

The author explains the “secret” to a better marriage. He found it in the Bible in Ephesians 5:33: “Each one of you also must LOVE his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must RESPECT her husband.” He explains that yes, wives need to also love their husbands and husbands need to respect their wives, but the emphasis is on wives respecting their husbands and husbands loving their wives because, according to the author, those are our primary needs.

The first few chapters of the book detail different scenarios and situations between couples — and when reading them I laughed a lot. Arguments sound so silly when you aren’t in them, right?Ā  One story was about a couple who were celebrating their 10 year anniversary. The husband was out shopping for a card and found “the perfect one” — it has the right picture on it, the right message, everything. He comes home, writes a little message on the inside and gives it to his wife that evening. She opens it and makes a face. The husband is waiting for her to say something nice, or to start tearing up. Nothing. Instead, the wife asks “why did you get me a birthday card?” and immediately makes accusations that the husband FORGOT their anniversary. Long story short, the wife ends up being disrespectful to the husband and the husband responds by being unloving. The author refers to this situation as The Crazy Cycle:

Communication is the key to stopping the Crazy Cycle — and knowing what your partner needs. Even in arguements, you can be respectful and loving.

I’ve only begun to dig into this book but I like it so far. Learning about people, relationships and different personalities is really interesting to me! Plus, when I read marriage/relationship books I have the urge to make stuff for Jason, whether it is a card or a baked good šŸ™‚ I try to show him that I appreciate him and all that he does!

Respectful Blueberry Muffins

I used the recipe I love which is *here*. They are dairy free and taste so delicious. I’ve made these with all sorts of flours, so feel free to experiment. Also, I’ve made these with different berries or with nuts instead of fruit.

*And because of the comments yesterday I’ve decided to give Glee a chance…Hulu here I come…*

Questions:

1. What kind of phone do you have? What do you like about it? Right now I have a Blackberry Curve — I love it because of the big screen, the “real” keyboard and the email access. Plus it takes pretty good pictures for a phone! I got my first cell phone at age 23 which was a basic flip phone, then I got a Razr — how cool, right? Then I upgraded to the Blackberry and I don’t think I could ever go back.

2. What has been the best relationship advice you have been given? The best advice I have been given is to choose your battles wisely and to compromise when you can. Obviously if there are big issues and you need to stand your ground, do so. But, if its not that big of a deal, give a little. For example: I am a saver and Jason is a spender. For a while I would freak out about anything he bought — even when he bought me flowers!!! Hello!?!?!?! Now, I have toned it down and although I still prefer to save, I don’t mind as much when we spend extra money. I’m letting go of my inner control freak gradually šŸ™‚

3. Favorite muffin? I love blueberry or banana nut the best. But anything chocolate is ok too šŸ™‚

Enjoy your day!

Holly

23 Responses to “Respectful Blueberry Muffins”

  1. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I have a Droid and I really like it. It is by far the most advanced phone I have ever had. I like getting email on my phone!

    The best relationship advice that I have ever received I think is to always remember that you love your spouse. Even when you’re fighting, even when times are hard, this is the person that you love and have joined your life with. Also, to always make your relationship a top priority even when life is busy and work is stressful and you have kids and dogs and family spinning you in circles, you have to make time for special moments with your spouse.

  2. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Woo-hoo for blueberry muffins! I love healthy muffins and quick breads….I’d have to say my favorites would a tie between Pumpkin-Cranberry-Pecan and Blueberry-Banana-Walnut. Your muffin recipe looks great!

    Have a good day šŸ™‚

  3. Tina Says:

    I’ve heard good things about that book and definitley understand the reasoning behind it. I think it applies to most.

    And what phone do I have? LOL You just wait for how ghetto this is. I have a phone that my husband stole from one of those phone recycling bins. It doesn’t have a camera or a fancy keyboard. Or flip. Or have online connections. It’s pretty dang old.

  4. Kate Says:

    i have a curve too and really like it!

    my fav muffin is either the morning glory or some molassas/spiced with bits of nuts and dried fruit. but my mom’s banana chocolate chip will always hold a special place in my heart šŸ™‚

  5. Matt Says:

    You are gonna love Glee šŸ˜‰ TRUST ME!

  6. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    I have an iphone and I do love it. We are a mac family so really there was not choice in this. As for muffins…pumpkin are my all time favorite!

  7. Nic Says:

    Great questions! (and you’ll love Glee šŸ˜‰
    1. iPhone, and I love it.
    2. Best relationship advice- pick your battles, communicate and be respectful. But most importantly, relationships are hard work and a time commitment. Listen and respect your partner and you’ll have a wonderful relationship.
    3. Poppyseed. Hands down.

  8. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    My work and primary phone is an Iphone,which I like (except when AT&T service goes out). My personal phone, which I never use is an Android. I used have a Razr too – loved it šŸ™‚

    My favorite muffin would have to be anything lemon – such as lemon poppyseed.

  9. Myra Says:

    cran orange muffins are the best things ever.

  10. Katie Says:

    I’m more of a cookie girl than a muffin girl. But if I do eat muffin, I like pumpkin.

    And serisouly, what happened to September?

  11. AllieNic Says:

    I have an Iphone and I love it…I never thought I needed one, and then I got one as a gift…and now I can’t imagine being without it…well, I can imagine it, but I don’t want to!

    I LOVE love LOVE muffins! I’m digging the pumpkin muffins right now, but I have a soft spot for blueberry muffins too…and apple cinnamon…and zucchini….

  12. Beth Says:

    I have a Droid. I like it but because its touch screen, a lot of times I hit the mute button or somehow deactivate the call with my ear while I’m talking. That’s pretty annoying, but other than that I love it. šŸ™‚

  13. Tanya Says:

    I have a Blackberry – I love BB Messenger since a lot of friends & family that live overseas and I can’t send them texts. Fave relationship advice: If you’re always right, then the other person is always wrong. Why would you want the person you love to feel like they’re always wrong (not a very nice feeling). So kind of like you, there are things I might believe I’m right about, might even know it for a fact … but I let it go if it’s not really a big deal, and instead say, maybe you’re right!

  14. eatmovelove Says:

    Oh muffins rock. I love oatmeal (with chocolate-chips, raisins, whatever); definitely carrot; Banana for sure…then there’s blueberry…okay i’ll shut up now…

  15. What Kate Ate Says:

    Chocolate chip muffins all the way! The best relationship advice I got was in regards to friendship. When I was in junior high my best friends and I would always fit and my mom would always say if the relationship is worth it then you’ll say sorry first. Can you tell I was a stubborn child?

  16. Alyssa Says:

    I have a droid, still getting used to it! Like it so far!

    Best marriage advice: never go to bed angry and fight naked!

    Favorite muffin: apple bran muffin from public!

  17. Jessica (Fit and Clean) Says:

    I got some muffins at the store (Publix here down south) and had the best orange/raisin/bran muffin EVER! Aaaahhhh. I think they soaked the raisins in orange juice. šŸ™‚ I’m not great at making stuff from scratch. I think I’ve been cooking too much lately, because stuff hasn’t been turning out, LOL

  18. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    “wives respecting their husbands and husbands loving their wives”–
    THAT IS SO ON POINT!!!

    I think it’s women’s nature to just look at our men and think, are you freaking kidding me, like duh, that xyz is so obvious. Basically not respecting them and their intelligence and competency. And men…yes, they need to just love us more. Tell us, show us, hug us, yes…love!

    That’s great advice. Ive read tons of marital advice books and i cant remember the titles of a few that i liked but will email you if i remember or can find them in a pile somewhere.

    I have a blackberry storm? Not the touchscreen, the keyboard. iphone and ATT gets bad service in CA b/c of mountains, oceans, etc and verizon is the deal. Scott has the droid. I dont want a touchscreen. I think I would hate it. I need my keys. Therefore, blackberry it is.

    Have fun this weekend!!!

    šŸ™‚

  19. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I love the name of the muffins. “Respectful”..I’ve never thought of food that way lol šŸ˜› they look yummy!

    I have a Motorola Droid right now and I love it because it does..everything? It’s the first smart phone I’ve ever had and I think I’d marry it if it were in human form.

    And the best relationship advice I could give is don’t be jealous- it’s pointless and it only causes problems. If you’re with someone you trust (and that trusts you) 100%, you wouldn’t be jealous anyway. Also, don’t keep things from them. Not saying you have to blurt out every single detail, but don’t keep skeletons in your closet. Even if it’s big to you, it’ll be nice to have someone to share it with that you know wont judge you for it.

  20. Wendy Says:

    Mmmm, your blueberry muffoons look yumtastic!

    1. What kind of phone do you have? What do you like about it?
    I have a Verizon Droid and there are many things I like about it and many things I hate about. Used to have an iPhone when we were with AT&T… LOOOOVED the phone, HAAAAATED the network! If Verizon picks up the iPhone then I’ll be a happy, happy girl!

    2. What has been the best relationship advice you have been given?
    Don’t be afraid to say, “I’m sorry.” It goes a long way. Sometimes you truly do have to swallow your pride.

    3. Favorite muffin?
    LEMON POPPY SEED!

  21. Laury @TheFitnessDish Says:

    September went SOOOO fast!!!!!

    Those muffins are lookin sexy to me right now, lol…..I LOVE blueberry muffins šŸ™‚

    Thanks SO SO SO SO much for your sweet and kind words today….you rock, and made my day!

  22. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    um, chocolate. yes. definitely chocolate šŸ™‚

    best relationship advice, hmm….probably forgiveness. forgiving someone even if they don’t say “sorry” (guess that goes with picking your battles.)

    lol….i hate cell phones! i don’t even know what kind of phone mine is, i only got it because i had to have a phone when we moved overseas. and this whole texting thing, i swear, i’ve gotten so used to it that i DREAD making a phone call now!! ironically, they say our communication has actually gotten WORSE with all this technology. :p

  23. Baking Serendipity Says:

    Blueberry muffins are probably my favorite. They are so reliable and always delicious. I could definitely go for one of yours for breakfast in the morning šŸ™‚ PS, I’ve got a giveaway going on that I think you might be interested in šŸ™‚ Stop by and check it out!


Leave a Reply

