Successful September

Hi Friends 🙂

Happy Friday!

30 days hath September and now they are all gone! Can you believe it? Here are my September goals with my final results:

#1 *Exercise consistently: Incorporate TurboFire, running and FBB workouts throughout the week, including at least one rest day and lots of foam rolling.*

 Well, I kind of broke up with running , but I have been exercising at least 4 times per week using Jackie, Jillian, Chalene or FBB:

 I consider myself successful with goal #1.

#2 *Continue to eat well: focus mostly on lean proteins/produce at each meal, with a sprinkle of healthy fats and carbs and a small indulgence here and there.*

I definitely had some indulgences (like the Choco-cado pudding) but I’d say I stuck with my plan pretty well. I also tried out some new recipes like Spelt Pizza, Banana Nut Muffins and Pumpkin Pie Monsters.

#3 *Participate in Tina’s 30 Days of Reflection for Self-Love. I have been loving her series so far and I can’t wait to see the rest of the topics to unfold.  I have battled with low self esteem and self image as long as I can remember, and any guidance is appreciated!*

 I believe I read and posted on every single one of Tina’s DRSL posts and I loved them all. The focus on loving your body, appreciating your gifts and realizing your worth was wonderful and much needed. Check out all the posts here.

#4 *Read at least 2 non fiction books. I read plenty. Unfortunately, I have only been reading the Sookie Stackhouse books (trash!). *

Well, I read all of The Dance of Fear (and loved it). I am well into Love & Respect but I did not finish it. I want to take my time to finish it and absorb it. So, this is still almost a full success!

#5 *Attend church. I haven’t gone to church in months. I think I have a strong faith in God, but I am missing that weekly dose of worship. I plan on attending church every weekend in September.*

 I went to church 2 out of the 4 Sundays in September. I was “too busy” the first 2 Sundays which isn’t an excuse. I need to make time for the important things in my life. I think that by not blogging on the weekends will help me make that time.

#6 *Clean and organize. You’ve seen my garage. This month it goes away. I’m either donating or selling stuff. I need to get my car back in the garage!*

Here is the before picture:

And after:

We got one car in! I donated so many things and we sold a few items on Craigslist (and we’re still selling!) I am considering this a success only because it was such a disaster before. The washer/dryer will be picked up in the next week and the rest of the items will be sold or donated before then. 🙂

#7 *Stay within our budget! Jason and I are in the process of building our savings, and that means not spending a ton of money at Target and Trader Joes. We’ve made our budget and now we just have to stick to it.*

SUCCESS!!! I stayed within our food budget – with money to spare! And our other expenses were kept to a minimum which was wonderful. Our savings is growing 🙂 I would consider these goals mostly met if not completely met. Yes I didn’t finish the whole book or go to church every Sunday, and the garage isn’t completely cleaned out, but I did my best and I did darn good!

I’ll be posting tomorrow about my goals for October – one of which is to improve the blog! As you can see I am now a Foodbuzz featured publisher — I’m important now! 🙂 This weekend I’ll be updating a lot of the tabs, the header, the theme, everything.

Celebratory mug of tea:

Questions:

  1. Any fun plans for the weekend? Jason and I are going to the Twins game tomorrow and then we have a 10 mile race on Sunday morning. Um, remember how I was going to have someone else take my place? The girl who was going to run instead can’t do it anymore, so I’m going to run. I might walk most of the time, but I’m going to have fun and give it a go. After that we are going to a birthday party. Busy busy busy!
  2. How was your September? Any highlights? September went by so quickly! I think it was nice having a focus (my goals) and it really kept me going all month.
  3.  What are you looking forward to during the month of October? I am looking forward to Pumpkin Carving — which we do every year at Jason’s mom’s house. We go every year. Last year I carved my pumpkin (one of those harder ones where you use a template) and I set it on a counter and turned to throw something away when I accidentally knocked my pumpkin onto the ground. I literally started to tear up since I had just spent HOURS on that dumb thing!!! So this year I will make a spectacular pumpkin that I will not smash ahead of time 😦

***Check out Lisa’s Blogiversary giveaway on I’m an Okie: she’s giving away the Insanity set along with other cool stuff!***

**And if you haven’t already, go to The Fitness Dish and congratulate Laury!**

Enjoy your weekend!

Holly

24 Responses to “Successful September”

  1. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Thanks, sweetie for the shout out 🙂 🙂 🙂

    I love how your made all these goals and had a pretty productive September! I can’t believe it’s over! My highlight, well, you know my highlight already 😀

    Thanks again, love yah xxoo

  2. Alyssa Says:

    Congrats on your success! Happy october!

  3. Tina Says:

    Woohoo! You did great on your September goals. Progress is always a great thing. 🙂

  4. Matt Says:

    Congrats on your great month!

  5. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) Says:

    Have a great time at the race and congrats on achieving your Sept. goals! Haha I love that you have so many workout buds 🙂

  6. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Congrats on staying on top of your goals! The garage looks awesome! It’s always nice to actually have room for cars in those things! We can only fit one in ours back home. 😛

    I’m looking forward to Halloween and going to DC with the family for a weekend (hopefully I’ll be able to go). Oh, and for it to feel like Fall continuously for a change 🙂

  7. itisallaboutbalance Says:

    Nice job! Sounds like you did really good sticking to your goals!! Cleaning eeh spare me pleaseee! But you worked your booty off! It’s my bday in October so I am certainly looking forward to that and Halloween haha that’s all! 🙂

  8. Beth Says:

    Wow good for you for accomplishing so many goals! Highlight of September for me was finishing my first half marathon!

  9. Myra Says:

    good job FOO!!!!!

  10. Healthy Coconut Says:

    Hey Holly,

    Good job on achieving your goals. I’m always trying to help my friends/family with financial planning and savings, so I’m glad to see that you included that in your goals, Yippee for saving!!!

    I think it’s great that you have monthly goals, …it works for me to have goals to work towards, it gives me purpose to everything that I do. I’m curious to see what your October goals are.

    ~Lea

  11. eatmovelove Says:

    Holy crap – you are way too successful for me 😉

    And yay for Banana Nut Muffins 🙂

  12. Emily (A Nutritionist Eats) Says:

    You did an awesome job with your goals! Very impressive!!
    I hope the run/walk goes well this weekend! 🙂

  13. Katie Says:

    Great job meeting all your goals. That is really impressive!

    I really don’t even remember September, it went by so fast. Are you sure it happened?

  14. Heather Says:

    the garage looks awesome! now if only i could my hubby to help me with ours… 🙂

  15. TheHealthyApron Says:

    Glad to see you’ve met most of your goals for september!! Seems like you did great!!

  16. Lisa Says:

    Great job with your goals girl! be proud! =)

  17. lisaou11 Says:

    heck yaeh you did great with your goals! I think the garage is HUGE! it looks so much better.

  18. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Congratulations, Holly! Your goals are definitely an inspiration to me…thank you for sharing with all of us!

    I’m super excited about an event I’ve been planning at my work–we’re hosting a former “Biggest Loser” contestant all-day Saturday (Jenn Widder from season 5) to do programming with our students. Woo hoo! I’ve got a million questions to ask her about the show already 🙂

    Enjoy your weekend!

  19. kbwood Says:

    seriously LOVE how you have made church a priority.. keep fighting the GOOD FIGHT lovely!!!! you are awesome!
    GOOD LUCK ON YOUR RACE!!!

  20. peacebeme Says:

    September did go by too quickly! I love our September here in Denver because the weather was sooo nice the whole month! 🙂

    I love how you do these goals – you set goals and challenge yourself yet don’t expect to be perfect at them and always see your progress…I don’t know how to explain it but it seems like a great way to go about it and is inspiring.

  21. Mimi (Gingersnaps) Says:

    I think you’ve done great! Keep it up! I always say dream big, so you’ll wind up somewhere close at least!

  22. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Love that you met your goals! And yes, I would say you by far and away “met” them! My god your garage is like a tv show before and after, after the merry maids and cleaning crew comes to de-junk the house…only you were your own cleaning crew 🙂

    And glad you have savings and that it’s building and you had money to spare. THAT is an amazing feeling, in this economy no less, such a well done job!

    Congrats on becoming a FB Featured Publisher! Just wait for those checks to start rolling in!!!!

    And rock that RACE!!!!!!!!!!

    🙂

  23. BIOCHEMISTA Says:

    Holy accomplishments!!!! You rock!!! What wonderful goals too! 🙂

    Have a fantastic weekend!!

    -Laur

  24. 40apples Says:

    Holly you are awesome!! Congrats on all those accomplishments! It seems to be really worth it to make monthly goals – the time frame is more attainable but also long enough to be habit-making… You’re inspiring me to do it too!

    For Oct I’m looking forward to my new job, cooler weather, pumpkins, Halloween, sweaters.. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!!
    x


Leave a Reply

