Bones & Bread

Hi Friends :)

I’m glad you were all intrigued by the Pumpkin Tofu – be sure to check out Averie’s recipe page for more interesting Tofu creations.

I am STILL SORE from Sunday’s race. I have been taking baths at night, foam rolling and stretching daily. Each day I feel a little bit better, but the pain still persists! I hope to get back into exercise this weekend. This week I’ve been taking walks but that is about it.

First, lets talk BONES:

I finished the book a few weeks ago and I finally got around to watching the movie. There are *SPOILERS* so beware if you plan on watching the film or reading the book. Scroll down to “Bread” to avoid the spoilers.

**

I found both the book and movie very depressing. And, the best part of the book (when Susie enters Ruth’s body and she and Ray make love) – wasn’t in the movie! I didn’t like how the movie showed that scene. It was very disappointing to be honest. I thought they had perfectly cast Mr. Harvey (what a creep!) but I imagined Ray to look different than he did in the movie. I did enjoy most of the characters, and I loved “getting to know” Susie. I just wish it had moved a little quicker. Ok maybe there weren’t real spoilers there, but I’d hate to ruin part of the book/movie for anyone.

**

BREAD:

HEAB posted a recipe for Chocolate Rice Bread that sounded to easy to be true. Regardless of how easy it seemed to be, I still messed it up! This is how it looked after I tried to cut a piece (and after it had cooled for almost an hour!)

I thought I followed the directions, but something went very wrong here! Heather I still love your recipes and I’ll have to try this again!

**

More BONES:

My sister Leah gave this cabinet to me over 10 years ago – it moved to college with me, back home and to my current house. It is time to say goodbye. A friend is going to give him a new home. Sorry, this isn’t a giveaway :)

Have you ever seen a more terrifying piece of furniture???

**

Questions:

1. Have you ever seen a movie that is better than the book? I sure hope no one writes Twilight on here – the books are waaaay better than those movies.

2. What book are you currently reading? What do you think of it so far? I am reading Love & Respect and I am enjoying reading more about relationships and communication. I need some ideas for what to read next.

3. How do you take care of muscle soreness? Generally for me, foam rolling and rest takes care of it. A little soreness is no big deal, but I can barely make it up the steps without saying “ow, ow, ow!”

It’s almost Friday!

Holly

34 Responses to “Bones & Bread”

  1. Nathan Marcello Says:

    I enjoyed reading the lovely bones. It was better than I expected.

  2. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    It’s hard to find a movie that’s better than the book but I have to say Twilight did a pretty decent job of it. Just kidding!! The movie didn’t even come close to the books at all.

    Seriously, the Lord of the Rings trilogy did a good job of bringing the original books to life and I think they even encouraged some to read the stories who hadn’t before seeing the movie. Love those movies.

    • eatmovelove Says:

      LOL – I actually seen the first Twilight movie before I even read or really heard about the popularity of the books. I found the movie…weird…but compelling in a weird, non-sensical way…causing me to watch it the next night again…and getting “sucked in” (excuse the pun!). :)

  3. Jessica @ Fit & Clean Says:

    If you’re really sore after a few days it there could be a lot of different causes! You might want to try a recovery drink after your races that have L-Glutamine in them if you don’t already, or drink a drink with some sugar in it which also aids in the recovery process by replacing the glycogen stores in your body. (If you don’t already!) :)

  4. Kate Says:

    that cabinet is too much! my neighbor in our apartment building keeps a skeleton on her door all year and has a skeleton rug and shoes with a skull and cross bones on them. if the dude taking your cabinet falls thru, i am sure she would love it :)

  5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    With cakes-I always find it a success if the cake tastes yummy not how it looks ha.

    For sore muscles-I take an ice bath and which is always hard for me because I hate the cold.

  6. Matt Says:

    Sometimes some light activity helps with soreness. Try a light bike ride or a swim.

  7. Heather Eats Almond Butter Says:

    Sore muscles? MASSAGE and hot baths. Ice and ice baths are great immediately following a race to reduce inflammation, but a day or two after moist heat will get the blood circulating and help speed healing, and massage will work wonders.

    Currently reading The Red Tent, but not even 20 pages into it. Will have to report back on that one.

    Never like movies better than books, except for maybe the Notebook. I do not like Nicolas Sparks’ books – he writes like a 25 year old woman, but I did like watching the Notebook.

    Did not like Lovely Bones – gave me the heebie jeebies. Never saw the movie as the book was disturbing enough.

    So sorry about the bread…but nothing wrong with a little chocolate rice mush! ;)

  8. mostlyfitmom Says:

    The only movie I can think of was The Shining. Jack Nicholson’s performance was obviously amazing, while the book was sort of…meh. The endings are different, and I found the movie’s ending more satisfying.

    Not reading anything but notes and textbooks these days.

    For soreness, I take a warm bath, even though it doesn’t really do anything but make me feel looser. Really, there’s nothing you can do for soreness except wait it out!

  9. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    I never read Lovely Bones but I actually really liked the movie. My favorite part was the depiction of heaven/afterlife, and Stanley Tucci did an awesome job acting.

    As far as muscle soreness, I find that stretching really well right after the workout is key. If you hurt after 24 hours I think that’s called Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness. For me, the only thing that can help that is a little ibuprofen and knowing that I’ll be back in good shape (and with STRONGER muscles – your body hurts because it’s building and repairing muscle) after 48-72 hours. Ice baths are for right after extremely intense workouts… I think doing an ice bath more than 24 hours afterwards is just torturing yourself ;) Oops I just saw Heather said the same thing. Warm baths are key if it’s not immediately after the workout :)

  10. Alyssa Says:

    to combat soreness I keep working out :-) get all the lactic acid out!

  11. Beth Says:

    I looooved The Lovely Bones. It’s been years since I’ve read it but it was one of my favorites at the time! Muscle soreness is tough – – I usually pop an advil if its bad and I’ve heard ice baths are the best remedy right after the run but I’m too chicken for that!

  12. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Three cheers for almost Friday! I didn’t care for Lovely Bones–I have a strange inability to enjoy books about things that couldn’t happen in real life (can’t do the whole Harry Potter thing!). I’m reading Alice Hoffman’s “Here on Earth” right now–it’s quite good.

    For muscle soreness, I just try to keep moving (but gentle and easy!). For instance, on really sore days, I sometimes stand at my desk at work, and stretch occasionally–sitting at my desk for a few hours when I’m sore makes for a painful lunch break when I have to stand up again!

  13. Peggy Says:

    I never read the book, The Lovely Bones, and I thought the movie was okay, but dragged on. I recently joined a Book Club and the first book we chose to read was “Water For The Elephants”… and so far, it’s not too bad!

  14. grocery goddess jen Says:

    I feel like I did recently see a movie that was better than the book…oh, The Devil Wears Prada. I read the book after seeing the movie, and it just wasn’t nearly as good. I liked the book Lovely Bones way better than the movie, as it moved so darn slow!

    I just finished reading The Help and it was excellent! I’m not sure what I’ll pick up next, though.

  15. 1970kikiproject Says:

    i really didn’t like the Lovely Bones in book form, so i have no desire to see the movie. i’ll take your review on it, instead!
    sore muscles: easy/light walking, stretching gently, resting up. a good time to do further experiments in your kitchen!

  16. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Actually, I’ve never seen a movie that better than it’s book and I wholeheartedly agree – the Twilight books are so much better than those movies (horrible acting, cheesy lines – don’t get me started!).

  17. What Kate Ate Says:

    Right now Im reading Tales of a Female Nomad and so far its pretty good! I love travel inspired stories a la Eat Pray Love.

  18. Nic Says:

    I just finished The Shack. I liked it… honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever met a book that I didn’t like!

    If I’m sore I usually do some light cardio to keep the blood moving and lay off the weights. Also, I think a glass of wine helps! Ok, I made that last part up ;)

  19. Tina Says:

    I would have to say that I hated that book and movie. They were just so odd to me. I do think that A Walk To Remember was better as a movie than a book. And in general, Nicholas Sparks books made into movies are done really well.

    For muscle soreness, I stretch and foam roll the heck out of my body.

  20. Lauren @ 40Apples Says:

    I love that cabinet! So cool. Looks Mexican?

    I liked Eat Pray Love the book better than the movie… and The Golden Compass (one of the favorite books of all time!! not sure if anyone else has even read it…it’s YA, but intelligent YA ;) ) . The GC movie was HORRID compared.

    Treat yourself to a massage! You’ve earned it, after that run!

  21. Katie Says:

    I read the book and thought it was just okay. I usually don’t bother with movies made from books because they are always disappointing. I’m reading the last Harry Potter book (again) right now, and even though the books are MUCH better than the movies, I still love them. And I am going to start watching them all (again) this weekend. :D

  22. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I take care of my muschle soreness with plenty of yoga and TLC :P..but mainly yoga

  23. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i think i’m the only person on the planet who hasn’t read The Lovely Bones, or Eat Pray Love, or the Twilight series. (gulp. i know!) i read mostly random stuff, just walk into the library and choose whatever looks good. i’m SO not hip.

    take care of yourself, over there! aside from what you mentioned, i don’t really have any great advice. oh wait – compression pants. yay for compression pants! :)

  24. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    I saw that recipe of Heabs and was so intrigued– sorry it didnt work out so hot for you but i bet it tasted good :) even if it wasnt as purr-ty as you wished :)

    The book, havent read, and now i wont. I dont have time in my life to be scared or creeped out or whatever…I want to read things that wont give me nightmares or haunt me as that can tend to happen w/ my over active brain…I think about the book/movie for a longggg time afterward.

    Muscle soreness? 2 shots of tequilla maybe? KIDDING!!!!!
    Massage, lots of drinking water, hot bath/shower, time.
    :)

  25. Tori @ FIToriBLOG.com Says:

    OMG – I am sooo w/ you on the Twilight books. The movies sucked. The books were great. The skinny jeans and poor acting ruined the movies for me. THE ONLY MOVIE THAT I THINK IS BETER THAN THE BOOK….The Notebook. LOVED the movie. The book was ok.
    Loved Eat Pray Love but haven’t seen the movie. I’m thinking the book will be “different” – both good but in different ways! I still haven’t seen it yet!

  26. leashieloo Says:

    Eee! That skull piece is super creepy, I would be unable to handle it in my house. To this day, I hide a porcelain clown I dubbed Dr. Giggles because my imagination gets super crazy when it comes to creepiness!

  27. eatmovelove Says:

    I started to read that book years, years, ago. And then stopped because it disturbed me. I don’t like to read anything that has anything to do with rape or sexual abuse and stuff…I know it’s a real part of life…but it’s so disturbing.

    What did you do with the bread?! …hmm – pudding maybe? ;). Mine cooked in about 25 minutes, could have went a bit longer though really. Try freezing it maybe to harden it up :)

  28. Chelsea Says:

    The one time I thought that the movie was better than the book is Shawshank Redemption. It’s actually a short story in an anthology by Stephen King. Everything that’s in the story made it into the movie, which is abnormal. Usually the books are better because they tell so much more.

  29. Sherris (lungs quicken) Says:

    I think my sisters keeper was screwed up royally in the movie. They completely changed the meaning of the story. As far as muscle soreness goes I foam roll, use trigger point therapy, have a shower that alt hot and cold, do a mobility wod http://mobilitywod.blogspot.com/… and continue to workout through the soreness it generally gets better.

  30. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Umm… can’t remember any movies that were better than the book at the moment, but I’m sure there must be some. With Eat Pray Love I don’t know because I haven’t read the book and with Lovely Bones I have read the book but could not make myself watch the movie, the book was too sad.

  31. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    That cabinet is very appropriate for this time of year!

  32. Myra Says:

    you’re out of the family for getting rid of the skeleton


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

