Smells Like Squash

Happy Friday Friends :)

It is almost the weekend and I couldn’t be happier – time to relax and unwind. Last weekend was so busy for Jason and me – Twins game, birthday party, 10 mile race. Ok that doesn’t sound like much, but to me that is too much for one weekend! I like having at least one lazy day.

Thursday night I finally cracked open the spaghetti squash. It took me quite a while to get the thing cut in half! But I did, and after following these instructions I had this:

It smelled like..squash. :) But I knew once I poured the beef/tomato sauce mixture (plus some Garlic Gold) on top it would be wonderful:

And it was! I really didn’t know what to expect – I’ve had spaghetti squash years ago and I think it was just topped with butter – either way I didn’t remember it at all. But I will definitely make this again. I’d love to try Jessica’s Squash and Cheese. If I had had any soy cheese I would have tried it last night, but I thought I’d stay safe and go the marinara meat sauce route :)

***

I know I just ran that 10 mile race on Sunday – and before that I had kind of decided to not run anymore – but I’m changing my mind. It felt so good to MOVE outside in the fresh air. And when I read Beck on the Run, N Her Shoes and The Kitchen of a Runner I start to feel like I want to run more.

The reason I bring this up is that I am considering training for another marathon next year. Grandma’s Marathon in Duluth, MN is celebrating its 35th year and somehow that is really tugging at me to train again. I have time to decide, to register, to train and all that. But I wanted to put it in the blog to make it more permanent, you know?

If you’ve read my first marathon story, then you know that it didn’t really go as planned. In a way I want to try it again to see how I do. If I give 100% again, what will my outcome be? I’m excited just thinking about it.

***

Questions:

1. What are your plans for the weekend? Anything fun? Do you like to have 1 lazy day like me? What will you be doing on 10-10-10?

2.  Do you like participating in events? What was your favorite one? To be honest, one day I would love to run the Boston Marathon — I think I would feel very accomplished if I were to qualify and run that race.

3. Favorite fall treat so far this year? I really liked the Pumpkin Pie Smoothie I made last week and of course the Pumpkin Banana Bread was delicious as well. I can’t wait for Pumpkin Pie at Thanksgiving :)

Have a great weekend!

Holly

30 Responses to “Smells Like Squash”

  1. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Happy Friday! More power to you as you consider training for a marathon. As long as you’re having fun while doing it–that’s the most important part :)

    Hoping to see “The Social Network” this weekend, and going out for sushi tonight. Favorite fall treat so far this year has definitely been a toss-up between butternut squash risotto and pumpkin cookies (let’s be honest though: the cookies always win!)

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Matt Says:

    Thanks for the shout out :) You will rock that race!

  3. Tina Says:

    Training for a marathon is a big task. Something to do if you feel really into doing it, but definitely to take careful consideration. Which I know you’ll do. :)

    And I NEED one low key day per weekend!

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Training for a marathon is one of the biggest challenge but I can imagine it is worth it when crossing the finishing line. Good luck but I’m sure you will do well.

    This weekend I’m just catching up on my sleep hehe.

  5. Alyssa Says:

    I’m possibly doing a marathon in January :-) I hope my sister lets me know in time so I can do a bit of training!

  6. Cyndi @ Weightless Life Says:

    Thank goodness for the weekend. I love having a lazy day where I can just hang out and not worry. My favorite event that I’ve done so far was a 5k trail race. I had such a good time doing it that I know I’ll be back next year.

  7. Allison Says:

    I recently went through a phase were I considered giving up running, or racing at least. It happened while training for my second marathon. But once I ran it and finished I realized that I was just burned out! I think you should give it another go!
    ~Allison
    Fit&Fab Living

  8. Katie Says:

    I always have at least one lazy day. Usually Sunday morning is spent in the kitchen and the afternoon is spent reading. Its the best way to get ready for the week.

    I don’t think I can pick a fall favorite. Everything is so good. That chili was tasty. But so was that pumpkin ice cream I made last night! YUM.

  9. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Happy Friday!! Thanks for the Spaghetti Squash recipe! Looks great!!

    We plan to watch the Phillie all weekend!!!!

  10. Heather Says:

    oh my gosh i am craving spaghetti squash like no other! YUM!

  11. Salah Says:

    I need to make some of that spaghetti squash soon!!! My plans for the weekend is to play lots of beach volleyball (well sand, b/c dallas doesnt have a beach haha) , coaching, homework, and church :-)

  12. lizlivingvegan Says:

    Yum!! I love spaghetti squash!!! It’s definitely a challenge to cut open, but it’s worth the struggle! :) I have a three day weekend thanks to Columbus Day, so I’m going camping! woohoo!

  13. Dorry Says:

    This weekend is my 10-year high school reunion! Hard to believe it’s been so long. :) We’re skipping the football game part tonight but planning to go to the big party tomorrow night. I’m still friends with a bunch of people from high school so it should be fun!

  14. Leianna Says:

    I’m thinking about running Grandma’s next year too. I love everything about Duluth and just having a baby and missing running is fueling my ambition for running a marathon!
    My favorite fall treat so far this year is pumpkin zucchini white chocolate chip bread I made and froze before having baby! So good and isn’t going to last long in the freezer!

  15. Bree@beeskneeslife Says:

    Congrats on already having done a marathon. I know people love Grandmas. I think the first time I met someone in real life who had run a marathon had run Grandmas. I had just started Cross Country and was in awe that anyone could run 26.2 miles! A friend of mine did the half a few years ago and really enjoyed it. It would be fun to make a weekend of it and spend a few nights near Tofte/Lutsen, too.

    Favorite fall item right now: Pumpkin ales and Oktoberfest beers :)

  16. MelissaNibbles Says:

    I’m making spaghetti squash for Sunday dinner. YUM!
    I say if you want to run the marathon, then go for it. It’s not like you can’t change your mind if you don’t feel up to it. Just train smart and listen to your body :)

  17. Naomi(onefitfoodie) Says:

    pumpkin bread this time of year is amazing!!! someone at work made pumpkin scones that looked delicious too!! i told him to make more :)

  18. Wendy Says:

    Holly, your spaghetti squash looks great! Hmmm, might have to try that soon! I used to be totally grossed out by the stringiness of spaghetti squash but I would be up for trying it again, especially in place of actual noodles.

    1. What are your plans for the weekend? Anything fun? Do you like to have 1 lazy day like me? What will you be doing on 10-10-10?
    I DEFINITELY love having one lazy day. Doesn’t happen often at all, but to have one entire Saturday or one entire Sunday to be lazy is blissful every now and then!
    Let’s see….. 10/10/10 is Sunday so I’ll be hanging out down at my mom and dad’s. We’re heading there tomorrow for an overnighter so I can go to with my sister and a bunch of friends to the Chicago Hauntings Tour!!

    2. Do you like participating in events? What was your favorite one?
    Very much. My favorite one so far was the Green Bay Cellcom Half Marathon last May. At the end we got to run through Lambeau Field (where the Packers play). REALLY neat experience!

    3. Favorite fall treat so far this year?
    Pumpkin oats!

  19. 40apples Says:

    Great idea with the spag squash! I’m glad you liked it this time around…. I’ve fallen madly in love with ’em – but I do always pair it with a hearty sauce, and I think that’s key.

    I like participating in events that I care about (I know that sounds obvious.. haha) – either a cause I believe in or some cultural thing I’m inspired by. I’ve not really done many fitness-type events like races, though they do sound like fun!

  20. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    i think I told you this before but I RAN GRANDMA’S MARATHON WITH SCOTT!!!!!! Such a MN tradition and it was a great race, so wonderful, good ole down home Duluth folks on their front porch cheering you on! We were living in Myrtle Beach at the time, trained all summer in the heat and humidity of the south and flew “home” to MN to run it. My extended family was thrilled and it got me out of going there over Xmas or cold holidays when i wont set foot in the state :) Do it if you want!

    However, caveat. I learned this when I did my fitness show. You may want to just be a bit careful how much you post about it as the time draws nearer. Nothing like 5000 of your closest friends HOVERING at their computer the evening of the race and sending you emails asking you how you did, what your time/rank was, etc…this totally happened to me for my fitness show in June. It was a huge lesson to not post things that will just ADD pressure. Accountability to the world is one thing, feeling pressure from “the world” is another. For me, it was the later. Not sayin this will happen to you and we are all different but just my lil .02 on the matter to be a bit selective with how many deets you share :)

  21. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    Good for you deciding to do something you want to do. Sometimes it takes saying I just don’t want to, to make you rethink it! Spaghetti squash does smell like squash, but it is so good with sauce! Glad you liked it! I haven’t had pumpkin muffins yet, but I can’t wait because that really is my favorite fall treat…oh and crustless pumpkin pie! Have a great weekend…I will be working on my husband’s studio/my office!

  22. eatmovelove Says:

    You’ve run a marathon before?! Wow. And now another? Good for you no matter what you decide.

    I’m loving anything banana or pumpkin :).

    …thank you so much for your comment…it almost felt like a relief to have someone just say to take the risk…the problem is that it will lose me out on a lot of money…a lot…because i’m in an apartment lease now and still have 1/2 a year on it…but God, i want to go…but the money …blah :(

  23. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    that’s awesome that you’ve got the running bug back!! i’ve only ran one official race, a 9k, and it was THE BEST TIME EVER!! loved the excitement of it all, only thing i didn’t like was the 13,000 people. :P as you can imagine, it was pretty congested, but that ain’t nothing compared to one race my husband did with 80,000….(and no, that wasn’t a typo. :p)

    this weekend is a lot of the same. seeing friends, church, hopefully a run somewhere. hope you’re enjoying yours! :)

  24. Samantha @ Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans Says:

    I think its great that you are considering another marathon. I have yet to do one but even in training for a 1/2 I know how tough it can be but also so rewarding too.

  25. Jessica@tastyandtrim Says:

    My favorite fall treats so far this year are the pumpkin spice fro-yo from Red Mango, pumpkin spice lattes from Starbucks, and the pumpkin french toast I whipped up last week! Here’s the recipe in case you’re interested http://tastyandtrim.com/?p=1445 Have a great weekend :)

  26. runningaroundnormal Says:

    The running bug can be very contagious, right? :)
    I’m the same way about my weekends – I need one lazy day, or at least one lazy half day!

  27. Becky Says:

    Thanks for the shoutout! A fun race can really re-energize the running spirit! It sounds like your ten miler did just that. Since you’ve run a marathon before, you know what to expect…I will soon find out! It’s nice to know that you have plenty of time to prepare. I’d love to run a big race with some meaning. An anniversary race sounds like fun!

  28. Jessica @ Fit & Clean Says:

    I’ve been thinking about picking running back up recently as well. I burned out over the summer but I’ve been missing it lately! I’ve been trying pumpkin recipes lately…pumpkin muffins (not bad) and pumpkin souffle (not great at all). Try, try again, LOL

  29. Lindsay {Designer Wife} Says:

    I loooove Spaghetti Squash! We halved & baked on last week and topped it with a vegan “cream” sauce, it was amazing! :)

    Favorite fall treat right now? Definitely homemade pumpkin spice lattes :)

  30. Deja Vu | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] I mentioned a few days ago that I was thinking about training for Grandmas Marathon again next spring, but to be honest I have changed my mind every day since then. So I’ll keep […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

