Pumpkin Apple Stuffed French Toast

Hi Friends ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Friday!!!

Another flower shot:

They are blooming so beautifully!

Breakfast was glorious this morning. Iโ€™ve been eating oatmeal or eggs for breakfast for weeks, so I think I made the perfect substitute:

(can you see the layer of apple in there?)

Pumpkin Apple Stuffed French Toast

Ingredients:

4 slices of bread

1 large apple, cored, peeled and thinly sliced

2 eggs

1 cup almond milk

ยฝ cup pumpkin

Vanilla, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice to taste (I just used a dash and sprinkle of each)

Sprinkle of sugar (1 tbsp worth?)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Coat a baking dish with non-stick spray (or butter) and place 2 pieces of bread in the dish. Depending on what bread you use and what dish you have, yours could look completely different from mine. I cut the bread to fill up the dish more. Place sliced apples on top of the bread.

Mix together remaining ingredients and pour half of the mixture over the bread/apples.

I poured enough to cover the bottom layer. Place the last 2 slices of bread on top and cover with the rest of the egg/milk mixture. Use a spatula or spoon to squish the bread and get it all saturated with that pumpkin goodness.

Cover with foil and bake for 25 minutes, then uncover and bake for an additional 10-15.

Yum. I am not exaggerating when I say this tasted like pumpkin pie! And the apples provided such a lovely soft layer in the middle.

*

I took your advice yesterday and returned those condiments. Iโ€™m sure down the road I would โ€œneedโ€ them, but for now, Iโ€™d rather have my money back. ๐Ÿ™‚

And yes that is a $10 bill, the biggest reason I wanted to return those items. What can I say, I’m a cheapass. I felt awkward returning food, but the clerk was super nice and acted like this happens all the time! (and like I mentioned yesterday, it was 3 bottled condiments, all sealed up and never used)

*

What are your plans for the weekend? Tomorrow night Jason and I are babysitting our niece โ€“ Iโ€™m sure sheโ€™ll cry the whole time for Mommy and Daddy (Jasonโ€™s brother). She usually does that!

Are you a spender or a saver? I am definitely a saver and Jason is a total spender — it keeps us balanced I think. I like to shop for deals, and if something isn’t “perfect” for me (doesn’t fit quite right, not on sale, etc) I don’t get it. We just spent months (and we aren’t even done yet!) going through the stuff in our house and getting rid of stuff. We sure don’t need more unless we FOR SURE want it!

Have you checked out the Great Blogger Pumpkin Carving Contest?

Check out Lisaโ€™s Giveaway for a CSN gift card and Kateโ€™s Giveaway for a Macyโ€™s gift card ๐Ÿ™‚

Enjoy your Friday!

Holly

23 Responses to “Pumpkin Apple Stuffed French Toast”

  1. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    You’re right – your breakfast looks absolutely glorious. Mmm. I’ve never made French toast in the oven – seems easy enough though.

    And, I’m a spender and a saver. I love to have and manage my budget so I can buy the things I want. Works out well.

  2. Michelle (Housewife in the Raw) Says:

    Wow – I’m impressed you make such a fancy breakfast on a weekday morning. My weekdays usually consist of a smoothie and maybe oatmeal.

    I’m a saver and the husband is too, so we can be a bit cheap at times. Of the two of us, I spend more, but that’s not saying much. It’s worked out well since we decided for me to stay home with the kids. Going from two incomes to one was tough, but we could afford it and now I get to be with my kids each day. Granted some days I would pay to go to work and get a break. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Wow that looks extremely good. You know I’m a pancake girl but I think I’m going to give up pancakes for the day sometime soon and make some yummy french toast. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Kate Says:

    i was drooling from simply reading the title of your post. YUM! thanks for the shout on the giveaway and have a lovely weekend!

  5. Matt Says:

    Looks good! I will be right over to eat the leftovers.

  6. Alyssa Says:

    I like to think i save pretty well, but i do buy things sporatically!

  7. lizlivingvegan Says:

    I’m a saver!! And yes, I think it’s good to be balanced out with a spender ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s how my parents are! It seems to work!!

    That french toast looks sooo yummy! Perfect for a cool, fall morning!

  8. Beth @ Beth's Journey to Thin Says:

    Wow that breakfast looks unreal!! A nice switch up from eggs and oats, I completely agree. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Katie Says:

    I am sending this recipe to my mom – she makes a baked french toast thing, but this looks so much better!

    I think returning food happens more than we know. I’ve done it a couple times. I’ve even returned opened ice cream that was freezer burned. Why pay for something you aren’t going to eat?

  10. Dorry Says:

    Your breakfast looks amazing! I think you’ve inspired me to have something other than oats for breakfast tomorrow.

    I’m a saver….Billy’s a bit of both but definitely more of a spender than me. And I TOTALLY would have returned the condiments. I returned a pair of $5 leggings to Target 2 days ago when I found my favorite pair hidden in another drawer. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope things go well with babysitting – happy weekend!

  11. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Ohhh my goodness. I must try these! I havent had French toast in forever so this seems like the perfect recipe to get back into it with. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m a saver when it comes to my money, but a definite spender with my parent’s money. I splurge on groceries I wouldn’t normally buy whenever I’m home visiting and then bring them back with me. haha!

  12. Dana @ my little celebration Says:

    Just found your blog. So cute! I really like your natural look in your profile pic! I’m trying to rock a more natural look myself these days : )

    Great idea on the french toast. I’ve tried pumpkin waffles and pumpkin pancakes, but haven’t tried pumpkin with frenchy yet. Thanks for the great idea!

  13. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Unfortunately I’m a spender… I’m not good at saving at all!

  14. Emily (A Nutritionist Eats) Says:

    That looks heavenly!! I’ve never made baked french toast. Was it kind of custard-y?

  15. Jaime Says:

    Hi! I just found your blog and I Love it! I will back for some more yummy recipes! I am also putting you on my “Inspirational Blog List” because well, you inspire me! ๐Ÿ˜‰ See ya soon….

  16. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Wow! THAT BREAKFAST LOOKS UNREAL! How creative!!!!! Gimme some, plzzzzzzzzz ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Glad you were able to return your condiments! Have a great weekend!

  17. eatmovelove Says:

    Holy freaking God – those look SO good! Genius!

  18. tricia Says:

    Yum yum yum! (I know that’s not a very original comment, but holy yum ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Becky Says:

    That breakfast looks absolutely divine! I’m all about the pumpkins and apples these days!

  20. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    I am both a saver and spender. I can save and skrimp and be frugal but when it comes to wanting something, i.e. a car or a vacation or whatever it is, those are NOT the times I save and try to go el cheapo. I would defi take $10 worth of condiments back..that’s not be cheap, that’s being practical!!! Big difference ๐Ÿ™‚

    Those flowers are amazing…wish i could get some week-long lasters like that!

    And the recipe…so good looking! I never ever buy eggs. I may have to as scott would adore that. Gluten + eggs…never met a man who didnt like them ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Natalie Says:

    I’m a spender when I feel like it’s worth it and a saver the rest of the time! Lucky for me, my husband is the same way.

    I’ve never baked french toast in the oven but it looks good AND easy…I might have to try ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Jessica (Fit and Clean) Says:

    A lot of the grocery stores will return even opened stuff. They run under the premise that the customer is always right. I used to work at one, and that was drilled into me ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Angeal (the diet book junkie) Says:

    oh yeah, i’m definitely the saver in our household. but i guess it’s good the husband is a spender, otherwise i’d never DO anything ๐Ÿ™‚

    that French Toast looked amazing, btw. (did you used canned pumpkin or pumpkin-pumpkin?) so much more creative than my famous bowl of cereal, that’s for sure!


Leave a Reply

