Sweetest Day Pumpkin Butter

Hi Friends!

What are you up to today?

I am expecting our Craigslist buyers to pick up our washer and dryer this morning, and then I can swiftly move my car into the garage! Yes it was a September goal to get the garage clear, but I am soooo happy that it gone done AT ALL. The few extra weeks weren’t so bad 🙂

I figured out our Halloween costumes! I picked up a few things at Goodwill and JoAnn Fabrics:

Any guesses what we are going as? Here’s your clue:

Making our own costumes will be so much cheaper than buying ones already made – the total cost of supplies was less than $20 for both of us. All I need is 2 hours to throw them together and sew them up!

Do you have your costume chosen/picked out?

*

Did you know that today is Sweetest Day? I heard a blurb on the radio about it yesterday and had no clue what it was. Apparently, it is known as a day to show affection to the ones in your life whom you like. So I made a lovely addition to breakfast for Jason (I like him, so it counts!)

Toast with peanut butter and homemade Pumpkin Butter.

I used Angela’s recipe for Happy Thanksgiving Homemade Pumpkin Butter. I followed her instructions and used brown sugar instead of Sucanat (it was all I had on hand). The house smells so good and just when I thought I was sick of pumpkin…

I’m not sick of it anymore!

Happy Sweetest Day! This is definitely a Hallmark holiday if I ever heard of one!

1. What are your plans for the day? Anything fun?

2. Do you celebrate little anniversaries/half birthdays/or anything of the kind? Jason and I don’t really celebrate, but we remember little anniversaries: first date, proposal date, wedding date (duh), birthdays, etc. We used to buy each other gifts for each month anniversary when we started dating.

My first gift to Jason:

His first gift to me:

Do you remember the gifts that family/friends/sig other have given to you? What has been a very special gift that you have received? Can you think of a really special gift you gave to someone else?

…my flowers are still alive:

Have a great day ~ Holly

22 Responses to “Sweetest Day Pumpkin Butter”

  1. Matt Says:

    Have a great day Holly!

  2. Jaime Says:

    Are you going to be a cupcake? J/K, I have no clue! My Hubby and I used to celebrate our monthly anniversary with a hand made note. Now that life is a little bit crazier, it’s more like every 3 to 6 months. Not bad, right? Enjoy your crafty weekend!

  3. thejoggingconcierge Says:

    My hubby and I celebrate our major milestones: birthday and wedding anniversary. 2 years in less than 2 weeks!

    Are you going to be Princess Leia for Halloween?? 🙂

  4. Myra Says:

    are you being the dough boy and aunt jemima or something????

  5. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    That picture looks like a sticky bun!! Yum. 😉

  6. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Making costumes is always fun..I’ve never made on entirely by myself, but my mom used to make all mine. They’re so much cheaper and wayyyy better than the flimsy ones in the stores.

  7. Katie Says:

    Pumpkin butter…..yum.

    I’m not much of a celebrater when it comes to those types of things. I wish I were, since by not celebrating, I miss out on presents! 😉

  8. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    When we first started dating, we would celebrate like 4 months, 6 months, 8 months – got a bit ridiculous. Now I think we are just waiting on our wedding anniversary and sadly did not celebrate our 8 year dating anniversary this year. The wedding one will be much more fun to celebrate though!

  9. Natalie Says:

    We used to be really good about celebrating the small milestones, but we’re now in the habit of celebrating only the big ones!

    The scrabble delux version was one of the first gifts I gave to my husband!

  10. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    The pumpkin butter looks awesome! And the recipe seems simple too (quick enough to throw together for Sunday morning breakfast!).

    The first gift my husband ever got me was a jar of peanut butter, a bag of chocolate chips, a mixed CD, and a package of plastic spoons 🙂 When I was in college I used to get a spoonful of peanut butter and dip chocolate chips in it for a snack. Before we started dating, I was leaving campus for a weekend trip, and he brought me these treats to take with me on the road!

  11. Becky Says:

    I just got flowers today and thought of you! They are so pretty. I just want to keep snapping photos!

  12. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I’m going to be a pumpkin for Halloween. Making my costume is going to cost about 20 dollars and buying a costume costs like 60. I can think of so many better things to buy with 40 extra dollars hehe.

  13. eatmovelove Says:

    These Squash butters are looking good. I have a Butternut here – maybe I’ll try that. Anything SWEET.

    ..I have NO idea what your going to be! Do we have to wait till the end of the month?! Are you guys going to a party?…guessing your not going door-to-door…although….;)

  14. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy Says:

    You’re gonna be sticky buns?!

  15. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    pumpkin butter
    katie makingfoodandotherstuff just made a huge amount of it, you probably saw her post.

    today i put TJs pumpkin butter & PB on bread for skylar. she loves it.

    anniversaries and such…scott hardly remembers our date. seriously. he thinks it’s 2 days later than what it really is. he has a mind block for it. 10 yrs later.

    we dont exchange gifts really much anymore, he gets me flowers and a card, iget him a card, and that’s about it. we have turned totally “practical” and that’s fine!

    congrats on your garage and final CL sale!

    you’re going to be a cinnamon roll maybe? yes I am getting dressed up but not sure what yet…

  16. Angeal (the diet book junkie) Says:

    i seriously have no idea what you’re gonna be for halloween and it’s driving me nuts! good on ya for making your own costumes, btw, i barely know how to sew on a button. :p

    one of the greatest birthday gifts i ever got was from my girlfriend in Canada who donated money to UNICEF in my name. for once, it’s a GREAT cause. for another, because i live so far away, i really wasn’t expecting ANYTHING for so when i got the card in the mail it really touched my heart. those are always the best gifts i reckon. 🙂

  17. Meg Says:

    I’m gonna be one of four teletubbies for Halloween 😉 haha! I can’t wait to see everyone’s costumes around the bloggyworld 😀

    I am obsessed with scramble and pumpkins! Scrabble – perfect gift I’d say! Pumpkin butter looks AMAZING! Enjoy your weekend girl!
    Meg

  18. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Too bad we don’t really celebrate Halloween here in Finland, I would love to go to a costume party but there is no Halloween parties I know of!

  19. leashieloo Says:

    Sweetest Day is so weird to me. I don’t really acknowledge it as a *holiday* per se. I don’t celebrate half anniversaries but I tend to get extra excited when the real day rolls around. Your gifts to each other made me smile, my bf and I have also gifted each other with Scrabble and Arrested 🙂

  20. Michelle (Housewife in the Raw) Says:

    I guessed Princess Leia just by the fabric colors, before I even saw the buns. I look forward to seeing the finished costume!

    I love, love, love Scrabble. I actually played it for the first time with my then boyfriend (and now husband) and his mom (now mil).

  21. kbwood Says:

    i am LOVING pumpkin butter these days!! and what fun gifts! you are TOO cute! I am terrible at scrabble!

  22. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    My anniversary (4 years!) is actually this Thursday. The year that we were married, Sweetest Day was our wedding day. 🙂

    We still have no idea for Halloween!


Leave a Reply

