Fancy Salad & AM Workouts

Hi Friends 🙂
 
How is your day so far?
 
Poor Jason stayed home from work yesterday – I wonder if he got the “change of season” bug? I usually get it around this time of year but (knock on wood!!!) I have avoided it so far. Since I’m a nice wife I brought home Potbelly for dinner: 

I swear their chili has healing properties. Any time one of us is sick we usually go get a bowl of their chili – I think it burns all of the germs right out of your body!

I had one of their salads –I usually get their roast beef sandwich, but their salads sounded (and looked) good!

I had the Uptown Salad <— so fancy, right? 

Rewind to earlier Monday morning (much earlier…) – I had planned on getting up early and working out. I thought that would help with my sleep schedule (since I have been having trouble falling and staying asleep). Well, friends, the alarm went off at 5:45am and I got my workout clothes on (I had them sitting next to my side of the bed) and proceeded to stay in bed. I could not bring myself to get out! It was much too warm and cozy.
 
I figure I made some progress, since I was AWAKE that early and I was dressed. Next step: getting out of bed and exercising 🙂

1. Are you an AM exerciser? Tell me your secrets! And describe your schedule: when do you need to be at school, work, etc.

I’m sure I could force myself to get out of bed — but does it get easier? (please tell me for the love of God it gets easier…) I know I don’t *need* to exercise in the AM, but I think it would help me get to sleep at night. When I workout in the evening I’m just too energized to sleep!

2. What do you do when you start feeling sick?

I try to get as much rest as I possibly can. I also drink lots of water, drink Emergen-C ( I love this stuff — no idea if it actually helps or if I just *think* it helps)

and I try to eat lots of fruits and vegetables. But extra rest probably makes the biggest difference for me (and for Jason too — I think he slept the entire time I was at work!)

Enjoy your day 🙂

Holly

38 Responses to “Fancy Salad & AM Workouts”

  1. Michelle (Housewife in the Raw) Says:

    The husband and I have switched to morning workouts since our evening workouts kept getting de-railed by our munchkins. I’m pretty sure Shuan T and the Insanity team don’t do their push-ups with a 2 year old on their back. 🙂

    It’s hard to get out of a warm bed, but I think about how good I’ll feel when I’m finished. It really does feel good all day to know you’ve already worked out and any more exercise you manage to squeeze in during the day is ‘bonus.’

    Good luck!

  2. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    I don’t have much advice for the morning workouts because I have the same problem! It’s so hard, especially when it’s cold outside and warm under the covers. Hope your husband feels better soon!

  3. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    You can do it! Here’s my schedule: On weekdays, I need to leave for work at 7:50am. I put my workout DVD for the next morning in the DVD player right before I go to bed, and lay out my workout clothes. The alarm goes off at 5:56am, workout from 6:05am – 6:50am, shower, then have breakfast with Adam and get ready for work.

    Probably way more detail than you wanted, but that’s a schedule that works for me. It definitely took awhile to get used to the alarm going off that early (at least a year!), but it gets easier with time, and becomes part of the daily routine. The great thing is, your workout is done before you even start your day. Let us know how it goes!

    PS–Your dinner salad looks delicious…I love cranberries and walnuts in my salads.

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      I appreciate you typing out your schedule — I need to leave for work at 7am — and I think I’ve been using that as excuse — that I would have to get up SUPER early to exercise before work.

      • Sara Says:

        I usually get up at 6:30-and I have to leave at 7:30 … so I guess I’d have to get up about the time you do, Kylie! That is tough, Holly. Since you have to leave so early! Not sure how that would work. That’s crazy.

  4. Matt Says:

    I am an AM exerciser. Up and at ’em at 5 AM everyday! It is hard at first, but it gets easier. Just look at it this way, you can lay on the couch and watch TV later 😉

  5. Alyssa Says:

    Unfortunately it doesn’t get easier! You just accept exhaustion! I feel going to a group workout helps so you have other people to motivate you!

    I swear by sleep and emergenc…and spicy food!

  6. Cathy K Says:

    i love a morning workout! energizes me for the day and is a positive way to start the day.
    that being said, i honestly believe that morning workouts are not for everyone. i would say to give it a try and if after 2-3 weeks you still can’t get into a groove and hate it, let it go! what about working out after work/before dinner? i used to really like that time, too.
    hey, at least you made a step in the right direction today!

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      I try to work out after work and before dinner — but usually I am so hungry I make dinner right away, then I need to let it “digest” for a while, then I start exercising. I think I need a bigger lunch or a more satisfying afternoon snack.

  7. ihearteggs Says:

    I was a morning exerciser for over a year (now I only go at night becuase I like the vibe of my gym better!). The first week or two is admittedly ROUGH.. but once you get in the habit, it gets much much easier! I found never hitting snooze and having everything ready to go when I crawled out of bed made life much easier. I’m not the most organized person at 5am!

  8. Katie Says:

    I am a morning exerciser when I can fit it in. Usually it is more mid-morning, not crack-of dawn morning. but i have a really flexible schedule, so I can do that!

  9. Heather Says:

    i MISS potbelly! one of my favorite places to eat when we go to dallas…not that i couldn’t recreate it at home, but it’s just different when someone else makes it 🙂

  10. Beth Says:

    Ahh I hope you feel better! I have a Potbelly in the basement of my apartment building and I LOVE it. I go back and forth between AM exercising. I love to get it over with in the AM when I can but sometimes its tough!

  11. Dorry Says:

    I love Pot Belly – so tasty. I’m a morning workout person all the way. Well, especially with running. I can go rollerblading or biking in the afternoon or evening but I really enjoy running in the morning. I’m not sure what my secret is – I just love it. I work from home now but even when I had to be at the office at 8:00AM, I’d still get up to run before work. It starts my day or the right note. Gets my blood pumping. 🙂

  12. Laury @TheFitnessDish Says:

    One of the BEST things for colds is actually spicy foods…something about the spices clear up your sinuses….and helps you heal!!! The first thing I do when I feel a cold coming on it 1. brew a cup of ginger tea with honey, go in the steamy bathroom, sip it and take a long hot shower. 2. Eat some spicy soup 3. Grab lots of emergen C and drink away 4. drink more ginger tea….I HATE being sick, so I do all necessary to keep it away…and knock on wood, it usually works!!! Sounds like you are doing the right things, hope he feels better soon!!

    I workout mid morning, after my morning clients, before lunch.

  13. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I”m a morning worker-outter (is that a word? ;)), but a later morning… I couldn’t do the 6am work out. I eat breakfast, let it settle for an hour, then run… but I am fortunate to have the luxury of time on my side.

    Feel better soon- try hot and sour soup ! mmm!

  14. Jenna Says:

    Oh man–I have never been an early morning anything! I’ve tried, and failed, and tried again, and failed again. I find it so much more enjoyable to work out right after work, before I go home.
    And BTW, Potbelly’s is my husband’s absolute favorite thing ever. We always get their chili, and I love their mushroom melt.

  15. spabettie Says:

    I am up at 5:am every day… I’ll get on my treadmill or use one of my workout dvds (Jillian Michaels and David Kirsch)… I’m SO energized by that and miss it when I don’t do it… (sometimes I Just Can’t Get Up… but that usually means I’m sick or up late…)

    Hope Jason feels better SOON !

  16. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I’m definitely not an am exerciser.. huh. 😀

  17. candicemccoy Says:

    Sorry your husband is sick – hope he feels better soon!

    I am definitely an am workout person. I simply cannot motivate myself to do it at night. It is a struggle for me to get out of bed a lot of mornings, but one thing that helps me is laying out my clothes the night before. Another thing that I’ve started doing lately is saying a mantra to myself when I first wake up. Mine is something like “I am strong and determined, and I have the ability to get out of bed and have a kick-a workout!”

    Haha, kind of silly, but it totally works somehow. I put it on a notecard and lay it by my bed because sometimes I can’t think clearly enough to remember it when I first wake up:)

  18. Sara Says:

    I tried morning exercise–it was great! But … I’d have to get to bed at a decent hour … and while showering and getting ready in the morning I 1) had to use the bathroom as soon as I got to work and while getting ready since I drank so much water 2) I was so sweaty while getting ready! I just kept sweating. I couldn’t cool down! So I haven’t tried it again … but maybe in the winter … I’m going to look at the comments and hope I find some inspiration/tips! Good luck, Holly. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog!

  19. Nic Says:

    At my previous job I had to be there at 7am and still managed to do my workouts in the morning. I would prepare my lunch and breakfast/outfits (both work and workout) the night before. I had to get up at 430 am (yikes!) as my drive to work was 35 minutes. There was a gym on campus so I would workout and shower at work. It was very convenient! I love working out in the morning and having evenings free. Good luck with your morning adventures!

  20. grocery goddess jen Says:

    I work out in the morning because if I don’t do it then, it’s unlikely it will happen later. Also, it really does energize me for the day and make me feel great. Right now it’s kind of hard, I won’t lie. It’s so damn dark at 6 in the morning I don’t want to get up! It’s MUCH easier when it’s sort of light outside. I just make sure I’m in bed by 10, set my alarm, and tell myself to get up and that’ll feel better if I exercise. If I skip it, like I did this morning, I try to take a walk in the evening, or I just let it go.

  21. lizlivingvegan Says:

    I WANT to be an AM exerciser… but I’m not… at least not yet. I’m still working on getting myself out of bed before work…

  22. Mary (A Merry Life) Says:

    I love that salad! Yummy! It’s got all my favorite things in it. 🙂

    I’m not a morning workout person. Never have been and probably never will be. It’s just not my thing.

  23. leashieloo Says:

    When I feel sickness coming on, I take a ton of Vitamin C, drink orange juice, and chicken noodle soup by the gallon. It typically helps. And OMG on the Potbelly! I haven’t been there in months…never had their chili but I may have to change that.

  24. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I have to be to work by 7a so I already go to bed early …and my hubby is on a totally different schedule so he doesn’t go to bed until like 1a..if I did an AM workout, I’d really never see him!

  25. Kyra Says:

    It is so hard to drag myself out of bed when it’s dark out, but to get the mileage in, I’ve had to since I have little motivation to do anything other than take the dogs for a walk after dinner. I wish it got easier.

  26. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    when i start feeling sick, i double or triple my usual probiotics dosage. 80% of the immune system is found in the gut, not the lungs or resp system, so healthy gut = healthier you.

    And ginger, echinachea, vitamin C, rest, water. And positive mental talk. Telling myself i am not sick and willl Not GET sick. That helps!

    AM exercising…i used to get up super early to workout. Now I do workout right after i wake up but it’s not early in the day b/c i work late but it’s early for me. Just being tough w/ myself and saying that it’s now or never and i will feel better when im done is what i do…but yeah, it does suck to bounce out of bed…and go workout!

  27. littlemisspotato Says:

    Waking up early to workout is STILL difficult for me. 😦
    I usually set my clothes and shoes right by my bed. I have no excuse but to reach down and grab them to go. Plus, I experience the same thing as you do. If I workout later at night I’m up until the morning and in such a horrible mood. And the bad cycle begins. I think it gets even harder once cold weather sets in. All I want to do is curl up and sleep!

    You better believe the spicy foods help out! I’m in NM for school and everyone here swears by enjoying chili to clear up a cold. It has helped me when I get gross and stuffed up. Feel well!

  28. Natalie Says:

    A few days a week I wake up at 4:50am to get an AM workout before work at 7am. I don’t let myself snooze and I put my clothes across the room so I have to physically walk to get them.

    I think it helps to go to bed “on time” the night before you want to get up super early and to meet a friend for your morning workout. There’s nothing like knowing that someone is waiting for you to get your buns moving!

  29. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    er, i think morning exercise does get easier but i haven’t figured it out myself yet. i really should though, i’ve been interested in yoga and strength training for a while, and the only way i’ll fit it in is to get up earlier. (yikes – even the thought is too much… :P)

  30. Courtney (Pancakes and Postcards) Says:

    I get up at 530 everyday to workout (at home with exercise videos, or running)from 545 to 7am every day. then i have 45 minutes for shower and dress and breakfast and then work at 8. i love getting up early–but its also easier because i go to bed at 10pm, or even earlier… which i also love. even though i feel lame. 🙂

  31. Easy Guac Rocks! | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Blogroll ← Fancy Salad & AM Workouts […]

  32. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I am a morning exerciser. For me the trick is getting enough sleep the night before. I try to starting heading to bed around 10 and turn off the light by 11. My alarm goes off at 5:30. Some days it is tough getting up but the key is to just do it! I find morning workouts so energizing and they are a great start to my day. Plus, it means I have more time in the evening for other things!


Leave a Reply

