EZ Pumpkin Muffins

Hi Friends 🙂
 
Happy Friday! Jason picked up our pumpkins to carve on Saturday:

It is pretty cold outside (30 degrees at night!) so we get to keep them by the dining table for now 🙂

Last week I wrote about my passive aggressive coworker, and I wanted to give you all an update on how that’s going. I’ve had to work with him on a few things and you know what? He’s been civil and dare I say KIND? I’ve been making an effort to ask him more questions and try to get to know him, and to be honest it seems as though he’s been doing the same. I have no idea what really changed, but it seems to be changing for the better. Although we will probably never be best friends, we can at least respect each other at work and have a decent working relationship. Woohoo!
 
Speaking of work, I made these babies for everyone:

Yum.
 
Easy Pumpkin Muffins – and yes they are super easy because it uses this:

I found this recipe a while ago on the Weight Watchers message board – by no means am I claiming these as “healthy” – the yellow cake mix doesn’t have the best nutrition 🙂

1 yellow cake mix, boxed
1 15oz can of pumpkin
2 egg whites
1 tsp vanilla
2/3 cup cinnamon chips — you could use chocolate chips instead

Mix all of this together and bake according to the cake mix box (as muffins or a cake). The batter seems kind of thick for muffins, but they turn out really fluffy. I was able to get 24 muffins out of the dough.

Need more pumpkin desserts?
 
Pumpkin Banana Bread
Pumpkin Pie Cookies
Vegan Pumpkin Blondies

Pumpkin Peanut Pudding
 
1. Do you have a Pumpkin dessert to share? Provide a link if you like!
 
2. What is your favorite scary movie? Last night Jason and I watched the second half of The Strangers – that movie creeps me out! I think I find it so scary because it “could” happen?

3. What are your plans for the weekend?

Enjoy your day!

~Holly

41 Responses to “EZ Pumpkin Muffins”

  1. Myra Says:

    i think we are going to make those muffins… we literally have those ingredients just sitting around.
    the first half of the strangers is WAYYYYYY scarier than the last half. just a yitty fyi. also it is nothing like PA. STAY AWAY FROM PA.

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      We are getting PA (paranormal activity, right?) from Netflix next week I think. Shutter Island arrives tonight. We’ve seen The Strangers and yes the first half terrified me — the mask the guy wears is too much.

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I was just seriously about to make this same recipe today for my cross country team. I’m using Spice Cake though yummy. 🙂

  3. Alex @ I Eat Asphalt Says:

    I still want to try those pumpkin blondies. I haven’t been much more creative than adding pumpkin to plain greek yogurt. It reminds me of a tarter version of pie filling.

  4. Kristy Says:

    We are carving pumpkins on Saturday, too! Those muffins looks great, love the cinnamon chips! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  5. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    I can’t get enough of pumpkin foods this time of year 🙂 My mom has been making this recipe for pumpkin muffins ever since she found it on the Weight Watchers site–they’re quite tasty!

    My latest healthy pumpkin recipe is for pumpkin-walnut-cranberry bread…and it’s completely oil-free (which is hard to find when it comes to pumpkin bread recipes!). If anyone’s looking for a good quick bread recipe, enjoy! http://ahungryspoon.blogspot.com/2010/09/pumpkin-head-pumpkin-bread.html

    Happy Friday 🙂

  6. Jessica (Fit and Clean) Says:

    I have an “easy apple cake” recipe that’s made with cake mix. It was so good! But nutritionally…blech. 😉 I happen to have a pumpkin recipe, LOL..Pumpkin Recovery Protein Muffins! http://www.fitandclean.com. They’re really good finally, at batch 5. I think we have a WINNER! haha! Posted it last night. Enjoy!

  7. grocery goddess jen Says:

    Hopefully this weekend we’ll be carving pumpkins, too. And I don’t really like scary movies, but my bf does, so sometimes we watch them.

  8. Jen @ keepitsimplefoods Says:

    Love the pumpkin muffins! I’ve been going pumkin crazy this month. Pumpkin really does make everything better, no?

  9. spabettie Says:

    maybe your coworker reads your blog ? 😀

    your muffins look awesome – WHERE did you find cinnamon chips?? I want some SO bad!

    my fudgy pumpkin brownies are GOOOOD –>

    http://spabettie.com/2010/10/11/fudgy-pumpkin-brownies/

    easy costumes this year –> Jason is wearing a camo jacket and black pants, I am wearing camo pants and a black top… we are UPPER AND LOWER G.I.s !

  10. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    My grandmother was telling me about a version of pumpkin cake like this and she was so excited. Those look so good! I am loving my pumpkin rice pudding http://thenondairyqueen.blogspot.com/2010/10/pumpkin-rice-pudding.html lately! Perfect for fall evening treats. We are busy this weekend and I am already tired just thinking about it and I still don’t have a costume for Saturday night’s party. Have a great weekend!

  11. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I always knew ‘muffins’ were breakfast cake in disguise 😉 YUM!

    I’m running a 5k this weekend!

  12. Katie Says:

    Pumpkin recipes, me? Oh, twist my arm –

    Carrot Pumpkin cake – https://makingfoodandotherstuff.wordpress.com/2010/10/28/goodies/

    Pumpkin Butter – https://makingfoodandotherstuff.wordpress.com/2010/10/11/the-one-where-she-yammers-about-pumpkin-again/

    Pumpkin Pie Cookies – https://makingfoodandotherstuff.wordpress.com/2010/10/06/adventures-in-experiment-land/

    Okay I’ll stop. 😀

    My mom uses those cinnamon chips in beer bread – soooooo good!

  13. Beth Says:

    I love simple recipes like this!! I really have to get better about cooking for my coworkers because I think its such a nice idea!

  14. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    Wow, those arer HUGE pumpkins! 😀 and hey, great stuff that you and your coworker can be civil and friendly to each other after all, I’m sure it makes work feel a bit easier.

  15. Laury @TheFitnessDish Says:

    Halloween is my fav movie!!! I am too scared to watch any of the current stuff…Paranormal Activity is supposed to be SOOOOO freaky, and I refuse to watch any of the Saw movies. Now, if these came out when I was a kid I’d be ALL over them!

    Glad to hear the rude co-worker is treating you a little better….

    You prob saw this but since you are carving, I will link my seed recipe!

    http://www.thefitnessdish.com/?p=2342

  16. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I’ve never heard of The Strangers, but I love scary movies so I’m definitely checking it out 🙂

    These aren’t my fave..my fave pumpkin recipe hasn’t actually made it on my blog, but you can see the pic in the header..in the meantime, here are some pumpkin scones:

    http://shannalikebanana.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/not-your-starbucks-pumpkin-scone/

  17. kbwood Says:

    these muffins look AWEEEEESOME! so easy!!!

  18. Amanda Says:

    The pumpkin muffins/cupcakes look so good! Because I am on an un-healthy kick this week I was wondering how you think they’d taste with cream cheese frosting? I have a Halloween party to go to tomorrow and I was thinking of making them.

  19. Wendy Says:

    Don’t you just LOVE super-easy recipes like that once in awhile?! Your muffins sure do look delicious! I wish I could find cinnamon chips around here…. I look every time I’m at the grocery store but they never have them. 😦 Your carving pumpkins look great – nice and big!

    1. Do you have a Pumpkin dessert to share?
    Not at the moment, but I am planning to bake a loaf of chocolate-pumpkin bread (from the Gracious Pantry blog) this afternoon!

    2. What is your favorite scary movie? Witch Board

    3. What are your plans for the weekend?
    We were invited to a Halloween party for tomorrow evening but haven’t decided if we’re going or not. Would be fun if we do! Church on Sunday, then to my friend’s house to take pics of her family for her, and trick or treating after that!

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      I’ve never heard of Witch Board! I’ll have to look it up.

      Choc Pumpkin bread sounds great — I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

      I have looked for cinnamon chips before with no luck — maybe they are a seasonal thing? I was so happy to find them yesterday.

  20. rc1001 Says:

    Ever seen “Last House on the Left”? Oh man. It is so creepy!!

  21. lizlivingvegan Says:

    Hey girl, you’ve got quite an arsenal of pumpkin recipes! haha I love it. Such a great fall ingredient 🙂 Those muffins look really good! I bet your coworkers were happy!!

  22. 1970kikiproject Says:

    happy pumpkin carving! can’t wait to see the end result!
    i am sick of baking with pumpkin!! but i do like the looks of your easy recipe. maybe i can be convinced to try one more!…
    fave scary movie is “the birds” (alfred hitchcock)! it’s old and not THAT THAT scary but scary enough for me – i’m a wuss!

  23. Candice @ ChiaSeedMe Says:

    So glad the situation with your coworker is getting better. Way to hang in there!

    As far as pumpkin recipes…these aren’t really recipes per se, but they have pumpkin and they’re delicious!

    Pumpkin smoothie – http://chiaseedme.com/2010/10/18/weekend-recap-and-another-trip/

    Pumpkin oats (of course:) – http://chiaseedme.com/2010/10/28/a-bit-heavy-for-a-morning-run/

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  24. Mimi Says:

    Eh, PA was ok, but not nearly as scary as some made it out to be. Asian horror is where it’s at!

    I LOOOVE pumpkin. I like making pumpkin pancakes…just mix some coconut flour and pumpkin with other pancake inedients and griddle it up!

  25. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    the muffies look awesome!!

    i have seen a similar recipe for one box of spice cake mix, NO EGGS added, just add a can of pumpkin and maybe a bit of water and that’s it. Bake. The appeal to me on that one was that it was vegan. Still not GF but one could buy GF cake mix I suppose and add pumpkin pie spice but for you, you dont need to make any adaptations.

    cinnamon chips = i had no idea that product even existed!? YUM!

    Plans…oh you know the drill, work, T & T’ing with Skylar & Scott and hoping no one steals all our candy from the honor system candy bin Im putting out 🙂

  26. Natalie Says:

    I’ve had those muffins before and they are good!

    I have a 5K race in the am and a 30th birthday party tomorrow night…SO excited!

  27. leashieloo Says:

    OMG, you hit the nail on the head! The Strangers is SO scary. Paranormal Activity also freaked me out. It wasn’t scary per se but it haunted me late at night when I was in bed. All of the bumps and thumps were terrifying!

  28. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    aw, i’m so glad things are working out with your coworker. 🙂

    i haven’t seen a scary movie in AGES. the last one might’ve been “The Ring” like half a decade ago.

    plans for this weekend include meeting friends, running, housework, all that boring stuff. halloween isn’t celebrated much over here so i’ll just have to live vicariously through you. hope you have a great weekend! 🙂

  29. eatmovelove Says:

    I love this :). Scary movie?…Um, so I’m totally lame…but my fave is actually “Hocus Pocus”…yeah, I don’t do scary when I live by myself 🙂

  30. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    I’ve made those muffins using the spice cake mix. So good!


Leave a Reply

