Yoda Pizza: Project Tasteless

Hi Friends πŸ™‚

Thanks for all the nice words about our costumes! I hope you all had a nice Halloween – Jason and I did, thanks to a delicious pizza made by yours truly.

This blog post is my entry to Rachel’s Project Tasteless contest:

The challenge is that your pizza recipe must be inspired by your Halloween costume.

And since we already had a pumpkin with Darth Vader’s face carved into it, I decided to go with the next best Star Wars option:

Yoda.

How would I make this into a pizza you ask? Simple. I’d start by forming my Spelt Pizza Dough into the shape of Yoda’s head:

I then covered my dough with pizza sauce, turkey pepperoni, black olives and soy cheese:

The next layer consisted of spinach and green pepper slices (to mimic Yoda’s wrinkles) and more soy cheese <—- he has white hair you know!

Finally, a few well-placed black olives and carrot shreds completed our Yoda Pizza:

(he’s obviously very happy to be made into a pizza!)

Yoda Pizza

Pizza dough of choice (I used Matt’s Spelt Pizza Dough recipe)

1 jar pizza sauce

Β½ package turkey pepperoni

Β½ cup black olives, sliced

1 green pepper, sliced

3 cups spinach

Β½-1 cup shredded cheese of choice (or more if you prefer a cheesier pizza)

Shape dough into the form of Yoda’s head. Add toppings, bake and enjoy. (follow any specific instructions for your dough type. I had to prebake my dough for 5 minutes before adding my toppings and baking to perfection).

I hope you had a nice Halloween! πŸ™‚

1. How was your weekend? Tell me the highlights!

2. Who is your favorite Star Wars character?

3. What are your favorite pizza toppings?

~Holly

43 Responses to “Yoda Pizza: Project Tasteless”

  1. Alex @ I Eat Asphalt Says:

    That is by far the cutest pizza I’ve seen in a long time.

  2. Kate Says:

    that is too cute! yoda is my favorite star wars character by far. he is so wise and so tiny. love it!

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    That is adorable! I love it! I’m not sure how I would make a pumpkin pizza-I guess more of a dessert style hehe.

    I hope you win-that was such a great idea. πŸ™‚

  4. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    Pizza cutest ever, that is. πŸ™‚

  5. lisaou11 Says:

    YES! That’s great!

  6. Nic Says:

    This pizza cracks me up! I love smiling Yoda πŸ™‚

    Fav pizza are all veggie pizzas.

  7. Beth Says:

    haha! I love that you cooked the pizza in your costume. Looks adorable!

  8. lizlivingvegan Says:

    Hahaha that is too cute!!! Well done on shaping the yoda head! I bet it tasted good too πŸ˜‰

  9. leashieloo Says:

    Zomg, that is awesome! I love it and I love how festively you made it in your costume πŸ™‚

  10. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    My favorite post. I heart Star Wars and I want some of that pizza πŸ™‚ You are a pizza genius!

  11. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    How cute! And I’m not even a fan of Star Wars. Although Yoda is a pretty cool dude. πŸ˜‰

  12. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    haha, that’s awesome!! So creative and delicious looking.. Love it!

  13. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I KNEW you were going to make an amazing Princess Leia and I was correct πŸ™‚

    The yoga pizza is so creative!! Looks amazing too!!

    My fav toppings are spinach, goats cheese and caramelized onions..YUM

  14. Katie Says:

    Love that you made that pizza. Love that you wore your costume while making the pizza. And love that you got so into the details of yoda, even if you gave him a smile (I don’t think he ever smiled, did he?)

    He must be really happy about being a pizza. I would be.

  15. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    Haha! Love this pizza and your costumes!

  16. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Your pizza is so cute, Holly! You always come up with the most creative ideas–love this one! My favorite pizza toppings are ALL of the following: green peppers, spinach, tomato slices, fresh garlic, roasted red peppers, smoked gouda, and basil pesto, plus marinara sauce for dipping πŸ™‚

  17. eatmovewrite Says:

    Yoda Pizza! OMG That was so creative! You are awesome. Too adorable.

  18. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) Says:

    Holly, I love you more and more everytime I read! LOVE your costumes. We were going to go as the same thing, but had a change of plans last minute. We are huge fans of Star Wars here, so you have stolen my heart with your pizza theme too! My favorite character is Han, but that is really cause I think Harrison Ford is just awesome!

  19. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I’ve never seen Star Wars, but my dog looks like Yoda πŸ˜‰

    I had a fabulous weekend with hitting up two Halloween parties!

  20. Heather Says:

    OH MY GOSH that’s awesome! too cute πŸ™‚

  21. Michelle (Housewife in the Raw) Says:

    Nice work on the costumes and pizza!

    My favorite pizza topping if I’m cooking is tomatoes and basil. If I’m buying, I will always long for Pizza Luce’s Baked Potato Pizza, but, since I’m not in MN anymore, will settle for a veggie pizza with no olives.

  22. Sarah-Mae @ Eat, Run, Knit Says:

    I love your costumes and the themed Hallowe’en pizza!!!

  23. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin Says:

    Ahh! That Yoda pizza is adorable!! Love your costumes, too!

    My favorite pizza toppings? Green pepper, feta, and roasted garlic. But, every now and then, I crave a good ole’ pepperoni pizza, too! (reminds me of childhood!)

  24. spabettie Says:

    Yoda pizza… that is a first! πŸ˜€ Yoda is my favorite… I love to structure my sentences Yoda style.

  25. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    hahahaha!! That’s hilarious!! It must have been fun to eat, too..did you start with the ears?

  26. rc1001 Says:

    Nicely done!!!

    1. Weekend was fabulous! We had my future brother-in-law and his girlfriend come stay with us for the weekend. We saw Paranormal Activity 2 on Friday and went to a party on Saturday night. We also the dogs to the dog park both days!

    2. I like Jar Jar Binks! No one else seemed to, though.

    3. Black olives and extra cheese, please!

  27. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    I dont watch Star Trek, Star Wars, Glee, the biggest loser, or pretty much any other “popular” anything. If it’s not on Bravo Tv or on a food blog, I dont know about it πŸ™‚

    Love the pizza!! omg you totally outdid yourself…you HAVE to win!!!!!!!!

    The fact your MIL makes amazing rice k. treats…yeah, some people have mad skills at certain things. Like my grandma’s choc chip cookies and my moms 7 layer bars. Seems that everyone should be able to duplicate but it doesnt work that way!

  28. Becky Says:

    I love your pizza! Adorable! I had such a busy weekend! I was all over the place – Boston, the Cape. Lots of fun, but I’m excited that we get Election Day off so I can rest tomorrow.

  29. Sara Says:

    Love the costumes. I truly admire the creativity and talent to put them together. I love the fun pizza! We didn’t dress up, but the dogs did. (OK we dressed them up). Cheese is my favorite pizza topping (lame) but I like a good cheese to sauce ratio. And I love Yoda too!

    • Sara Says:

      Oh, and I have that apron too! I actually wore it to cover my wedding dress at our wedding! Everyone thought it was hilarious–but really, I’m just messy.

  30. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Love the Yoda pizza, you must. πŸ™‚

    I had a wonderful weekend! Halloween party at friends’ with our kids, ate too much chocolate, and watched some scary movies.

    Fave Star Wars character – oy, that’s tough! Princess Leia, I think, because she was smart and feisty and could take care of herself (except for the occasional capture, I guess!). Plus, she’s a Jedi, and that’s pretty cool.

    Pizza toppings? I’m pretty easy – just NO PINEAPPLE. It’s just not right on pizza. LOL

  31. Wendy Says:

    That’s so creative and cute, Holl – great job! Good luck to you in the contest!
    And your costumes are wonderful. Can’t believe you made them yourself. I could never do that. Sewing machines and I do not mix. HeeHee!

  32. Baking Serendipity Says:

    Too cute! I love your costumes and the pizza they inspired πŸ™‚

  33. Yoda Dunkers | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Blogroll ← Yoda Pizza: Project Tasteless […]

  34. Dorry Says:

    Love the costumes! They were perfect. And those pizzas look delicious. I love mushrooms, artichokes, bell pepper and jalapenos on my pizza. And fresh basil, too!

  35. Caitlin Says:

    ohmigod, i love you!

  36. eatmovelove Says:

    Just reading this now – too cute! Looks awesome. Any pizza is awesome in my book – but this takes the…Yoda! πŸ™‚ And I’m not a Star Wars fan at all (actually I could be a fan – just never thought about watching it to even know πŸ˜‰ ).

    Love most veggies on pizza – peppers, mushrooms, onions, broccoli maybe – chicken – and DEFINITELY sauce and cheese πŸ™‚

  37. Summah Says:

    Your costumes are adorable! And that pizza looks tasty AND cute!

  38. Allie Says:

    Cute! Yoda is by far my favorite — so wise.


Leave a Reply

