Last Chance Workout & Turducken

Hi Friends 🙂
 
My back is feeling much better, thanks for all the nice comments yesterday. Honestly the hot baths and foam rolling sessions really helped me – and I’m working on sitting up straight at work (I even put in a request for a newer, more supportive desk chair).
 
I kind of slacked over the weekend with my workouts, and since my back was feeling out of whack on Monday I just didn’t “feel” like working out. I need to exercise consistently or I don’t do it at all. Not to fear though, Netflix to the rescue!

The Last Chance Workout! Now, I’ve explained some of my Biggest Loser thoughts before and you all have left me some great comments as well, but as a whole I do enjoy their workouts:

This workout was tough — I don’t know if it seemed hard since I hadn’t worked out for a few days, but it was rough for me. Jillian leads the workout, and it also features 8 former contestants. After a 7 minute warmup, you switch off between 30 seconds of cardio (jumping jacks, jump rope, mountain climbers, etc) with 30 seconds of strength training (lunges, squats, bicep curls, pushups, etc) for a total of 30 minutes. There are also two 10 minute toning routines, but I didn’t try either of those. I probably won’t buy this dvd, but I might keep it from Netflix for a while.
What I didn’t like: Jillian doesn’t so the exercises — she just says “pick up your weights and start your lateral raises” — and then everyone looks at each other and then someone starts the moves. It was just kind of awkward when she would call out exercises that I don’t know by name — I wish she would just start them right away. And she seems to pick on these contestants quite a bit. Again, maybe I’m just being too sensitive but she seems extra vicious.
And after my workout? What did I do? I watched The Biggest Loser. I just can’t get enough of the drama.
 
For dinner we had a nice comforting meal 🙂
Chicken breasts stuffed with turkey and soy cheese. It made me think of those Turduckens – you know what those are, right?
A turkey stuffed in a duck stuffed in a chicken. Sounds awful to me!
My recipe may not have looked the best, but it tasted good:
 
Stuffed Chicken Breasts
 
2 chicken breasts
1/4 cup shredded cheese of choice
2-4 slices of turkey (could use ham as well)
Seasoning of choice (I used some original Mrs. Dash)
 
Preheat oven to 250 degrees. Slice a pocket into chicken breasts, stuff with turkey slices and shredded cheese, sprinkle with seasoning. Cook breasts in a skillet (you could use any oil or butter to coat pan) over medium heat for about 3 minutes on each side. Place entire skillet in oven and cook for an additional 5-7 minutes. Serve with some steamed veggies:
Questions:
1. Is there a TV show that you have a love/hate relationship with? I definitely hate/love Biggest Loser, but also: 
I can’t get enough even though I can feel my brain rotting as I watch! And honestly same goes for any Real Housewives show: Atlanta, New York, DC, New Jersey, etc. 
 
2. How much TV do you watch per day? What are some of your favorite shows? I watch quite a bit TV, I am ashamed to admit. I know there are better things to do with my time. I love Hoarders, Top Chef, Real Housewives, The Apprentice and Househunters. I probably watch those shows the most consistently.
3. If you miss a workout (or 2 like me…) how do you get moving again? Do you do anything differently or do you just jump right back into your routine? When I miss workouts I do something new: a new dvd or I switch up my routine. Anything to make it “exciting” and new again.
Enjoy your day!
~Holly
32 Responses to “Last Chance Workout & Turducken”

  1. Becca Says:

    Confession – I think turduckens sound awesome! I’m thinking of Christmas already…

    1. I love/hate The Biggest Loser, too. The drama really bugs me, as do the morons who make really stupid eviction choices. The blue/black loyalty is such a pain – just shut up and work, people! My next-door neighbour used to work as a trainer for Jillian, so I wonder what it’s like for her hearing her voice through the wall when I’m doing 30-Day shred!

    Next Top Model is another one. I absolutely love the photoshoots, but I can’t bear the contestants who have children – they claim to be so selfless, that they’re doing it all for their family. Really? Because there are so many ways to give your children a better future that *don’t* involve leaving them for months at a time. Hmph.

    2. I watch way too much TV. I couldn’t possibly pick a favourite!

    3. I would really love some help in this department! I’m ashamed to say that my main motivation is the calorie counter on my heart rate strap. I figure that if I keep at it, I’m going to get the endorphin kick and actually start to enjoy exercise!

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    I love/hate the biggest loser as well. I love watching all the drama though. I also love America’s Next Top Model. The drama on that show is ridiculous as well.

    Your chicken looks delicious. I love stuffed chicken, we always make it for Thanksgiving.

  3. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Thanks for the review on the “Last Chance Workout”–their Cardio Max DVD was one of my first exercise DVDs and I really have enjoyed it. Didn’t you like that the episode was only 1 hour last night?! It definitely confirmed for me that the 2 hour format is way too long!

    When I miss a couple days of working out, I just jump back into it 🙂

    Happy Wednesday to you!

  4. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    I always had a Love/Hate relationship with The Biggest Loser….right now it’s hate, LOL. It’s waaaaay too long.

    I am obsessed with Dexter, Gossip Girl, Medium and Greys Anatomy. During the week I don’t watch too much. I catch up on all my shows on the weekend after a morning workout, I lounge in the bedroom folding laundry, catching up on my DVR 😉

  5. Sara Says:

    I watch probably 2ish hours of TV a day? Probably more on the weekend. It’s our way to relax during dinner after work (we eat in front of the TV, but it’s just dinner!) and before bed. My husband swears he can’t go to bed without watching TV first.

  6. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Blegh – both the name and concept of Turdunken makes me ill 🙂

    I’m with you on the workout thing. I’m a all or nothing person, so if I miss a day of working out, it really throws me off schedule and takes a few days for me to hop back on the wagon. To motivate myself, I start off easy, then gradually make the workouts harder. Or I download new music – Taylor Swift’s new album worked like a charm!

  7. Beth Says:

    I definitely have a love/hate relationship with the BL too. I hate a lot of things about the show like the unreaslistic goals that are set and the very in-your-face ways of Jillian, but for some reason I still find myself tuning into it every Tuesday and watching every minute! I think I love watching the people transform over the course of the show which is why I can’t stop.

  8. Nic Says:

    I just posted today about how much time I “waste” watching tv! I only watch Glee and Boardwalk Empire consistantly, but I can just flip on the tv and watch any old thing mindlessly for hours!

  9. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com Says:

    i cant stop watching the real housewives. omg the beverly hills cast is beyond hilarious.. i love how they themselves are like “yeah theres a lot of fake here, but i mean, its beverly hills- who isnt” lol- but everytime i finish watching an episode i feel kinda crummy..not sure if its cuz i had to bring my IQ down a few (if not many) notches just to understand..or if im just drained from all the random crap thats also funny. maybe both hah.

    btw i love how in the first dvd bob is pointing on the cover “i want YOU to pick up this dvd” lol ❤

  10. rc1001 Says:

    I LOVE RHW of Orange County. Definitely my fave. New York is a close second.

    2. I watch a couple of hours of TV a day. Sometimes more, never less. Haha. My favorite shows are the expensive ones on premium TV: True Blood, Dexter, and my new favorite: Boardwalk Empire on HBO.

    3. If I miss a workout and have trouble getting motivated, I just let myself pick whatever workout I’m in the mood for (easy or hard), and I only have to do it for a little while.

  11. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    I’m hopelessly addicted to Housewives. 😦

  12. Christina @ Food.Fun.Fabulous Says:

    I watch a lot of TV but I’m usually multi-tasking by doing homework (maybe not the best idea), chores, or even working out.

  13. Jess@atasteofconfidence Says:

    I love Real Housewives! But sometimes kind of don’t like myself for watching it 😉
    I have done the 30 day shred, and sometimes it kinda annoys me when she stops working out as well…I don’t know why!

  14. grocery goddess jen Says:

    I have a love/hate relationship with the various Kardashian shows on E! I have no idea why I like watching them…but they suck me in. I don’t know why they’re famous, and they can be annoying…yet I watch it every week. Strange. I’m definitely off Biggest Loser right now. And I love Dexter! We’re just catching up with Season four now on Netflix, since we don’t get Showtime. I try not to watch too much TV…but sometimes I get sucked in, for sure.

  15. Wendy Says:

    I agree with what the turducken poster says – “doesn’t mean you should!” Barf!
    So glad your back is feeling better, Holly! Great job on the brutal Jillian workout.

    Love/hate relationship: That would be Biggest Loser for me, too! Also “Dating in the Dark.”

    How much TV do you watch per day? What are some of your favorite shows?
    Oh maybe an hour, if that. I don’t like TV very much. I’d much rather read blogs and books or cook and bake!! I do want to start watching the News again, though.

    3. If you miss a workout (or 2 like me…) how do you get moving again? Do you do anything differently or do you just jump right back into your routine?
    I just…. do it. No magical thing makes me do it, I just know that if I don’t, I feel like poopoo!

  16. Katie Says:

    Even with cable, I still rarely watch tv. I watch football on Sundays, and maybe another hour during the week. Sometimes I’ll just turn it on while i am cooking dinner, too.

    I never knew you responded to comments on here! I usually comment earlier in the day, so I never saw that!

  17. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    My brother told me about this dinner that was basically 15 birds stuffed into each other. I forgot what it was called, but blehh!! :/

    Whenever I have to get back into working out after a break, I just go to the gym. Lace up my sneakers and just go. Once I’m there, it all falls into place!

  18. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Love stuffed chicken..not a stuffed turkey with a stuffed chicken.

    TV: Amazing Race, 90210, Gossip Girl, Bad Girls, Grey’s, Private Practice, RHofBH, Jersey Shore, Top Chef, Surivor (sometimes). I watch 3 hrs of tv daily on average..it’s a LOT I know

  19. leashieloo Says:

    You and me both sister. I love/hate all of those trashy reality shows, I can’t stop watching! I’ve never had a turducken before, the thought of it is overwhelming and kind of scary to me.

  20. Kate Says:

    confession – no idea what a turducken is! some combo of turkey, duck and chicken?

    i religiously watch about 2 shows each season. otherwise i’ll just have the tv on for background noise while i do other stuff.

  21. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    the turducken and really any raw-ish looking meat/animal products to me…no. I can’t hang.

    As for tv, I have no idea about half the shows ppl in the comments are talking about. Dexter, True Blood, shows on HBO..never watched any of them.

    Before child, I watched some tv. I currently DVR the kardashians, millionaire matchmaker, and the Housewives. However if it tells you anything, i pretty much skipped the entire DC HW’s and they’re still on my DVR. I love the OC ladies and also Bev Hills, probably b/c they’re “local” to me.

    I would say my WEEKLY total tv watching time is 1 hour, maybe 90 mins per week. Some weeks 0. Some months, 0. I have no time! It’s either watch tv or read/comment on blogs 🙂 You can see what choice i make! ha!

    🙂

  22. Becky Says:

    I love chicken stuffed with spinach and ricotta. Super tasty!

  23. Homemade Kettle Corn & HSP | The Couch Potato Athlete Says:

    […] Blogroll ← Last Chance Workout & Turducken […]

  24. Jessica @ Fit & Clean Says:

    Mmmm! Your chicken breasts look great! I have actually heard that Turducken is fantastic, though I have yet to try it. haha! Seems like a lot of work to me. I have one of the Jillian Michael’s DVD’s from a long time ago and I just wasn’t impressed, and if I remember correctly, it was wicked hard for someone just starting out exercising. I wonder if I would struggle with it now? You never know!

  25. Holly @ Self-love and Running Says:

    We watch a bit of TV in the evening and often I’ll have the TV on when I am doing other things just for background noise.

  26. Sharon Says:

    I watch The Biggest Loser on Hulu.com. It cuts the two hour show down to about an hour and 23 minutes (ish) and I can pause it whenever I want :). I’m a big fan of hulu, only downside is watching it on the computer. I guess one of these days I’ll have to break down and buy DVR or Tivo.


Leave a Reply

