Homemade Kettle Corn & HSP

Hi Friends 🙂
 
As Katie pointed out yesterday, I do try to respond to your comments – I’m working on having a better system (responding through email instead of on the blog) – so bear with me and thanks for reading/commenting in the first place!

Kettle Corn.

I realize the picture above looks just like regular popcorn, but let me tell you, it tastes so differently! Who doesn’t love it, seriously? When Jason and I went to Twins games this summer we had the BEST Kettle Corn. It was definitely worth the $5 pricetag 🙂
 
Last week we were watching a bit of Rachael Ray on Food Network and she made her own kettle corn on the stovetop. This had never occurred to me! We don’t eat much popcorn, but if we do, it is the microwavable bag…
 
Kettlecorn Recipe and Instructions

Next time I make this, I will definitely ask Jason to take pictures — I felt like such a doofus shaking the pot while the kernals popped. But, if you let the kernals sit too long they burn, so you have to keep them moving. Some kernals did burn:

I took my small bowl of kettle corn to the couch to read a bit of this:

Averie and Kelsey have both highly recommended this book, and I can’t thank them enough for that! The book has a small “quiz” in the beginning to determine if you are most likely an HSP. I answered “yes” to too many of those questions. The author explains that having a sensitive nervous system has advantages (being aware of subtleties) and disadvantages (being easily overwhelmed after being in a highly stimulating environment and feeling exhausted). Just reading this paragraph about the author made me cry:

If I could only begin to describe the situations in which that was true in my own life! I remember feeling (and still do!) completely overwhelmed in social situations (school, work) and just wanting to hide. But at the same time, I wanted to be a part of things but my body/mind was literally too tired. I am only 2 chapters into the book, but hopefully over the next few weeks I’ll be writing more about HSP. I like that the author immediately explained differences/similarities between HSP, introversion, shyness, etc. I honestly think I fit into each of those categories, at least a little bit. I’m not looking to label myself, but I think any info I have to better understand myself (and for Jason to understand me) is good to have.
 
*What book are you currently reading?
 
*Are you popcorn/kettlecorn fan? How do you prepare it?

34 Responses to “Homemade Kettle Corn & HSP”

  1. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I love kettle corn!! I use to be a “ultra movie theater butter” popcorn lover- they more buttery, the better. But now the slight kettle corn flavor’s my favorite. I’ve never prepared it myself, though..it’s always outta the premade bags 😛 I should definitely try someday!

  2. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    I LOVE kettle corn! Super tasty stuff 🙂 Thanks for posting this idea to make your own!

    As for books, I’ve been stuck in a book that I’m not really enjoying for a few weeks…I need to move on and start another one, but I’ve got that “book guilt” for not finishing this one!

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Kettle corn is my favorite as well. I have never actually prepared homemade popcorn but normally buy the big kettle corn bags to pop for movies.

  4. Myra Says:

    hi yintno. i’m reading HP. i’m a chunk into book 4. it’s a long commitment.
    that paragraph you posted hit hard for me too. i think it was a blessing and a curse to grow up with 3 sisters, because i think that has a lot to do with me not wanting to be involved with people – my childhood fear of you guys making fun of me. silly, i know. on the other hand, it has made me really confident in myself in a lot of ways too.

  5. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    me=kettlecorn obsessed. SO delicious!

    Can you post the quiz? I feel like I used to be pretty sensitive, but not as much anymore. I’d love to see how I scored! 🙂

  6. Sara Says:

    I love corn in any form–roasted, popped, baked, cooked …
    I’ve never made my own. I’m still reading Operation Beautiful (I’m a slow book-reader) and I have been reading a lot of cookbooks! I love reading about new recipes.

  7. Jennifer @ Evolving Well Says:

    I love popcorn, though we use an airpopper, making it super easy. I usually will dress it with some EVOO, sea salt, garlic powder and white pepper…. mmm mmm mmm.

    It’s funny b/c I have that book and I never bothered to pick it up, though the passage that you highlighted here definitely rings true. Thank you for reminding me of it! It deifnintely sounds worth checking out. I’m going through a phase of a lot of detoxing and reducing overall stress out of my system (I basically have determined that I’ve overridden myself with stress that I can no longer acknowledge how stressed I am, which is NOT good). So this book sounds like it may help me to understand the levels of sensitivity that I’m out of tough with. I could be wrong, but that’s a thought that just popped into my head. I have a lot of clients that are sooo Type A and have NO IDEA how overstimulated and overtaxed they are…it sounds like this book could provide some insight into how people react to stressors as well as the behaviors that go along with various ways of protecting oneself.

    Thanks for sharing this!!!

  8. leashieloo Says:

    I am obsessed with kettle corn! It’s the most delicious popped corn of them all, the smell alone is amazing. Thanks for sharing the recipe! I usually buy the instant kettle corn (also very good).

  9. Beth Says:

    I am on the lookout for a new book as we speak. I just finished a strange book about a fortune teller called Accidentally Engaged. It was actually pretty good but I hate it when good books end!

  10. Kristy Says:

    Oh man! I had the best kettle corn a few weeks ago at one of our local orchards, White Mountain Kettle Corn. So amazingly delish! 🙂

  11. spabettie Says:

    I love kettle corn, but have never made it. popcorn in general is one of those things I always say “eh… it’s okay…” but whenever Jason makes it I LOVE it and happily share with him!! 😀

    right now I am reading one of Ruth Reichl’s books… It is my last one of hers and I have thoroughly enjoyed reading them all…

  12. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I can definitely relate to that person in the paragraph as well. I was painfully shy as a child and really only felt safe at home. I had some teachers encourage me to try out for a main part of a play and since I’m also a person who is eager to please, I did and slowly grew out of my shyness. It comes back at times and I just go with it – it’s who I am. In fact, even though I live 45 minutes out of San Francisco, I’m not going to Foodbuzz because I’m just kind of shy. I’d much rather meet with other bloggers in small groups. That and I hate driving in SF 🙂

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      Maria I too was so shy when I was younger, and I still am! I like to think before I speak, and sometimes I need to think for a LONG time before I know what to say! I like to be able to think about things and reflect before saying anything — I know it comes off as rude (I’ve had people tell me that!), but I honestly am just very awkward and get overwhelmed when there are people looking at me or trying to talk to me!

  13. Katie Says:

    I hope you didn’t take my comment the wrong way!! I was just surprised is all….By the way, if you want to know how to respond via email, just um, email me. 🙂

    I ate kettle corn last night for dinner! (blush) I made it in my new super awesome microwave popper. LOVE.

  14. Candice @ ChiaSeedMe Says:

    I love kettle corn – so fun that you made your own!

    I’m interested to hear you talk more about the book. I don’t necessarily think I fit that description, but I’m really into hearing how different personalities work. Right now I’m reading Linchpin by Seth Godin. My husband and I are on the path to starting our own business, and this book has been perfect for us so far. I think it would be a good read for anyone, though. It gives great perspective and is really inspiring!

  15. Dorry Says:

    The only book I’m reading right now is the text book for my Nutrition course. I need to be better about reading!

    I like kettle corn and haven’t had any in ages…time to make some. 🙂

  16. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    Popcorn made like that is SO much better! My parents had this stove popper I wish I could remember what it was called, but you cranked it and it would keep the kernals moving so they didn’t burn. Mmmm 🙂

  17. rc1001 Says:

    Oh wow that book looks so interesting. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it.

    I. love. kettlecorn.

    I always buy the big bags of it at fairs/baseball games/anywhere it is on sale 🙂

  18. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Love the kettlecorn recipe!! I haven’t made my own popcorn, stove top since I was like 14 babysitting for my siblings!! I used to buy the kernels and pour a little oil in a pan with a lid and love when it all popped!! Who knew that was actually the healthiest way to do it–since there is so much controversy with microwaveable items being endocrine disruptors!!!

    Holly, That book sounds AMAZING!! I look forward to hearing more about it. That was me in elementary and middle school. High School I opened up a little more, but as an adult, I am back to being more shy –which no one would think when talking to me or if you read my blog. I think I will add it to my Amazon wish list.

    I am currently reading “Origins” only a couple chapters in but it’s FASCINATING!!!! It’s all about origins science and how what you endure the 9 months in the womb can determine disease, obesity, and other things that happen as adults. Really interesting stuff!

    • couchpotatoathlete Says:

      Laury that sounds like an interesting book!

      And yes, the HSP book is really good — and people I have met online tell me that they can’t believe I am super shy and quiet. Maybe writing and not having to SEE anyone helps bring me out of my shell?

  19. matt gordon Says:

    I am reading Brain Candy by Garth Sundem. It is aimed at increasing neuroplacisity and creative thought. brilliant for adhd types.
    i love popcorn but dont really eat it since i have to floss afterward. peanut butter popcorn is on my list though

  20. Alina @ Duty Free Foodie Says:

    I haven’t taken the test, but I think I might be an HSP. And also an extravert. It’s a common misconception that the two are mutually exclusive.

  21. Wendy Says:

    Mmm, we loooove kettle corn around here too! I’m glad a few burnt kernels didn’t ruin it for ya. Yum!

    *What book are you currently reading?
    SOOOO close to being done with “Julie & Julia.” Still tossing a few options back and forth for my next book!

    *Are you popcorn/kettlecorn fan? How do you prepare it?
    Of course!! We just do the microwave bags, usually

  22. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    responding to comments via email….I realized that for people who are true readers of my blog, they appreciate this, they may not have time to go back to my site (i mean most ppl don’t have time to catch the 1st post, let alone go back and re-read comments on someone else’s blog) so i figure private email is nice.

    but…

    it’s time consuming. as in hours per day if you let it be.
    AND
    sometimes the questions/answers will benefit others…so….it’s a mixed bag with what to do.

    HSP…the book she wrote on parenting / HSChild is excellent. Perhaps even better than the HSPerson book. About what to do if you, your spouse, your child are all the various combinations of this one is a hsp, this one isnt, this one is an extroverted hsp with an introverted hsp child with a spouse who’s neither. Wait til the overbearing family members who are not hsp’s and who DONT GET IT do all sorts of things to your hsp child. Yeah. As non hsp’s they dont even KNOW what they are doing….but to me, a hsp, it’s gut wrenching sometimes. Or just random strangers.

    Ok this is long, gotta run, i could go on and on 🙂

  23. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    I am so boring, I love air popped popcorn with nothing on it! Although, I think I need to try some nutritional yeast soon!

  24. Kris | iheartwellness.com Says:

    oooohhh I always make my own popcorn in coconut oil or olive oil on the stove!! So tasty 🙂 And healthy!!

    I am reading a couple different books – I am re reading How To Add more ~ing to your life AND Water for Elephants 🙂

    xxoo

  25. Becky Says:

    My mom makes the best stove top popcorn. I think I’ll put her to the task of testing out a batch of kettle corn. It’s addictive stuff!

  26. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I’m reading an awesome book called Antigona and me by Kate Clanchy, I recommend!


Leave a Reply

