Confessions of a Non-Shopoholic

Hi Friends 🙂

Did you enjoy your “extra” hour of sleep last night? I love daylight savings time in the fall – I’ll take an extra sleep I can get!

Yesterday I had a lovely time at the baby shower:

Karmon is an old work colleague that I have kept in touch with – her baby boy is due in January. I’m so excited to meet him! There was quite a spread of delicious food:

Roast beef or turkey sandwiches, tons of fruit, raw veggies, cheese, pickles, olives, fudge bites and of course, cake. (and do you like those roses? I brought them since it is Karmon’s birthday today!)

After I came home I went to the mall for a few hours – I need new clothes. Everything I have is either years old or doesn’t fit right. I needed a new pair of jeans so I went to Express and picked up a couple extra things. I love the 3 floral skirts I got, and there were all only $10 each! Can’t beat that!

Now I just need some shirts to go with the skirts. I was just too tired to try to match up outfits. I really need a personal shopper to tell me what to get. I just don’t have a clue!

And somehow I ended up in Vanity? That is not a store I usually go into, but I found a few shirts and a brown hoodie:

And seriously, I wouldn’t be surprised if you are reading this thinking that I pick out the most awful looking clothes. Maybe I have no taste — I have no idea! And I am an in-and-out kind of shopper. If nothing catches my eye right away, I scour the clearance racks and then get out of there. I think I lasted less than an hour in the mall — too exhausting being in the crowds. I’d rather be at home!

After shopping I went and spent some time with my mom. 🙂 We are getting together for a walk today which should be nice! I got to try on my sister Kim’s Vibrams:

I just don’t know if I’ll ever get my own pair. I’m not a big fan of feet or toes in general…Jason absolutely loves his though!

1. How was your weekend? Anything fun going on?

2. Where do you like to buy clothes? Do you search the clearance racks like me or are you ok with paying full price?

3. What do you call your mom? Mom? Mother? Ma? My sisters and I (well and our dad too) call our mom “Muddy” – long story how that name came about but it stuck. 🙂

~Holly

Posted in Life. 17 Comments »

17 Responses to “Confessions of a Non-Shopoholic”

  1. Matt Says:

    You need some Vibrams! You know how I feel about mine 😉

  2. thejoggingconcierge Says:

    Today I’m going to my future sister in laws bridal shower. Right now I have snickerdoodles baking 🙂

    I usually do the majority of my shopping at Old Navy and, if something catches my eye, Banana Republic. But I do like going to Marshalls too for some good deals.

    I call my mom, well, Mom. 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  3. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    Yesterday was crazy with food, friends and drinks, but I am ready to chill for the next couple of weekends! I can’t say I got extra sleep today, but I am hoping for a nap later for sure! I never buy clothes full price. I just don’t feel like I need to. You can always find a deal somewhere. I call my mother, mom or mother (if she is in trouble).

    Have a great day Holly!

  4. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I actually didn’t get an extra hour- I woke up super early!! haha That’s my internal clock. 😛

    Whenever I shop for clothes, I always go for sales. The first place I go is Platos closet, then TjMaxx..THEN I go to the actual stores and look for sales

  5. Katie Says:

    You got a serious haul in an hour! I am the same way with shopping – in and out.

    We don’t do daylight savings here, but I am excited that my family back home is only an hour ahead of me now.

  6. Jess Says:

    I think your clothes are cute!! I’m not a big shopper either, but I will spend full price on something if I really like it and it will last me a long time.

  7. spabettie Says:

    My mom is MOM. 😀

    I am still thinking about vibrams… but I used to run barefoot, so I think I’d LOVE them!

    HAPPY SUNDAY !

  8. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I have to be in the right mood for shopping. If I’m not, it’s not a pleasant experience. I normally shop at outlets, because you then don’t have to fight the crowd at the clearance racks – everything is already cheaper. My favorites are J Crew, GAP, Banana Republic, and Off 5th.

  9. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    I’m a complete bargain-shopper! I actually do a lot of shopping and clothes-hunting at Goodwill, and when I must go to the mall (I agree–crowds are the worst), I always shoot straight for the clearance rack 🙂

    And you have great taste in clothes, so no worries!

  10. Becky Says:

    I am the shopaholic, for sure. I just love it. I am a total Gap girl, but I also love Ann Taylor, H&M, J. Crew, Banana…it’s a problem!

  11. leashieloo Says:

    Daylight Savings is my favorite “holiday” (except for the one where we lose an hour). I like to shop online. I tend to get exhausted and overwhelmed when I shop in real life.

  12. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    I would gladly help you shop any day!!! I think what you bought and what I “know” about you and your overall look and image from your blog…your new duds suit you perfectly 🙂

    And vibrams. My hubs just started talking about wanting some…yesterday!

    I think it’s awesome you went to your old coworkers baby shower…as the pregnant mama, I can only imagine she felt awesome and special to have you there 🙂

  13. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    aw, congrats to your friend!

    we just got back from New Zealand last night and i am bushed. i guess all the traveling and a week of sugar and wine will do that to you. running is now definitely in order. 🙂

    looks like you got some great buys!! it’s very rare that i buy clothing at full price, but i don’t have the patience to scrounge through clearance racks either. i like stores that are nice and tidy, where i can walk in and see everything with one glance. as you see, i’m pretty high maitenance. 🙂

  14. Wendy Says:

    Aw, your prego friend looks happy! Great pics!
    I HATE feet and toes, so Vibrams would never fly with me. Lol!

    1. How was your weekend? Anything fun going on?
    It was pretty good. Scott was gone all day yesterday helping a friend move so it was just Liss and me. Today was my niece’s sweet 16 party, that was nice.

    2. Where do you like to buy clothes? Do you search the clearance racks like me or are you ok with paying full price?
    I refuse to pay full price for clothes. I usually hit the clearance racks at Kohls. Sometimes even Goodwill!

    3. What do you call your mom? Mom? Mother? Ma? My sisters and I (well and our dad too) call our mom “Muddy” – long story how that name came about but it stuck.
    I just call her Mom.

  15. Christina @ Food.Fun.Fabulous. Says:

    Cute skirts! I have seen cute stuff at Express but never bought anything there. Lately I’ve been getting a lot of clothes at H&M but I also find a lot of things I like at Charlotte Russe, Wetseal, and Forever 21. Man, I love shopping! haha it’s such a problem when I’m a poor college student 🙂

  16. Sara @ OurDogBuffy Says:

    Clearance racks! I feel that compared to my co-workers I have horrible clothes. I am so cheap and in between sizes and about 15 years or more younger than everyone.

  17. Celina Says:

    Ill be you personal shopper! 🙂

    I definitely go through clearance racks.
    To save time I plan out what I need to find by colour or style.
    Then whatever I see popping out from the racks i grab and make sure it fits in with either a colour scheme or style (ie. need a slim tank to go with a fuller floral skirt 😉

    have fun in vegas! ive never been but i want to go in 2011!


Leave a Reply

