World’s Almost Most Boring Dinner

Hi Friends :)
I hope my title intrigued you – I mean, who doesn’t want to see the World’s Most Boring Dinner, right? Well, I hate to break it to you, because I made dinner slightly LESS boring because of this impulse buy at Target last night:
The ingredients weren’t too shabby (especially compared to other BBQ sauces):
I went to Target to get a few apples and a few other things – I am really trying to not buy more food this week. We leave for our trip on Thursday night and I don’t want a fridge full of food over the weekend.
Monday dinner was originally the super boring chicken breasts and broccoli dinner – but I jazzed it up with the BBQ sauce. I swear – any meal that needs jazzing up just needs BBQ :)
It tasted so good – very smokey and brown sugary. Even the broccoli tasted good dipped in some BBQ.
After dinner I got a great cardio workout in, I used Jessica’s At Home Cardio Blast. It looks “easy” but it was not. I was sweating like a beast (how’s that for a visual) and I love the mountain climbers/pushups/plank moves because it makes my shoulders burn. Post workout I had a bit of fruit sorbet: blend frozen berries with almond milk:
After my workout  I went to the mall to meet my mom for another walk – it is so nice to get together with her a few times a week. We only live about a mile apart (pure accident, Jason happened to live close to my parents when we started dating) – but somehow if we don’t make “appointments” to see each other, we just don’t.  Plus, by walking at the mall I can scope out any sales :)
What is your favorite quick workout? I’m talking 20 minutes maximum, what do you like to do? I know Averie posted about her at home workouts, and I also like Jessica’s home workouts. I recently found Bodyrock.tvHolly (no not me, ha!) posted about it last week too. I’ve used a few of those workouts when I’ve been in a time crunch.
How do you eat on vacations? Do you eat the way you normally eat? Splurge a little? Bring all of your own food and keep it in the hotel? Does it matter WHERE your vacation is?


32 Responses to “World’s Almost Most Boring Dinner”

  1. Becca Says:

    Holly! You could’ve made that sauce ;) But yum, looks good.

    My favourite quick workout is 30 Day Shred. You really feel like you’ve done something, without forcing yourself.

    On holiday, we definitely splurge. At least half the reason for our destinations is food – I’m certainly not going to eat things I could have just any day at home, especially as eating out is so expensive here.

  2. Jessica @ How Sweet Says:

    Thanks for the shout! Glad you liked the workout. :) I haven’t done one at home recently but I will have to start soon since my gym membership is up!

  3. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Your fruit sorbet creation looks so tasty!

    My favorite quick workout is also Jillian’s 30 -Day Shred–it’s perfect for when I’m short on time but want more exertion than a walk.

    And vacation food? Time to splurge…at least on dinners! We usually pack our own food for healthy breakfasts and light lunches/ mid-day snacks, but always do our research for the best local dinner spots : )

  4. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    I can’t believe you leave Thursday- you must be SO excited!! :)

  5. Alex @ IEatAsphalt Says:

    I love products from Target. I’m alway surprised by good ingredient lists and great taste. They’re doing something right.

  6. sarahnotsoplainandtall Says:

    I dont think I could ever get my cardio in at the mall…I would end up spending soooo much money every time! haha…but what a great idea none the less!!


  7. Michelle @ Chasing Ambulances Says:

    For a quick workout I like the 30 day Shred, or walking the dog. On vacations, I don’t worry about food too much. I like to live it up – but not so much that I feel yucky. It’s a tough balance!

  8. Leashieloo Says:

    You definitely saved that meal with the BBQ! Looks tastay! And I am definitely a splurger, that’s what vacation is all about!

  9. OliePants Says:

    My favorite 20 min exercise is to do strength training in front of the TV for one show. I usually work on arms and legs and some abs – and by the end of it – I feel quite invigorated!

  10. Beth Says:

    I love the 20 minute Shred w Jillian Michaels if I’m in a crunch. Last night I also did a 20 minute on demand Yoga thing in my living room that felt so nice, but that was much more of a relaxation/stretching thing than a sweat-like-a-beast workout. :)

  11. Jess Says:

    I love the Shred as well- I like how it incorporates strength, cardio, and abs.

  12. Wendy Says:

    BBQ chickie is awesome and so is broccoli – so in my humble opinion, that was not a boring dinner. :-)

    What is your favorite quick workout? I’m talking 20 minutes maximum, what do you like to do?
    That’s easy! HIIT!!!!!

    How do you eat on vacations? Do you eat the way you normally eat? Splurge a little? Bring all of your own food and keep it in the hotel? Does it matter WHERE your vacation is?
    I usually splurge WAY too much on vacations cuz I’m constantly thinking, “Eh, I’m on vacation – I can eat whatever I want for a few days!” Next vaca, I will NOT do that!

  13. Katie Says:

    I saw the “midwest style” and i immediatly thought – bland. ;) Maybe its just my midwestern family that likes things bland. I do love me some BBQ!!!

  14. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear Says:

    I love lifting small weights while watching TV at home.. also a 20min yoga video is lovely!

    On vacation I eat what I want, because most of going abroad is an adventure and I love trying out new foods.

  15. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I do a 2/3 rule on vacation. 2 of my main meals are somewhat healthy and I splurge on the third. Snacks are usually splurges too. It really helps me keep a balance and from getting that “I’m so full I feel gross feeling”. Usually breakfast and lunch are light and dinner is something fun :)

    Have an awesome time in Vegas!

  16. Cathy K Says:

    i love that you live so close to your mom! meeting at the mall is a great idea!
    my parents moved to the condo building next door to us last year. the funny thing is, i see them no more often than when they lived a 15 minute drive away! it is handy to have them so close for family get-togethers or if i just want to drop something off.
    best quick w/o: a walk! fresh air is the bonus!

  17. Kristy Says:

    I try and leave just one splurge per day while on vacation, sometimes it works..sometimes not. lol I just got back into doing Jillian’s 30 day shred, love that it’s just 20 minutes and you still work up a pretty good sweat!! :)

  18. lizlivingvegan Says:

    For a quick at home workout, I’ll do the P90x ab ripper dvd. It’s only 16 minutes but my abs will always be sore the next day!

    Also, that bbq sauce looks good! And that’s a shockingly good list of ingredients! :)

  19. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    I’m with you! Add some BBQ sauce or some other flavorful sauce to a boring meal and its good to go. :D

  20. emily (a nutritionist eats) Says:

    I’m a firm believer that ANYTHING, no matter how little time you spend exercising, is better than nothing!

  21. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    Sometimes the most boring dinners are the ones that are most enjoyable!!

    Fav 20 min workout…hmmm…I always switch it up, but anything cardio circuit training. strength exercise Cardio Drill, repeat, repeat, repeat for 20 minute total!

  22. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    It’s nice you get to see you mom! Mine lives 12 hours away, so I rarely see her. I don’t really do the small workouts unless we go for a short walk. Your dinner looks delicious regardless of wether you think it was boring…sometimes those are the best tasting meals!

  23. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I have a 20 min Pilates DVD that’s pretty great!

  24. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    Condiments are a mom’s best friend…seriously, if a toddler is not quite sure about raw broccoli, ketchup will help that :) Or honey mustard or bbq also helps for reluctant spouses LOL

    Thanks for the workout shout! And you know it girl…20 mins for me these days. I have spent a lifetime working out “forever” and the past few mos it’s been nice to scale the time amounts wayyyyy down!

    On vacay, I dont bring too much food. An emergency bar or two, that’s it. When traveling in the US, there’s always a restaurant or groc store. When traveling intl, they confiscate (most of) your food anyway when you go thru customs, so there’s no point taking it.

    Vegas has amazing restaurants. You will not go hungry or want for anything…trust me. I dont gamble much and vegas is great for shopping and eating :)

  25. Becky Says:

    When I’m really pressed for time, I’ll unroll my mat and do some crunches, push-ups, planks – really just a quick core circuit. I don’t have DVDs or anything, so I just make it up as I go. Otherwise, I end up running around the ‘hood or walking the dog.

    Next time I hit up Target, I’m looking for that BBQ sauce. I’m also looking for a bottled BBQ option that has better ingredients. This looks like good stuff!

  26. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I try not to splurge when on vacation unless it’s one of those restaurants that has a famous whatever, then I’ll go for it. :P But I remember reading somewhere a diet motivation tip that put it pretty blaintly “just because you’re not at home, doesnt mean you should eat whatever you want”..and it’s true lol

    We usually get hotels with full kitchens when possible, which is pretty nice. We’ll buy oatmeal, fruit, normal foods and stay in rather than going out everynight. Saves money, too :)

  27. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    omygoodness, you don’t even want to know what i ate on vacation!! two words: continental breakfast. oh – and let’s not talk about the wine. i’ll be paying for those calories for a while i reckon…. :p

    the workout question is tough. to be honest, if i only had 20 minutes i’d probably do something else. the husband and i do a 30 minute walk almost every night, i guess that would be my short and easy exercise.:)

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

