Chocolate Covered Holly

Hi Friends :)

Yeah, yeah, I swiped my name from Chocolate Covered Katie – and after tonight you could maybe mistake me for her! Check out the treats I made:

Peanut Butter Melties

I made some with regular old PB, Barney Butter AB and others with Nuttzo. The Barney Butter ones took FOREVER to freeze.

Once you click on the recipe you will see why this is the easiest treat you can make. :) The hardest part is waiting for them to freeze!

Also in CCK’s honor, I decided to try her Single Lady Cupcake, with a few modifications. I used TJ’s Peanut Flour in CCK’s original recipe, and I also added some mashed banana and a few pecan pieces as well.

And since I’m not a single lady, maybe this is the Married Lady Who Wants to Make One Cupcake for Herself and Not Share Cupcake?

Well I did share – Jason had half and I had the other half. I would have had more but I had Peanut Butter Melties in my freezer :)

I think the peanut flour made it really dense — but the inside was still gooey and tasted really good. More like a muffin than a cupcake, which is fine with me!

*

I’ve been spending a ton of time packing and planning our trip:

I cannot wait until we leave on Thursday :)

Questions:

1. The Peanut Butter Melties are seriously a super quick little treat – what is your favorite quick treat?

2. How do you prepare for trips? Do you make lists? Do you pack a few days ahead of time or do you pack last minute?

29 Responses to “Chocolate Covered Holly”

  1. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Your treats look delicious! I’m going to have to check out this single-serving cupcake situation…sounds right up my ally :)

    My favorite quick treat to make is cocoa banana soft serve: throw a frozen banana in the food processor with a tablespoon of cocoa, and whip until it becomes the consistency of soft-serve ice cream. I usually eat it with a spoonful of nut butter, too :)

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    My favorite quick treat is a microwavable peanut butter chocolate protein muffin. It is really similar to the single lady cupcake I believe. Anything chocolate always hits the spot. :)

  3. Chocolate-Covered Katie Says:

    Oh Holly, I cannot even begin to tell you how much your super-sweet post MADE MY DAY! Honestly, thank you so so much. Oh, and I am in love with your new name for the cupcake. It’s hilarious! :) :)
    Haha I am such a last-minute packer… and unpacker too. I think unpacking from a trip is one of my least favorite activities.
    Anyway, have fun in Las Vegas, girl! And thanks again for your kindness :).

  4. leashieloo Says:

    “Peanut Butter Melties,” I love the name. They sound awesome too, I may have to get on board. I’m a big list maker for trips. I write lists and plan for weeks and I have multiple lists: clothes list, where to visit list, book list, etc.

  5. Ellen@FirednFabulous Says:

    PB Melties?! Yes, please! My favorite easy treat is S’mores :)

  6. Beth Says:

    I love stuffing peanut butter or almond butter into a date and freezing it – its similar to CCK’s treat but SOOOO good!

  7. Lisa @ I'm an Okie Says:

    peanut butter melties?! the name alone draws me in!

  8. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I usually pack the night before leaving- I’m really bad about that!!

    The peanut butter melties looks delicious. My favorite quick treat is usually a microwave cookie smeared with peanut butter :)

  9. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    Mmm those treats look great! And so jealous of your tip. I will be having my own downtime though, thank goodness! I can’t wait for tomorrow either.

  10. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    I do not pack until every single thing I own is clean, besides what I’m wearing on my back. That way I have my pick of what to bring. I normally pack the night before and do toiletries the day of.

    You are going to have a blast!

  11. Katie Says:

    So is it just frozen pb? I’m a fan of pb on a spoon… :)

    Or popcorn. Yum. Popcorn…

  12. Candice @ ChiaSeedMe Says:

    I’ve been wanting to try her Single Lady Cupcake – yours looks delicious! I’d rather have a muffin than a cupcake anyway:)

    I always make a list when I pack. I usually make it a couple of days ahead of time, but I never end up packing until the last minute. The list always helps a lot though!

  13. mrsfattypants Says:

    Those PB treats look delish!!! Yum! I love PB! Another one of my favorite treats is dark chocolate oatmeal cookies! YUMMY

  14. Jess Says:

    I pack kind of last minute, but not actuaaally last minute like my dad :) I make lists for little things I always forget like contact solution.

  15. sarahnotsoplainandtall Says:

    I am soooo bad!! No matter where I am going…I leave the packing until the night before…usually staying up until the wee hours in the morning and not getting much sleep. I still havent learned from my mistakes! Maybe a new years resolution will be to learn how to become a better packer :)

  16. spabettie Says:

    oh WOW – these look GOOD!! I make a protein microwave muffin that is probably similar… so good and so quick!

    I need to try the melties… YUM !

    I am SO excited to see your Vegas adventures!!

  17. Dorry Says:

    Yum! I’ve been loving Angela’s healthy cookie bites this week. They are so easy and so good. Billy is all about lists when packing for a trip. I make lists of things “not to forget” but when it comes to packing outfits, I’m terrible. Well, I’m getting better…

  18. 1970kikiproject Says:

    really excited to hear about your trip! the hubs and i really want to visit las vegas so i’ll be very interested to read about your impression, and about what you see/do!
    i start packing 3-7 days before i leave because i start off with wayyyy too much stuff and have to narrow my choices day by day before we leave. plus, i like to be organized!
    my favourite quick treat is to throw yogurt in the freezer and make my own frozen yogurt – top with PB or chocolate!
    love the name change on the single serve cupcake! very creative!

  19. Matt Says:

    Ah those look so good :)

    I usually pack the night before a trip. I am simple, so not much packing is required. As long as I have my running shoes, I am good to go!

  20. Laury @thefitnessdish Says:

    The PB melties look amazing!! I gotta try them!!!!!!! Single lady cupcake? I have to click on that link..so, it’s just ONE cupcake????

    I usually pack a few days ahead, and do toiletries last. I like to check, and re check, and try to fit everything in my bag using over sized zip lock bags. I usually over pack, but I figure it’s better to have too much than too little!!!!

    Vegas is going to be amazing!

  21. rc1001 Says:

    Your treats look delicious!!

  22. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    I used chocolate granola and rolled it into PB and froze them…soooo good!

    I use my guest room to lay out all my outfits and things I need to pack so the night before I can just whip it together =)

  23. Chelsea @ Strawberry Sweat Says:

    I’m a list maker when I pack for trips. I’ve always got like 5 different lists going!

  24. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    I have a few recipes for PB related goodies. And just last nite, i made cookies w/ peanut flour. They are vegan & GF and they may be the best thing Ive ever made. And you’re right, peanut flour is DENSE! But i love the looks of your ooey gooey slightly underbaked muffin. Oh my. YUM

    Vegas. Have a freakin ball, as i know you will!!

    And your comment to me about returning things if you’re not gonna use them…amen girl!! So glad to hear you’ve come around on stuff like that. I remember a post a month ago you almost didnt return some overprice condiment or some specialty item u were gonna use in a recipe that never happend. Good progress :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

