Blueberry Banana Baked French Toast & Vegas Bound

Hi Friends 🙂
 
Today is the day Jason and I leave for Vegas!!! I am so excited about this trip 🙂
 
Thank you to everyone who gave me suggestions on where to eat and what to see. I’ll be blogging each morning with a little recap for the day before.
 
For now I will leave you with our breakfast:
Blueberry Banana Baked French Toast
 
I originally found this recipe on the Weight Watchers recipe board – but I’ve tweaked quite a few things, and you can adjust the recipe to any size – I made enough for 2 servings but you could easily double the recipe and make it in a larger dish.
 
Ingredients:
4 pieces of bread 
2 eggs
1 cup milk – I used unsweetened Almond milk
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cinnamon
1 sliced banana (and more for topping)
1/2 cup blueberries (I used frozen)
 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Coat baking dish with nonstick spray (or use butter). Lay 2 slices of bread in bottom and mush together as necessary. Cover bread with sliced bananas and blueberries. Mix eggs, milk, vanilla and cinnamon in a large bowl. Pour ½ of liquid mixture on top of bread/fruit. Cover with the rest of your bread and pour rest of liquid mixture on top. Use a spatula to smoosh the bread to completely saturate it. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes, then uncover and bake for an additional 15 minutes (or until done)
Layer 1:
Topped with bread and saturated with egg/almond milk:

You know it is done baking when the blueberry juice oozes out!
Top with more banana slices and serve:
This was the perfect send off breakfast 🙂
 
Work until noon then home to finish packing and then we’re off to the airport!
  
Where was your last vacation? Would you go back?
32 Responses to “Blueberry Banana Baked French Toast & Vegas Bound”

  1. thejoggingconcierge Says:

    My last vacation was Atlantic City for my anniversary. Probably won’t make an effort to go again. It was fun when we went, but in no rush to go back. We did stop in Philadelphia though to have cheesesteaks at Pats. Now THAT I would make an effort to go and have again.

    Have an awesome time in Vegas! Where are you staying? I don’t know if this was mentioned, but I recommend stopping in to Batista’s Hole in the Wall for dinner. It’s right behind the Flamingo. So much food for one flat price. 🙂

  2. auntbethany Says:

    My last BIG vacation was to Italy…suffice it to say, I’ve been back there several times in my mind. The food was out of this world (and don’t even get me started on the gelato). You have moments in your life that you know you’re extremely happy, beyond the shadow of a doubt, and I count my 3 weeks in Italy to sit amongst those moments.

    Funny that you got the recipe from a Weight Watcher’s book…some of the best-tasting recipes I’ve tried have come from diet books (i.e. Cooking Light). There’s even one out there that takes popular fast food staples, like Starbuck’s Pumpkin Pound Cake and McDonald’s Big Mac, and converts them into healthier fare. It’s called Fast Food Fix (http://www.amazon.com/Fast-Food-Fix-Makeovers-Restaurant/dp/1594863105). You’ll be shocked at how good these recipes taste, considering she uses friendlier ingredients like egg whites and yogurt.

  3. 1970kikiproject Says:

    HAVE A GREAT TRIP!!! win some $, haha!
    my last trip was two weeks in florida this summer, solo, while hubs was doing his thing hiking out west in california…i would totally go back to florida and totally travel solo again!
    looking forward to your updates!

  4. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon Says:

    Yum! This recipe looks so good 🙂 We’re having leftovers for dinner tonight, and I might have to make this guy to go along with it!

    Our last vacation was to Asheville, NC this summer. It was our second time visiting, and we absolutely loved it (we’ll definitely go back!). Lots of good food, music, and local shops to peruse.

    Have fun in Vegas!

  5. Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life) Says:

    Ahhhh!!!! Have fun!!! Remember what happens in Vegas… ends up on the blog! 🙂

  6. grocery goddess jen Says:

    Last vacation was a short trip to Folly Beach, and I would definitely go back! Have a fantastic time!!

  7. Kate Says:

    have fun in vegas!!!! my last vacation was a weekend trip to duluth. it was really great to get away for awhile even tho it wasn’t to a super exciting town. safe travels to you and jason.

  8. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) Says:

    Wow that looks delicious and so simple to make. Yummy.

    My last vacation was on a cruise with Aram. I would love to go back to the Bahamas and warmth again. For swimming, we are going down to Puerto Rico as well…not sure I want to go back due to all that actual swimming we have to do down there.

    Anywho-Have fun this week!

  9. leashieloo Says:

    Eeee! You’re going to have SO much fun, I can’t wait to see the posts! Safe travels and have a blast!!

  10. Dawn (HealthySDLiving) Says:

    Your breakfast looks like the most delicious thing EVER!
    Have a wonderful time in Vegas–take lots of pics! I leave to go on a cruise in a week and I’m SO excited!

  11. Myra Says:

    hey foo. take lots of pictures. go inside the excalibur and get a picture for us! and you can even eat lunch at Dick’s. lmao!
    anyway, i couldn’t be more jeal. text and stuff. sha!

  12. Beth Says:

    I went to Puerto Rico in March with my sisters and their husbands and my boyfriend. It was SOOOOO fun and I wish I could go back!

  13. OliePants Says:

    My last vacation was to Tokyo and I would definitely go back – the sushi alone was worth it! 🙂

  14. Shanna, like Banana Says:

    Have a blast — go wild!

    Last vacay for me was Italy and I LOVED it 🙂

  15. Jess Says:

    I went to Whistler and Vancouver last- I’d definitely go back, I loved it. It was a perfect combination of a beautiful setting and city life.

  16. Maria @ Oh Healthy Day Says:

    Have fun Holly!!!

    My last vacation was in Denver and I swear, I’d move there if I could. Absolutely love Colorado.

  17. spabettie Says:

    you know when my last vacation was – last month in Vegas !! 😀

    have a FANTASTIC time – can’t wait to see your posts!

    safe travels !

  18. Dorry Says:

    We were in NYC a few weeks ago and I’d definitely go back! We actually have plans to go back for Billy’s birthday in February. 🙂

    HAVE FUN IN VEGAS!!!!!!!!!

  19. Emma Says:

    Have a great trip! 😀

  20. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    That french toast looks soooo good! I can’t remember the last time I’ve had that wonderful stuff.

    Have a safe trip!!! Can’t wait to read the recaps!

  21. Laury @TheFitnessDish Says:

    Ahhhhhhh HAVE AN AMAAAZING TIME!!

    My last vacation was Vegas…we usually go 1-2x a year, but not this year 😦

    Can’t wait to hear about it…go to Joe’s Stone Crabs if you can! See LOVE in Mirage if you’re thinking about a show!!!

  22. Sarena (The Non Dairy Queen) Says:

    Paris was my last real vacation and heck yeah…in a heartbeat!!! Have fun Holly and safe travels!

  23. rc1001 Says:

    Last vacation was in Las Vegas! It was my first time and I can’t wait to go back.

  24. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    have an awesome vacation, Holly!! looking forward to the recaps!

    as you know, i was just in New Zealand and i would definitely go back. probably to the north island though, there are some wine regions i need to check out. 🙂

  25. mostlyfitmom Says:

    Have fun in Vegas!

    Our last vacation was in Arizona, and we’ll be heading there again in December. Much better than the snow and cold we have here. 🙂

  26. Becky Says:

    Have an amazing time in Vegas!

  27. Amykinz Says:

    Yum! You totally got me w/the blueberry juice running out. I want it NOW! 🙂

  28. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) Says:

    I love the baked french toast action…I have wanted to do it this way for a long time but never have… YUM!

    Last vacation. No, I wouldnt go back. You know all the details already 🙂

    Next vacay is in 4 weeks…for a month!! Aruba baby, can’t wait!

  29. valgal123 Says:

    Have fun in vegas! I have only driven through a few times. That blueberry french toast looks delightful!

  30. Candice @ ChiaSeedMe Says:

    oooh, that looks delicious! Seriously delicious.

    The last place I went was Paris, and YES! I’m dying to go back. 4 days was like a joke almost:)

    Have fun on your trip!


Leave a Reply

